DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1-9, in the reply filed on 02 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention:
In claim 4, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the electrical power supply”.
In claim 5, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the converter device”.
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the electric motor”.
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the supporting device”.
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the energy storage device.
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the converter device”.
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the operating hose”.
In claim 6, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the switching device”.
In claim 7, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the energy storage device”.
In claim 7, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the converter device”.
In claim 7, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the current”.
In claim 8, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the energy storage device”.
In claim 8, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the converter device”.
In claim 9, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the measurement device”.
In claim 9, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the evaluation device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunze (US 2008/0012165):
Regarding claim 1, Kunze discloses a concrete compaction system, comprising: an unbalance exciter (see [0045]) that is configured to compact concrete; a compaction detection device (6 and/or 10) that is configured to detect progress of the compaction of the concrete; and a vibration device that is configured to generate a haptic feedback upon detection of a prescribed progress of the compaction by the compaction detection device (see [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, the system further comprises an electric motor (see [0045]) that is configured to drive the unbalance exciter; an electric power supply (4); and a converter device (15) that is configured to convert an electric current that is drawn from the electric power supply to a drive current for the electric motor; wherein the compaction detection device comprises a measurement device that is configured to measure the current drawn from the electric motor (see [0023] and [0037]); and wherein the compaction detection device comprises an evaluation device (10) that is configured to evaluate the current draw measured by the measurement device, to determine therefrom a progress of the compaction of the concrete, and to detect whether a prescribed progress of the compaction has been reached.
Regarding claim 3, the unbalance exciter is arranged in a housing (2); and an operating hose (1) is fastened to the housing
Regarding claim 6, the vibration device stops the rotation of an electric motor (see [0039] and [0045]).
Claim 7 solely discusses items that are not required elements of the claimed system. Nonetheless, see [0054] and Fig. 2 concerning a measurement device and a converter.
Claim 8 solely discussed items that are not required elements of the claimed system.
Regarding claim 9, data transmission is provided between a measurement device and an evaluation device (see [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze (US 2008/0012165) in view of Lindley (US 2008/0253221). The system of Kunze was discussed above:
Regarding claim 4, an electrical energy storage device is not disclosed by Kunze. Lindley teaches providing a concrete vibrator with a battery (213). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a battery to facilitate portability.
Regarding claim 5, Lindley further teaches a supporting device including a strap (142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a supporting device comprising a strap to facilitate portability.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze (US 2008/0012165) in view of Le Pape (US 2013/0075942). Although this claim is anticipated by Kunze due to sole concerning item that are not positively recited as required elements of the claimed system as explained above, Le Pape is cited for teaching a separately located mobile device (14 or 26) for the evaluation of data from a concrete vibrator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a separately located mobile device so that a person at a remote location can interact with the data.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/225,383 in view of Kunze (US 2008/0012165). The copending claims do not specify that feedback is haptic, such as through turning off a motor. As explained above, Kunze teaches such feedback as an alternative other forms of feedback.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/225,383 in view of Kunze (US 2008/0012165) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lindley (US 2008/0253221). Lindley further teaches a supporting device including a strap (142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a supporting device comprising a strap to facilitate portability.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774