DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 3/24/26 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/24/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1 and 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the battery module" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the battery modules" as there is antecedent basis.
7. Claims 2-8 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohkuma et al. (US 2021/0194086).
Regarding claim 1, Ohkuma discloses a battery pack(Fig. 8, [0090]-[0094]), comprising: a housing (first case main body 33, Figs. 2 & 8, [0090]) comprising a bottom plate (left case bottom wall 33b & right case bottom wall 33c, Fig. 2, [0068]); battery modules configured on the bottom plate(37, Fig. 8), comprising first battery modules (modules 37 on left side of case 33 in Fig. 8) and second battery modules(modules 37 on right side of case 33 in Fig. 8), a gap being disposed between the first battery modules and the second battery modules(see space between left and right modules 37 in case 33 in Fig. 8); a control device disposed in the gap(battery control device 40, Fig. 8, [0090]); and a low-voltage connection assembly electrically connecting the battery modules and the control device(low voltage connector 50, Fig. 8, [0090]-[0092], [0013], [0015], [0026]), the low-voltage connection assembly being disposed in the gap, located between the control device and the battery modules, and located below the control device(Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Ohkuma discloses the end of the control device close to the bottom plate is provided with a first connector electrically connected to the battery modules(junction board 39, Fig. 8, [0090], [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohkuma discloses the low-voltage connection assembly is provided with a second connector(interface portion 50b, Fig. 8), and the first connector is connected to the second connector by insertion([0092], [0094], Fig. 8). The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the first connector is connected to the second connector: by insertion. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 8, Ohkuma discloses a vehicle comprising the battery pack according to claim 1(Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkuma et al. (US 2021/0194086) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yano et al. (US2022/0320600).
Regarding claim 2, Ohkuma does not explicitly disclose the control device is fixed to the bottom plate through a control device bracket, the control device bracket comprises a main body portion and a base portion, the main body portion is disposed vertically with respect to the bottom plate and provided with the control device, and the base portion is bent from the lower end of the main body portion and mounted on the bottom plate.
Yano teaches a battery module in which a plurality of battery cells are connected, and an electric vehicle and a power storage device that include this battery module([0001]). Yano teaches both end parts of base plate 9 are provided with brackets 17 for fixing battery module 100 to a device to which battery module 100 is mounted such as a vehicle([0077]). Yano teaches the control device is fixed to the bottom plate through a control device bracket, the control device bracket comprises a main body portion and a base portion, the main body portion is disposed vertically with respect to the bottom plate and provided with the control device, and the base portion is bent from the lower end of the main body portion and mounted on the bottom plate (see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 1)
Fig. A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Ohkuma with the control device is fixed to the bottom plate through a control device bracket, the control device bracket comprises a main body portion and a base portion, the main body portion is disposed vertically with respect to the bottom plate and provided with the control device, and the base portion is bent from the lower end of the main body portion and mounted on the bottom plate as taught by Yano in order to securely hold the device in place.
14. Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkuma et al. (US 2021/0194086) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN209104241U) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 5, Ohkuma does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a high-voltage connection assembly comprising a high-voltage wiring harness and a high-voltage wiring harness bracket disposed above the high-voltage wiring harness, the low-voltage connection assembly being located above the high-voltage wiring harness bracket.
Liu teaches wiring harness support of power battery pack, power battery pack and vehicle (title). Liu teaches a high-voltage connection assembly comprising a high-voltage wiring harness and a high-voltage wiring harness bracket disposed above the high-voltage wiring harness, the low-voltage connection assembly being located above the high-voltage wiring harness bracket([0059], see Fig. B as annotated Fig. 2)
Fig. B.
Liu teaches in this way there is no need to set separate limiting structures for the low voltage wiring harness and the high voltage wiring harness within the power battery pack 1000 ([0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify he battery pack of Ohkuma with further comprising: a high-voltage connection assembly comprising a high-voltage wiring harness and a high-voltage wiring harness bracket disposed above the high-voltage wiring harness, the low-voltage connection assembly being located above the high-voltage wiring harness bracket as taught by Liu in order to secure and organize the wires.
Regarding claim 6, modified Ohkuma discloses the low-voltage connection assembly comprises a low-voltage wiring harness and a low-voltage wiring harness bracket, the low-voltage wiring harness being fixed to the high-voltage wiring harness bracket by means of the low-voltage wiring harness bracket(Liu, [0059], Fig. B).
15. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkuma et al. (US 2021/0194086), and further in view of Liu et al. (CN209104241U) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Wang (US2023/0112646).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ohkuma does not explicitly disclose the high-voltage wiring harness comprises a cladding layer and conductive members disposed within the cladding layer, the cladding layer being fixed to the high-voltage wiring harness bracket.
Wang teaches conductive metal connectors, and particularly to a copper-aluminum composite electric energy transmission system and a processing method therefor([0002]). Wang teaches the copper-aluminum composite electric energy transmission system, which includes an aluminum cable with a shielding layer, is mainly applied to a high-voltage wiring harness of an electric vehicle([0063]). Wang teaches it is possible to decrease the weight of the wiring harness in the electric vehicle, reducing the energy consumption, while lowering the cost of the high-voltage wiring harness([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of modified Ohkuma with the high-voltage wiring harness comprises a cladding layer and conductive members disposed within the cladding layer, the cladding layer being fixed to the high-voltage wiring harness bracket as taught by Wang in order to decrease the weight of the wiring harness.
Double Patenting
17. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,315,905.
Regarding claim 1, although the claim at issue is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent 12,315,905 teach the limitations recited in claim 1 of the instant application. The major difference between the instant claim and those of U.S. Patent 12,315,905, is that the claims of U.S. Patent 12,315,905 are drawn to a bottom plate provided with an accommodating portion, whereas the instant claim is drawn to a bottom plate. It is noted that a bottom plate would necessarily have an accommodating portion.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724