DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/24/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 6, and 11 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and claims 21-25 have been added. Thus, claims 1-11 and 21-25 are presently pending in this application.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Starting on page 18, appendices are referenced in regards to various illustrations. It is recommended to provide the appendix illustration as figures and discuss them similarly to the current figures 1-11 filed on 04/24/26 and corresponding discussion in specification pages 11-18. See 37 CFR 1.84 Standards for drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1 and 23 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the filtration device (FD) has an inlet side and an outlet side and is mounted at the inlet side by the adhesive layer (AL) to the facemask” in lines 10-11 is unclear if the facemask is being positively claimed because in lines 1-2 the facemask is not being positively claimed. It is recommended to change this limitation to –the filtration device (FD) has an inlet side and an outlet side and is configured to be mounted at the inlet side by the adhesive layer (AL) to the facemask—to avoid any potential 112b rejections.
Regarding claim 23, the limitation “between the protective cover and the filter element (FE) 1104” the term “1104” is unclear on its inclusion, it is recommended to replace this with –between the protective cover and the filter element— for clarity of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-11, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groth et al. (US 2021/0106937) in view of Merchia (US 2021/0299379).
Regarding claim 1, Groth discloses a filtration device (fig. 2, filter cartridge 40) suitable to be mounted to a facemask having a port (fig. 1, filter 40 is mounted onto male bayonet fitting 14) comprising:
a plastic sheet (fig. 3, rear cover web 86 provides rear surface 60) having an inlet port (fig. 2, outlet 46);
a sponge element (fig. 3, functional material 76 that functions as a sponge element according to [0072] which states it can absorb gases or particulates from air by comprising sorptive materials) disposed behind the plastic sheet (fig. 3, functional material 76 is disposed behind rear cover web 86);
a filter element (fig. 2, filter media 54) disposed behind the sponge element (fig. 2, filter media 54 is behind the functional material 76 which is closest to rear cover web 86);
wherein the plastic sheet and filter element are joined around their perimeters (fig. 3, perimeter seal region 82 includes filter media layers 54 and 56, and fig. 2, shows rear cover web 86 also joining at perimeter seal 82), with the sponge element disposed between the plastic sheet and the filter element (fig. 2, functional material 76 is between filter media 54 and the rear cover web 86);
wherein a collection reservoir is formed around the sponge element (fig. 3, functional material 76 is ended at boundary 94, the area within distance 96 which starts at boundary 94 forms a reservoir due to treatment of cover webs 84 and 86 thereby making them air impermeable, see [0080]); and
wherein the filtration device has an inlet side and an outlet side and is mounted at the inlet side (fig. 1, shows the filter 40 being mounted on the side with outlet 46) to the facemask with the inlet port of the filtration device aligned with the mask port (fig. 1, shows outlet 46 being aligned with bayonet fitting 14).
Groth does not disclose an adhesive layer disposed on the plastic sheet about the inlet port for mounting the inlet port of the filtration device with the mask port.
However, Merchia teaches of a filtered respiration system that seals a filter over an exhaust vent of a mask via an adhesive so as to block infection particles ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the outlet and bayonet fitting of Groth with the adhesive as taught by Merchia as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result of allowing securing of the filter to a port for the purpose of blocking infection particles from entering into the room without filtration (Merchia [0068]).
The modified device of Groth reads on an adhesive layer (Merchia [0016] adhesive is applied to mask exhaust vents) disposed on the plastic sheet about the inlet port (Merchia [0016] the sealing between exhaust vents and the filter would cause the adhesive to be disposed about the inlet port) to mount the inlet side by the adhesive layer to the facemask (Merchia [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on wherein: the plastic sheet (PS) comprises polyethylene (Groth [0090] states that cover web layers 84 and 86 can be made of polyolefin materials which can be a blend of polypropylene and polyethylene).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the cover webs consisting of a basis weight of 25 g/m--2, but does not expressly state that the plastic sheet has a thickness of approximately 6 mil (0.006 inch; 0.15 mm).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the cover web of the device of Groth to be approximately 6 mil, for the purpose of providing a layer to contain filter media and serve as a prefilter layer (Groth [0061]), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided criticality that a plastic sheet thickness of 6 mil provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem beyond stating that the plastic sheet may have a thickness of 6 mil, see page 9 paragraph 3 in the specification. Further it appears the cover web of Groth would perform equally well with the recited thickness of approximately 6 mil. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on wherein: the filter element (FE) comprises a pad type filter (Groth [0066] states that the filter can be generally planar), and further states that the filtration layer can have a thickness of 0.2 mm to 1 cm, but does not expressly disclose that the filter layer has a thickness of approximately 43 mil (0.043 inch; 1.1mm).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the filtration layer of the device of Groth to be 43 mil, for the purpose of providing a filter capable of removing a high percentage of particles or other contaminants that pass through, and is within the contemplated thickness range, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided criticality that a filter element thickness of 43 mil provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem beyond stating that the filter element may have thickness of approximately 43 mil, see page 9 paragraph 4 in the specification. Further it appears the filtration layer of Groth would perform equally well with the recited thickness of approximately 43 mil. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on a protective cover (PC) disposed over the filter element (Groth fig. 3, cover web 84), on the outlet side of the filtration device (Groth fig. 3, the outlet side is considered the side with cover web 84 and front surface 58), to protect the filter element (FE) from contamination (Groth [0061] states that the cover webs 84 and 86 can protect and contain filter media 54 and 56 and can act as a prefilter layer).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on a second sponge element (Groth fig. 3, functional materials 76 which is disposed near cover web 84) disposed between the filter element (FE) and the protective cover (Groth fig. 3, functional materials 76 is disposed between filter media layer 54 and cover web 84).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 7 and further reads on wherein: the protective cover (PC) comprises an additional plastic sheet or a folded-over extension of the (first) plastic sheet (Groth fig. 3, covers webs 84 and 86 are joined at fig. 2, perimeter seal region 82 thereby each cover web comprises the other, see [0063]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on a cutout (CO) extending into the sponge element (SE) from the inlet side of the filtration device (see annotated Groth fig. 2 below where the cutout extends through rear surface 60 through filter media 56), at least partially through the sponge element (SE) towards the outlet side of the filtration device (Groth fig. 3, functional materials located near filter media 56 is inherently removed as filter media 56 is partially cut, see Groth fig. 2) to allow a flap of a non-rebreather facemask to move outward when a patient wearing the facemask exhales (see annotated Groth fig. 2 below, where the cutout would allow a flap to move outward into the filter 40).
Regarding claim 21, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the adhesive layer is smaller than the plastic sheet (Merchia [0068] states that adhesive is used to seal a filter over the exhale vent, Groth fig. 2, shows outlet 46, which would be sealed by adhesive, is smaller than rear surface 60 which is made up of cover web 86, see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the plastic sheet is substantially the same size as the filter element (Groth fig 3, rear surface 60 is made of cover web 86, and Groth fig. 2, shows rear surface 60 being substantially the same size as filter media 54 and 56, further see [0063] which states that the front cover web, rear cover web, first filter media layer, and second filter media layer are connected in the perimeter seal region 82).
8. Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groth in view of Merchia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (WO 9401199).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose a flexible substrate (FS) disposed between the plastic sheet (PS) and the adhesive layer (AL) and having an opening aligned with the inlet port (IP) of the filtration device (FD).
However, Smith teaches of an air filtering device that uses an adhesive and flexible substrate (fig. 3, backing sheet 16 is between a cover layer and adhesive 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the adhesive layer of the modified device of Groth (Merchia [0016] adhesive is applied to mask exhaust vents) with the adhesive and flexible substrate as taught by Smith as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result of allowing an adhesive connection between the filter and a mask port so as to block infectious particles (Merchia [0068]).
The further modified device of Groth reads on a flexible substrate (Smith fig. 3, backing sheet 16) disposed between the plastic sheet (PS) and the adhesive layer (Smith fig. 3, backing sheet 16 is between the cover layer and adhesive 18) and having an opening aligned with the inlet port (IP) of the filtration device (Groth fig. 2, the adhesive is disposed around outlet 46 thereby being aligned with the inlet port of the filter 40).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 7, and further discloses that fluid inlet (Groth fig. 2, 44) is porous to allow airflow, but does not expressly disclose that the protective cover includes perforations for air to exit the filtration device.
However, Smith teaches of an air filtering device that uses a cover layer that is perforated thereby allowing air to pass through (page 12, lines 11-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the back cover web of the modified device of Groth with the cover layer material and perforations as taught by Smith as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result of allowing airflow out of the filter (Groth [0051] states that the fluid inlet 44 is porous to allow airflow).
9. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groth in view of Merchia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith as evidenced by Bach et al. (US 2010/0191201).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose that the adhesive layer comprises a pressure-sensitive adhesive having a thickness of approximately 2 mil (0.002 in; 0.05mm).
However, Smith teaches of an air filtering device that uses an adhesive and flexible substrate (Smith fig. 3, backing sheet 16 is between a cover layer and adhesive 18) where the adhesive is a hydrocolloid composition (Smith page 9, lines 18-24) which is known to be pressure-sensitive (see Bach paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the adhesive layer of the modified device of Groth (Merchia [0016] adhesive is applied to mask exhaust vents) with the adhesive and flexible substrate as taught by Smith as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result of allowing an adhesive connection between the filter and a mask port so as to block infectious particles (Merchia [0068]).
Regarding the adhesive having a thickness of approximately 2 mil, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the adhesive of the device of Groth to be approximately 2 mil, for the purpose of adhering a filter to a exhale vent (Merchia [0068]), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided criticality that a adhesive thickness of 2 mil provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem beyond stating that the adhesive may have a thickness of 2 mil, see page 8 paragraph 3 in the specification. Further it appears the adhesive of Groth would perform equally well with the recited thickness of approximately 2 mil. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
10. Claim(s) 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groth in view of Smith.
Regarding claim 23, Groth discloses a filtration device (fig. 2, filter cartridge 40) suitable to be mounted to a facemask (M) having a port (fig. 1, filter 40 is mounted onto male bayonet fitting 14), comprising:
a plastic sheet (fig. 3, rear cover web 86 provides rear surface 60) having an inlet port (fig. 2, outlet 46) disposed on an inlet side of the filtration device (fig. 2, the outlet 46 is located on the side that is fitted onto the mask);
a first sponge element (fig. 3, functional material 76 that functions as a sponge element according to [0072] which states it can absorb gases or particulates from air by comprising sorptive materials);
a filter element (fig. 2, filter media 54);
wherein the plastic sheet and filter element are joined around their perimeters (fig. 3, perimeter seal region 82 includes filter media layers 54 and 56, and fig. 2, shows rear cover web 86 also joining at perimeter seal 82);
wherein the first sponge element is disposed between the plastic sheet and the filter element (fig. 3, functional material 76 is disposed behind rear cover web 86 and in front of filter media 54 relative to the rear side 60);
a protective cover (fig. 3, cover web 84) having perforations (PF) disposed on an outlet side of the filtration device (fig. 3, cover web 84 is located on front surface 58 opposite rear surface 60 which is considered the inlet side); and
a second sponge element (fig. 3, functional materials 76 which is disposed near cover web 84) disposed between the protective cover and the filter element (fig. 3, functional materials 76 is disposed between filter media layer 54 and cover web 84). The device of Groth further discloses that fluid inlet (Groth fig. 2, 44) is porous to allow airflow, but does not expressly disclose that the protective cover includes perforations for air to exit the filtration device.
However, Smith teaches of an air filtering device that uses a cover layer that is perforated thereby allowing air to pass through (page 12, lines 11-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the back cover web of the modified device of Groth with the cover layer material and perforations as taught by Smith as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result of allowing airflow out of the filter (Groth [0051] states that the fluid inlet 44 is porous to allow airflow).
Regarding claim 24, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 23 and further reads on the protective cover is substantially the same size as the filter element.
Regarding claim 25, the modified device of Groth reads on the limitations of claim 23 and further reads on a collection reservoir (R) is formed around the first sponge element (fig. 3, functional material 76 is ended at boundary 94, the area within distance 96 which starts at boundary 94 forms a reservoir due to treatment of cover webs 84 and 86 thereby making them air impermeable, see [0080]).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moore (US 2008/0099021) discloses a nasal filter with adhesive zones. Archbold (US 2021/0308408) discloses a filter patch with an adhesive seal for face mask exhaust ports. Brostrom et al. (US 4,886,058) discloses a filter element that is compressible and a central porous material that functions as a baffle.
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785