DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on August 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 11, 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12485624. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Pat. 12485624 teaches all of the instantly claimed limitations. Examiner notes the language is not identical regarding the limitation of “applying an electromagnetic field to at least portions of the first thermoplastic composite component, the second thermoplastic composite component, and the interface layer while the normal force is applied, and maintaining the application of the electromagnetic field until the at least portions of the first thermoplastic composite component, the second thermoplastic composite component, and the interface layer create a weld pool” but instead teaches applying an electromagnetic field such that a portion of each component is at or above its respective melting temperature which is effectively creating a weld pool.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Throughout the claims, “first thermoplastic composite” and “second thermoplastic composite” are recited as both an acronym (FTPC and STPC respectively) and in long form interchangeably. Consistent formatting is requested.
Claim 12 includes an acronym for the “first region” and “second region”. Examiner suggests including the acronym on the first recitation of “first region” and “second region” and requests consistent formatting throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8, 10, and 13 recite the limitation “a first region contiguous with the bonding surface”. It is unclear which of the previously recited FTPC and STPC are being referenced. For examination purposes, it will be assumed the limitation should read “a first region contiguous with the FTPC bonding surface”.
Claims 9 and 11-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claims 8 and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansen et al (US Pat. 5444220 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Hansen teaches a method of blind welding thermoplastic composite components (Abstract), comprising:
providing a first thermoplastic composite (FTPC) component having a thickness that extends between an outer surface and an opposite FTPC bonding surface (Fig. 1- composite part 10);
providing a second thermoplastic composite (STPC) component having a STPC bonding surface (Fig. 1- composite part 12);
providing an interface layer comprising a thermoplastic material (Fig. 1- susceptor 14 and thermoplastic resin 16);
disposing the interface layer between the FTPC bonding surface and the STPC bonding surface, such that the FTPC bonding surface is contiguous with the interface layer, and the STPC bonding surface is contiguous with the interface layer (Fig. 1- susceptor 14 and thermoplastic resin 16 disposed between composite parts 10 and 12);
applying a normal force to the outer surface of the first thermoplastic composite component without an application of an opposing second normal force to the second thermoplastic component (Col. 4, Lines 6-9);
applying an electromagnetic field to at least portions of the first thermoplastic composite component, the second thermoplastic composite component, and the interface layer while the normal force is applied (Fig. 6; discussion throughout of coil), and maintaining the application of the electromagnetic field until the at least portions of the first thermoplastic composite component, the second thermoplastic composite component, and the interface layer create a weld pool (Col. 9, Lines 54-64); and
removing the application of the electromagnetic field after the weld pool is created (Fig. 6; discussion throughout of coil- the field is necessarily removed).
Regarding Claim 2, Hansen further teaches the interface layer is a unitary body configured to occupy substantially all of a bond region between the first thermoplastic composite and the second thermoplastic composite (Fig. 1- see unitary body of susceptor 14 and thermoplastic resin 16 occupying the bond region between composite parts 10 and 12).
Regarding Claim 3, Hansen further teaches the interface layer occupies substantially all of the bond region between the first thermoplastic composite and the second thermoplastic composite (Fig. 1- see susceptor 14 and thermoplastic resin 16 occupying the bond region between composite parts 10 and 12) subsequent to the weld pool creation (Col. 9, Lines 54-64).
Regarding Claim 4, Hansen further teaches the thermoplastic material of the interface layer is homogenous (Col. 8 Line 61-Col. 9, Line 9).
Regarding Claim 6, Hansen further teaches the interface layer includes an electrically conductive material (Fig. 1- susceptor 14 (susceptors are conductive).
Regarding Claim 7, Hansen further teaches the interface layer comprises a plurality of independent segments configured to collectively occupy substantially all of a bond region between the first thermoplastic composite and the second thermoplastic composite (Col. 7, Lines 4-50- discussing the susceptor having solid copper selvage strips on the edges).
Regarding Claim 8, Hansen further teaches the first thermoplastic composite component includes a first region contiguous with the bonding surface (Fig. 1- bonding surface of composite part 10) and a second region contiguous with the outer surface (Fig. 1- opposite surface of composite part 10);
wherein the first region is configured to have a first response when subjected to the electromagnetic field, and the second region is configured to have a second response when subjected to the electromagnetic field, and the first response is different from the second response (Col. 9, Lines 54-64- the bonding surface adjacent to the susceptor will melt more than the opposite surface of composite part 10).
Regarding Claim 9, Hansen further teaches the first response includes reaching a melting temperature of the first region in a period of time T1, and the second response includes reaching a melting temperature of the second region in a period of time T2, and T1 is less than T2 (Col. 9, Lines 54-64- the bonding surface adjacent to the susceptor will melt more quickly than the opposite surface of composite part 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al (US Pat. 5444220 cited in IDS) in view of Leatherman (US Pat. 3900360 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 5, Hansen does not specify the interface layer includes a fibrous material distributed in a matrix of said thermoplastic material.
Leatherman teaches an alternative method of blind welding thermoplastic composite components (Abstract) wherein the interface layer includes a fibrous material distributed in a matrix of said thermoplastic material (Fig. 3- strands 27) in order to render the interface layer pliant (Col. 4, Lines 13-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hansen to include fibrous material in the matrix as taught by Leatherman with reasonable expectation of success to render the interface layer pliant (Col. 4, Lines 13-33).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al (US Pat. 5444220 cited in IDS) in view of Van Ingen (PGPub 2020/0276769 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 10, Hansen teaches the first thermoplastic composite component includes a first region contiguous with the bonding surface (Fig. 1- bonding surface of composite part 10) and a second region contiguous with the outer surface (Fig. 1- opposite surface of composite part 10) but does not specify an isolation region disposed between the first region and the second region; wherein the isolation region is configured to be more thermally insulative than the first region.
Van Ingen teaches an alternative method of blind welding thermoplastic composite components (Abstract) comprising an isolation region disposed between the first region and the second region [0086]; wherein the isolation region is configured to be more thermally insulative than the first region [0086] in order to prevent heat from passing between layers [0086].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hansen to include a thermally insulative isolation region as taught by Van Ingen with reasonable expectation of success to prevent heat from passing between layers [0086].
Regarding Claim 11, Van Ingen further teaches the isolation region is configured to be more thermally insulative than both the first region and the second region [0086].
Regarding Claim 12, Hansen further teaches the first region (FR) is configured to reach an FR melting temperature in a period of time T1, and the second region (SR) is configured to reach a SR melting temperature in a period of time T2, and T1 is less than T2 (Col. 9, Lines 54-64- the bonding surface adjacent to the susceptor will melt more quickly than the opposite surface of composite part 10).
Regarding Claim 13, Hansen teaches the first thermoplastic composite component includes a first region contiguous with the bonding surface (Fig. 1- bonding surface of composite part 10) and a second region contiguous with the outer surface (Fig. 1- opposite surface of composite part 10) but does not specify an isolation region disposed between the first region and the second region; wherein the isolation region is configured to be more electrically insulative than the first region, or the second region, or both.
Van Ingen teaches an alternative method of blind welding thermoplastic composite components (Abstract) comprising an isolation region disposed between the first region and the second region [0026]; wherein the isolation region is configured to be more electrically insulative than the first region, or the second region, or both [0026] in order to prevent eddy currents from developing in each layer [0026].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hansen to include a electrically insulative isolation region as taught by Van Ingen with reasonable expectation of success to prevent eddy currents from developing in each layer [0026].
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 1/26/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748