DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-3 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the overlapping reinforcing fiber base materials” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “the heater is configured to be able to make a temperature of at least the reinforcing fiber base material serving as a direct heating target among the plurality of reinforcing fiber base materials a melting point of the thermoplastic resin within a predetermined heating time according to a time of the molding operation”. It is unclear what is being claimed. Is the heater configured to be able to be set at a predetermined temperature at a predetermined time? For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting that the heater is able to be set at a predetermined temperature for a predetermined time.
Claims 2-3 are similarly rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oyoung et al. (KR 102240389 B1, original and translation provided), hereinafter OYOUNG.
Regarding claim 1, OYOUNG teaches: A continuous molding machine for manufacturing a fiber-reinforced composite material by molding a sheet-like reinforcing fiber base material formed by impregnating thermoplastic resin into a reinforcing fiber material (OYOUNG teaches a continuous molding machine [0078; Fig. 1].), in which the continuous molding machine includes a molding device including an upper mold and a lower mold to be heated and configured to perform a molding operation of pressurizing (OYOUNG teaches a molding device (50) with an upper mold (51) and a lower mold (52) for heating and pressing the composite (100) [0069-0071].) and molding a plurality of the overlapped reinforcing fiber base materials supplied from a supply device (OYOUNG teaches molding the plurality of material (100) from a supply device (80) [Fig. 1; 0069].) with the upper mold and the lower mold by a pressure by a drive device (OYOUNG teaches the upper mold (51) and lower mold (52) are moved by a drive device (53) [Fig. 2; 0069].), wherein the molding device is configured to control a temperature at which the upper mold and the lower mold are heated (OYOUNG teaches the molding device (50) includes a temperature control unit (54) [0068; Fig. 2].), and wherein the continuous molding machine comprises a heating device provided between the supply device and the molding device (OYOUNG teaches a heating device (40) is provided between the supply device (80) and the molding device (50) [Fig. 1; 0077].), the plurality of reinforcing fiber base materials passing through the heating device (OYOUNG teaches the material (100) passes through the heating device (40) [Fig. 1].), the heating device including a non-contact heater configured to heat the reinforcing fiber base materials (OYOUNG teaches the heating device includes heaters (41, 43) that do not contact the material (100) [Figs. 1-2; 0062-0063].), and the heater is configured to be able to make a temperature of at least the reinforcing fiber base material serving as a direct heating target among the plurality of reinforcing fiber base materials a melting point of the thermoplastic resin within a predetermined heating time according to a time of the molding operation (OYOUNG teaches the temperature of the heaters (41, 43) may be variously changed according to the material, thickness, and shape of the thermoplastic composite material (100) [0062]. OYOUNG teaches the heaters (41, 43) are capable of heating the material to a melting point of the thermoplastic material within a predetermined heating time [0077; 0062]. Furthermore, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The heaters of OYOUNG are capable of having a predetermined temperature for a predetermined time [0062].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyoung et al. (KR 102240389 B1, original and translation provided), hereinafter OYOUNG, in view of Watanabe et al. (U.S. 6,607,798), hereinafter WATANABE.
Regarding claim 2, OYOUNG teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the heating device includes: a lateral heater that is the heater provided on a side of a path of the reinforcing fiber base materials, and a position changing structure capable of changing an attachment position of the lateral heater in a direction toward and away from the path. In the same field of endeavor, molding, WATANABE teaches a heating device (104) that has a lateral heater (104a) [Col. 31, lines 5-20; Fig. 21(b)]. WATANABE teaches the heater (104a) is slidable along slide rails (guide frames) 4b to and from the cross head die (102) [Col. 33, lines 11-20]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OYOUNG, by having lateral heaters, as suggested by WATANABE, in order to prevent reduction in surface temperature of the resin, uneven cooling and uneven temperature due to atmospheric air and its convection [Col. 31, lines 13-19].
Regarding claim 3, WATANABE further teaches: wherein the lateral heater is provided in plural along a traveling direction of the reinforcing fiber base materials (WATANABE shows the lateral heater (104a) is provided in plural along a traveling direction of the reinforcing fiber base materials [Fig. 21(a)]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OYOUNG, by having more than one lateral heater, as suggested by WATANABE, in order to prevent reduction in surface temperature of the resin, uneven cooling and uneven temperature due to atmospheric air and its convection [Col. 31, lines 13-19].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748