Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 7/31/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202210913026.X application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Fig. 8a: Surface A-F are not labelled on the polygon mirror on the left. The examiner will proceed such that the first surface, A is the top most surface in the figure, and B-F are labelled clockwise on the surfaces respectively.
Specification
The specification submitted on 7/05/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2, "preset duration” appears to be --a preset duration--;
Claim 12, line 6, "preset duration” appears to be --a preset duration--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable by Donovan (US 20210231779 A1, “Donovan”).
Regarding claim 1, Donovan teaches a LiDAR, comprising: a laser beam emission module and a beam adjustment module, wherein the laser beam emission module comprises at least two emitters arranged at intervals, each of the at least two emitters is configured to emit a laser beam, and the beam adjustment module is configured to adjust at least one of the laser beams (Para [0037], Fig 2, where the Lidar system 100 as disclosed in Para [0022] includes an illuminator 200 with laser array 204 with at least 4 beams 208 spaced apart at intervals. The beam adjustment module would consist of the "OPTICAL SYSTEM" as labelled in Fig. 2),
wherein a diameter of a light spot formed by the laser beams within a first preset distance is greater than a first preset value (Para [0037], Fig. 2, where "OPTICAL SYSTEM" in the figure collimates the sets of beams 1-4 such that they have a fixed minimum diameter light spot. Resultingly, after exiting the optical system the beams are separated at a distance larger than a fixed smaller preset value, at a power allowed by a Maximum Permissible Exposure as disclosed in Para [0036]); and
wherein an angle interval between emission channels of two adjacent emitters that simultaneously emit laser beams is greater than a preset angle (Para [0037], Fig. 2, where the discrete lasers 208 are spaced further apart then a distance of 7mm, and thus are separated at an angle such that the lasers are more than 7mm apart).
Regarding claim 2, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein an emission time interval between laser beams emitted during two adjacent emissions is longer than preset duration (Para [0036], Fig. 2, such that to avoid exceeding the MPE, beams can not operate simultaneously and overlap. One solution used to avoid this is to fire overlapping optical beams at separate times).
Regarding claim 3, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein the beam adjustment module comprises an emission lens assembly, and a focal length of the emission lens assembly is greater than a second preset value, wherein the diameter of the light spot formed by the laser beams within the first preset distance is greater than the first preset value (Para [0037], Fig. 2, where "OPTICAL SYSTEM" is a lens, and the focal length of the lens is such that the outgoing beam sets 1-4 are collimated giving a spot light diameter. This focal length is greater than any fixed smaller focal length).
Regarding claim 4, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein the beam adjustment module comprises a light spot adjustment assembly for making the diameter of the light spot formed by the laser beams within the first preset distance to a value greater than the first preset value (Para [0037] Fig. 2, where the "OPTICAL SYSTEM" adjusts the beams from laser array 1-4 by collimating them into outgoing beams 1-4, setting the diameter of the beams to a diameter larger than a fixed smaller diameter).
Regarding claim 5, Donovan teaches he LiDAR according to claim 4, wherein the beam adjustment module further comprises a divergence angle narrowing assembly, and the divergence angle narrowing assembly is configured to narrow a divergence angle of the laser beam at a distance farther than a second preset distance (Para [0037] Fig. 2, where the "OPTICAL SYSTEM" reduces the divergence of light beam 206 emitted by 208 by collimating the light).
Regarding claim 7, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1, wherein an emission time interval between laser beams emitted during two adjacent emissions within a region of interest is first duration, an emission time interval between the laser beams emitted during two adjacent emissions outside the region of interest is second duration, and the first duration is shorter than the second duration (Para [0037], Fig 2, where if the lasers 208 are meant to emit within a certain range for a specified region of interest, it is implied that if beams were shot outside the region of interest, the time it would take for the beams to return for scanning would be longer comparatively).
Regarding claim 12, Donovan teaches a LiDAR, comprising: a laser beam emission module and a beam adjustment module, wherein the laser beam emission module comprises at least two emitters arranged at intervals, each of the at least two emitters is configured to emit a laser beam, and the beam adjustment module is configured to adjust at least one of the laser beams (Para [0037], Fig 2, where the Lidar system 100 as disclosed in Para [0022] includes an illuminator 200 with laser array 204 with at least 4 beams 208 spaced apart at intervals. The beam adjustment module would consist of the "OPTICAL SYSTEM" as labelled in Fig. 2),
wherein an emission time interval between laser beams emitted during two adjacent emissions is longer than preset duration (Para [0036], Fig. 2, such that to avoid exceeding the MPE, beams can not operate simultaneously and overlap. One solution used to avoid this is to fire overlapping optical beams at separate times).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan in view of Roger et al. (DE 102017127582 A1, "Roger").
Regarding claim 1, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1.
However, Donovan does not teach wherein the at least two emitters emit laser beams at the same moment, and the at least two emitters continuously emit laser beams at a first time interval to scan detection space; and.
during a tth scan, a horizontal angle interval between first light spots formed by laser beams emitted during two adjacent emissions is a first preset angle, and during a (t+1)th scan, a horizontal angle interval between second light spots formed by laser beams emitted during two adjacent emissions is the first preset angle, wherein a horizontal angle interval between adjacent first light spot and second light spot is a second preset angle, and the second preset angle is less than the first preset angle.
On the other hand, Roger teaches the simultaneous emission of a first set of rays with an angle between them and a second set of rays with another angle between them (Roger, Para [0069], Fig 1, Fig 6, where the first rays Fig. 6 650, 660, 670, and 680 are separated from second rays Fig. 6 610, 620, 630, 640 such that when emitted simultaneously, through lens Fig. 1 110 while it rotates around axis of rotation 120, a wider field of view is obtained), and the spacing of both sets together along a special axis such that the angle between induvial rays in different sets is smaller than when apart (Roger, Para [0070], Fig 6, where first rays 650, 660, 670, and 680 are separated along a spatial axis x at one angle, and second rays 610, 620, 630, 640 at another, but the angle between first and second rays when placed together would be a second angle smaller than the first).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar of Donovan in view of Roger, by applying the strategy of Roger to acquire a larger field of view while still avoiding too high exposure for eyes by separating the separating simultaneously emitted beams along a spatial axis. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Claims 8-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan in view of Russel et al. (US 20190107606 A1, "Russell").
Regarding claim 8, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1.
However, Donovan does not teach wherein the beam adjustment module further comprises a scanning apparatus, an emission direction of a laser beam is changed after reflection via the scanning apparatus, laser beams continuously emitted by the same emitter form a scanning surface within the first preset distance, the scanning apparatus scans in a first scanning direction based on a preset step size, and the step size depends on a density requirement for a scanning line in the first scanning direction in the scanning surface.
On the other hand, Russell teaches a scan pattern that is determined based on the density of points in a region of interest, changing the angle of the scan to maintain this pattern (Russell, Para [0071], Fig. 5, where scan pattern 200 is determined based on scanning density, where to maintain the density the scan angle is changed from a previous part in the scan. Using Donovan's Fig 2 laser array 204 to emit lasers for scanning a multitude of sample pixels would allow for continuous emission).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar of Donovan in view of Russell, by applying the scanner and scan technique of Russell to obtain data points from the reflection of emitted lasers based on the density of where the Lidar is scanning. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 9, Donovan in view of Russell teaches the LiDAR according to claim 8, wherein change time of the step size depends on a scanning angle of the scanning apparatus in a previous scanning period in a second scanning direction, a detection angle of view in the second scanning direction, and a scanning speed of the scanning apparatus in the second scanning direction (Russell, Para [0090], Fig. 8, where lidar system 100 includes a scanner 120 as indicated in Fig. 3, where the scanner has multiple adjacent beam paths with an angular separation and a scanning density described in Para [0071]. This scan can be in multiple directions with different angles shown with pulses illustrated in Para [0092] and Fig 10, where the pulses are emitted at different times), and
wherein an angle between the second scanning direction and the first scanning direction is less than or equal to 180 degrees (Russell, Para [0090], where the angle between consecutive pixels scanned is less than 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 10, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 5,
However, Donovan does not teach wherein the preset angle is 3 times the divergence angle of the laser beam.
On the other hand, Russell teaches a laser beam with a divergence angle value that is smaller than a larger preset angle (Russell, Para [0066], Fig 4, where the divergence angle ΘL is a value ranging from 0.1-50 mrad which is multiple times than a smaller emission preset angle, except for the preset angle being 3 times the divergence angle of the laser beam).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar of Donovan in view of Russell, by applying a divergence angle multiple times smaller than a larger initial preset angle, since it has been held that the general conditions of claim 10 are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Donovan teaches the LiDAR according to claim 1.
However, Donovan does not teach wherein the LiDAR further comprises a laser beam receiving apparatus, and a diameter range of the laser beam receiving apparatus is 20 mm to 25 mm.
On the other hand, Russell teaches a receiver with a specified range for receiving laser beams (Russell, Para [0052], Fig 3, where the prior art discloses a receiver with a diameter for receiving laser beams, except for the diameter being from 20 mm to 25 mm (140 has an active range of detection with diameter up to 5 mm)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar of Donovan in view of Russell, by applying a receiver of a specified diameter to receive laser beams,
since it has been held that the general conditions of claim 11 are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645