DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/26/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/26/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (CN 113072861 B – English Translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ma discloses a method of precluding or minimizing bacterial biofilm-based corrosion (See translation- “fourthly, anti-bacterial-corrosion. nano-ceramic and ultra-fine active zinc oxide can effectively anti-bacterial bacteria, prevent sulfate reducing bacteria, mildew and other growth caused by corrosion of the inner wall of the pipeline”) of a carrier or holder of liquid petroleum (see English abstract – oil field pipeline is lined with a ceramic liner to prevent corrosion]) comprising: providing a hollow structure (oil field pipe) which will be exposed to a flow of liquid petroleum, said hollow structure (pipe) being formed of steel (see English translation – “the adaptability is wide. It is widely used for oil pipeline, gas pipeline, water injection pipeline, watering pipeline, injection pipeline and other special steel pipeline or old pipeline with special requirement for inner corrosion-proof pipe diameter Φ 50-525mm”), said hollow structure (pipe shown in figure 1) having an inner surface, said inner surface being coated or lined with a piezo-electric material that includes nano-ceramic and zinc oxide (See English abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses wherein the material for the lining of the includes nano-ceramic and zinc oxide which are piezo-electric materials (see English abstract).
Regarding claim 3, the steel oil field pipe disclosed by Ma inherently has micro-crevices as these are properties of the steel pipes used in oil pipelines.
Regarding claim 8, Ma discloses that the anti-corrosion liner reaches 4mm in thickness in old pipelines (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 10, Ma discloses in claim 7 an anti-corrosion nano ceramic lined pipeline for an oil field and further discloses that the oil field pipelines are for passing crude oil (see claim 7 and background in English translation).
Regarding claim 11, Ma discloses bacterial cells and that the zinc oxide included in the anticorrosion liner of the steel pipe exerts antibacterial properties such as bacteriostasis (see English translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Charlton et al. (WO 2005/111080 A2).
Ma is set froth above with regards to claim 1 but does not appear to disclose blocking and disrupting communication between bacterial cells in the biofilm by use of an agent of one or more of acyl-homoserine lactone analogs, lactonases, and acylases.
Charlton discloses a method of preventing or inhibiting biofilm formation by a population of bacteria, comprising administration to the population of an antibody to a lactone or lactone-derived signal molecule secreted by bacteria, in which the lactone signal molecule is a homoserine molecule or a peptide thiolactone molecule (see claims 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ma and block and disrupt communication between bacterial cells in the biofilm by use of an agent of one or more of acyl-homoserine lactone analogs and lactonases as taught by Charlton in order to yield the predictable result of further inhibiting growth of the bacteria in the biofilm.
7. Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Woo (“Inhibitors of synaptic vesicle exocytosis reduce surface expression of postsynaptic glutamate receptors”.
Ma is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but does not appear to disclose wherein said blocking exocytosis among the bacteria cells is accomplished by use of an agent one or more of bafilomycin, botulinum toxin B, and tetanus toxin.
Woo discloses that it is known to inhibit synaptic vesicle exocytosis in bacteria with conventional tools such as bafilomycin A1, botulinum toxin B, or tetanus toxin (See page 343 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ma and inhibit synaptic vesicle exocytosis in bacteria with conventional tools such as bafilomycin A1, botulinum toxin B, or tetanus toxin as taught by Woo in order to prevent the spread of bacteria.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 4 and 6, the prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest a liquid petroleum carrier or holder made of steel that has micro-crevices having a width of less than approximately 10 pM and greater than approximately 50 pM or wherein said inner surface of said hollow structure includes micro-crevices having a width of less than approximately 10 pM and greater than approximately 50 pM, in the claimed environment.
Ma (of record) is considered the closest prior art and teaches a steel oil pipe having a liner covering the inside of the pipe to reduce biofilm but does not teach or even suggest micro-crevices having a width as claimed.
Claims 5 and 7 are indicated as allowable by virtue of their claim dependency.
.
Conclusion
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799