LITHIUM-ION BATTERY
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/7/2023, 8/3/2023, and 7/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “separator”, “negative electrode piece”, “electrolyte”, “positive electrode diaphragm”, negative electrode piece”, “negative electrode current collector”, “negative diaphragm”, “negative electrode tab”, “negative diaphragm provided with a first groove” “second groove in a negative electrode diaphragm area of the negative electrode piece”, “first tab adhesive tape” and “welding end of the negative electrode tab” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 104 157 914 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. teach lithium-ion battery (Abstract), comprising a positive electrode piece (Fig. 1, element 11), a negative electrode piece (Fig. 2, element 21), a separator arranged between the positive electrode piece and the negative electrode piece (Paragraph 0013), and an electrolyte (Paragraph 0047), the positive electrode piece comprising a positive electrode current collector (Paragraph 0069; Fig. 1 discloses element 11 is a positive electrode strip provided with an active material, element 12, on both sides. Therefore, element 11 is inherently a current collector.), a positive electrode diaphragm (Paragraph 0036 discloses a second diaphragm stacked with the positive electrode prior to winding.) and a positive electrode tab (Fig. 1, element 13) which are attached to a surface of the positive electrode current collector (Fig. 1 shows the tab, element 13, connected to the current collector, element 11.), and the negative electrode piece comprising a negative electrode current collector (Paragraph 0070; Fig. 2 discloses element 21 is a negative electrode strip provided with active material, element 22, on both sides. Therefore, element 21 is inherently a current collector.), a negative diaphragm (Paragraph 0036 discloses a first diaphragm stacked with the negative electrode prior to winding.) and a negative electrode tab (Fig. 2, element 23) which are attached to a surface of the negative electrode current collector (Fig. 2 shows the tab, element 23, connected to the current collector, element 21.), wherein the negative diaphragm is provided with a first groove (Fig. 2, element 24), and the negative electrode tab is arranged in the first groove (Paragraph 0070; Fig. 2 discloses the negative electrode strip comprises a negative electrode tab, element 23, disposed in a negative electrode blank area, element 24, which is on both sides of the negative electrode strip, element 21.), the positive electrode piece opposite to the first groove is provided with a first insulating adhesive tape thereon and the positive electrode diaphragm on an edge of the first insulating adhesive tape is provided with a first adhesive tape groove (Paragraph 0044; Fig. 1 discloses after the positive electrode strip, element 11, are coated with active material, element 12, a polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape is applied on a first island region, element 14, a first blank region, element 15, a second island region, element 16, and a third blank region, element 18. Paragraph 0052 discloses During winding, the second positive electrode island region and the first positive electrode island region correspond to and wrap around the back of the negative electrode tab, respectively, to avoid the positive electrode active material facing the negative electrode tab and thus preventing lithium plating. Therefore, the positive electrode comprises a groove, element 14, which is covered by the adhesive tape and then wound to be opposite the first groove of the negative electrode piece.).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 1, wherein a first tab adhesive tape is arranged on the first groove; and in a thickness direction of the battery, a projection of the first tab adhesive tape is covered by the first insulating adhesive tape (Paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 3, wherein the positive electrode diaphragm is provided below the first insulating adhesive tape or the positive electrode current collector is provided below the first insulating adhesive tape (Paragraph 0044; Fig. 1 discloses after the positive electrode strip, element 11, are coated with active material, element 12, a polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape is applied on a first island region, element 14 and a first blank region, element 15. Therefore, the current collector, element 11, is below the adhesive tape.).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 3, wherein the positive electrode diaphragm is provided below the first insulating adhesive tape (Paragraph 0044; Fig. 1 discloses after the positive electrode strip, element 11, are coated with active material, element 12, a polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape is applied on a first island region, element 14 and a first blank region, element 15. Therefore, the current collector, element 11, is below the adhesive tape.), the first adhesive tape groove is U-shaped or the positive electrode current collector is provided below the first insulating adhesive tape, and the first adhesive tape groove is rectangular (Fig. 1 shows the first island region, element 14, and the first blank region, element 15, are rectangular.).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 1, wherein a second groove is provided in a negative electrode diaphragm area of the negative electrode piece opposite to the first groove (Fig. 2 discloses a negative electrode blank area, element 24, located on opposing sides and location of the negative electrode piece, element 21.), and the positive electrode piece opposite to the second groove is provided with a second insulating adhesive tape, the positive electrode diaphragm around an edge of the second insulating adhesive tape is provided with a second adhesive tape groove (Paragraph 0044; Fig. 1 discloses after the positive electrode strip, element 11, are coated with active material, element 12, a polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape is applied on a first island region, element 14, a first blank region, element 15, a second island region, element 16, and a third blank region, element 18. Paragraph 0052 discloses during winding, the second positive electrode island region and the first positive electrode island region correspond to and wrap around the back of the negative electrode tab, respectively, to avoid the positive electrode active material facing the negative electrode tab and thus preventing lithium plating. In other words, both sides of the positive electrode current collector, element 11, are covered by the insulating tape. When wound, it is opposite of the second groove on the second side of the negative electrode current collector, element 21. Finally, the second island region, element 16, serves as the second adhesive tape groove being that it is being covered with the tape.).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 5, wherein a second tab adhesive tape is arranged on the second groove and in a thickness direction of the battery (Paragraph 0026), a projection of the second tab adhesive tape is covered by the second insulating adhesive tape (Paragraph 0045; Fig. 1 discloses a polyimide acrylic insulating tape is applied to the negative electrode blank area, element 24.).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 5, wherein the positive electrode diaphragm is provided below the second insulating adhesive tape or the positive electrode current collector is provided below the second insulating adhesive tape (Paragraph 0044; Fig. 1 discloses after the positive electrode strip, element 11, are coated with active material, element 12, a polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape is applied on a first island region, element 14, a first blank region, element 15, a second island region, element 16, and a third blank region, element 18. Paragraph 0052 discloses during winding, the second positive electrode island region and the first positive electrode island region correspond to and wrap around the back of the negative electrode tab, respectively. Therefore, the current collector, element 11, is below and above the adhesive tape depending on location.).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 7, wherein the positive electrode diaphragm is provided below the second insulating adhesive tape, the second adhesive tape groove is U- shaped or the positive electrode current collector is provided below the second insulating adhesive tape, and the second adhesive tape groove is rectangular. (Paragraph 0044; Fig. 1 discloses after the positive electrode strip, element 11, are coated with active material, element 12, a polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape is applied on a first island region, element 14, a first blank region, element 15, a second island region, element 16, and a third blank region, element 18. Paragraph 0052 discloses during winding, the second positive electrode island region and the first positive electrode island region correspond to and wrap around the back of the negative electrode tab, respectively. Therefore, the current collector, element 11, is below and above the adhesive tape depending on location. Finally, the regions disclosed are rectangular.).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 1, wherein the positive electrode diaphragm is provided with a third groove, and the positive electrode tab is provided in the third groove (Fig. 1 discloses a second blank region, element 17, which is located on opposite sides of the current collector, element 11. Further, the blank region of element 17 located above is provided with an electrode tab, element 13.), and a third tab adhesive tape is provided on the third groove (Paragraph 0024 discloses insulating tape is applied on the second blank region, element 17.); wherein a fourth groove is provided in a positive electrode diaphragm area of the positive electrode piece opposite to the third groove, and a fourth tab adhesive tape is provided on the fourth groove (Paragraph 0024 disclose a first blank area, element 15, opposite the second blank area, element 17 and is covered with tape.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 104 157 914 A).
Regarding claims 11-17, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 1. However, they do not teach the width of the negative electrode tab is in the range of 4mm-6mm, and the length of the welding end of the negative electrode tab is in the range of 20mm-30mm, the width of the first groove ranges from 6mm to 10.5mm, and the length of the first groove ranges from 21mm to 36mm; the width of the first tab adhesive paper ranges from 7mm to 15mm, and the length of the first tab adhesive paper ranges from 23mm to 42mm, wherein the width of the first insulating tape ranges from 11mm to 25mm, the length of the first insulating tape ranges from 25mm to 48mm, and the maximum dimension between the edge of the first insulating tape and the edge of the groove of the first tape is greater than or equal to 0.5mm; the width of the second insulating adhesive paper ranges from 11mm to 25mm, and the length of the second insulating adhesive paper ranges from 25mm to 48mm., and the maximum dimension between the edge of the second insulating tape and the edge of the second tape groove is greater than or equal to 0.5 mm.
However, Wang et al. teach the first positive electrode island region, the first positive electrode blank region, the second positive electrode island region, and the third positive electrode blank region are provided with polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape. The insulating tape has a thickness of 0.02-0.04 mm, a width 0.5-1 mm wider than the widths of the first positive electrode island region, the first positive electrode blank region, the second positive electrode island region, and the third positive electrode blank region, and a length 2-8 mm longer than the lengths of the first positive electrode island region, the first positive electrode blank region, the second positive electrode island region, and the third positive electrode blank region; the second positive electrode blank region is provided with polyethylene terephthalate insulating tape, the insulating tape has a thickness of 0.02-0.04 mm, a length 2-8 mm longer than the second positive electrode blank region, and a width 2.5-6.5 mm wider than the width of the second positive electrode blank region (Paragraph 0023). Further, the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are exposed by 10-20mm, and the exposed part is respectively provided with tab adhesive, and the tab adhesive is 1.5-2.5mm away from the edge of the positive electrode strip or the negative electrode strip (Paragraph 0024). Finally, the dimensions of the tabs (Paragraph 0072), first and second positive electrode island regions (Paragraph 0073; Fig. 1, elements 14 and 15), and first and third blank areas (Paragraph 0074) are also disclosed.
While these dimensions are not within the claimed ranges, this is merely an example of Changes in Size.
MPEP 2144.04 IV CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS
A. Changes in Size/Proportion
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 104 157 914 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tao et al. (US 2015/0207111 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a width of the negative electrode tab is in a range of 4-6mm, and a length of a welding end of the negative electrode tab is in a range of 20-30mm.
Tao et al. teach a lithium ion battery (Abstract) comprising a negative plate (Fig. 4, element 2) includes a negative current collector (Fig. 4, element 21), a negative film (Fig. 4, element 22) provided on the negative current collector (Fig. 4, element 21), and a negative lead (Fig. 4, element 23). Further, the negative electrode tab is in a range of 4-6mm, and a length of a welding end of the negative electrode tab is in a range of 20-30mm (Paragraph 0038 discloses a negative lead 23 having a thickness of 0.08 mm, a width of 6 mm and a length of 45 mm, soldering the negative lead 23 in the second recess 24, with the negative lead 23 extending out of the negative plate 2 of 15 mm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with Tao in order to improve safety and energy density.
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. teach the lithium-ion battery according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein a width of the first groove is in a range of 6-10.5mm, and a length of the first groove is in a range of 21-36mm.
Tao et al. teach a lithium-ion battery (Abstract) comprising a negative plate (Fig. 4, element 2) includes a negative current collector (Fig. 4, element 21), a negative film (Fig. 4, element 22) provided on the negative current collector (Fig. 4, element 21), and a negative lead (Fig. 4, element 23). Further, a width of the first groove is in a range of 6-10.5mm, and a length of the first groove is in a range of 21-36mm (Paragraphs 0028 and 0038; Fig. 4 disclose a second recess, element 24, which accommodates the negative lead, element 23. The second recess has a width of 10 mm and a length of 20 mm. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with Tao in order to improve safety and energy density.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 February 4th, 2026