DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 14-15 and 18-20 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 13 have been cancelled
Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 are currently pending and are considered below
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 06/19/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1,
Applicant argues that Hong does not mention a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode. Hong is silent on determining whether to perform a cell reselection before entering the connected mode in a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode. (Remarks: page 8, 4th paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Hong discloses Hong discloses a method for entering a connected mode ([0005] “”cel reselection method”), applied to a terminal device (Figure 1, Terminal 11), before the terminal device enters the connected mode ([0036] Before the terminal switches from an idle state or an inactive state to a connected state, the terminal needs to reselect a cell for cell residence), determining, by the terminal device based on information of a network slice (Figure 2, S210: “receive s system message, where the system message includes a network slice;” and [0034] further recites, S210: a system message is received. The system message includes network slice information of a network slice supported by a neighbor cell corresponding to a current service of the terminal device (Figure 2, S210: “receive s system message, where the system message includes a network slice;” and [0034] further recites, S210: a system message is received).
Hong does not expressly disclose before entering the connected mode comprises, a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode. Hong does not expressly disclose before entering the connected mode comprises, a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode.
However, Kadiri discloses after UEs 115 have been camping on the selected cell and remain in IDLE mode. As part of the idle cell reselection procedure, UEs 115 may receive system information blocks carrying cell reselection criteria for idle cell reselection, and perform measurements on non-serving cells according to the cell reselection criteria (e.g., cell-priority criterion, cell-rank criterion). Upon identifying a non-serving cell satisfying a cell reselection criterion, UEs 115 may perform the connection procedure with the non-serving cell, and a connection release procedure with the serving cell. As a result, the non-serving cell becomes the serving cell, col. 5, ll. 3-14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kadiri with Hong in order to ensure that the subsequent RRC connection establishment takes place on the best available cell and to further enhance optimization and decrease the chances of connection failures.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine Kadiri with Hong in order to arrive at the invention specified in claim 1. Examiner further submits that it is not Hong that teaches the limitations, it is the combination of Hong and Kadiri that meet the claim limitations.
Applicant further argues that Vuch Kadiri does not consider “information of a network slide corresponding to a current service of terminal device and that Kadiri does not mention “a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode.” (Remarks: page 9, first paragraph).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and presents the same response as discussed above. Hong does not expressly disclose before entering the connected mode comprises, a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode.
However, Kadiri discloses after UEs 115 have been camping on the selected cell and remain in IDLE mode. As part of the idle cell reselection procedure, UEs 115 may receive system information blocks carrying cell reselection criteria for idle cell reselection, and perform measurements on non-serving cells according to the cell reselection criteria (e.g., cell-priority criterion, cell-rank criterion). Upon identifying a non-serving cell satisfying a cell reselection criterion, UEs 115 may perform the connection procedure with the non-serving cell, and a connection release procedure with the serving cell. As a result, the non-serving cell becomes the serving cell, col. 5, ll. 3-14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kadiri with Hong in order to ensure that the subsequent RRC connection establishment takes place on the best available cell and to further enhance optimization and decrease the chances of connection failures.
Examiner further submits that it is not Hong that teaches the limitations, it is the combination of Hong and Kadiri that meet the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s submission of prior art Hong (US 20220400421) in view of Kadiri et al (US 11330478).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a method for entering a connected mode ([0005] “”cel reselection method”), applied to a terminal device (Figure 1, Terminal 11), the method comprising: before the terminal device enters the connected mode ([0036] Before the terminal switches from an idle state or an inactive state to a connected state, the terminal needs to reselect a cell for cell residence), determining, by the terminal device based on information of a network slice (Figure 2, S210: “receive s system message, where the system message includes a network slice;” and [0034] further recites, S210: a system message is received. The system message includes network slice information of a network slice supported by a neighbor cell) information of a network slide corresponding to a current service of terminal device (Figure 2, S210: “receive s system message, where the system message includes a network slice;” [0034] S210: a system message is received. The system message includes network slice information of a network slice supported by a neighbor cell), whether to perform a cell reselection before entering the connected mode ([0035] S220: cell reselection is performed according to the network slice information).
Hong does not expressly disclose before entering the connected mode comprises, a duration between a time after an access layer of the terminal device receives a trigger from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer and a time before the terminal device enters the connected mode.
However, Kadiri discloses after UEs 115 have been camping on the selected cell and remain in IDLE mode. As part of the idle cell reselection procedure, UEs 115 may receive system information blocks carrying cell reselection criteria for idle cell reselection, and perform measurements on non-serving cells according to the cell reselection criteria (e.g., cell-priority criterion, cell-rank criterion). Upon identifying a non-serving cell satisfying a cell reselection criterion, UEs 115 may perform the connection procedure with the non-serving cell, and a connection release procedure with the serving cell. As a result, the non-serving cell becomes the serving cell, col. 5, ll. 3-14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kadiri with Hong in order to ensure that the subsequent RRC connection establishment takes place on the best available cell and to further enhance optimization and decrease the chances of connection failures.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine Kadiri with Hong in order to arrive at the invention specified in claim 1.
2. (Cancelled)
3. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 4, in the obvious combination, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the terminal device based on the information of the network slice that needs to be used, whether to perform the cell reselection before entering the connected mode comprises:
determining, by an access layer of the terminal device ([0037] “In the embodiment of the present disclosure, the terminal receives the system message in a process of re-accessing the cell.” The Examiner notes that “access layer of the terminal device” is interpreted as the reception of the information at the receiver of the terminal, e.g., access layer) based on the information of the network slice information of a network slide corresponding to a current service of terminal device (Figure 2, S210: “receive s system message, where the system message includes a network slice;” [0034] S210: a system message is received. The system message includes network slice information of a network slice supported by a neighbor cell), whether to perform a cell reselection before entering the connected mode ([0035] S220: cell reselection is performed according to the network slice information) information of a network slide corresponding to a current service of terminal device cell reselection is performed according to the network slice information).
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
in a case where the current service of the terminal device corresponds or when the terminal device determines that the first network slice is not a network slice among one or more network slices indicated by an allowed NSSAI, sending, by an NAS layer of the terminal device, information of the first network slice and the allowed NSSAI to the access layer of the terminal device (Figure 3 and [0060] as shown in FIG. 3, S220 may include: [0061] S221: in response to determining that there is one neighbor cell with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal, the neighbor cell with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal is selected to perform cell reselection. [0062] S222: in response to determining that there are more than one neighbor cell with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal, a neighbor cell with a best cell signal quality among the neighbor cells with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal is selected to perform cell reselection. … [0065] For example, among the M cells, there are three cells with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal, namely the neighbor cell 1, the neighbor cell 2, and the neighbor cell 3. M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 3. At this time, the terminal will select the neighbor cell 2 with the best cell signal quality as the target cell to complete the cell reselection according to the cell signal quality of the neighbor cell 1, the neighbor cell 2 and the neighbor cell 3. …).
Regarding claim 6, in the obvious combination, Hong discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising:
after the access layer of the terminal device receives the information of the first network slice sent by the NAS layer, determining, by the access layer of the terminal device, to perform the cell reselection before entering the connected mode, when at least one of the following is satisfied: the information of the first network slice is not in the one or more network slices indicated by the allowed NSSAI; or a priority of a frequency corresponding to the first network slice of a camping cell is lower ([0059] In some embodiments, the access weight may further be correlated with a priority of the type of network slice supported by the terminal set by the terminal itself, and the higher the priority is, the greater the access weight is. For example, the terminal supports N types of network slices, and according to user instruction or communication services subscribed by the terminal, priorities are respectively configured for the N types of network slices supported by the terminal. The priority indicates that the terminal has a higher probability of using the type of network slice, the user experience is the best, or the terminal has a paid subscription, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, in the obvious combination, Hong discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
during performing the cell reselection, selecting, by the terminal device, a cell with a highest priority of the frequency corresponding to the first network slice among cells supporting the first network slice to enter the connected mode ([0069] In some embodiments, when there are the plurality of neighbor cells with the largest number of the same type as the network slices supported by the terminal, the signal quality of these neighbor cells is sorted, and the neighbor cell with the best signal quality is prioritized for cell reselection).
Regarding claim 8, in the obvious combination, Hong discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the terminal device based on the information of the network slice corresponding to a current service of terminal device
determining, by the NAS layer of the terminal device based on the information of the network slice corresponding to a current service of terminal device receive s system message, where the system message includes a network slice;” and [0034] further recites, S210: a system message is received. The system message includes network slice information of a network slice supported by a neighbor cell. Further, ([0035] S220: cell reselection is performed according to the network slice information).
Regarding claim 9, in the obvious combination, Hong discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
after an access layer of the terminal device selects a camping cell, sending, by the access layer, information of a network slice supported by the camping cell and priority information of a frequency corresponding to the network slice supported by the camping cell to the NAS layer ([0069] In some embodiments, when there are the plurality of neighbor cells with the largest number of the same type as the network slices supported by the terminal, the signal quality of these neighbor cells is sorted, and the neighbor cell with the best signal quality is prioritized for cell reselection. When the cell reselection for one neighbor cell fails, other neighbor cells with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal are traversed until the cell reselection is successful or all the neighbor cells with the largest number of the same type as the network slice supported by the terminal are traversed).
Regarding claim 10, in the obvious combination, Hong discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
sending, by an access layer, information of a network slice supported by a neighbor cell of a camping cell and priority information of a frequency corresponding to the network slice supported by the neighbor cell to the NAS layer ([0059] In some embodiments, the access weight may further be correlated with a priority of the type of network slice supported by the terminal set by the terminal itself, and the higher the priority is, the greater the access weight is. For example, the terminal supports N types of network slices, and according to user instruction or communication services subscribed by the terminal, priorities are respectively configured for the N types of network slices supported by the terminal. The priority indicates that the terminal has a higher probability of using the type of network slice, the user experience is the best, or the terminal has a paid subscription, etc.).
Claim 11 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Hong, “Terminal” [0025] and Figure 1, “terminals 11”).
12. (Cancelled)
13. (Cancelled)
Claim 14 contains subject matter similar to claim 4, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 contains subject matter similar to claim 5, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 contains subject matter similar to claim 6, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 contains subject matter similar to claim 7, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 contains subject matter similar to claim 8, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 contains subject matter similar to claim 9, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 contains subject matter similar to claim 10, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644