DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " heating wires" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
NOTE: Claim 9 depends from claim 4, which does not disclose “heating wires” but does disclose the “pocket for holding the power supply”. However, claim 7 does disclose “the heating wires” but does not disclose a “pocket for holding the power supply”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirkland (US 20020077689 A1).
As to claim 1, Kirkland discloses a base garment (suit; Figures 1-3; Abstract) with inner pockets positioned, sized, and made of material suitable to hold TENS unit electrodes (Abstract) in place while in use for pain relief ([0006-0008]); a power supply (TENS Unit; [0008-0009, 0019, 0021]; Figures 1-2), and conductive wires ([0008-0009, 0019, 00021]; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 2, Kirkland discloses the power supply is a standard power supply for a TENS unit ([0002, 0008-0009, 0019, 0021]; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 3, Kirkland discloses the garment is a pair of pants or a shirt ([0018]; Figures 1-3).
As to claim 7, Kirkland discloses “wires configured to connect to the power supply” ([0008-0009, 0019, 0021]; Figures 1-2). In absence of any recitation of additional heat source or heating element in connection to the wiring, the examiner considers the wires of Kirkland to be considered “heating wires”. As such, Kirkland discloses “heating wires configured to connect to the power supply”.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Axelgaard et al. (US 20020138125 A1).
As to claim 1, Axelgaard et al. discloses a base garment (Figures 1-2, [0028-0030]) with inner pockets positioned, sized, and made of material suitable to hold TENS unit ([0003]) electrodes (medical electrodes, depicted as 40 in Figure 2; [0031-0034]) in place while in use for pain relief ([0003, 0032]); a power supply ([0003, 0032]; Figures 1-2), and conductive wires (embedded wires, depicted as 44 in Figure 2; [0032]).
As to claim 2, Axelgaard et al. discloses the power supply is a standard power supply for a TENS unit ([0003, 0005, 0032]).
As to claim 3, Axelgaard et al. discloses the garment is a pair of pants ([0028-0030]; Figures 1-2).
As to claim 4, Axelgaard et al. discloses a pocket for holding the power supply (depicted as 34 in Figure 2; [0032]).
As to claim 5, Axelgaard et al. discloses the inner pockets are configured to be closed using hook and loop fasteners ([0033]), such that the electrodes can be held securely within the pockets while connected electrically to the power supply ([0030-0034]).
As to claim 7, Axelgaard et al. discloses “wires configured to connect to the power supply” ([0008-0009, 00019, 00021]; Figures 1-2). In absence of any recitation of additional heat source or heating element in connection to the wiring, the examiner considers the wires of Axelgaard et al. to be considered “heating wires”. As such, Axelgaard et al. discloses “heating wires configured to connect to the power supply”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkland (US 20020077689 A1) in view of Axelgaard et al. (US 20020138125 A1).
As to claim 4, Kirkland discloses the invention substantially as claimed with pockets for holding the electrodes but does not explicitly disclose a pocket for holding the power supply. Axelgaard et al. discloses and electrode garment with retaining pockets for electrodes as well as the power supply (Figure 2; [0032-0033]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the garment of Kirkland to include an additional pocket to retain the power supply as disclosed by Axelgaard et al. in order to provide the predictable results of enhanced ambulatory use of the garment. Furthermore, such a modification would enable the patient to be unencumbered by loose or visible wires connecting to the garment.
As to claims 5 and 8-9, the modified Kirkland disclose the invention substantially as claimed with inner pockets for retaining the electrodes and power supply, but does not explicitly disclose they are both secured with hook and loop fasteners. Axelgaard et al. disclose hook and loop fasteners for securing the electrodes within the flap or pocket ([0032-0034]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the inner pockets for retaining the electrodes and power supply of the modified Kirkland to include hook and loop fasteners closures as disclosed by Axelgaard et al. ([0032-0034]) in order to provide the predictable results of providing the electrodes and power supply are securely retained on the garment. Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing accident dislodgement or separation of the electrodes or power supply by ensuring it is sufficiently retained within the pocket.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelgaard et al. (US 20020138125 A1).
As to claims 8-9, Axelgaard et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed with flaps or pockets using hook and loop fasteners to retain electrodes ([0032-0034]), but does not explicitly disclose using hook and loop fasteners for the pocket that retains the power supply (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the power supply pocket of Axelgaard et al. to also include hook and loop fasteners present in the electrode flabs or pockets of Axelgaard et al. in order to provide the predictable results of providing the power supply is securely retained on the garment. Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing accident dislodgement or separation of the power supply by ensuring it is sufficiently retained within the pocket.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkland (US 20020077689 A1) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 6,453,203 B1).
Kirkland discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose washing instructions or the ability to remove the electrical componentry prior to washing. Yamazaki et al. discloses a garment that is machine-washable after removing the power supply, conductive wires, and electrical contacts (electrodes) in col. 5, lines 21-28 (Figures 10-12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the garment of Kirkland to be washable with the removal of the power supply, conductive wires, and electrical contacts as disclosed by Yamazaki et al. in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring a hygienic and clean garment. Furthermore, modifying the device so it can be wash, particularly machine-washable, would enhance the usefulness of the garment and optimize long term usage to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axelgaard et al. (US 20020138125 A1) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 6,453,203 B1).
Axelgaard discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose washing instructions or the ability to remove the electrical componentry prior to washing. Yamazaki et al. discloses a garment that is machine-washable after removing the power supply, conductive wires, and electrical contacts (electrodes) in col. 5, lines 21-28 (Figures 10-12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the garment of Axelgaard to be washable with the removal of the power supply, conductive wires, and electrical contacts as disclosed by Yamazaki et al. in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring a hygienic and clean garment. Furthermore, modifying the device so it can be wash, particularly machine-washable, would enhance the usefulness of the garment and optimize long term usage to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796