DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 22-39, in the reply filed on 11/10/2025, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 40-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 31 recites “the cleanliness if a first cleanliness” which appears “if” is a misspelled of “is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 - 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashton et al. (US 2016/0236279) in view of Asahi et al. (US 5,601,737).
As to claim 22, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) disclose a system for printing one or more three-dimensional (3D) objects (103), the system comprising:
an enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]) configured to enclose an atmosphere, the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]) configured to enclose the one or more 3D objects during the printing in the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]), wherein during the printing of the one or more 3D objects in the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]), the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]) has
(a) a fixed volume; and/or
[AltContent: textbox (At least one processor (160) including a processor unit (161))](b) a sidewall that is vertically stationary;
[AltContent: textbox (An energy source (105))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A platform (102))][AltContent: textbox (A build chamber (101))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An optical window (107))]
[AltContent: textbox (At least one sensor (187, 172))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
a platform (a build platform 102, ¶ [0059]) configured to support a material bed (powder bed 104, ¶ [0059]) from which the one or more 3D objects (103) are printed during the printing, the platform (a build platform 102, ¶ [0059]) being disposed in the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]);
an energy source (a laser module 105 generates a laser for melting the powder 104, ¶ [0059]) disposed adjacent to the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]), the energy source (a laser module 105 generates a laser for melting the powder 104, ¶ [0059]) configured to generate an energy beam projected through the atmosphere of the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059]) during the printing, the energy beam being configured to transform at least a portion of the material bed (powder bed 104, ¶ [0059]) to print the one or more 3D objects;
an optical window (a window 107, ¶ [0059] and ¶ [0061], Fig. 1) disposed in a wall of the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059], Fig. 1) opposing the platform (a build platform 102, ¶ [0059]), the optical window (a window 107, ¶ [0059] and ¶ [0061], Fig. 1) configured to facilitate traversal of the energy beam from the energy source (a laser module 105 generates a laser for melting the powder 104, ¶ [0059], Fig. 1) into the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059], Fig. 1) during the printing;
At least one sensor (measuring devices such as a photodetector 187, a spectrometer 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) configured to sense the energy beam during the printing to generate signals, wherein the at least one sensor (187, 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) being disposed adjacent to the enclosure (a build chamber 101, ¶ [0059], Fig. 1); and
at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]) operatively coupled to the photodetector (187) (¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a).
Ashton et al. (US ‘279) disclose the measuring devices comprising a photodetector 187, a spectrometer 172, a camera 173, and one or more photodiodes are arranged for detecting light wavelengths to monitor the intensity of light. (¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a)
However, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) is silent on disclosing the at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]) being configured to process the sensor signals to:
(i) identify an alteration in the energy beam comprising an energy density alteration, and
(ii) based at least in part on the alteration in the energy beam, generate a result utilized to indicate a detectable change in cleanliness during the printing, the detectable change in the cleanliness being of the atmosphere of the enclosure, as claimed in claim 22.
In the analogous art, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose a surface treating process machine comprising:
an enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-23) configured to enclose an atmosphere, the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-23) configured to enclose the one or more 3D objects in the enclosure, wherein the one or more 3D objects in the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-23), the enclosure has:
(a) a fixed volume and/or
(b) a sidewall that is vertically stationary;
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (At least one processor (22D))][AltContent: textbox (At least one sensor (27D))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An optical window (25D))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An energy source 20D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An enclosure (24D))]
a platform (positioned under an energy-amount detector 27D, Fig. 7) being disposed in the enclosure;
an energy source (a laser irradiating means 20D, col. 7, lines 33-35) disposed adjacent to the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-23), the energy source (a laser irradiating means 20D, col. 7, lines 33-35) configured to generate an energy beam (R, col. 5, line 67) projected through the atmosphere of the enclosure;
an optical window (the circular window 25D, col. 7, lines 21-25) disposed in a wall of the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-25) opposing the platform, the optical window (the circular window 25D, col. 7, lines 25) configured to facilitate traversal of the energy beam from the energy source (a laser irradiating means 20D, col. 7, lines 33-35) into the enclosure;
at least one sensor (an energy-amount detector 27D, col. 7, lines 21-25) configured to sense the energy beam to generate sensor signals, the sensor (an energy-amount detector 27D, col. 7, lines 21-25) being disposed in the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-25); and
at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) operatively coupled to the at least one sensor (an energy-amount detector 27D, col. 7, lines 21-25), the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) being configured to process the sensor signals to
(i) identify an alteration in the energy beam comprising an energy density alteration (col. 6, lines 41-46: the control means 22A controls the laser irradiating means 20A so as lower the energy density), and
(ii) based at least in part on the alteration in the energy beam (energy beam R), generate a result utilized to indicate a detectable change in cleanliness (the control means 22D is to provide instructions for exchanging or cleaning the synthetic quartz of the window 25D, col. 7, lines 41-44), the detectable change in the cleanliness being of the atmosphere of the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-25).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the at least one sensor (187, 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) and the at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]), as suggested by Ashton et al. (US ‘279), through providing a configuration for the at least one processor (a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]) to process the sensor signals to (i) identify an alteration in the energy beam comprising an energy density alteration, and (ii) based at least in part on the alteration in the energy beam, generate a result utilized to indicate a detectable change in cleanliness during the printing, the detectable change in the cleanliness being of the atmosphere of the enclosure in order to improve the processor so as to prevent scattering of the material bed and so as to prevent an unnecessary heat affection to parts of the base, as suggested by Asahi et al. (US ‘737): col. 2, lines 22 – 25 and col. 2, lines 33 – 35.
As to claim 23, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) discloses the at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]) is configured to, during the printing, direct the energy source (a laser module 105 generates a laser for melting the powder 104, ¶ [0059]) to project the energy beam (R) to transform at least the portion of the material bed (powder bed 104, ¶ [0059]) to generate a transformed material as at least the portion of the one or more 3D objects; and optionally wherein the at least one processor (a laser module 105 generates a laser for melting the powder 104, ¶ [0059]) is configured to use the result to adjust at least one characteristic of the energy beam (R) to affect transformation of the at least the portion of the material bed (powder bed 104, ¶ [0059]) to generate the one or more 3D objects. (see ¶ [0059])
As to claim 24, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) teach the at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]) is configured to process the sensor signals at a time comprising subsequent to printing a layer of material during the printing, the layer of the material being of the one or more 3D objects. (see ¶ [0059])
As to claim 25, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) discloses the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is configured to generate the result indicative of the detectable change in the cleanliness of the atmosphere in real time (the control means 22D is to provide instructions for exchanging or cleaning the synthetic quartz of the window 25D, col. 7, lines 41-44).
As to claim 26, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose the at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161, ¶ [0060]) is configured to use the detectable change in the cleanliness of the atmosphere to determine an initiation of an atmosphere cleaning procedure (the control means 22D is to provide instructions for exchanging or cleaning the synthetic quartz of the window 25D, col. 7, lines 41-44).
As to claim 27, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) teach the atmosphere cleaning procedure comprises (a) irradiating the atmosphere or (b) chemically removing the debris from the atmosphere, the debris being disposed in the atmosphere. (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42).
As to claim 28, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is configured to use the detectable change in the cleanliness of the atmosphere to alter at least one characteristic of the energy beam, the at least one characteristic comprising a footprint of the energy beam, a focus parameter of the energy beam, a pulsing sequence of the energy beam, or a rate of movement of the energy beam. (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42, and the control means 22I provides instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24I, col. 9, lines 30-31)
As to claim 29, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is configured to use the detectable change in the cleanliness of the atmosphere to alter at least one characteristic of the energy beam, the at least one characteristic comprising the footprint of the energy beam on an exposed surface of the material bed. (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42, and the control means 22I provides instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24I, col. 9, lines 30-31)
As to claim 30, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) teach the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is configured to use the detectable change in the cleanliness of the atmosphere to alter at least one characteristic of the energy beam, the at least one characteristic comprising alteration in a traversal direction of the energy beam. (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42, and the control means 22I provides instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24I, col. 9, lines 30-31)
As to claim 31, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose the cleanliness is a first cleanliness; and wherein the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is configured to (a) operatively coupled to one or more detectors (an energy-amount detector 27D, col. 7, lines 21-32) configured to detect a second cleanliness of the optical window (col. 8, lines 38-42 and col. 9, lines 30-31); and (b) receive signals from the one or more detectors (an energy-amount detector 27D, col. 7, lines 21-32) to generate an assessment; and (c) direct the at least one mechanism to alter at least one function based at least in part on the assessment, the at least one mechanism comprising the platform (positioned under an energy-amount detector 27D, Fig. 7), the energy source (a laser irradiating means 20D, col. 7, lines 33-35), and the enclosure (a vacuum treating chamber 24D, col. 7, lines 21-23).
As to claim 32, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose the detectable change is a first detectable change; and wherein the at least one processor (the control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is configured to use a second detectable change in the cleanliness of the optical window to adjust at least one characteristic of the energy beam (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42, and the control means 22I provides instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24I, col. 9, lines 30-31).
As to claim 33, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) teach the at least one characteristic comprises a footprint of the energy beam, a focus parameter of the energy beam, a pulsing sequence of the energy beam, or a rate of movement of the energy beam. (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42, and the control means 22I provides instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24I, col. 9, lines 30-31)
As to claim 34, Asahi et al. (US ‘737) disclose the at least one processor (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) is programmed to monitor cleanliness of the optical window (the circular window 25D, col. 7, lines 21-25); and optionally wherein monitoring the cleanliness of the optical window is executed in intervals. (Instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F are provided from the control means 22E. For the cleaning of the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24F, an ultrasonic cleaning with alcohol is employed, col. 8, lines 38-42, and the control means 22I provides instructions for cleaning the interior of the vacuum treating chamber 24I, col. 9, lines 30-31)
As to claim 35, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) disclose the at least one sensor (measuring devices such as a photodetector 187, a spectrometer 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) is configured to sense signals reflected from an exposed surface of the material bed (104). (the measuring devices comprising a photodetector 187, a spectrometer 172, a camera 173, and one or more photodiodes are arranged for detecting light wavelengths to monitor the intensity of light, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a)
As to claim 36, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) teach the at least one sensor (measuring devices such as a photodetector 187, a spectrometer 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) is configured to facilitate isolation of non-specular reflection from an exposed surface of the material bed (104).
As to claim 37, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) disclose the at least one sensor (measuring devices such as a photodetector 187, a spectrometer 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) comprises a spectrum analyzer (spectrometer 172, ¶ [0075] - ¶ [0076]) or a beam profiler (a photodetector 187, ¶ [0069]).
As to claim 38, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) teach the at least one sensor (measuring devices such as a photodetector 187 such as a CCD camera or CMOS camera, a spectrometer 172, ¶ [0069] - ¶ [0070], Fig. 2a) comprises an optical sensor (a photodetector 187 such as a CCD camera or CMOS camera (a photodetector 187 such as a CCD camera or CMOS camera).
As to claim 39, Ashton et al. (US ‘279) disclose an apparatus for the printing of the one or more 3D objects (103), the apparatus comprising: a control system (control means 22D, col. 7, lines 29-32) configured to (a) operatively couple to electricity; and (b) execute, or direct execution of, one or more operations associated with the system to print the one or more 3D objects; and optionally wherein the control system comprises the at least one processor (computer 160 comprises a processor unit 161). (see ¶ [0039] and ¶ [0084])
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0088295; US 2015/0034606; US 2006/0192322; US 2007/0196561; US 2016/0193696; US 2016/0279706; US 2017/0259337; US 7,850,885; US 7,713,454; US 9,757,760.
Conclusion
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 03/06/2026