DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 7/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Groups II (claims 6-19) and III (claim 20) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isozaki et al (DE2831785B2, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Isozaki teaches in Example 1 of a process of reacting 3 mol of dimeric fatty acid (molecular weight 700) with 2 mol of 1,4-diaminobutane (molecular weight 88) and 2 mol of dimethylaminopropylamine (molecular weight 102) to form a polyamide resin with a molecular weight of 2300, which contains a tertiary amino group at its end points; the resulting polyamide resin is further reacted with 2 mol of benzyl chloride (molecular weight 126.6) to form a polyamide resin having a quaternary ammonium salt residual content of 0.64/kg (1.6 per molecule) [0156].
The examiner submits that the above process is substantially identical to the method of making the claimed method of making a rheology modifier comprising a quaternary ammonium terminal polyamide recited in claims 6-9.
The dimeric acid with molecular weight 700 is a C44 dicarboxylic acid. However, Isozaki teaches that adipic acid and sebacic acid are equivalent to the dimeric acid [0080]. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Isozaki recognized f adipic acid and sebacic acid are equivalent to the dimeric acid for the same purpose in forming the polyamide, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute the dimeric acid with adipic acid or sebacic acid in Isozaki’s Example 1. Adipic acid (C6 dicarboxylic acid) and sebacic acid (C10 dicarboxylic acid) meet the claimed dicarboxylic acid having 4 to 36 carbon atoms (claim 7).
1,4-Diaminobutane (C4 diamine) reads on the claimed diamine having 2 to 34 carbon atoms (claims 7-8).
Dimethylaminopropylamine (C5 tertiary amine) reads on the claimed tertiary amine of dimethylaminoalkylamine having 2 to 12 carbon atoms (claim 7).
Benzyl chloride (C7 alkyl halide) reads on the claimed quaternary agent selected from the group consisting of an alkyl halide having 1 to 18 carbon atoms (claim 9).
Therefore, the resulting product must read on the claimed quaternary ammonium containing polyamide [B] having Formula (1).
A quaternary ammonium salt residual content of 1.6 per molecule means a portion of the terminal in the polyamide is not quaternary ammonium salt, or the polyamide resin comprises a mixture comprising a polyamide having quaternary ammonium salt at both terminals and a polyamide not having quaternary ammonium salt at both terminals, because theoretical quaternary ammonium salt content should be 2.0 per molecule in Formula (1). The polyamide having quaternary ammonium salt at both terminals reads on the claimed quaternary ammonium containing polyamide [B]. The polyamide not having quaternary ammonium salt at both terminals differs from the polyamide [B] and thus reads on the claimed polyamide wax [A] in claims 2 and 4.
The recited “rheology modifier” is a statement of intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and needs not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Dependent claims 3 and 5 are directed to a rheology modifier having a composition comprising a quaternary ammonium containing polyamide [B] having Formula (1) and an amide wax or a polyamide wax [A], wherein the amide wax or the polyamide wax [A] has Formula (2).
There is no prior art that teaches or makes obvious the aforementioned limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art is the disclosure of Isosaki et al (DE2831785B2). Isosaki teaches the quaternary ammonium containing polyamide [B] having Formula (1) and an amide wax or a polyamide wax [A], but does not teach that the amide wax or the polyamide wax [A] has Formula (2).
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762