Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (CN 103169314).
Regarding Claim 1, Tan discloses a pillow, blanket, topper, mattress, and/or overlay (“pillow”, see English Translation provided by Applicant) for calming a vegetative nervous system of a user, comprising
at least one filling chamber (inside of pillow);
at least one filling material (“pillow core filling can have other soft materials such as cotton and kapok”) disposed within the filling chamber ; and
at least one filling region (“medicine bag”) within the filling chamber, the filling region being formed by at least one interspace that is at least partially delimited by the filling material (“fill the medicine package into the pillow core”), wherein the interspace is at least partially formed by, or at least partially contains, a cannabinoid- containing material and/or a THC-containing material (“Hemp contains cannabinoids […] mainly including tetrahydrocannabinol”), wherein the cannabinoid-containing material and/or THC-containing material comprises dried hemp plant material (cut and dried hemp plant) and has a THC content below 0.3% by weight, and wherein the filling material is substantially free of the cannabinoid-containing material and/or THC-containing material (“the hemp plants can be fixed in the medicine bag without being scattered in the pillow core”). The excerpt from the English translation mainly relied upon for the rejection is copied below:
Tan fails to explicitly disclose the dried hemp plant material has a THC content below 0.3% by weight. As noted by Applicant in their remarks filed September 22nd, 2026 and the attached “Changes to the Statutory Definition of Hemp and Implications for Agricultural Policy”, a THC content below 0.3% by weight characterizes the material as industrial hemp plant material without an intoxicating THC load. Abiding by a law or meeting regulatory standards for a certain classification terminology is within ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to meet regulatory standards would be to avoid legal issues.
Regarding Claim 3, Tan discloses wherein the dried hemp plant material comprises a cannabis plant flower (see “Example Three”) and at least one additional plant part selected from the group consisting of a flower stalk, petals, and a shoot axis (see “Example Three”).
Regarding Claim 4, Tan discloses wherein the dried hemp plant material comprises a flower stalk, petals, and a cannabis plant flower (see “Example Three”).
Regarding Claim 5, Tan discloses wherein the dried hemp plant material comprises whole hemp plants (see “cut fresh hemp plants”), each whole hemp plant comprising at least a shoot axis with a flower stalk, petals, and a flower (see “Example Three”).
Regarding Claim 11, Tan discloses wherein the dried hemp plant material comprises a cannabis plant flower (see “Example Three”).
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (CN 103169314) in view of Peters (US 6,430,764).
Regarding Claim 2, Tan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the filling region is completely surrounded by the filling chamber. Peters teaches wherein a filling region (within 12) is completely surrounded by a filling chamber (within 11, see Fig. 2). Tan and Peters are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. pillows. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the pillow construction of Tan with the filling region being completely surrounded by the filling chamber as taught by Peters. The motivation would have been to prevent the filling region of Tan from shifting, thus preventing a user from substantially feeling it when lying on the pillow.
Regarding Claim 8, Tan fails to disclose wherein the cannabinoid-containing material and/or THC-containing material is disposed in pockets of the filling chamber, the pockets being delimited by chamber walls that separate the cannabinoid-containing material and/or THC-containing material from the filling material (emphasis added). Tan discloses a singular pocket. Peters teaches herbal material (14) placed in pockets (12 is described as “one or more pouch members”) of a filling chamber (within bag 11), the pockets being delimited by chamber walls (each pocket 12 contains its own chamber wall) that separate the herbal material (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the singular pocket of Tan with the multiple pockets of Peters. The motivation would have been to provide a greater aroma effect.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, Tan fails to disclose wherein the filling material is at least partly a filling layer material comprising a plurality of mutually adjacent layers, and comprising in particular a quilted fabric, and wherein the cannabinoid-containing material and/or THC-containing material is at least partly introduced between at least two mutually adjacent layers such that the filling region is at least partly formed between or through the two adjacent layers. Peters teaches wherein a filling material (13) is at least partly a filling layer material comprising a plurality of mutually adjacent layers (13), and comprising a quilted fabric, and wherein herbs (14) are at least partly introduced between at least two mutually adjacent layers such that the filling region (within 12) is at least partly formed between or through the two adjacent layers. Quilted fabrics are well-known throughout the art (see e.g. quilted mattress toppers” in Peterson and quilted blanket of Tielkes (DE 3333270), however further modifying the potential modifying reference Peterson as required by the claim would be impermissible hindsight reconstruction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J KURILLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619