DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted July 24, 2023, and January 16, 2024, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
7. Claims 18-20 recites the limitation "the solid oxide cell" in the preamble of line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa et al. (US 2007/0138446 A1).
With regard to Claim 17, Furukawa et al. disclose an electron conductor comprising an electron conductive particle of Ni powder including a body having an outer surface, and a plurality of protrusions, called stabber-shaped projections, extending from a surface of the body, wherein at least one of the plurality of protrusion has a shape that tapers from a boundary between the body and the protrusions in a direction toward away from the body, the stabber-shaped projections being formed like quadrangular pyramids, circular cones, etc. (paragraphs 0010-0013, 0062).
With regard to Claims 18-19, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein when a diameter D of the body is 0.1-10 µm, and a height H of at least one of the plurality of protrusions is lower than a quarter (1/4) of the particle diameter (paragraphs 0010-0013) or lower than 25% of the particle diameter, thereby making H 10% or more of D, more specifically meeting the claimed limitation of H being 10% or more and 50% or less of D.
With regard to Claim 20, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein a height of at least one of the plurality of protrusions is lower than a quarter of the particle diameter, calculating it to be lower than 0.025-2.5 µm (paragraphs 0010-0013), thereby meeting the claimed limitation of 50 nm to 1 µm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada et al. (WO 2011/036729 A1) in view of Furukawa et al. (US 2007/0138446 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Osada et al. disclose a solid oxide cell comprising: a fuel electrode (12); an air/oxygen electrode (13); and an electrolyte (11) disposed between the fuel electrode (12) and the air electrode (13), wherein the fuel electrode (12) includes an electron-ion mixed conductive particles (16) and Ni particles-supported aluminum composite oxides (17) (paragraphs (0004, 0011-0016). Osada et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the electron conductive particle includes a body and a plurality of protrusions extending from a surface of the body and having a shape that tapers from a boundary between the body and the protrusions in a direction toward away from the body.
Furukawa et al. disclose an electron conductor comprising an electron conductive particle of Ni powder including a body having an outer surface, and a plurality of protrusions, called stabber-shaped projections, extending from a surface of the body, wherein at least one of the plurality of protrusion has a shape that tapers from a boundary between the body and the protrusions in a direction toward away from the body, the stabber-shaped projections being formed like quadrangular pyramids, circular cones, etc. (paragraphs 0010-0013, 0062). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electron conductive particle in the solid oxide fuel cell of Osada et al. to include a body and a plurality of protrusions extending from a surface of the body and having a shape that tapers from a boundary between the body and the protrusions in a direction toward away from the body, because Furukawa et al. teach that this configuration improves the electrical conductivity of the composite material (paragraph 0031).
With regard to Claim 2, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein the body is spherical (paragraphs 0002-0004, 0062).
With regard to Claims 3-4, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein when a diameter D of the body is 0.1-10 µm, and a height H of at least one of the plurality of protrusions is lower than a quarter (1/4) of the particle diameter (paragraphs 0010-0013) or lower than 25% of the particle diameter, thereby making H 10% or more of D, more specifically meeting the claimed limitation of H being 10% or more and 50% or less of D.
With regard to Claim 5, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein a height of at least one of the plurality of protrusions is lower than a quarter of the particle diameter, calculating it to be lower than 0.025-2.5 µm (paragraphs 0010-0013), thereby meeting the claimed limitation of 50 nm to 1 µm.
With regard to Claim 6, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of protrusions has a conical shape, the stabber-shaped projections being formed like quadrangular pyramids, circular cones, etc. (paragraphs 0010-0013, 0062).
With regard to Claim 7, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of protrusions does not have a vertex , the stabber-shaped projections being formed like quadrangular pyramids, circular cones, etc. (paragraphs 0010-0013, 0062).
With regard to Claim 8, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein the at least one of the plurality of protrusion has a top having a flat or curved shape, the stabber-shaped projections being formed like quadrangular pyramids, circular cones, etc. (paragraphs 0010-0013, 0062).
With regard to Claim 9, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein in the electron conductive particle, at least two of the plurality of protrusions have different heights (paragraphs 0010-0013, 0053).
With regard to Claim 10, Furukawa et al. disclose wherein at least two of the plurality of protrusions in the electron conductive particle are inherently spaced apart from each other (paragraphs 0010-0013, 005, 0062).
With regard to Claim 11, Osada et al. disclose wherein the fuel electrode (12) includes a plurality of the electron-ion mixed conductive particles (16), and Ni particle-supported aluminum composite oxides (17) having aluminum composite oxides and a plurality of Ni particles forming aggregates with each other (paragraphs 0013-0014).
With regard to Claim 12, Osada et al. disclose wherein the electron conductive particle includes Ni (paragraphs 0011-0016).
With regard to Claims 13-14, Osada et al. disclose wherein the fuel electrode (12) further includes an ion conductor (16), wherein the ion conductor includes at least one of gadolinia doped ceria (GDC), samaria doped ceria (SDC), ytterbia doped ceria (YDC) (paragraph 0016).
With regard to Claims 15-16, Osada et al. disclose wherein the ion conductor (16) is inherently in contact with an end of the protrusion and inherently fills at least a portion of a space between adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions since the ion conductor can be contacted with the Ni particle-supported aluminum oxides (17) (paragraphs 0011-0015, See Figures 1-2).
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725