DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 3/11/2026 where claims 21-40 are pending and ready for Examination.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner has reviewed the Applicant’s arguments in their entirety (Pages 8 – 11).
Applicant contends that Altintas merely teaches a single predefined relative-distance threshold, such as 150 meters, and therefore fails to teach a particular proximity that is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources. However, Applicant’s focuses on the threshold distance while overlooking the remainder of the cited disclosure (see e.g. Altintas [0041], [0042], [0101]).
The rejection does not rely upon the threshold distance itself as the claimed density of memory resources. Rather the determined set of participating vehicle platforms comprises the population of memory resource-contributing vehicles within the cluster. Because the cluster is formed from the determined set of participating vehicle platforms satisfying the proximity criterion, the cluster defines the population of memory-resource contributing vehicle platforms within the relevant region.
Accordingly, the density of memory resources is determined from the concentration of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms comprising the cluster, such that increases or decrease in cluster membership correspondingly increase or decrease the density of memory resources.
Further, Altintas expressly teaches that participant vehicles dynamically join and leave the cluster and that the available resources contributed by those vehicles change accordingly. Thus, Altintas teaches a dynamically changing population of memory-resource contributing vehicle platforms and a corresponding dynamically changed density of memory resources within the cluster.
Accordingly, the cited disclosure teaches a particular proximity between memory-resource contributing vehicle platforms, wherein the participating population of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms defining the cluster determines the density of memory resources within the region, and wherein that population dynamically changes as vehicle join and leave the cluster.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-25, 29-30, 32, 34-35 and 38 are rejected over 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes (US 2010/0202346) in view of Altintas (20200019445) and in further view of Belagal Math (US 20190159211), hereinafter referred to as Math.
Regarding claim 21, Sitzes discloses a system, comprising:
a first memory resource, coupled to a first processor, configured to wirelessly share data (Sitzes; Sitzes teaches a first shared memory resource (i.e. a first memory resource) coupled to a first processor where the first memory resource is readily able to wirelessly share data with other vehicles;
see e.g. [0049] “... communication device 112 includes communication hardware and software 510, shared memory 512, non shared memory 514, and transceiver 516 ... the communication hardware and software 510 may include a central processing unit (CPU) ...”
see e.g. Fig. 5[0018] illustrating shared memory 512 coupled to a central processing unit embedded in component 510
see e.g. [0050] “The shared memory 512 may include a memory location that is accessible by other communication devices on the network ...”
see e.g. [0054] “Transceiver 516 includes, in one embodiment, a device configured to wirelessly transmit and/or receive communication signal between one or more communication devices. The devices may include other communication devices on the network, such as those associated with other vehicles ...”);
a second memory resource, coupled to a second processor, wherein the second memory resource is separate from the first memory resource and is configured to wirelessly share data between the second memory resource and the first memory resource (Sitzes; Sitzes teaches each devices shared memory may be exposed via a file system interface and become part of an accessible distributed namespace resulting in in the formation of a logical or virtual memory pool;
see e.g. [0047] “ ... querying the network may include scanning the shared memory locations of other communication devices to determine whether or not a message intended for delivery to the scanning communication device is present. For example, the communication device may scan the shared folder locations of other communication devices for a "shared" value in a file path (e.g., \\server\share\filename) that is associated with the communication device. For example, the scan may include for a value that is the same as or that is indicative of an identifier (e.g., a license plate number), a group name, or the like that is associated with the scanning communication device, ... communication device may create a shared folder in a shared memory location that is accessible by the sending communication device ...”
see e.g. [0049] “[FIG. 5 is a block diagram that illustrates one embodiment of a communication device 112 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present technique. In the illustrated embodiment, communication device 112 includes communication hardware and software 510, shared memory 512, non-shared memory 514, and transceiver 516. In some embodiments, the communication hardware and software 510 may include a central processing unit (CPU) ...” see e.g. Fig. 5
see e.g. [0011] “... inter-vehicle communication device that includes a vehicle communication device located in a vehicle. The vehicle communication device includes ... a shared memory location accessible by other communication devices on an inter-vehicle communication network, a wireless communication device that can be used to exchange data directly with one or more vehicle communication devices on the inter-vehicle communications network”
see e.g. [0050], [0054]
The Examiner notes under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) the claim language does not require the wireless sharing between the first and second memory resources to be bidirectional and places no restriction on the directionality of the data exchange) ; and
a controller configured to determine whether the first memory resource and the second memory resource are authorized to enable formation of a memory pool based on an authorization criterion (Sitzes; Sitzes teaches the formation of a memory pool requires authentication;
see e.g. [0038] “... a process to ensure that each communication device is authentic that users are who they claim to be, and otherwise provide an accountability that helps to ensure safe a and secure use of each communication device ...”
see e.g. [0041] “... login ... password ... the login may include a suer verifying their license plater or other identification information. Based on the log-in information, the communication device may verify the user’s identity ... the communication device may perform intermittent device inquires and caching of network resources and location information ... this may include the communication device querying other communication devices ... updating the location and resource information ...”
Figure 5. illustrates a memory, a processor, and necessary controlling logic to perform authentication, The controller functionality is shown to enable determining whether memory resources are authorized to participate in a memory pool based on authorization criteria.);
wherein the first processor and the controller are configured to determine enablement of the memory pool between the first memory resource and the second memory resource (Sitzes; Sitzes teaches that connecting to the inter-vehicle network includes enabling other communication devices to acknowledge the presence of the sending device and view its shared files or folders resulting in determining whether a connection and sharing relationship is to be enabled between the respective memory resources of the device;
see e.g. [0045] “... enabling the other communication devices on the network to acknowledge the presence of the sending communication device, and/or to view shared folder or files stored on the sending communication device”
Figure 5. illustrates a memory, a processor, and necessary controlling logic to perform authentication, The controller functionality is shown to enable determining whether memory resources are authorized to participate in a memory pool based on authorization criteria)
Sitzes does not expressly disclose:
authorization criterion;
wherein the authorization criterion comprises a particular proximity of the first memory resource relative to the second memory resource, wherein the particular proximity is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources.
However in analogous art Altintas discloses:
authorization criterion;
wherein the authorization criterion comprises a particular proximity of the first memory resource relative to the second memory resource, wherein the particular proximity is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources (Altintas; Altintas ([0041], [0042], and [0101] teaches vehicle platforms that contribute resources including memory space to a resource pool. Teaches determining a set of vehicles satisfying a relative-distance criterion, and teaches that participant vehicles satisfying a relative distance criterion, and teaches that participant vehicles dynamically join and leave the vehicle cluster such that the available resources of the cluster change according to vehicle movement.
Specifically, Altintas teaches that vehicle platforms contribute resources to the temporal vehicular virtual sever (TVVS), including “data storage space” and “memory space” ([0041]). Accordingly, the participating vehicle platforms provide the claimed memory resources.
Altintas further teaches that a vehicle platform participates in the TVVS when the vehicle platform satisfies a relative distance threshold with respect to other participant vehicles ([0042], [0101]). The relative distance relationship between the participant vehicles therefore teaches the claimed particular proximity of the first memory resource relative to the second memory resource because the memory resources are provided by the participating vehicle platforms.
Altintas further teaches determining a set of vehicles having relative distance threshold ([0101]). The determined set of vehicles comprises the memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms.
Accordingly, the determined set defines the quantity of memory resources present with the proximity define cluster region. As the number of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the cluster increases, the density of memory resources within the cluster increases. As the number of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the cluster decreases, the density of memory resources within the cluster decreases. Thus the determined set of participating vehicle platforms teaches the claimed determined density of memory resources.
Altintas further teaches that participant vehicle dynamically join and leave the vehicle cluster and that the available resources of the TVVS significantly change according to vehicle movements ([0042]). Because the memory resources are contributed by the participating vehicle platforms, the density of memory resources within the cluster dynamically changes as vehicle platforms enter and leave the determined set. Consequently, the proximity relationship governing participation in the cluster is dynamically adjustable responsive to the determined density of memory resources represented by the population of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the cluster.
Therefore, Altintas teaches a particular proximity of a first memory resource relative to a second memory resource, wherein the particular proximity is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources.
The cluster defines the density because the cluster comprises the population of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the relevant (i.e. proximity-defined region), such that changes in cluster membership directly correspond to changes in memory resource density.;
see e.g. [0041] “The temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 is a virtual vehicular server being formed by one or more vehicle platforms 103. In some embodiments, the vehicle platforms 103 proximately located relative to one another on a road segment may connect to one another via V2V connections 172 to create a vehicle cluster. The vehicle platforms 103 included in the vehicle cluster may contribute their available processing resources (e.g., processing capacity, data storage space, memory space, communication bandwidth, etc.) into a resource pool to collaboratively perform the functionalities of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109. In some embodiments, the vehicle platforms 103 included in the vehicle cluster that performs the functionalities of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 may be referred to as participant vehicles of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109. In some embodiments, the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 is capable of transporting from one point to another on a road segment as the participant vehicles of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 travel along the road segment.”
see e.g. “[0042] In some embodiments, in order for a vehicle platform 103 to be a participant vehicle of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109, the relative distance of the vehicle platform 103 to other participant vehicles of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 may need to satisfy a predefined relative distance threshold (e.g., 150m). As the vehicle platform 103 travels along the road segment, such relative distance may vary over time and the vehicle platform 103 may dynamically participate in or depart from the vehicle cluster of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109. Because each participant vehicle may dynamically join and leave the vehicle cluster of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109, the available processing resources of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 contributed by these participant vehicles may significantly change according to their vehicle movements. The existence of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 may also be temporary.”
See e.g. [0101] In some embodiments, to form the new TVVS 109 to execute the computational task, in block 430, the TVVS manager 204 may select participant vehicles for the new TVVS 109 from the vehicle platforms 103 located on the road segment. In block 432, the TVVS manager 204 may instruct these participant vehicles to form the new TVVS 109. FIG. 5 is a flowchart of an example method 500 for establishing a new TVVS 109 to perform the execution of the computational task. The method 500 may be performed by the TVVS manager 204 and the task manager 206 of the task managing application 120 included in the local management server 107. As discussed elsewhere herein, the local management server 107 may manage the participant vehicles of the existing TVVSs 109 and the individual vehicle platforms 103 located on the road segment within its coverage area 192. In block 502, the TVVS manager 204 may determine the candidate participant vehicles proximately located relative to one another on the road segment at a first timestamp from these vehicles. In some embodiments, the first timestamp may be the current timestamp t.sub.current at which the establishment of the new TVVS 109 is performed. In some embodiments, the TVVS manager 204 may determine a set of vehicles that have the relative distance to one another satisfying a predefined relative distance threshold (e.g., 150 m) to be the candidate participant vehicles.).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to incorporate Altinta’s cluster/density scheme of resources. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing resources.
As evidence of the rationale above Math teaches:
density (Math;
[0028] In some examples, a number of vehicles V.sub.d is estimated ... and have extracted historical vehicle density and environmental information, vehicle count (V.sub.d) estimation.)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Math’s vehicle density scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing a pool of resources.
Moreover, Altintas teaches the cluster. The cluster teaches density. Math validates the inference that the clustered vehicle population can be characterized in terms of density because it expressly measures and utilizes vehicle density from vehicle counts. Hence directly validating a cluster-to-density relationship. Math validates that such a clustered population is interpreted as a density-based arrangement of resources within a region.
Regarding claim 24, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, Sitzes does not expressly disclose wherein a particular number of a plurality of memory resources included in the memory pool is dynamically determined responsive to a number of memory resources mutually present within a particular proximity in a particular time period (The combined solution per Altintas;
see e.g. [0092] “ ... evaluate the vehicle movement data of the first participant vehicles included in the first TVVVS 109, and determine second participant vehicles proximately located relative to one another on the road segment at the second timestamp ... available processing resources ...”
see e.g. [0093] ° ... predefined time period ...”
see [0041] “... The vehicle platforms 103 included in the vehicle cluster may contribute their available processing resources (e.g. process capacity, data storage Space, Memory space, communication bandwidth, etc.) into a resource pool ...”)
.
Regarding claim 25, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, wherein a particular number of a plurality of memory resources included in the memory pool is dynamically determined responsive to a number of memory resources authorized, by the controller (Sitzes, per Independent clam 21 memory resource(s) are authorized), as a match in a particular time period with an authorization criterion (The combined solution per Altintas;
(Altintas; Altintas teaches available processing resources (e.g. memory resources) are based upon proximity and sequential time stamps (i.e. a particular time period)
see e.g. [0092] “ ... evaluate the vehicle movement data of the first participant vehicles included in the first TVVVS 109, and determine second participant vehicles proximately located relative to one another on the road segment at the second timestamp ... available processing resources ...”
see e.g. [0093] “ ... predefined time period ...”).
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 comprise the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 21 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 30, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses The system of claim 29, wherein availability of either the first memory resource or the second memory resource is determinable based upon determination of a workload being performed in a particular time period by the first memory resource or the second memory resource (Altintas;
see e.g. [0054] “ ... the task metadata of the computation task may include a completion processing resource requirement of the computational task ... complete the execution of various resource components to complete the execution of the computational task at a checkpoint timestamp ..”
see e.g. [0092] “... the task manager 206 may estimate the available processing resources of the first TVVS at a second timestamp subsequent to the first timestamp ... the second timestamp may be the target completion timestamp by which the computational task needs to be completed, and may be determined based on the first timestamp and the task duration of the computational task (e.g. the time distance between the two timestamps may be the task duration) ...”.).
.
Regarding claim 34, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the first processor, which 34. comprises the controller, selectably coupled to a transceiver configured to transmit a request for the wirelessly shared data (Per Independent claim 21, a request in necessarily present);
and wherein:
the request is to receive data from at least one second memory resource, the data corresponding to a particular functionality having instructions for performance thereof stored in memory of a corresponding particular channel of the first memory resource (Altintas; Altintas teaches task metadata (i.e. instruction for performance)
see e.g. [0051] “ ... the task metadata of the computation task may include a performance requirement ...”
see e.g. [0052] “ ... the task metadata of the computation task may include a processing resource requirement ... the amount of memory resource ....”; and
performance of the particular functionality is different following access of stored instructions, including data received from the at least one second memory resource, relative to instructions previously stored in the memory of the particular channel (Altintas; Altintas teaches the performance of the particular functionality may vary over time (i.e. different) as the vehicles are mobile;
see e.g. [0098] “ ... update the processing resource requirement ...”
see e.g. [0112] “ ...update the computational task entry associated with the computation task to the virtual data store 128 ...”
see e.g. Fig. 5, Block 508.
Regarding claim 32, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 29, wherein:
the controller is further configured to contribute to transmission, via formation of the memory pool, of the data from the second memory resource to a corresponding first memory resource; (Sitzes, Per Independent claim 21, Fig. 5 illustrates controlling logic to facilitate the formation of the memory pool with respect to first and second memory resources (i.e. a shared pool) and
the data transmitted from the available second memory resource is stored by the corresponding first memory resource (Sitzes, Per Independent claim 21, prior to data being transmitted for storage it is subsequently stored).
Regarding claim 35, Sitzes discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a first memory resource (Sitzes; Sitzes teaches a first shared memory resource (i.e. a first memory resource) coupled to a first processor where the first memory resource is readily able to wirelessly share data with other vehicles;
see e.g. [0049] “... communication device 112 includes communication hardware and software 510, shared memory 512, non shared memory 514, and transceiver 516 ... the communication hardware and software 510 may include a central processing unit (CPU) ...”
see e.g. Fig. 5[0018] illustrating shared memory 512 coupled to a central processing unit embedded in component 510
see e.g. [0050] “The shared memory 512 may include a memory location that is accessible by other communication devices on the network ...”
see e.g. [0054] “Transceiver 516 includes, in one embodiment, a device configured to wirelessly transmit and/or receive communication signal between one or more communication devices. The devices may include other communication devices on the network, such as those associated with other vehicles ...”);
a first processor coupled to the first memory resource see e.g. [0049] “... communication device 112 includes communication hardware and software 510, shared memory 512, non shared memory 514, and transceiver 516 ... the communication hardware and software 510 may include a central processing unit (CPU) ...”
see e.g. Fig. 5[0018] illustrating shared memory 512 coupled to a central processing unit embedded in component 510);
and a transceiver coupled to the first processor (Sitzes;
see e.g. Fig. 5 [0018] illustrating a transceiver coupled to the first processor’
see e.g. [0049] “... communication device 112 includes communication hardware and software 510, shared memory 512, non shared memory 514, and transceiver 516 ... the communication hardware and software 510 may include a central processing unit (CPU) ...”
see e.g. [0054] “Transceiver 516 includes, in one embodiment, a device configured to wirelessly transmit and/or receive communication signal between one or more communication devices. The devices may include other communication devices on the network, such as those associated with other vehicles ...”);
wherein the first memory resource, the first processor, and the transceiver are configured to enable formation of a memory pool between the first memory resource and a second memory resource responsive to a request to access the second memory resource transmitted from the first processor via the transceiver (Sitzes;
see e.g. [0011], [0041], [0045], [0047],[0049], [0050],[0054]), and wherein data that is wirelessly shared data from the first memory resource to the second memory resource is maintained by the first memory resource (Sitzes; [0050]) “The shared memory 512 may include a memory location that is accessible by other communication devices on the network ... other communication devices may be capable of mapping to the memory location to view and download information )e.g. files and messages) stored in the shared memory 512), and wherein an authorization criterion usable by a controller to determine whether the first memory resource and a second memory resource are authorized to be included in the memory pool (Sitzes; Sitzes teaches the access to the shared memories of the inter-vehicle communications network (i.e. the formation of a memory pool) requires authentication;
see e.g. [0038] “... a process to ensure that each communication device is authentic that users are who they claim to be, and otherwise provide an accountability that helps to ensure safe a and secure use of each communication device ...”
see e.g. [0041] “ ... login ... password ... the login may include a suer verifying their license plater or other identification information. Based on the log-in information, the communication device may verify the user’s identity ... the communication device may perform intermittent device inquires and caching of network resources and location information ... this may include the communication device querying other communication devices ... updating the location and resource information ...”
Figure 5. illustrates a memory, a processor, and necessary controlling logic to perform authentication, The controller functionality is shown to enable determining whether memory resources are authorized to participate in a memory pool based on authorization criteria).
Sitzes does not expressly disclose:
wherein the authorization criterion comprises a particular proximity of the first memory resource relative to the second memory resource, wherein the particular proximity is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources.
Altintas discloses:
wherein the authorization criterion comprises a particular proximity of the first memory resource relative to the second memory resource, wherein the particular proximity is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources (Altintas; Altintas ([0041], [0042], and [0101] teaches vehicle platforms that contribute resources including memory space to a resource pool. Teaches determining a set of vehicles satisfying a relative-distance criterion, and teaches that participant vehicles satisfying a relative distance criterion, and teaches that participant vehicles dynamically join and leave the vehicle cluster such that the available resources of the cluster change according to vehicle movement.
Specifically, Altintas teaches that vehicle platforms contribute resources to the temporal vehicular virtual sever (TVVS), including “data storage space” and “memory space” ([0041]). Accordingly, the participating vehicle platforms provide the claimed memory resources.
Altintas further teaches that a vehicle platform participates in the TVVS when the vehicle platform satisfies a relative distance threshold with respect to other participant vehicles ([0042], [0101]). The relative distance relationship between the participant vehicles therefore teaches the claimed particular proximity of the first memory resource relative to the second memory resource because the memory resources are provided by the participating vehicle platforms.
Altintas further teaches determining a set of vehicles having relative distance threshold ([0101]). The determined set of vehicles comprises the memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms.
Accordingly, the determined set defines the quantity of memory resources present with the proximity define cluster region. As the number of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the cluster increases, the density of memory resources within the cluster increases. As the number of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the cluster decreases, the density of memory resources within the cluster decreases. Thus the determined set of participating vehicle platforms teaches the claimed determined density of memory resources.
Altintas further teaches that participant vehicle dynamically join and leave the vehicle cluster and that the available resources of the TVVS significantly change according to vehicle movements ([0042]). Because the memory resources are contributed by the participating vehicle platforms, the density of memory resources within the cluster dynamically changes as vehicle platforms enter and leave the determined set. Consequently, the proximity relationship governing participation in the cluster is dynamically adjustable responsive to the determined density of memory resources represented by the population of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the cluster.
Therefore, Altintas teaches a particular proximity of a first memory resource relative to a second memory resource, wherein the particular proximity is dynamically adjustable responsive to a determined density of memory resources.
see e.g. [0041] “The temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 is a virtual vehicular server being formed by one or more vehicle platforms 103. In some embodiments, the vehicle platforms 103 proximately located relative to one another on a road segment may connect to one another via V2V connections 172 to create a vehicle cluster. The vehicle platforms 103 included in the vehicle cluster may contribute their available processing resources (e.g., processing capacity, data storage space, memory space, communication bandwidth, etc.) into a resource pool to collaboratively perform the functionalities of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109. In some embodiments, the vehicle platforms 103 included in the vehicle cluster that performs the functionalities of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 may be referred to as participant vehicles of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109. In some embodiments, the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 is capable of transporting from one point to another on a road segment as the participant vehicles of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 travel along the road segment.”
see e.g. “[0042] In some embodiments, in order for a vehicle platform 103 to be a participant vehicle of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109, the relative distance of the vehicle platform 103 to other participant vehicles of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 may need to satisfy a predefined relative distance threshold (e.g., 150m). As the vehicle platform 103 travels along the road segment, such relative distance may vary over time and the vehicle platform 103 may dynamically participate in or depart from the vehicle cluster of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109. Because each participant vehicle may dynamically join and leave the vehicle cluster of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109, the available processing resources of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 contributed by these participant vehicles may significantly change according to their vehicle movements. The existence of the temporal vehicular virtual server (TVVS) 109 may also be temporary.”
See e.g. [0101] In some embodiments, to form the new TVVS 109 to execute the computational task, in block 430, the TVVS manager 204 may select participant vehicles for the new TVVS 109 from the vehicle platforms 103 located on the road segment. In block 432, the TVVS manager 204 may instruct these participant vehicles to form the new TVVS 109. FIG. 5 is a flowchart of an example method 500 for establishing a new TVVS 109 to perform the execution of the computational task. The method 500 may be performed by the TVVS manager 204 and the task manager 206 of the task managing application 120 included in the local management server 107. As discussed elsewhere herein, the local management server 107 may manage the participant vehicles of the existing TVVSs 109 and the individual vehicle platforms 103 located on the road segment within its coverage area 192. In block 502, the TVVS manager 204 may determine the candidate participant vehicles proximately located relative to one another on the road segment at a first timestamp from these vehicles. In some embodiments, the first timestamp may be the current timestamp t.sub.current at which the establishment of the new TVVS 109 is performed. In some embodiments, the TVVS manager 204 may determine a set of vehicles that have the relative distance to one another satisfying a predefined relative distance threshold (e.g., 150 m) to be the candidate participant vehicles.).
The cluster defines the density because the cluster comprises the population of memory-resource-contributing vehicle platforms within the relevant (i.e. proximity-defined region), such that changes in cluster membership directly correspond to changes in memory resource density.;).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to incorporate Altinta’s cluster/density scheme of resources. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing resources.
As evidence of the rationale above Math teaches:
density (Math;
[0028] In some examples, a number of vehicles V.sub.d is estimated ... and have extracted historical vehicle density and environmental information, vehicle count (V.sub.d) estimation.)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Math’s vehicle density scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing a pool of resources.
Altintas teaches the cluster. The cluster teaches density. Math validates the inference that the clustered vehicle population can be characterized in terms of density because it expressly measures and utilizes vehicle density from vehicle counts. Hence directly validating a cluster-to-density relationship. Math validates that such a clustered population is interpreted as a density-based arrangement of resources within a region.
Regarding claim 38, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the apparatus of claim 35, wherein the transceiver comprises a first radio frequency (RF) transceiver coupled to the first processor and a second RF transceiver coupled to a second processor to enable formation of the memory pool between the first memory resource and the second memory resource (Sitzes, see e.g. Fig. 5 illustrating RF transceiver coupled to a processor to enable formation of a memory pool. As the memory pool is spawned between two devices a first RF transceiver, second RF transceiver, a first processor, a second processor, a first memory resource, and second memory resource are present.
See e.g. [0049], [0075]
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Patel (US 2019/0236001)
Regarding claim 22, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, Sitzes does not expressly disclose wherein a particular number of a plurality of memory resources included in the memory pool is selectably scalable responsive to a corresponding number of memory resources authorized by the controller.
However in analogous art Patel discloses:
wherein a particular number of a plurality of memory resources included in the memory pool is selectably scalable responsive to a corresponding number of memory resources authorized by the controller (Patel;
see e.g. [0016] “... The memory allocator facilitates scale-up (capacity growth) and (scale-out (parallelism) by dynamically increasing the size of the shared memory pool ...”).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Sitzes with Patel’s memory allocator. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique which results in increased efficiencies of managing of shared memory pool.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Spencer (US 7,843,951)
Regarding claim 23, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, Sitzes does not expressly disclose wherein a bandwidth of the memory pool is selectably scalable by a particular number of memory resources authorized, by the controller, to be included in the memory pool.
However in analogous art Spencer discloses:
wherein a bandwidth of the memory pool is selectably scalable by a particular number of memory resources authorized, by the controller, to be included in the memory pool (Spencer;
see e.g. Column 2, Lines 59-67 “... a memory manager and the use of a local pool ... dynamic memory management ... usage of highs speed serial chip-to-chip links to memory hub(s) ... Remote fanout to multiple memory channels enables address and data bandwidth to be scaled ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Spencer’s memory management scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in the ability to scale memory resources.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Braun (US 2006/0227627)
Regarding claim 28, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, wherein:
each respective memory resource included in the memory pool includes a respective controller coupled to a respective processor (Sitzes; Per Independent claim 21, Fig. 5 ) Sitzes does note xpessly disclose:
a first controller coupled to the first processor for the first memory resource is configured to Altintas; see e.g. [0071] “ ... 210 [resource manager] ... cooperation and communication with the processor:
:
determine a particular number of a plurality of second memory resources included in the memory pool (Altintas;
see e.g. [0075] “ ... the resource manager 210 may monitor various resource components in the resource pool 252 ... and frequently determine the quantities of these resource components available for use in the resource pool 252 at multiple timestamps ... the resource manager 210 may generate a resource availability entry indicating these quantities of available processing resources ...”); and
direct a controller coupled to each second processor for the plurality of second memory resources to modulate operating parameters for transmission of data from a number of memory devices in the second memory resources to correspond to the determined particular number of the plurality of second memory resources (Altintas; Altintas teaches communication bandwidth as an operating parameter ; see e.g. [0039] “ ... unoccupied communication bandwidth ...”)
The combined solution does not address access and transmission however Braun discloses:
access and transmission (Braun;
see e.g.. [0022] “The memory components are provides as to receive or transmit data signals in a burst mode, the length of the burst ... vary the length of the burst mode depending on the operating mode of the memory module ... operation of memory module with a reduced data rate ...”
The Examiner notes the Applicant’s specification relies on manipulation of burst mode to perform the above activity)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Braun’s dynamic operating parameter scheme. The motivation being the combined invention provides for increased efficiencies of processing data.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Burge (US 20110225368)
Regarding claim 31, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math disclose the system of claim 29, wherein the controller is further configured to contribute to formation of the memory pool to share the data (Sitzes per Independent claim 21), Sitzes does not disclose responsive to determination that the data stored by the available second memory resource corresponds to data stored by an available first memory resource.
Burge discloses:
responsive to determination that the data stored by the available second memory resource corresponds to data stored by an available first memory resource.(Burge; [0029] In still other aspects, a data replication session involves an opportunistic best effort approach to data delivery. Data replication is performed between: 1) a mobile device and a remote server, or 2) between two peer mobile devices. In both scenarios, the mobile device is the sender, and the mobile device sends its mobile context information to a receiving entity (i.e. a remote server, or another peer mobile device) to initiate a replication sessions art discloses)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burge’s replications scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in the ability to detect if distinct memories are in a replicated state and thus providing effective use of shared resources.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Zamsky (US 2020/0034054)
Regarding claim 33, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses The system of claim 29, Sitzes does not expressly disclose wherein the first processor, comprises the controller, selectably coupled to a plurality of switches for a corresponding plurality of channels of the first memory resource; and
the controller configured to select, responsive to selective activation of a particular switch, which particular channel is enabled to:
transmit, via a transceiver selectably coupled to the particular channel, data stored in memory of the particular channel responsive to a request received from a second processor coupled to the second memory resource; and
receive, via the transceiver selectably coupled to the particular channel, data from the second memory resource to be stored in the memory of the particular channel responsive to a request transmitted by the first processor.
However in analogous art Zamsky discloses:
wherein the first processor, comprises the controller, selectably coupled to a plurality of switches for a corresponding plurality of channels of the first memory resource (Zamsky; Zamsky teaches a switching fabric comprising switches which provide access to memory banks (i.e. a plurality of channels of the first memory resource);
see e.g. [0026] “ ... content data banks ...”
see e.g. Claim 7 “The network switch device of claim 1, wherein when the memory controller determines the configuration of a set of banks as a virtual multi-port configuration, the memory controller designates ... ii] remaining banks of the set of banks as content data bands, the content data banks storing content data)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Altintas with Zamsky’s network switch and memory content backs. The motivation being the combined solution provides for granular control of data within memory structures resulting in increased efficiencies of transmitting content to different entities without unexpected results.
Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Zamsky discloses:
the controller configured to select, responsive to selective activation of a particular switch, which particular channel is enabled to (The combined invention per Zamsky provides for the controller to work in conjunction with a particular switch and necessary channels):
transmit, via a transceiver selectably coupled to the particular channel, data stored in memory of the particular channel responsive to a request received from a second processor coupled to the second memory resource; (The combined solution provides for transmission in conjunction with a particular channel in response to executing the utilization of the shared memory (e.g. request)
receive, via the transceiver selectably coupled to the particular channel, data from the second memory resource to be stored in the memory of the particular channel responsive to a request transmitted by the first processor( The combined solution provides for the reception with respect to particular channels).
Claim 27 and 39 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Bajko (US 20120208558)
Regarding claim 27, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, Sitzes does not expressly disclose wherein the second memory resources is 27. included on a base station.
However in analogous art Bajko discloses
wherein the second memory resources is 27. included on a base station (Bajko, Bajko teaches a mobile device may act a based device therefore providing remote devices with particular memory configurations to serve as base stations;
[0147] This information may be provided by all the linked devices independently, or the information may be provided by a host device that is controlling the (ad-hoc type, such as a network that is set up temporarily or that is impromptu between a collection of portable devices) network (such as a server or host computer/device acting as an access-point or mobile base station).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Bajko’s mobile base stations. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies in communicating data.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 27 and is considered an obvious variation, Therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 36 -37 and 40 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatenble over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Burton (US 2008/0172276)
Regarding claim 36, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the apparatus of claim 35, Sitzes does not expressly disclose further comprising a controller configured to selectably determine, responsive to prioritization of requested data, a particular memory device of the first memory resource to which data is to be shared by being received, via the transceiver, from the second memory resource.
Burton discloses:
prioritization of requested data (Burton;
see e.g. [0061] “ ... request module 230 ... the request dataset may prioritize the requests by a number of request, a type of request ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burton’s prioritization request scheme. The motivation being that the combined solution provides for increased efficiencies of transferring data between various
Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in view of Burton discloses:
further comprising a controller configured to selectably determine, responsive to prioritization of requested data, a particular memory device of the first memory resource to which data is to be shared by being received, via the transceiver, from the second memory resource (The combined solution provides for the prioritization of request data which can result in a shared data flow between particular memory devices as result of the location of the prioritized requested data)
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 36 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 40, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the apparatus of claim 35, Sitzes does not address the prioritization of requests between devices and therefore does not expressly disclose wherein a request from the first processor for the access to the second memory resource is prioritized before a request for data received by the second processor from another processor coupled to another memory resource.
Burton discloses:
prioritization of requested data (Burton;
see e.g. [0061] “ ... request module 230 ... the request dataset may prioritize the requests by a number of request, a type of request ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Burton’s prioritization request scheme. The motivation being that the combined solution provides for increased efficiencies of transferring data between various
Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math in view of Burton discloses:
wherein a request from the first processor for the access to the second memory resource is prioritized before a request for data received by the second processor from another processor coupled to another memory resource (The combined invention per Burton provides for prioritizing request from other processors are prioritized and handled in a certain order accordingly)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Hansen (US 7,680,059)
Regarding claim 26, Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math discloses the system of claim 21, Sitzes does not expressly disclose wherein the authorization criterion comprises
a match of a protocol for wireless communication between a first transceiver coupled to the first memory resource and a second transceiver coupled to the second memory resource.
Hansen discloses:
a match of a protocol for wireless communication between devices (Hansen;
see e.g. Abstract “A method for multiple protocol wireless communications begins by determining protocols of wireless communication devices within a proximal region. The method then continues by determining whether the protocols of the wireless communication devices within the proximal region are of a like protocol. The method continues by, when the protocols of the wireless communication devices within the proximal region are not of a like protocol, selecting a protocol of the protocols of the wireless communication devices within the proximal region based on a protocol ordering to produce a selected protocol. The method continues by utilizing the selected protocol by the wireless communication devices within the proximal region to set up a wireless communication within the proximal region”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hansen’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implanting a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of managing resources.
Sitzes in view of Altintas and in further view of Math and in further view of Hansen disclose:
a match of a protocol for wireless communication between a first transceiver coupled to the first memory resource and a second transceiver coupled to the second memory resource (The combined solution per Hansen provides for matching protocols associated with the resources explicitly taught by Sitzes)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449