DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings received on 07/24/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 07/24/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the at least one battery” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the polisher” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the plurality of polisher assemblies” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2022/0173415 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an electrical system (Title) for an electric vehicle ([0003]), comprising:
at least one electrical component (fuel cell stack 10);
a coolant loop (as shown in Fig 1) including a low-conductivity coolant (not explicitly described, but as indicated by removing ions via the ion filter 50, [0062], the coolant is necessarily “low-conductivity” because ions have been removed, i.e. the coolant is necessarily ionically non conductive) coupled to each of the at least one electrical component (as shown in Fig 1), wherein the cooling loop is configured to flow or circulate the low conductivity coolant through each of the at least one electrical component (as shown in Fig 1); and
at least one filter (ion filter 50) in the cooling loop (as shown in Fig 1);
wherein the at least one filter includes a polishing material (as indicated by the term “ion filter” and [0062] which describes removing ions from the coolant).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Park further discloses that the at least one filter is positioned in the cooling loop and configured to continuously polish the low conductivity coolant circulating through the at least one electrical component during operation of the vehicle (as shown in Figs 1 and 2, ion filter 50 is disposed within the cooling circuit, and does not appear to be described as a bypass filter, and therefore necessarily continuously filters, i.e. polishes, ions during operation).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Park further discloses that the at least one filter and the polisher material within the at least one filter is configured to have a similar service life (it is noted that the ion filter 50 is disclosed as one component, i.e. the filter is the polishing material, and therefore necessarily has a similar service life).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Park further discloses that the filter comprises:
a filter bed support (not explicitly labeled, but as indicated by ion filter 50 being a separate component, which necessarily requires some form of support, e.g. a housing); and
a filter bed supported by the filter bed support (not explicitly labeled, but as indicated by ion filter 50 being a filter, which necessarily required a “filter bed”);
wherein the filter bed contains the polisher material such that as fluid flows through the filter bed, the fluid is polished by the polisher material (as indicated by the term “ion filter” and [0062], which necessarily requires the fluid to flow through the polishing material in order to filter ions).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Park further discloses an electric vehicle comprising the recited electrical system ([0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0173415 A1; hereinafter “Park”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wen et al. (CN 114300710 A; hereinafter “Wen”).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Park discloses that the at least one filter is coupled in the cooing loop (as shown in Fig 1), but does not disclose that the filter is removably coupled so as to be replaceable.
Wen teaches a hydrogen fuel cell vehicle integrated deionizer (Abstract). Wen teaches that the deionizer is integrated into a replacing part, which saves maintenance time and cost without needing to disassemble the cooling pipeline (Abstract).
Park and Wen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrical systems for electric vehicles.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely design the ion filter of Park as a replaceable part, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would save maintenance time and cost without needing to disassemble the cooling pipeline, as suggested by Wen.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0173415 A1; hereinafter “Park”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Savoy et al. (US 10,550,494 B2; hereinafter “Savoy”).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Park discloses the polisher material configured to remove ions from a fluid (as noted above), but does not appear to be concerned with the particular material used, and therefore does not explicitly disclose that the polisher material comprises ionically active polymer beads.
Savoy teaches filter arrays (Title/Abstract). Savoy teaches that the filter array may comprise a chemically active moiety that are microparticles or nanoparticles comprising an ionic polymer that interacts differentially with ions in a mixture, and may be in the form of particles, beads, spheres, or microspheres (col. 6, lines 40-63).
Park and Savoy are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely ion filters.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the in filter of Park must necessarily be composed of some material, and would therefore find it obvious to routinely utilize an ionic polymer in the form of e.g. beads, as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-9 and/or 11-14 is/are allowed.
Claim(s) 10 and/or 15-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The present invention is related to, inter alia, a cooling system and/or an electrified system comprising:
(claim 8) wherein a polisher material is mixed into the low conductivity coolant and flows with the low conductivity coolant; and/or
(claim 13) a polisher assembly integrally coupled to each of the electrical components in the plurality of electrical components.
Park et al. (US 2022/0173415 A1; hereinafter “Park”) is considered to be the closest relevant prior art to independent claims 8 and 13. Park discloses most of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Park does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited polisher material flowing with the coolant, nor a plurality of polisher assemblies integrally coupled to individual electrical components. To the contrary, Park discloses the polisher material/assembly as an ionic filter disposed int eh cooling circuit (as shown in e.g. Fig 1), and thus there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon such a filter and be directed towards a concurrently flowing polisher material because such would not reasonably filter the coolant from the ions meant to be filtered, nor be directed towards a plurality of polisher assemblies because such filtering is already accomplished via one ion filter in the complete cooling circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choi et al. (US 2022/0231314 A1) discloses optimizing performance in a fuel cell system; and
Kim et al. (US 2008/0221248 A1) discloses polymer microspheres for selective separation of heavy metal ions.
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 03/14/2026