DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 29 September 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 6-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at line 2 recites the limitation "the expression". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the electric field stimulation is applied following A3AR agonist delivery”. This recitation is unclear since claim 1 appears to imply that the electric field stimulation is provided (at line 2), and then A3AR agonist delivery follows that step of providing (as recited at line 4 of claim 1). Therefore in claim 5, it is unclear which step of the method is to be performed first.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “The Anti-Tumor Effect of A3 Adenosine Receptors Is Potentiated by Pulsed Electromagnetic Fields in Cultured Neural Cancer Cells” (Vincenzi et al.). Regarding claim 1, Vincenzi et al. (hereinafter Vincenzi) teaches a method of treating a cancerous tumor in a patient, comprising:
providing pulsed electric field stimulation to the tumor to increase the expression of A3ARs on a surface of cancer cells of the tumor (pg. 2, col. 2, 1st paragraph; also see pg. 1, 1st paragraph under “Introduction”); and
delivering a dose of A3AR agonist to induce apoptosis of the cancer cells of the tumor. While Vincenzi does not disclose the explicit step of delivering the dose to the patient, Vincenzi makes such obvious as Vincenzi discloses that “…preclinical and Phase I studies showed that A3AR agonists are safe and well tolerated in humans and thus may be considered possible therapeutic agents for certain cancer diseases” (pg. 1, last sentence of first paragraph under “Introduction”; also see pg. 11, 1st col. 2nd paragraph beginning with “Despite the increasing amount….”; and pg. 11, 2nd col., 1st paragraph beginning with “These results…”). Therefore, it would be obvious to deliver the dose to the patient in order to render therapeutic efficacy in a human patient.
It is also noted that the recitations “…to increase the expression of A3ARs on a surface of cancer cells of the tumor” and “…to induce apoptosis of the cancer cells of the tumor” are limitations which can be construed as intended use based on how they are recited.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “The Anti-Tumor Effect of A3 Adenosine Receptors Is Potentiated by Pulsed Electromagnetic Fields in Cultured Neural Cancer Cells” (Vincenzi et al.) in view of Ilmoniemi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0357935).
Regarding claim 2, while Vincenzi teaches the step of providing electric field stimulation to the tumor comprises arranging a first coil and a second coil secured in an applicator, wherein the planes of the coils are perpendicular to the cells, Vincenzi fails to disclose explicitly a third coil secured in the applicator, wherein the coils are secured in the applicator on three mutually orthogonal planes.
Ilmoniemi et al. (hereinafter Ilmoniemi) discloses a pulsed electric field stimulation (EFS) apparatus for treatment of cancer, the apparatus comprising: an applicator 90, comprising: a first coil (of module 93a) provided to the applicator in a first plane; a second coil (of module 93c) provided to the applicator in a second plane; and a third coil (of module 93e) provided to the applicator in a third plane, wherein each of the first, second and third planes are mutually orthogonal to one another (Fig. 9, [0096] and [0099]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a third coil secured to an applicator, in a orthogonal plane relative to the other two coils as taught by Ilmoniemi, in a coil arrangement for targeting a particular stimulation target in a patient as suggested by Vincenzi as Ilmoniemi recognizes that such an arrangement of coils in an applicator helmet enables fitting the coils to different sized heads of patients having targeted brain therapy [0097]-[0099] and Vincenzi recognizes placing the target in between the coils (pg. 11, paragraph under “Electromagnetic Field Exposure System”).
Regarding claim 5, Vincenzi teaches wherein the electric field stimulation is applied following A3AR agonist delivery (text of pgs. 3, 9-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0260107.
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791