DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended dependent claim 3 to correct a minor grammar informality. Applicant has submitted amended drawings, Examiner accepts the amended drawings which incorporate an in-figure descriptive legend.
Applicant argues “does not disclose a sensing resistor connected in series with a resistive load”, further stating “Examiner cites Denk, paragraph 0051, specifically, the switch control unit 510 and error signal 170 - as the sensing resistor”. As disclosed in applicant FIG 2, the sensing resistor 36 is a resistor which is connected to discharge interrupt assembly 32 and discharge switch 30. The limitation as claimed states “a discharge interrupt assembly having a sensing resistor connected in series with the resistive load”. Denk FIG 5 displays
R
g
as being connected to switch control unit, switch S1, and discharge unit 145, further ¶0051 discloses “[FIG 5] the two switches S1 and S2, for example, can be closed or opened depending on the error signal 170, by a switch control unit 510”. ¶0052 further describes the circuit “first switch S1 is closed, and the second switch S2 is open. Because the resistor R.sub.AD is selected such that its resistance is much greater (e.g. by a factor of 10) than that of the gate resistor R.sub.g, the switching behavior of the semiconductor functioning as the discharge unit 145 is not affected by the parallel connection of the resistors R.sub.AD and R.sub.g.”. The resistor
R
g
functions as the sensing resistor by being connected to discharge unit 145 and control unit 510.
Applicant further argues “Denk further does not disclose a temperature circuit having an input connected to a sensing resistor”. ¶0029 of the present application discloses “FIGS. 2-4, the discharge interrupt assembly 32 includes a temperature circuit 34 or subcircuit arranged to provide an output that is representative of the system temperature (e.g. of the resistive load and adjacent components)… sensing resistor 36 is connected in series with the resistive load 28 and to an input of the RC subcircuit 34”, indicating that the temperature circuit and the RC subcircuit are the same component. Denk ¶0048 and ¶0051 are both cited for the temperature circuit. Denk ¶0048 establishes being able to reliably discharge for every temperature which the discharge unit 145 functions, and ¶0051 discloses the control unit 510 in communication with discharge unit 145. Later Denk claim 9 states “control unit is configured to determine the control voltage based at least in part on a temperature of at least one of the discharge unit or a component in the discharge unit”, establishing a circuit which is able to measure the temperature and is connected to the discharge unit 145.
Applicant further argues “Denk directly teaches away from the subject matter of claim 1, including the portion that relates to interrupting discharge of the link capacitor by opening the discharge switch, to wit, "to open the discharge switch when the voltage from the temperature circuit is higher than a threshold"”. The limitation as claimed states “a discharge interrupt assembly having a sensing resistor connected in series with the resistive load, and a temperature circuit, the temperature circuit having an input connected to the sensing resistor and an output, wherein the discharge interrupt circuit is responsive to a voltage at the output of the temperature circuit to open the discharge switch when the voltage from the temperature circuit is higher than a threshold”.
The claimed limitation as written states “wherein the discharge interrupt circuit is responsive to a voltage at the output of the temperature circuit to open the discharge switch when the voltage from the temperature circuit is higher than a threshold”, under broadest reasonable interpretation this would indicate that any temperature which results in the output voltage of the temperature circuit that is higher than the threshold would satisfy the criteria. There is no mention of how temperature affects the output voltage, thereby as previously stated in the Non-Final Rejection dated 04/22/2026 "an optimal operating point, or an optimal gate voltage, is obtained on a curve 200 through the variable gate voltage Uge, independently of the current temperature of the semiconductor functioning as the discharge unit 145" would satisfy this limitation.
Denk ¶0051 discloses “ A semiconductor or power semiconductor (e.g. a MOSFET power transistor) is used here as the discharge unit 145”, which makes discharge unit 145 analogous to the applicant’s discharge switch 30. MOSFETs are well known in the art as being voltage controlled switches, Denk ¶0045 discloses “discharge unit 145, e.g. in the form of a semiconductor, is not controlled with a constant gate voltage, but instead with a variable control voltage, e.g. a gate voltage ramp”. The gate voltage ramp for discharge unit 145 is depicted by Denk FIG 6, where a gate voltage is applied and increased starting at time 0s. The gate voltage
U
g
e
continues to increase until time 2.5s at which point the switch opens, thereby setting a maximum voltage at which the discharge unit 145 can operate.
Applicant further argues Denk has “no voltage signal generated from a sensing resistor, processed by a temperature circuit, and compared to a threshold to interrupt discharge”. The sensing resistor 36, as disclosed by the applicant, is a regular resistor and cannot generate a voltage signal by itself. The sensing resistor is described to be relatively small compared to the load resistor, and functions in a similar manner to Denk’s resistor
R
g
. The voltage signal is then processed through the control circuit 510, which includes temperature information and outputs a voltage which is fed to discharge unit 145. As discussed above, FIG 6 shows when that gate voltage ramp reaches a point at which the switch opens again and thereby disrupts the discharge circuit.
Lastly applicant argues “Denk is directed to a different architecture and purpose”, however, as detailed above Denk forms a similar architecture to that of the claimed invention to protect a discharge device from thermal damage. No patentable weight is given to the intended use or purpose of a claimed invention, thereby since Denk and the present invention share a similar architecture they would be analogous inventions.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The grounds of rejection are restated herein, with additional explanations related to the applicant remarks and arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denk et al (US 20220029526 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Denk teaches a discharge circuit for an electric vehicle, comprising: a link capacitor; (¶0037 "FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration of a vehicle 100 in which a device 105 for discharging a DC link capacitor")
a resistive load; (¶0051 "[FIG 5] control circuit or control unit 150 for the semiconductor (functioning as a discharge unit 145) is supplemented with four additional components, specifically a first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD")
a discharge switch coupled to the link capacitor and to the resistive load so that the link capacitor is coupled to the resistive load when the discharge switch is closed to enable discharge of the link capacitor; (¶0051 "first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD, wherein the two switches S1 and S2", ¶0052 "[FIG 5] capacitor C.sub.AD is inactive when the second switch S2 is open")
and a discharge interrupt assembly having a sensing resistor connected in series with the resistive load, (¶0051 "[FIG 5] two switches S1 and S2, for example, can be closed or opened depending on the error signal 170, by a switch control unit 510", ¶0052 “first switch S1 is closed, and the second switch S2 is open. Because the resistor R.sub.AD is selected such that its resistance is much greater (e.g. by a factor of 10) than that of the gate resistor R.sub.g, the switching behavior of the semiconductor functioning as the discharge unit 145 is not affected by the parallel connection of the resistors R.sub.AD and R.sub.g.” please see below for detail)
and a temperature circuit, the temperature circuit having an input connected to the sensing resistor and an output, (¶0048 "FIG. 4 by the exemplary variable gate voltage ramp functioning as the control voltage at the control input 160. The desired or necessary discharge current 210 is therefore quickly and reliably obtained for every temperature of the semiconductor functioning as the discharge unit 145", please see below for further detail)
wherein the discharge interrupt circuit is responsive to a voltage at the output of the temperature circuit to open the discharge switch when the voltage from the temperature circuit is higher than a threshold. (¶0051 "control circuit or control unit 150 for the semiconductor (functioning as a discharge unit 145) is supplemented with four additional components, specifically a first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD", please see below for further detail)
Denk ¶0051 discloses “[FIG 5] the two switches S1 and S2, for example, can be closed or opened depending on the error signal 170, by a switch control unit 510”. The resistor
R
g
functions as the sensing resistor by being connected to discharge unit 145 and control unit 510. Denk ¶0048 establishes being able to reliably discharge for every temperature which the discharge unit 145 functions, and ¶0051 discloses the control unit 510 in communication with discharge unit 145. Later Denk claim 9 states “control unit is configured to determine the control voltage based at least in part on a temperature of at least one of the discharge unit or a component in the discharge unit”, establishing a circuit which is able to measure the temperature and is connected to the discharge unit 145.
Denk ¶0051 discloses “ A semiconductor or power semiconductor (e.g. a MOSFET power transistor) is used here as the discharge unit 145”, which makes discharge unit 145 analogous to the applicant’s discharge switch 30. MOSFETs are well known in the art as being voltage controlled switches, Denk ¶0045 discloses “discharge unit 145, e.g. in the form of a semiconductor, is not controlled with a constant gate voltage, but instead with a variable control voltage, e.g. a gate voltage ramp”. The gate voltage ramp for discharge unit 145 is depicted by Denk FIG 6, where a gate voltage is applied and increased starting at time 0s. The gate voltage
U
g
e
continues to increase until time 2.5s at which point the switch opens, thereby setting a maximum voltage at which the discharge unit 145 can operate
Similarly for claim 9 as applied to an electric vehicle, comprising: a power source; (¶0037 "[FIG 1] vehicle 100 is supplied with electricity from a battery or rechargeable battery functioning as a power storage unit 110")
a motor driven by electricity from the power source; (¶0037 "[FIG 1] drive motor 120")
an inverter coupled to the power source and the motor to convert a DC power output from the power source to AC power and to provide the AC power to the motor. (¶0037 "[FIG 1] vehicle 100 with this energy from the power storage unit 110, a DC link 125 with an inverter 130 is often needed to generate an AC voltage from the DC voltage sent from the power source 110 to the power supply system 115 in the vehicle")
Regarding claim 2, Denk teaches the circuit of claim 1. Denk further teaches wherein the sensing resistor is connected in series with the discharge switch. (¶0051 "first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD, wherein the two switches S1 and S2")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denk modified by Zhou et al (US 20180281600 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Denk teaches the circuit of claim 1. Denk does not teach which also includes an amplifier between the sensing resistor and the temperature circuit.
Zhou teaches which also includes an amplifier between the sensing resistor and the temperature circuit. (FIG 4 differential amplifier 418 between temperature sensor onboard Diode Module 402 and sensing resistor RS)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the circuit as taught by Denk to also include an amplifier between the sensing resistor and the temperature circuit as taught by Zhou. Denk FIG 5 discloses a possible discharge circuit topology including discharge unit 145 and discharge switch S2, wherein discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to an electric vehicle, Denk teaches the electric vehicle of claim 9.
Regarding claim 4, Denk teaches the circuit of claim 1. Denk further teaches wherein the link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch and [sensing resistor] are connected in series. (FIG 5 link capacitor CAD, resistive load RₐD, and discharge switch S2)
Denk does not teach wherein [the link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch] and sensing resistor are connected in series.
Zhou teaches wherein [the link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch] and sensing resistor are connected in series. (FIG 4 differential amplifier 418 between temperature sensor onboard Diode Module 402 and sensing resistor RS)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Denk wherein the link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch and, sensing resistor are connected in series. Denk has the basic form of having link capacitor CAD, resistive load RAD, and discharge switch S2 in series, wherein discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Regarding claim 5, Denk teaches the circuit of claim 1. Denk does not teach wherein the voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is a function of the temperature of the resistive load.
Zhou teaches wherein the voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is a function of the temperature of the resistive load. (¶0057 "[FIG 4] gate driver circuit 400 drives a gate of an IGBT 402 that has a current mirror and temperature sensor array", ¶0063 "[FIG 4] temperature compensation circuit includes an on-die temperature sensor (e.g., diode array), an operational amplifier, and a few resistors (e.g., R1-R6)")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the circuit as taught by Denk wherein the voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is a function of the temperature of the resistive load as taught by Zhou. Denks discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Regarding claim 6, Denk teaches the circuit of claim 1. Denk does not teach wherein the temperature circuit includes a first resistor, a control capacitor connected in series with the first resistor, and a second resistor coupled in parallel with the control capacitor.
Zhou teaches wherein the temperature circuit includes a first resistor, a control capacitor connected in series with the first resistor, and a second resistor coupled in parallel with the control capacitor. (FIG 4 has temperature sensor on Diode Module 402 and is connected to comparator RC circuit 416 having capacitor CF in parallel with resistor Rₛ)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the circuit as taught by Denk wherein the temperature circuit includes a first resistor, a control capacitor connected in series with the first resistor, and a second resistor coupled in parallel with the control capacitor as taught by Zhou. Denks discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Similarly for claim 12 as applied to an electric vehicle, Denk teaches the electric vehicle of claim 9.
Regarding claim 7, Denk teaches the circuit of claim 1. Denk does not teach wherein the discharge interrupt assembly includes a comparator coupled to the output of the temperature circuit, wherein the comparator is arranged to provide a first output when a voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is at a first threshold.
Zhou teaches wherein the discharge interrupt assembly includes a comparator coupled to the output of the temperature circuit, wherein the comparator is arranged to provide a first output when a voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is at a first threshold. (Zhou ¶0057 "[Fig 4] control of the series gate is performed by a control switch 414 (e.g., MOSFET) that is driven by an open-loop filtering comparator 416 that is adjusted by negative feedback from a differential amplifier 418 having an output that is inversely proportional to a difference between the output of the on-chip sensor and a reference voltage", FIG 4 temperature sensor onboard Diode Module 402 feeds into Amplifier 418 which sets the reference voltage for comparator 416)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the circuit as taught by Denk wherein the discharge interrupt assembly includes a comparator coupled to the output of the temperature circuit, wherein the comparator is arranged to provide a first output when a voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is at a first threshold as taught by Zhou. Denks discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Similarly for claim 10 as applied to an electric vehicle, Denk teaches the electric vehicle of claim 9.
Regarding claim 8, Denk modified by Zhou teaches the circuit of claim 7. Denk modified by Zhou further teaches wherein the comparator is arranged to provide a second output when the voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is at a second threshold. (Zhou ¶0057 "[Fig 4] control of the series gate is performed by a control switch 414 (e.g., MOSFET) that is driven by an open-loop filtering comparator 416 that is adjusted by negative feedback from a differential amplifier 418 having an output that is inversely proportional to a difference between the output of the on-chip sensor and a reference voltage")
Regarding claim 13, Denk teaches an electric vehicle, comprising: a power source; (¶0037 "[FIG 1] vehicle 100 is supplied with electricity from a battery or rechargeable battery functioning as a power storage unit 110")
a motor driven by electricity from the power source; (¶0037 "[FIG 1] drive motor 120")
an inverter coupled to the power source and the motor to convert a DC power output from the power source to AC power and to provide the AC power to the motor; (¶0037 "[FIG 1] vehicle 100 with this energy from the power storage unit 110, a DC link 125 with an inverter 130 is often needed to generate an AC voltage from the DC voltage sent from the power source 110 to the power supply system 115 in the vehicle")
a link capacitor coupled in series between the power source and the inverter; (FIG 1 drive motor 120 connected to battery 110 via DC link 125, DC link 125 contains DC link capacitor 140)
a resistive load; (¶0051 "[FIG 5] control circuit or control unit 150 for the semiconductor (functioning as a discharge unit 145) is supplemented with four additional components, specifically a first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD")
a discharge switch coupled to the link capacitor and to the resistive load so that the link capacitor is coupled to the resistive load when the discharge switch is closed to enable discharge of the link capacitor; (¶0051 "first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD, wherein the two switches S1 and S2", ¶0052 "[FIG 5] capacitor C.sub.AD is inactive when the second switch S2 is open")
[a sensing resistor arranged to receive current when current flows from the link capacitor to the resistive load;]
[a resistor-capacitor circuit having an input connected to the sensing resistor and an output;]
[and a comparator coupled to the output of the resistor-capacitor circuit and to the discharge switch and arranged to open the discharge switch when a voltage from the resistor capacitor circuit is higher than a threshold.]
Denk ¶0051 discloses “[FIG 5] the two switches S1 and S2, for example, can be closed or opened depending on the error signal 170, by a switch control unit 510”. The resistor
R
g
functions as the sensing resistor by being connected to discharge unit 145 and control unit 510. Denk ¶0048 establishes being able to reliably discharge for every temperature which the discharge unit 145 functions, and ¶0051 discloses the control unit 510 in communication with discharge unit 145. Later Denk claim 9 states “control unit is configured to determine the control voltage based at least in part on a temperature of at least one of the discharge unit or a component in the discharge unit”, establishing a circuit which is able to measure the temperature and is connected to the discharge unit 145.
Denk ¶0051 discloses “ A semiconductor or power semiconductor (e.g. a MOSFET power transistor) is used here as the discharge unit 145”, which makes discharge unit 145 analogous to the applicant’s discharge switch 30. MOSFETs are well known in the art as being voltage controlled switches, Denk ¶0045 discloses “discharge unit 145, e.g. in the form of a semiconductor, is not controlled with a constant gate voltage, but instead with a variable control voltage, e.g. a gate voltage ramp”. The gate voltage ramp for discharge unit 145 is depicted by Denk FIG 6, where a gate voltage is applied and increased starting at time 0s. The gate voltage
U
g
e
continues to increase until time 2.5s at which point the switch opens, thereby setting a maximum voltage at which the discharge unit 145 can operate
Denk does not teach a sensing resistor arranged to receive current when current flows from the link capacitor to the resistive load; a resistor-capacitor circuit having an input connected to the sensing resistor and an output; and a comparator coupled to the output of the resistor-capacitor circuit and to the discharge switch and arranged to open the discharge switch when a voltage from the resistor capacitor circuit is higher than a threshold.
Zhou teaches a sensing resistor arranged to receive current when current flows from the link capacitor to the resistive load; (FIG 4 has temperature sensor on Diode Module 402 and is connected to comparator RC circuit 416 having capacitor CF in parallel with resistor Rₛ)
a resistor-capacitor circuit having an input connected to the sensing resistor and an output; (¶0058 "open-loop filtering comparator 416 which is based on an output of the current mirror sensing pin that is connected to a sensing resistor Rs to convert the current signal to a voltage signal filter is formed by Rf and Cf is a low pass filter in which the filter rolls off at a frequency based on the frequency response of the capacitor")
and a comparator coupled to the output of the resistor-capacitor circuit (FIG 4 RC filter circuit is connected to the positive input of the comparator, ¶0057 "[Fig 4] control of the series gate is performed by a control switch 414 (e.g., MOSFET) that is driven by an open-loop filtering comparator 416 that is adjusted by negative feedback from a differential amplifier 418 having an output that is inversely proportional to a difference between the output of the on-chip sensor and a reference voltage")
and to the discharge switch and arranged to open the discharge switch when a voltage from the resistor capacitor circuit is higher than a threshold. (¶0058 "comparator outputs low signal such that MOSFET Q4 is turned off and Q3 gate is pulled up by the Vcc power supply. Enabling the discharge of the gate of the IGBT 402 through fast discharge path 412")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the vehicle as taught by Denk to include a comparator coupled to the output of the resistor-capacitor circuit and to the discharge switch and arranged to open the discharge switch when a voltage from the resistor capacitor circuit is higher than a threshold as taught by Zhou. Denks discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Regarding claim 14, Denk modified by Zhou teaches the vehicle of claim 13. Denk modified by Zhou further teaches wherein the resistor-capacitor circuit includes a first resistor, a control capacitor connected in series with the first resistor, and a second resistor coupled in parallel with the control capacitor. (Zhou FIG 4 open-loop filtering comparator 416 comprising capacitor Cf in series with resistor Rf and in parallel with Rs)
Regarding claim 15, Denk modified by Zhou teaches the vehicle of claim 13. Denk modified by Zhou wherein the sensing resistor is connected in series with the discharge switch. (Denk ¶0051 "first switch S1, a second switch S2, a capacitor C.sub.AD, and a resistor R.sub.AD, wherein the two switches S1 and S2")
Regarding claim 16, Denk modified by Zhou teaches the vehicle of claim 13. Denk modified by Zhou further teaches wherein the link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch [and sensing resistor] are connected in series. (Denk FIG 5 link capacitor CAD, resistive load RₐD, and discharge switch S2)
Denk modified by Zhou does not teach wherein the [link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch] and sensing resistor are connected in series.
Zhou teaches wherein the [link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch] and sensing resistor are connected in series. (FIG 4 differential amplifier 418 between temperature sensor onboard Diode Module 402 and sensing resistor RS)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the vehicle as taught by Denk modified by Zhou wherein the link capacitor, resistive load, discharge switch and, sensing resistor are connected in series. Denk has the basic form of having link capacitor CAD, resistive load RAD, and discharge switch S2 in series, wherein discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Regarding claim 17, Denk modified by Zhou teaches the vehicle of claim 13. Denk modified by Zhou does not teach wherein the voltage at the output of the resistor- capacitor circuit is a function of the temperature of the resistive load.
Zhou further teaches wherein the voltage at the output of the resistor- capacitor circuit is a function of the temperature of the resistive load. (¶0057 "[FIG 4] gate driver circuit 400 drives a gate of an IGBT 402 that has a current mirror and temperature sensor array", ¶0063 "[FIG 4] temperature compensation circuit includes an on-die temperature sensor (e.g., diode array), an operational amplifier, and a few resistors (e.g., R1-R6)")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the vehicle as taught by Denk modified by Zhou wherein the voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is a function of the temperature of the resistive load as taught by Zhou. Denks discharge switch 2 can be replaced with the gate drive circuit 400 as taught by Zhou. Zhou FIG 2 depicts where input capacitor 204 is in series with switching device 206, Zhou ¶0028 further states "Each switching device 206, 208 may be individually controlled by a gate drive circuit (not shown) of the VVC controller 200 and may include any type of controllable switch (e.g., an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or field-effect transistor (FET))". Zhou ¶0057 discloses "FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a gate drive circuit 400", functionally placing one gate drive circuit 400 as a switching device with a gate input coming from input capacitor 204. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to more accurately manage the high-voltage discharge of the electric vehicle's battery for improved safety under strained thermal conditions.
Regarding claim 18, Denk modified by Zhou teaches the vehicle of claim 13. Denk modified by Zhou wherein the comparator is arranged to provide a second output when the voltage at the output of the temperature circuit is at a second threshold. (Zhou ¶0057 "[Fig 4] control of the series gate is performed by a control switch 414 (e.g., MOSFET) that is driven by an open-loop filtering comparator 416 that is adjusted by negative feedback from a differential amplifier 418 having an output that is inversely proportional to a difference between the output of the on-chip sensor and a reference voltage")
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Govindaraj et al (US 20150130273 A1) discloses a device for discharging a DC link capacitor which comprises a MOSFET switch and multiple resistors.
Salziger et al (US 20140028088 A1) discloses a battery system which charges/discharges a DC link capacitor with an RC circuit and MOSFET switch.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859