Priority
This application is a divisional of U.S. Application No. 16/652,318, filed March 30, 2020, which was a §371 U.S. National Stage of International Application No. PCT/US18/52394, filed September 24, 2018 having Atty. Docket No. 121-82-PCT, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 62/565,873, filed September 29, 2017, titled "METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR PRODUCTION OF HYDROGEN" the content of which are hereby incorporated by reference in their entireties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Terrien et al (EP 2682364).
With respect to claim 1, Terrien discloses a gas processing system for producing a purified hydrogen gas stream, the gas processing system comprising:
a processing unit (21) configured to increase a hydrogen (H2) to carbon monoxide (CO) ratio in a feed gas to produce an enhanced gas (see page 3 lines 45-55, paragraph 0013 and 0016);
a first separation unit configured to remove a substantial portion of nitrogen gas (N2) from the enhanced gas to produce a denitrogenated gas (see paragraph 0020);
a second separation unit configured to remove a substantial portion of carbon dioxide (CO2) from the denitrogenated gas to produce a purified H2 gas stream, the second separation unit also producing a tail gas containing the removed CO2 (see paragraph 0033); and a recycling system for routing at least a portion of the tail gas to the enhanced gas at a point upstream of the first separation unit (see paragraph 0048 and 0065-0066).
With respect to claim 2, Terrien discloses the limitation of claim 1. Terrien further discloses wherein the processing unit comprises a water-gas shift unit, and configured to shift the feed gas to produce H2 and CO2 (see paragraph 0021).
With respect to claim 8, Terrien discloses the limitation of claim 1. Terrien further discloses wherein the gas processing system is configured to recover an amount of H2 present in the enhanced gas and recovered in the purified H2 gas stream selected from the group consisting of: greater than about 80 percent; greater than about 90 percent (see paragraph 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terrien as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 6, Terrien discloses the limitation of claim 1. Terrien further discloses recycling tail gas (see paragraph 0048 and 0065-0066).
Terrien does disclose recycling up to 100 of percent of the tail gas, as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the concentration of the tail gas recycle stream, through routine experimentation, as differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) .
With respect to claim 7, Terrien discloses the limitation of claim 1. Terrein further discloses wherein the gas processing system is configured to produce the purified H2 gas stream with a mole fraction of H2 greater than about 90 percent (see paragraph 0035).
Terrien does not disclose wherein the gas processing system is configured to produce the purified H2 gas stream with a mole fraction of H2 greater than about 99 percent as claimed.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the concentration of the purified hydrogen stream, through routine experimentation, as differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 3-5, the closest prior art Terrien discloses the utilization of the claimed selective membranes and pressure swing adsorption (PSA) in the prior (see paragraph 0004).
However, Terrien does not suggest to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify he system with specific claimed configuration, wherein the first separation unit comprises a H2 selective membrane and the second separation unit comprises the PSA unit as claimed.
Conclusion
/JUAN C VALENCIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771