DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 21 July 2023 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 26 November 2023.
Claims 1-16 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 November 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claims 1-16, on Page 5-6 of remark section that Pinheiro doesn’t teach determining to skip an access control process for the MT service based on the first indication sent to the NAS layer upon establishing of the RRC connection.Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Pinheiro Disclose that the IMS layer sends an IMS service indicator (start) to the NAS layer, which functions as a start indication for a particular IMS service. (See FIG. 3-4, 7 and 16, Col 21-22, Lines [50]-[15]; IMS service indicator (start)). NAS then includes this service indication in the request to establish an RRC connection (See FIG . 7 Col 15 Lines [30]-[40]: Establish RRC connection request(MMTEL service indicator) and FIG. 16, 16.6 “Request to Establish RRC Conn., including service indication.”). RRC layer 320, when ACB skipping is active for the particular IMS service, may perform ACB skipping for the service(16.7)by establishing the requested RRC connection.
Applicant argues that Pinheiro does NOT disclose the method for mobile terminated service(MT service after the UE entering an RRC IDLE mode;).Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Pinheiro Disclose See FIG. 13 teaching that the IMS layer of the UE initiates a start indication for an IMS service and sent a SIP INVITE message , after which the NAS/RRC layers establish an RRC connection for that service. When ACB skipping is active for the corresponding service, the UE thereafter performs RRC connection establishment while skipping the barred condition for that same IMS service. FIG. 13 expressly depicts the sequence of start indication and SIP INVITE followed by RRC connection establishment in which access control (ACB) is skipped for the ongoing service.See FIG. 14-16 teaching the start indication form IMS to NAS marks the service as active and causes NAS/RRC to treat that service as subject to ACB skipping. The start/service indication may be forwarded by NAS with each RRC connection request, and RRC skips ACB for the service while ACB skipping is active(See Col 20 Lines [35]-[40]; Col 21-22 Lines [50]-[15]. A stop indication is sent when the IMS service ends or fails (Col 18-19), signaling that service is no ongoing.)
Accordingly, the rejections of claim 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Pinheiro are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinheiro (US 10390189 B2).
With regarding claim 1, Pinheiro teaches: A method, comprising: receiving a SIP request by a user equipment (UE) for a mobile terminated (MT) service in a mobile communication network (See FIG. 1, Col 14 Line [25]-[35]: When IMS component 710 starts MMTel voice, MMTel video or MMTel SMS, IMS component 710 may send a request (or indication) to NAS EMM component 740 (at 7.3, “IMS Transaction Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The request may include a notification of the service (e.g., what type of application/service, such as MMTel voice, MMTel video or MMTel SMS) that should be started. Col. 15, Line [5]-[20]: The request may be implemented via an AT command transmitted from IMS component 710 to NAS EMM component 740. In parallel, IMS component 710 may transfer a user plane packet (via UP component 720) that includes a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) INVITE/SIP MESSAGE to NAS EMM component 740 (at 8.3, “Transfer UP packet (SIP INVITE/SIP Message)”)); starting the MT service, where the UE sends a first indication from an upper layer to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE to indicate that the MT service has started (Col. 3, Line [5]-[20]: One implementation described herein may include User Equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry to implement a Non Access Stratum (NAS) layer to: receive, from an upper layer relative to the NAS layer, a request for transmission, for a particular service type, that is originated by the UE, Col. 21-22, [50]-[15]: NAS layer 330 may receive, from IMS layer 310, an IMS request (at 16.3, “Service Request via User Plane”). IMS layer 310 may also provide NAS layer 330 with an indication of the service (at 16.4, “IMS Service Indicator (Start)”). The indication of the service may function as the Start indicator. In one implementation, communication 16.3 may be made through the BC/RABM and communication 16.4 may be direct communication between IMS layer 310 and NAS layer 330, such as via an AT command); establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection to resume the MT service after the UE entering an RRC IDLE mode (See FIG. 13, Col. 14, Line [50]-[55]: NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 7.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service, such as MMTel voice), Col. 16, Line [20]-[30]: NAS EMM component 740 may trigger a service request and send, to RRC component 750, a request for the establishment of an RRC connection for the service (at 9.7, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL/MMS)”). RRC component 750, because it received the transaction request from IMS component 710 (at 9.2), Col. 19, Line [25]-[40]: FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example timeline of communications, associated with a sample communication session, in which standardized Start and Stop Indications are used (e.g., technique (2)). As illustrated, assume UE 110 enters a cell (“Cell 1”) of wireless network 120 and the IMS layer, of UE 110, initiates a service request (“Start Indication”) (e.g., for MMTEL Voice). As part of the service request, a SIP INVITE message may be sent (“SIP INVITE sent”) and a connection request made to the RRC layer (“RRC Connection Request”)); and determining to skip an access control process for the MT service based on the first indication sent to the NAS layer upon establishing of the RRC connection (See FIG. 16, Col. 20, Line [35]-[40]: In the implementation of FIG. 15, the Start and Stop indications may be transmitted from IMS layer 310 to NAS layer 330. The Start and Stop indications may be forwarded, by NAS layer 330, to RRC layer 320, with each request to establish an RRC connection. Col. 21, Line [30]-[45]: As illustrated in FIG. 16, RRC layer 320 may receive an indication that ACB skipping is active (at 16.1, “Indication that ACB skipping is active”). As previously mentioned, the indication may be received as part of a SIB2 message and may indicate the particular service(s) for which ACB skipping applies. RRC layer 320 may notify NAS layer 330 of a congestion condition,Col 21-22, Line [50]-[15]: When the service (provided at 16.4) matches the service corresponding to the notification, indicating that NAS layer 330 should ignore ACB for particular services (provided at 16.2), NAS layer 330 may ignore ACB for the particular services (at 16.5, “Ignore Barred Condition for the Specific Services”). NAS layer 330 may transmit a request, to RRC layer 320, for an establishment of an RRC connection for the service request. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 16.6, “Request to Establish RRC Conn., Including Service Indication”). In this manner, IMS requests may each be forwarded by NAS layer 330 to RRC layer 320 to establish an RRC Connection until an IMS service indicator (STOP) is received by NAS layer 330 from IMS layer 310. RRC layer 320, when ACB skipping is active for the particular IMS service, may perform ACB skipping for the service (at 16.7, “Skip ACB for the Particular IMS Service”) by establishing the requested RRC connection).
With regarding claim 2, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the SIP request is a SIP INVITE request or a SIP MESSAGE request (Col 14, Line [25]-[35]: In parallel, IMS component 710 may transfer a user plane packet (via UP component 720) that includes a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) INVITE/SIP MESSAGE to NAS EMM component 740 (at 7.4, “Transfer UP packet (SIP INVITE/SIP Message)”), Col. 19, [25]-[40]: As illustrated, assume UE 110 enters a cell (“Cell 1”) of wireless network 120 and the IMS layer, of UE 110, initiates a service request (“Start Indication”) (e.g., for MMTEL Voice). As part of the service request, a SIP INVITE message may be sent (“SIP INVITE sent”) and a connection request made to the RRC layer (“RRC Connection Request”)).
With regarding claim 3, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the MT service belongs to one of a multimedia telephony (MMTel) voice service, MMTel video service, and a short message service over IP (SMSoIP) (Col. 3, Line [35]: The predetermined set of service types may include at least one of: Multimedia Telephony (MMTel) video, MMTel voice, MMTel Short Message Service (SMS), and SMS over an SG or S102 interface, Col. 9, Line [35]-[45]: IMS service initiates a connection by conveying the IMS service type (e.g., voice, video or SMS over IP) to the RRC layer).
With regarding claim 4, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the UE determines an access category, an RRC establishment cause, and a call type, of the MT service for establishing the RRC connection based on the indication (Col. 15, Line [30]-[40]:NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection (i.e., a user plane radio resource) for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 8.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service type, such as MMTel voice). For example, a field indicating the “RRC establishment cause” may be set to indicate the service. Alternatively or additionally, a new or different call type may be implemented instead of the “RRC establishment cause”,Col 16, Line [20]-[30]: RRC component 750, because it received the transaction request from IMS component 710 (at 9.2), may be aware of the service type (e.g., MMTel voice, MMTel video, or MMTel SMS) related to the RRC connection establishment request received at 9.7. RRC component 750, when ACB skipping is active for the particular service, may perform ACB skipping for the service and establish the requested connection).
With regarding claim 5, Pinheiro teaches: further comprising: sending the RRC establishment cause to the network in an RRCSetupRequest message for establishing the RRC connection (Col. 15, Line [30]-[40]: NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection (i.e., a user plane radio resource) for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 8.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service type, such as MMTel voice). For example, a field indicating the “RRC establishment cause” may be set to indicate the service. Alternatively or additionally, a new or different call type may be implemented instead of the “RRC establishment cause”, Col. 21-22, Line [65]-[05]: NAS layer 330 may transmit a request, to RRC layer 320, for an establishment of an RRC connection for the service request. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 16.6, “Request to Establish RRC Conn., Including Service Indication”). In this manner, IMS requests may each be forwarded by NAS layer 330 to RRC layer 320 to establish an RRC Connection until an IMS service indicator (STOP) is received by NAS layer 330 from IMS layer 310).
With regarding claim 6, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the UE also sends the first indication to the NAS layer when a PDU session for the MT service is transferred to 3GPP access (See FIG. 3, Col. 5, Line [5]-[10]: Core network 140 may include an IP-based network. In the 3GPP network architecture, core network 140 may include an Evolved Packet Core (EPC). As illustrated, core network 140 may include mobility management entity (MME) 134, serving gateway (SGW) 142, and packet data network gateways (PGW) 146. Although certain network devices are illustrated in environment 100 as being part of RAN 130 and core network 140, whether a network device is labeled as being in the “RAN” or the “core network” of environment 100 may be an arbitrary decision that may not affect the operation of wireless network 120. Col. 19, Line [25]-[40]: (See FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example timeline of communications, associated with a sample communication session, in which standardized Start and Stop Indications are used (e.g., technique (2)). As illustrated, assume UE 110 enters a cell (“Cell 1”) of wireless network 120 and the IMS layer, of UE 110, initiates a service request (“Start Indication”) (e.g., for MMTEL Voice). As part of the service request, a SIP INVITE message may be sent (“SIP INVITE sent”) and a connection request made to the RRC layer (“RRC Connection Request”). The RRC connection request may be established because ACB skipping may be active for the cell (“ACB Skip in Cell 1”). In response to the SIP INVITE message, a SIP 200 OK response may be received by UE 110 (“SIP 200 OK received”). The call may be established (“Call Established”), and based on the receiving of the SIP 200 OK message, the IMS layer may transmit a Stop indication to the RRC or NAS layer (“Stop Indication”),Col. 20, Line [35]: In the implementation of FIG. 15, the Start and Stop indications may be transmitted from IMS layer 310 to NAS layer 330. The Start and Stop indications may be forwarded, by NAS layer 330, to RRC layer 320, with each request to establish an RRC connection., Col 21-22, [50]-[15]).
With regarding claim 7, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the UE determines that the MT service is transferred when the UE sends a PDU session establishment request in an UL NAS TRANSPORT message with a request type set to "existing PDU session" (See FIG. 3, 9, Col. 3, Line [5]-[20]: One implementation described herein may include User Equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry to implement a Non Access Stratum (NAS) layer to: receive, from an upper layer relative to the NAS layer, a request for transmission, for a particular service type, that is originated by the UE; receive an indication, from a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer of the UE, that access to a cell, associated with the UE, is barred;,Col. 3, Line 40-55: a method may include receiving, by UE and from a network, an Access Class Barring (ACB) indication that a cell is barred due to congestion; receiving, by a RRC layer of the UE and from the network, an indication that ACB should be bypassed for one or more particular services that are originated by the UE; providing, to a NAS layer of the UE and from an application layer of the UE, identification of a service that is being originated by the UE; receiving, by the RRC layer and from the NAS layer, a request for the establishment of a radio connection for the service; receiving, by the RRC layer, the provided identification of the service; and establishing, by the RRC layer and with the network, the radio connection for the service, despite the indication of ACB, when the identification of the service, as received by the RRC layer, matches the one or more particular services associated with the indication that ACB should be bypassed.Col. 10-11, Line [55]-[20]: NAS layer 330 may receive a corresponding request for transmission from the IMS layer (at 3.4, “Request for Transmission via User Plane”). NAS layer 330 may request, to RRC layer 320, establishment of an RRC connection (at 3.5, “Request to Establish RRC Conn.”),Col. 15, Line [30]-[40]: NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection (i.e., a user plane radio resource) for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 8.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service type, such as MMTel voice). For example, a field indicating the “RRC establishment cause” may be set to indicate the service. Alternatively or additionally, a new or different call type may be implemented instead of the “RRC establishment cause”).
With regarding claim 8, Pinheiro teaches: further comprising: sending a second indication from the upper layer to the NAS layer of the UE to indicate that the MT service has ended (Col. 18, Line [60]-[65]: With respect to technique (2) (standardized Stop Indication), in one implementation, a standardized Stop Indication may be sent, by the IMS layer, after the IMS layer receives a SIP 200 OK message in response to the SIP INVITE message. Alternatively or additionally, the IMS layer may inform the NAS layer and/or the RRC layer that an IMS service is ended, completed, or released by sending the Stop Indication)Col. 19, Line [10]-[20]: The IMS layer may send the Stop Indication for cases where the IMS service ends abnormally. For example, when a failure condition occurs within the IMS layer or when the user aborts an IMS call establishment attempt before it is successfully established, the IMS layer may additionally send the Stop Indication.)Col 19, Line [45]-[60]: At some point, assume UE 110 changes cells to a second cell (“Cell 2”). Changing cells may result in a handover operation, which may include reconfiguration or re-connection of the RRC channel (“RRC Connection Reconfiguration”). Further, assume that a connection failure occurs. The failure may include a radio link failure, which may be detected by UE 110 (“RLF detected”). UE 110 may subsequently attempt to re-establish a connection (“RRC Connection Re-establishment Request”).
With regarding claim 9, Pinheiro teaches: A User Equipment (UE), comprising: a receiver that receives a SIP request by a user equipment (UE) for a mobile terminated (MT) service in a mobile communication network(See FIG. 1, Col 14 Line [25]-[35]: When IMS component 710 starts MMTel voice, MMTel video or MMTel SMS, IMS component 710 may send a request (or indication) to NAS EMM component 740 (at 7.3, “IMS Transaction Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The request may include a notification of the service (e.g., what type of application/service, such as MMTel voice, MMTel video or MMTel SMS) that should be started. Col. 15, Line [5]-[20]: The request may be implemented via an AT command transmitted from IMS component 710 to NAS EMM component 740. In parallel, IMS component 710 may transfer a user plane packet (via UP component 720) that includes a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) INVITE/SIP MESSAGE to NAS EMM component 740 (at 8.3, “Transfer UP packet (SIP INVITE/SIP Message)”));an application layer handling circuit that starts the MT service, where the UE sends a first indication from an upper layer to a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE to indicate that the MT service has started(Col. 3, Line [5]-[20]: One implementation described herein may include User Equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry to implement a Non Access Stratum (NAS) layer to: receive, from an upper layer relative to the NAS layer, a request for transmission, for a particular service type, that is originated by the UE, Col. 21-22, [50]-[15]: NAS layer 330 may receive, from IMS layer 310, an IMS request (at 16.3, “Service Request via User Plane”). IMS layer 310 may also provide NAS layer 330 with an indication of the service (at 16.4, “IMS Service Indicator (Start)”). The indication of the service may function as the Start indicator. In one implementation, communication 16.3 may be made through the BC/RABM and communication 16.4 may be direct communication between IMS layer 310 and NAS layer 330, such as via an AT command);a radio resource control (RRC) handling circuit that establishes an RRC connection to resume the MT service after the UE entering an RRC IDLE mode(See FIG. 13, Col. 14, Line [50]-[55]: NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 7.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service, such as MMTel voice), Col. 16, Line [20]-[30]: NAS EMM component 740 may trigger a service request and send, to RRC component 750, a request for the establishment of an RRC connection for the service (at 9.7, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL/MMS)”). RRC component 750, because it received the transaction request from IMS component 710 (at 9.2), Col. 19, Line [25]-[40]: FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example timeline of communications, associated with a sample communication session, in which standardized Start and Stop Indications are used (e.g., technique (2)). As illustrated, assume UE 110 enters a cell (“Cell 1”) of wireless network 120 and the IMS layer, of UE 110, initiates a service request (“Start Indication”) (e.g., for MMTEL Voice). As part of the service request, a SIP INVITE message may be sent (“SIP INVITE sent”) and a connection request made to the RRC layer (“RRC Connection Request”));and a control circuit that determines to skip an access control process for the MT service based on the first indication sent to the NAS layer upon establishing of the RRC connection(See FIG. 16, Col. 20, Line [35]-[40]: In the implementation of FIG. 15, the Start and Stop indications may be transmitted from IMS layer 310 to NAS layer 330. The Start and Stop indications may be forwarded, by NAS layer 330, to RRC layer 320, with each request to establish an RRC connection. Col. 21, Line [30]-[45]: As illustrated in FIG. 16, RRC layer 320 may receive an indication that ACB skipping is active (at 16.1, “Indication that ACB skipping is active”). As previously mentioned, the indication may be received as part of a SIB2 message and may indicate the particular service(s) for which ACB skipping applies. RRC layer 320 may notify NAS layer 330 of a congestion condition,Col 21-22, Line [50]-[15]: When the service (provided at 16.4) matches the service corresponding to the notification, indicating that NAS layer 330 should ignore ACB for particular services (provided at 16.2), NAS layer 330 may ignore ACB for the particular services (at 16.5, “Ignore Barred Condition for the Specific Services”). NAS layer 330 may transmit a request, to RRC layer 320, for an establishment of an RRC connection for the service request. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 16.6, “Request to Establish RRC Conn., Including Service Indication”). In this manner, IMS requests may each be forwarded by NAS layer 330 to RRC layer 320 to establish an RRC Connection until an IMS service indicator (STOP) is received by NAS layer 330 from IMS layer 310. RRC layer 320, when ACB skipping is active for the particular IMS service, may perform ACB skipping for the service (at 16.7, “Skip ACB for the Particular IMS Service”) by establishing the requested RRC connection).
With regarding claim 10, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the SIP request is a SIP INVITE request or a SIP MESSAGE request (Col 14, Line [25]-[35]: In parallel, IMS component 710 may transfer a user plane packet (via UP component 720) that includes a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) INVITE/SIP MESSAGE to NAS EMM component 740 (at 7.4, “Transfer UP packet (SIP INVITE/SIP Message)”), Col. 19, [25]-[40]: As illustrated, assume UE 110 enters a cell (“Cell 1”) of wireless network 120 and the IMS layer, of UE 110, initiates a service request (“Start Indication”) (e.g., for MMTEL Voice). As part of the service request, a SIP INVITE message may be sent (“SIP INVITE sent”) and a connection request made to the RRC layer (“RRC Connection Request”)).
With regarding claim 11, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the MT service belongs to one of a multimedia telephony (MMTel) voice service, MMTel video service, and a short message service over IP (SMSoIP) (Col. 3, Line [35]: The predetermined set of service types may include at least one of: Multimedia Telephony (MMTel) video, MMTel voice, MMTel Short Message Service (SMS), and SMS over an SG or S102 interface, Col. 9, Line [35]-[45]: IMS service initiates a connection by conveying the IMS service type (e.g., voice, video or SMS over IP) to the RRC layer).
With regarding claim 12, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the UE determines an access category, an RRC establishment cause, and a call type, of the MT service for establishing the RRC connection based on the indication(Col. 15, Line [30]-[40]:NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection (i.e., a user plane radio resource) for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 8.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service type, such as MMTel voice). For example, a field indicating the “RRC establishment cause” may be set to indicate the service. Alternatively or additionally, a new or different call type may be implemented instead of the “RRC establishment cause”,Col 16, Line [20]-[30]: RRC component 750, because it received the transaction request from IMS component 710 (at 9.2), may be aware of the service type (e.g., MMTel voice, MMTel video, or MMTel SMS) related to the RRC connection establishment request received at 9.7. RRC component 750, when ACB skipping is active for the particular service, may perform ACB skipping for the service and establish the requested connection).
With regarding claim 13, Pinheiro teaches: further comprising: a transmitter that sends the RRC establishment cause to the network in an RRCSetupRequest message for establishing the RRC connection(Col. 15, Line [30]-[40]: NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection (i.e., a user plane radio resource) for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 8.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service type, such as MMTel voice). For example, a field indicating the “RRC establishment cause” may be set to indicate the service. Alternatively or additionally, a new or different call type may be implemented instead of the “RRC establishment cause”, Col. 21-22, Line [65]-[05]: NAS layer 330 may transmit a request, to RRC layer 320, for an establishment of an RRC connection for the service request. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 16.6, “Request to Establish RRC Conn., Including Service Indication”). In this manner, IMS requests may each be forwarded by NAS layer 330 to RRC layer 320 to establish an RRC Connection until an IMS service indicator (STOP) is received by NAS layer 330 from IMS layer 310).
With regarding claim 14, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the UE also sends the first indication to the NAS layer when a PDU session for the MT service is transferred to 3GPP access(See FIG. 3, Col. 5, Line [5]-[10]: Core network 140 may include an IP-based network. In the 3GPP network architecture, core network 140 may include an Evolved Packet Core (EPC). As illustrated, core network 140 may include mobility management entity (MME) 134, serving gateway (SGW) 142, and packet data network gateways (PGW) 146. Although certain network devices are illustrated in environment 100 as being part of RAN 130 and core network 140, whether a network device is labeled as being in the “RAN” or the “core network” of environment 100 may be an arbitrary decision that may not affect the operation of wireless network 120. Col. 19, Line [25]-[40]: (See FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example timeline of communications, associated with a sample communication session, in which standardized Start and Stop Indications are used (e.g., technique (2)). As illustrated, assume UE 110 enters a cell (“Cell 1”) of wireless network 120 and the IMS layer, of UE 110, initiates a service request (“Start Indication”) (e.g., for MMTEL Voice). As part of the service request, a SIP INVITE message may be sent (“SIP INVITE sent”) and a connection request made to the RRC layer (“RRC Connection Request”). The RRC connection request may be established because ACB skipping may be active for the cell (“ACB Skip in Cell 1”). In response to the SIP INVITE message, a SIP 200 OK response may be received by UE 110 (“SIP 200 OK received”). The call may be established (“Call Established”), and based on the receiving of the SIP 200 OK message, the IMS layer may transmit a Stop indication to the RRC or NAS layer (“Stop Indication”).,Col. 20, Line [35]: In the implementation of FIG. 15, the Start and Stop indications may be transmitted from IMS layer 310 to NAS layer 330. The Start and Stop indications may be forwarded, by NAS layer 330, to RRC layer 320, with each request to establish an RRC connection., Col 21-22, [50]-[15]).
With regarding claim 15, Pinheiro teaches: wherein the UE determines that the MT service is transferred when the UE sends a PDU session establishment request in an UL NAS TRANSPORT message with a request type set to "existing PDU session"(See FIG. 3, 9, Col. 3, Line [5]-[20]: One implementation described herein may include User Equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry to implement a Non Access Stratum (NAS) layer to: receive, from an upper layer relative to the NAS layer, a request for transmission, for a particular service type, that is originated by the UE; receive an indication, from a Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer of the UE, that access to a cell, associated with the UE, is barred;,Col. 3, Line 40-55: a method may include receiving, by UE and from a network, an Access Class Barring (ACB) indication that a cell is barred due to congestion; receiving, by a RRC layer of the UE and from the network, an indication that ACB should be bypassed for one or more particular services that are originated by the UE; providing, to a NAS layer of the UE and from an application layer of the UE, identification of a service that is being originated by the UE; receiving, by the RRC layer and from the NAS layer, a request for the establishment of a radio connection for the service; receiving, by the RRC layer, the provided identification of the service; and establishing, by the RRC layer and with the network, the radio connection for the service, despite the indication of ACB, when the identification of the service, as received by the RRC layer, matches the one or more particular services associated with the indication that ACB should be bypassed.Col. 10-11, Line [55]-[20]: NAS layer 330 may receive a corresponding request for transmission from the IMS layer (at 3.4, “Request for Transmission via User Plane”). NAS layer 330 may request, to RRC layer 320, establishment of an RRC connection (at 3.5, “Request to Establish RRC Conn.”),Col. 15, Line [30]-[40]: NAS EMM component 740 may transmit a request, to RRC component 750, for the establishment of an RRC connection (i.e., a user plane radio resource) for the service. The request may also include an indication of the service (at 8.6, “Establish RRC Conn Request (MMTEL Service Indicator)”). The indication of the service could be generic (e.g. UE originated bypass of ACB) or more specific (i.e., as discussed above per-application or service type, such as MMTel voice). For example, a field indicating the “RRC establishment cause” may be set to indicate the service. Alternatively or additionally, a new or different call type may be implemented instead of the “RRC establishment cause”).
With regarding claim 16, Pinheiro teaches: further comprising: a transmitter that sends a second indication from the upper layer to the NAS layer of the UE to indicate that the MT service has ended(Col. 18, Line [60]-[65]: With respect to technique (2) (standardized Stop Indication), in one implementation, a standardized Stop Indication may be sent, by the IMS layer, after the IMS layer receives a SIP 200 OK message in response to the SIP INVITE message. Alternatively or additionally, the IMS layer may inform the NAS layer and/or the RRC layer that an IMS service is ended, completed, or released by sending the Stop Indication)Col. 19, Line [10]-[20]: The IMS layer may send the Stop Indication for cases where the IMS service ends abnormally. For example, when a failure condition occurs within the IMS layer or when the user aborts an IMS call establishment attempt before it is successfully established, the IMS layer may additionally send the Stop Indication.)Col 19, Line [45]-[60]: At some point, assume UE 110 changes cells to a second cell (“Cell 2”). Changing cells may result in a handover operation, which may include reconfiguration or re-connection of the RRC channel (“RRC Connection Reconfiguration”). Further, assume that a connection failure occurs. The failure may include a radio link failure, which may be detected by UE 110 (“RLF detected”). UE 110 may subsequently attempt to re-establish a connection (“RRC Connection Re-establishment Request”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468