DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 1, line 5, the term “the interior the housing” should read “the interior of the housing”.
As to claim 3, line 4, the term “wherein the convolutional baffle surrounding the electrode” should read “wherein the convolutional baffle surround[[ing]]s the electrode”.
As to claim 8, line 11, the term “a longest dimension” should read “the [[a]] lonest dimension”.
As to claim 10, line 12, the term “at least one of activate an indicator element” should read “at least one of an indicator element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marianna DeMyer of US 2022/0041476 A1 (hereinafter, DeMyer ‘476).
As to claim 1, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to an ozone generation module for generating ozonating water (see DeMyer ‘476 at Abstract for teaching a system of effective and/or safe ozonation of water in a tank through evolved gas control), the ozone module comprising:
a housing having interior of the housing and an exterior of the housing (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to a tank 101 having interior and exterior),
an intake interface set in the housing for conveying a water into the interior of the housing (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to water inlet 201, wherein the water inlet 201 conveys a water into the interior of the tank 101),
an electrode exposed to the interior the housing (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, paragraph [0059], teaches that the electrode 205 is exposed to the interior of the housing), the electrode comprising an anode and a cathode that generates at least one of dissolved ozone and gaseous ozone in the water when a current is applied across the anode and cathode to result in an ozonated water (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, paragraph [0059], teaches to electrode 205 comprising anode 207 and cathode 208 in the ozonation apparatus, wherein the electrodes are submerged in water such that electrolytic water treatment is performed),
power leads comprising a first power lead coupled to the anode and the transiting to the exterior of the housing and a second power lead coupled to the cathode and transiting to the exterior of the housing (DeMyer ‘476 does not explicitly teach power leads; however, DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to electrode 205 comprising anode 207 and cathode 208 for performing electrolytic water treatment for ozone generation in water and DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, paragraph [0065], teaches that the electrode 205 is powered by a power source 508, e.g., a battery using DC voltage, so as to be positively and negatively charged such that an electrical lead or connection would be understood to be present and provide the electrical connection to complete the circuit as taught; see DeMyer ‘476 at Fig. 2 for teaching the line showing the connection of the power source to the control unit which would be understood to include line for electrical transmission of the power), and an output interface for outputting the ozonated water from the housing (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to water outlet 202 for outputting the ozonated water from the tank 101).
Fig. 2 of DeMyer ‘476
As to claim 2, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a baffle impeding a flow of the water from the intake interface to the output interface to increase contact time of the water with at least one of the electrode and the dissolved ozone (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 10, paragraph [0096], teaches to a dispersion plate 1000 with spiral instances of the bubble paths 302 for circulating bubbles of ozone 110, the bubble paths 302 sloping upward within the dispersion plate 1000 such that bubbles travel along the bubble path 302 and possibly create an induced flow 306, each bubble path 302 terminating in a dispersion hole 304 releasing undissolved ozone 110 as bubbles into various regions of the tank 101; DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 10, paragraph [0096], teaches that the movement of the evolved gas 108 within the bubbles paths 302 may create an induced flow 306 in the water 102 of the tank 101 which may further disperse the ozone 110 and/or force the bubbles of ozone 110 to remain in contact with the water 102 over a longer period to increase a concentration of dissolved ozone 110).
As to claim 3, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the baffle is a convolutional baffle directing water in a spiral as the water moves through the interior of the housing (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0096], Fig. 10, teaches that bubble paths 302 may be convoluted and/or have a rough surface to slow bubble movement along the bubble paths 302, wherein the underside of the dispersion plate 1000 is sloped such that bubbles traveling in the bubble path 302 may continue to follow the bubble path 302 in a spiral until a terminus of the bubble path 302 at a dispersion hole 304), and
wherein the convolutional baffle surrounding the electrode such that at least a portion of the water moves circularly around the electrode as the water moves from the intake interface to the output interface (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to the ozonation apparatus 200, further illustrating an electrode 205 generating ozone 110 at an anode 207 and hydrogen 112 at a cathode 208, the ozone 110 dispersed through a path disperser 214 circularly as some water 102 moves from water inlet 201 to water outlet 202; the a collector of the path disperser 214 (e.g., the collector 301) surrounds the electrode 205).
As to claim 10, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the memory further comprising a module coordination routine comprising computer readable instructions that when executed (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0065], teaches that the control unit 500 may include circuits that manipulate signals and/or computer readable instructions that when executed):
determine an error status of the ozone module (DeMyer ‘476, paragraphs [0065] and [0094], teaches to determining error in operations according to the computer readable instructions), and
initiate ozone generation of a second ozone module serially configured with the ozone module along a flow channel of the water (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0065], teaches to (v) activating the electrode 205 in response to the addition of water 102 to the tank 101 and (vi) activating the electrode 205 according to a schedule after (iv) being inactivated; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the second ozone module can be identical to the ozone module because it is unclear how the second ozone module is structurally defined in light of specification or drawings from 07/23/2023; mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.), and
wherein the memory further comprising an electrode monitoring routine comprising computer readable instructions that when executed (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0065], teaches that the control unit 500 may include circuits that manipulate signals and/or computer readable instructions that when executed): detect an error status resulting from an electrical property of the electrode (DeMyer ‘476, paragraphs [0076] and [0085], teaches to cutting off or inhibiting power to the electrode if sensed electrical resistance is changed in determining proper operation), and at least one of activate an indicator element of a user interface and stop power flowing from the power supply to the electrode (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0065], teaches to shutting off the electrode 205 in the event of an error or other malfunction and activating a warning indicator; DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0089], teaches to the notification that is communicated to one or more user interfaces, including a smartphone 524), wherein the electrical property is a resistance change in the electrode (DeMyer ‘476, paragraphs [0076] and [0085], teaches to cutting off or inhibiting power to the electrode if electrical resistance is changed).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMyer ‘476, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Guorong Fan of CN 108176261 A (hereinafter, Fan).
As to claim 4, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a flow detector configured to detect at least one of a flow of the water and a flow rate of the water moving through the ozone module (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0086], Fig. 5, teaches to a flow meter 516 configured to detect a water throughput of the water 102 as some water 102 moves from water inlet 201 to water outlet 202).
In an analogous art, Fan teaches to a sensor line coupled to the flow detector and transiting the housing for communicating a flow signal (Fan, paragraph [0016], teaches to that a flow sensor and a water pressure sensor are installed on the pipe near the water inlet valve; the data from the flow sensor and the water pressure sensor are transmitted to the electronic flow meter and electronic water pressure meter on the control panel, respectively, so that the operator can understand the working status of the ozone water generator).
DeMyer ‘476 is completely silent to a sensor line. DeMyer ‘476 does teach to a flow meter 516 for detecting at least some water flow and water flow rates of the water moving through the ozone module. Accordingly, Fan teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used an electronic flow meter. The electronic flow meter can comprise of a sensor line for detecting water flow rates for communicating a flow signal (Fan, paragraph [0016]). Because Fan teaches that such flow meters were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used flow meter 516 of DeMyer ‘476 with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMyer ‘476, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Noriyuki Nakamura of US 2012/0251395 A1 (hereinafter, Nakamura) and Patrick Simon Bray of WO 2018/100361 A1 (hereinafter, Bray).
As to claim 5, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller communicatively coupled to the power leads comprising (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073], Fig. 5, teaches to control system 550 in which the control unit 500 is in communication with electrolytic ozone unit 106 comprising electrodes 105; DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073], Fig. 5, teaches that the control module is electrically coupled with the power source 508):
a processor (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073], Fig. 5, teaches to the processor 501 which may be a computer processor),
a memory (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073], Fig. 5, teaches to the memory 503 that may be a computer memory).
In an analogous art, Nakamura teaches to comprising: a configuration data comprising at least one of a voltage value and an amperage value (Nakamura, paragraph [0095], teaches to that the ozone control part 19 further includes a data memory 1S6 and a current signal converter 1S7, wherein the data memory 1S6 stores a set power W necessary for generating an optimum amount of ozone and the current signal converter 1S7 converts the set power W into a current signal for applying a necessary current too the ozone power source.
DeMyer ‘476 does not explicitly teach configuration data comprising at least a voltage or a current value for the water treatment using ozone. DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0076], does teach that the electrode operation procedure 506 comprises computer readable instructions that when executed on the processor 501 supplies the electrolytic ozone unit 106 with power from the power source 508, for example in response to an activation call from the electrode operation procedure 506. Accordingly, Nakamura teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used a data memory comprising a current signal for applying a necessary current to the ozone power source. The computer readable instructions can comprise of a current signal for applying a necessary current to the ozone power source. Because Nakamura teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the data memory comprising a current signal for applying a necessary current to the ozone power source as the electrode operation procedure 506 that comprises computer readable instructions of DeMyer ‘476 with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura teaches to an ozone initiation routine comprising computer readable instructions that when executed: receive an execution command (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0074], teaches to the control unit including computer readable instructions; the control unit is configured to receive an execution command).
In an analogous art, Bray teaches to determine at least one of the flow is occurring and the flow rate exceeds a threshold value, and supply power to the power leads according to at least one of the voltage value and the amperage value (Bray, abstract, teaches to a processor for receiving an indication of water flow from the flow sensor and determining if the flow of water is above a threshold value and, if the flow of water is above the threshold value, activating the electrochemical cell).
DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura does not explicitly teach determining at least one flow is occurring and the flow rate exceeds a threshold value. However, DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura does teach to the volume detection routine 502, wherein, for example, the volume detection routine 502 may comprise computer readable instructions stored in the memory 505 that when executed on the processor 501 detects a water level of the water 102 in the tank 101, and wherein the volume sensor 510 may sense depth or volume based on electrical conductivity, pressure, weight, acoustical and/or ultrasonic sensing of depth, mechanical float height sensor, light dispersion sensing, and/or through other means known in the art (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0074]). Accordingly, Bray, abstract, teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used the memory and processor configured to supply power to the ozonation apparatus upon exceeding a threshold water flow rate value. The control unit of DeMyer ‘476 can comprise of computer readable instructions in determining whether the water flow rate exceeds a threshold value and supplying power to the ozonation apparatus to perform ozonation. Because Bray teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the ozone initiation routine of DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura with computer readable instructions that comprise water flow rate threshold value instead of water volume threshold value with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMyer ‘476, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, in view of Nakamura and Bray, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of William Burris of US 2002/0134736 A1 (hereinafter, Burris).
As to claim 6, DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura and Bray teaches to the apparatus of claim 5, further comprising:
a user interface communicatively coupled to the controller for generating the execution command (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073], teaches that the control unit 500 may be configured, controlled, communicate, send and receive warnings, and/or communicate through application programming interfaces with the smartphone 524, vehicle interface 526, and/or other computing device; the smartphone 524 necessarily has a user interface communicatively coupled to the controller for generating the execution command in light of DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073]), wherein the user interface comprising a light interface (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0089], teaches to the notification system including text data alerting a user, wherein the notification can also be an alert indicator or light, for example that illuminate an LED light or displays an icon on an LCD display screen, and wherein the notification may be communicated to one or more user interfaces, wherein the memory further comprising an ozone indication routine comprising computer readable instructions that when executed (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0073], teaches to the control unit 500 comprising processor 501 and memory 503).
In an analogous art, Burris teaches to initiate a first color on the light interface indicating that an ozone concentration in the water is insufficient, determine at least one of the flow has exceeded a threshold time and the flow rate of the water has exceeded a threshold volume specified in the appliance configuration data, and initiate a second color on the light interface indicating that the ozone concentration in the water is sufficient (Burris, paragraph [0024], teaches an example, wherein the sensor 72 communicate with the user where red indicates red indicates insufficient dissolved ozone and green indicates sufficient dissolved ozone; the ozone sensor could use an ORP (Oxidation Reduction Potential) electrode, which is well known to those skilled in the art, or preferably, two dissimilar (with different positions in the electromotive series) metals in the liquid stream connected to generate a galvanic potential proportional to the ozone concentration; while use of an ozone sensor 45 to warn of system problems should be adequate, additional sensor circuits to warn of low liquid pressure or flow rate could be added for additional safety).
DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura and Bray does not explicitly teach using a first color and a second color for indicating sufficiency of ozone concentration within the ozonation apparatus. DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura and Bray does teach to using the control unit 500 configured to illuminate LED light or provide text notification for communicating whether the electrolyte concentration is sufficient or not, paragraph [0073]. DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura and Bray teaches to using an ORP sensor 512, paragraph [0073], for measuring oxidation reduction potential for ozone concentration. DeMyer ‘476 in view of Nakamura and Bray is silent to using the control unit 500 configured to illuminate LED light for indicating whether ozone concentration is sufficient at a given instance. Accordingly, Burris teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used different colors for indicating whether ozone concentration is sufficient at a given instance. The computer readable instructions in the control unit 500 can comprise of communicating using a first and a second color whether the ozone concentration exceeds a threshold value. Because Burris teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the control unit 500 of DeMyer ‘476 in communicating a status of ozone concentration relative to a threshold value using different light colors with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMyer ‘476, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in further view of Seong Tae Kim of KR 20160123594 A (hereinafter, Kim).
As to claim 7, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the baffle impeding the flow of the water (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0096], Fig. 10, teaches to a dispersion plate 1000 with spiral instances of the bubble paths 302 and that bubble paths 302 may be convoluted and/or have a rough surface to slow, or impede, bubble movement along the bubble paths 302; the impeded bubble paths necessarily implies impeded flow of water) comprises a first barrier between the anode and the cathode (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0059], Fig. 2, teaches that the electrode 205 comprises an anode 207, a cathode 208, and in one or more embodiments a protein exchange membrane 206 (labeled the PEM membrane 206) electrically coupling the anode 207 and the cathode 208; the PEM membrane 206 in Fig. 2 is configured such that water does not pass through a gap between the anode 207 and cathode 208).
In an analogous art, Kim teaches to a second barrier between the anode and the interior of the housing, and a third barrier between the cathode and the interior of the housing (Kim, paragraph [0050], teaches to a guide section 300 that comprises a first guide section 310, a second guide section 320, and a third guide 330, wherein, in Figs. 2 and 3, paragraph [0051], the first guide section 310 is between the anode 210 and the inner upper surface, or the interior, of the first housing 110; Kim, paragraph [0053], teaches that the second guide section 320 is between the cathode 220 and the inner bottom surface, of the interior, of the second housing 120, for instance).
DeMyer ‘476 does not explicitly teach the second and third barriers. DeMyer ‘476 does teach to a first barrier as the PEM membrane 206 of DeMyer ‘476 reads as the first barrier impeding the flow of the water due to absence of gap between the anode 207 and cathode 208 in Fig. 2. Accordingly, Kim, paragraph [0049], teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used guide sections for guiding the flow of water for flow obstruction. The second and third barriers can comprise of guide sections for flow obstruction in an ozonation apparatus. Because Kim teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the ozonation apparatus of DeMyer ‘476 with guide sections as flow obstruction members with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMyer ‘476, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and in view of Kim, as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Jiabing Yan of CN 111118527 A (hereinafter, Yan).
As to claim 8, DeMyer ‘476 in view of Kim teaches to the apparatus of claim 7, wherein at least one of the intake interface and the output interface (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to water inlet 201, wherein the water inlet 201 conveys a water into the interior of the tank 101; DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, teaches to water outlet 202 for outputting the ozonated water from the tank 101).
In an analogous art, Yan teaches comprise a quick connect coupler (Yan, paragraph [0054], teaches to the inlet 14 and outlet 15 comprising quick connectors 17 for facilitating quick connection of pipes).
DeMyer ‘476 in view of Kim does not explicitly teach quick connectors. DeMyer ‘476 in view of Kim does teach water inlet 201 and outlet 202 in water ozonation (paragraph [0058]). Accordingly, Yan teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used quick connectors for facilitating quick connection of pipes (paragraph [0054]). The water inlets and outlets can comprise quick connectors for facilitating quick connection of pipes. Because Yan teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the water inlets and outlets of DeMyer ‘476 in view of Kim with quick connectors with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
DeMyer ‘476 in view of Kim and Yan teaches to wherein the anode of the electrode comprising at least one of boron doped diamond and tin-nickel oxide (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0025], teaches that the anode of the electrode may include boron doped diamond and/or tin-nickel oxide), wherein the cathode of the electrode comprising stainless steel (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0059], teaches that the cathode 208 may be made of stainless steel),
wherein the anode and the cathode electrically coupled with a proton exchange membrane (PEM) such that the water flows around the electrode without passing through a gap between the anode and cathode (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0059], Fig. 2, teaches that the electrode 205 comprises an anode 207, a cathode 208, and in one or more embodiments a protein exchange membrane 206 (labeled the PEM membrane 206) electrically coupling the anode 207 and the cathode 208; the PEM membrane 206 in Fig. 2 is configured such that water does not pass through a gap between the anode 207 and cathode 208),
wherein a travel distance of the water from the intake interface to the output interface is greater than or equal to a longest dimension of the exterior of the housing (Kim, paragraph [0066], Fig. 5, teaches that the water passes in a zigzag pattern through a first flow path 313, second flow path 314, and so forth, as the water is supplied to the first inlet 111 of the first housing 110 and discharged through the first discharge port 112; the water travel distance in the continuous zigzag pattern is greater than any single dimension of the exterior of the housing).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMyer ‘476, as applied to claims 1 above, and in view of Changteng Luo of CN 111411367 A (hereinafter, Luo).
As to claim 9, DeMyer ‘476 teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a power supply electrically coupled to the electrode (DeMyer ‘476, Fig. 2, paragraph [0065], teaches that the electrode 205 is powered by a power source 508, e.g., a battery using DC voltage),
a total dissolved solid (TDS) sensor for detecting a TDS value of the water (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0078], teaches that the control unit 500 may also automatically sense and/or monitor conductivity of the water 102, wherein conductivity and/or total dissolved solids may be measured through measuring resistance between two leads; DeMyer ‘476 necessarily teaches to a TDS sensor as the TDS values in water treatment are detected by measuring electrical conductivity of a water sample using the two leads),
wherein the memory further comprising a TDS regulation routine comprising computer readable instructions that when executed (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0078], teaches that, where the conductivity and/or ionic concentration of the water 102 is below a threshold value, computer readable instructions may be executed on the processor 501 to dispense an electrolyte tablet from the electrolyte dispenser 522).
In analogous art, Luo teaches to an adaptive active oxygen concentration generator (Luo, paragraph [0030]) that is configured to: detect the TDS value of the water (Luo, paragraph [0048], teaches that the TDS detection module 10 is used to detect the current TDS value of the influent and feed it back to the main control module 40), determine a second voltage value to supply to the electrode at the TDS value (Luo, paragraph [0063], teaches to the TDS probe 11 receives the detection signal from the signal output circuit 12 and outputs different TDS feedback signals to the signal processing circuit 13 according to the current TDS value of the water inlet), and supply power to the electrode at the second voltage value and at a current value that is constant (Luo, paragraph [0071], teaches that the power output circuit 33 outputs a voltage signal to the first electrode plate 31 and the second electrode plate 32, so that a voltage difference is formed between the first electrode plate 31 and the second electrode plate 32 and electrolysis is started).
DeMyer ‘476 does not explicitly teach a memory and/or processor configured to detect the TDS value, determine a voltage to be applied to the electrode based on the TDS value, and then applying electrolytic water treatment. DeMyer ‘476 does teach the ozonation apparatus for applying electrolytic water treatment, wherein the ozonation apparatus comprises the control unit 500 with the processor 501 and memory 503 with computer readable instructions that monitor the electrolyte concentration (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0079]). Accordingly, Luo teaches that it was well known in the water treatment art to have used TDS detection module for an adaptive active oxygen concentration generator (Luo, paragraph [0051]). The ozonation apparatus can comprise of TDS detection module. Because Luo teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the ozonation apparatus with a TDS detection module of DeMyer ‘476 with a reasonable expectation of success.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
DeMyer ‘476 in view of Luo teaches to wherein the power supply includes a constant voltage power supply and optionally a constant current power supply (DeMyer ‘476, paragraph [0065], teaches that the control unit 500 and/or the electrode 205 is powered by a power source 508 (e.g., a 12V battery of a vehicle, a 24V battery receiving direct current from a solar array, a 120V 60 Hz wall socket)).
Conclusion
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRYAN D. RIPA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794