DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-24 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4-5) due to the following:
In Fig. 2, reference character “210” has been used to designate two different portions of the heating member. The Examiner suggests amending the figure to have reference characters “210” to the heat generation plate and “220” to the lead pins (as in [0042]).
In Fig. 15, reference character “230” appears to incorrectly label a reinforcing member 230 (as referenced in [0046]). Paragraph [0053], which describes figure 15, does not indicate to what 230 is referring.
In Fig. 15, reference character “301” has been used to designate two separate portions of the atomization assembly. Paragraph [0053] indicates that one of these portions is liquid passage hole 301, but does not indicate to what the other character refers.
In Fig. 18, reference character “401B” is not mentioned in the description.
The drawings do not include reference character “401A” ([0056]).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, “An direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device” should read "A[[n]] direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device".
Claim 3, lines 3-4, "the two structure supporting portion" should read "the two structure supporting portions".
Claim 11, lines 3-4, "the heat generation plate and the lead pins are both arranged at site of the atomization surface" should read "the heat generation plate and the lead pins are both arranged at the site of the atomization surface"
Claim 15, lines 4-6, “the reinforcing member being arranged to have a connecting part between the first heating plate and the reinforcing member bent and inserted into the ceramic liquid-absorption core” should read “the reinforcing member being arranged to have a connecting part between the first heating plate and the reinforcing member being bent and inserted into the ceramic liquid-absorption core”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation "at least one structure supporting portion" in lines 6-7. It is unclear as to what a “structure supporting portion” may comprise, as no structural detail is provided in the written specification or drawings. Thus, a structure supporting portion may encompass any element considered part of or associated with the ceramic body, as any element may be considered to provide at least some degree of structural support. For examination purposes, any portion of the ceramic body or attached element may be considered to be a “structure supporting portion”.
Claims 2-24 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the claim requires a “liquid storage channel” lines 2-3. It is unclear as to how the recited liquid storage channel differs from the liquid passage channel recited by claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends. The specification does not provide further clarification, as Fig. 2 uses reference characters 102 and 103 to refer to the same portion of the figure and paragraphs [0033-0035], where these reference characters are discussed, do not indicate a difference. For examination purposes, the claimed liquid storage channel will be interpreted as the same element as the liquid passage channel.
Claims 3-4 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “the liquid storage channels” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as only one liquid storage channel has been previously claimed. Thus, it is unclear if one or more liquid storage channels are required. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as “the liquid storage channel”.
Claim 4 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recites the limitation “a petal-like enclosing cotton”. It is unclear as to what comprises “petal-like”, as this term is subjective to reader interpretation. Furthermore, the specification does not provide a definition for the term. For example, it is unclear if this refers to the shape of the cotton, the material composition of the cotton, or a decorative aspect of the cotton. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read “an
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao (CN 113768198 A; hereinafter referring to the English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Liao teaches a direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device, comprising:
a ceramic body (ceramic body 10) and a heating member (heating element 20) (Fig. 1; page 3),
wherein an atomization surface is arranged on an outside wall of the ceramic body (surface with heating element 20; Fig. 1),
and the heating member is arranged on the atomization surface (Fig. 1; page 3),
the atomization surface defining, in combination with an internal wall of a central tube, a gas passage channel (atomizing steam channel 40; page 3; Fig. 5),
the ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core (microporous ceramic body; page 3) and at least one structure supporting portion, the structure supporting portion being fixed to the ceramic liquid-absorption core (per above interpretation, any portion (e.g., an edge, a side) may be a supporting structure. The side comprising oil inlet channel 11 is considered to be a supporting structure, see Fig. 1. These sides would inherently support at least some portion of the structure of the ceramic core),
the atomization surface being arranged on the ceramic liquid-absorption core (surface with heating element 20; page 3; Fig. 1);
And the structure supporting portion is formed with a liquid passage channel (oil inlet channel 11; Fig. 1; page 3), one end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with external liquid, another end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Liao teaches the ceramic liquid-absorption core is formed with a liquid storage channel, and the liquid storage channel is in communication with the liquid passage channel (per above interpretation, the liquid storage channel is the same component as the liquid passage channel. Thus, they must necessarily be in communication).
Regarding claim 3, Liao teaches that the at least one structure supporting portion (side comprising oil inlet channel 11) comprises two structure supporting portions (two opposite sides), and the liquid storage channels of the two structure supporting portion are both in communication with the liquid passage channel (page 3, ¶ 3 and ¶ 5 teaches that the oil inlet channel 11 can form a through hole, such that two opposite sides of the ceramic body would be considered to be structure supporting portions in communication with the liquid passage channel).
Regarding claim 4, Liao teaches that the two structure supporting portions are respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the ceramic liquid-absorption core, and two ends of the liquid passage channel are respectively in communication with ends of the liquid storage channels of the two structure supporting portions (page 3, ¶ 3 and ¶ 5 teaches that the oil inlet channel 11 can form a through hole, such that two opposite sides of the ceramic body would be considered to be structure supporting portions in communication with the liquid storage channel).
Regarding claim 5, Liao teaches that the liquid passage channel comprises at least one blind hole structure formed in the ceramic body, and the at least one blind hole structure is located on the structure supporting portion (page 3, ¶ 5; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Liao teaches that the liquid passage channel comprises at least one through hole structure formed in the ceramic body, and the at least one through hole structure is located on the structure supporting portion (page 3, ¶ 5; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Liao teaches that the heating member comprises a heat generation plate (heating element 20; page 3; Fig. 1) and lead pins (lead 30; Fig. 1; page 3), and the heat generation plate and the lead pins are both arranged at site of the atomization surface and are both connected to the outside wall of the ceramic body (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Liao teaches that the lead pins 30 are arranged on one side of the heat generation plate that is adjacent to the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Fig. 5).
Claims 1, 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20170215481 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device, comprising:
a ceramic body (main body 101; [0019]) and a heating member (heating element 104),
wherein an atomization surface is arranged on an outside wall of the ceramic body (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2),
and the heating member is arranged on the atomization surface (Fig. 2),
the atomization surface defining, in combination with an internal wall of a central tube, a gas passage channel (path between air inlet 202 and air outlet 203 comprising first aerosol passage 105; Fig. 7; [0020-0021]),
the ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core ([0019]) and at least one structure supporting portion, the structure supporting portion being fixed to the ceramic liquid-absorption core (any portion (e.g., an edge, a side) can be a supporting structure. Consider liquid conducting arms 102 to be the structure supporting portion),
the atomization surface being arranged on the ceramic liquid-absorption core (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2);
And the structure supporting portion is formed with a liquid passage channel (blind holes 106; Fig. 1; [0020]), one end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with external liquid, another end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Fig. 2; [0020]).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches an atomization assembly comprising:
an atomization base (see Annotated Fig. 1),
a central tube (201; Fig. 4; [0021]),
and the direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device according to claim 1,
wherein the atomization base is connected to the ceramic liquid-absorption core and/or the structure supporting portion (Fig. 4),
and the atomization base is connected to the central tube (see Annotated Fig. 1),
and the central tube is formed with the liquid passage hole (Fig. 3; [0021]),
and the structure supporting portion is arranged at site of the liquid passage hole and is connected to the central tube (see Annotated Fig. 1),
and the atomization surface of the ceramic liquid-absorption core encloses, in combination with an internal wall of the central tube 201, and defines the gas passage channel (Fig. 4),
one end of the liquid passage channel 106 being in communication with the liquid passage hole 204 (Fig. 4).
Annotated Figure 1 (annotated from Li Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches that the atomization assembly further comprises:
a sealing cotton body (liquid storing layer 206; Figs. 3-4; [0203]),
the sealing cotton body being at least partly connected to an external wall of the ceramic liquid-absorption core 102 and the internal wall of the central tube 201 and is located at site of the liquid passage hole 204 (Fig. 4; [0023]),
and the sealing cotton body is formed with an atomization hollow zone at the gas passage channel (Fig. 4 depicts that the sealing cotton body does not cover the atomization surface that forms the gas passage channel),
the atomization hollow zone allowing the atomization surface to be in direct communication with the gas passage channel (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 24, Li teaches an electronic atomization apparatus, comprising a liquid cup (shell 301; Fig. 7; [0025]) and the atomization assembly according to claim 20,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (CN 113768198 A) as applied to claims 1, 5 and 7 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 20170215481 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Liao does not teach that the number of the at least one blind hole structure is plural.
Li, directed to a direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device comprising a ceramic body (main body 101; [0019]) and a heating member (heating element 104) wherein an atomization surface is arranged on an outside wall of the ceramic body (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2), the atomization surface defining, in combination with an internal wall of a central tube, a gas passage channel (path between air inlet 202 and air outlet 203 comprising first aerosol passage 105; Fig. 7; [0020-0021]), the atomization surface being arranged on the ceramic liquid-absorption core (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2); and the structure supporting portion is formed with a liquid passage channel (blind holes 106; Fig. 1; [0020]), one end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with external liquid, another end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Fig. 2; [0020]), the ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core ([0019]), teaches a plurality of blind holes 106 (Fig. 2; [0020]) arrayed at intervals to enhance the efficiency of the ceramic body ([0020]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by making a plurality of blind holes arrayed at intervals as taught by Li because both Liao and Li are directed to direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization devices, Li teaches that using a plurality of blind holes is known in the art to improve efficiency, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar structure to yield predictable results.
Furthermore, the duplication of parts, such as to make a plurality of blind holes, is prima facie obvious when no new or unexpected result is produced.
The Examiner further notes that, under some interpretations, the ceramic body of Liao may inherently comprise a plurality of blind holes, as the pores of the porous ceramic would serve as blind holes.
Regarding claim 8, Liao does not teach that the number of the at least one through hole structure is plural.
Li, directed to a direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device comprising a ceramic body (main body 101; [0019]) and a heating member (heating element 104) wherein an atomization surface is arranged on an outside wall of the ceramic body (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2), the atomization surface defining, in combination with an internal wall of a central tube, a gas passage channel (path between air inlet 202 and air outlet 203 comprising first aerosol passage 105; Fig. 7; [0020-0021]), the atomization surface being arranged on the ceramic liquid-absorption core (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2); and the structure supporting portion is formed with a liquid passage channel (blind holes 106; Fig. 1; [0020]), one end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with external liquid, another end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Fig. 2; [0020]), the ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core ([0019]), teaches a plurality of holes 106 (Fig. 2; [0020]) arrayed at intervals to enhance the efficiency of the ceramic body ([0020]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by duplicating the through hole and arraying the resulting plurality of through holes at intervals on the structure supporting portion as taught by Li because both Liao and Li are directed to direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization devices, Li teaches that it is known in the art to use a plurality of holes arrayed at intervals to increase capacity and absorption of liquid, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar structure to yield predictable results.
Furthermore, the duplication of parts, such as to make a plurality of through holes, is prima facie obvious when no new or unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 9, Liao teaches that the liquid passage channel comprises at least one blind hole or through hole structure formed in the ceramic body, and the at least one blind hole or through hole structure is located on the structure supporting portion (page 3, ¶ 5; Figs. 1, 7).
Liao does not teach that the liquid passage channel comprises at least one blind hole structure and at least one through hole structure.
Li, directed to a direct-feeding liquid-passing heat-generating atomization device comprising a ceramic body (main body 101; [0019]) and a heating member (heating element 104) wherein an atomization surface is arranged on an outside wall of the ceramic body (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2), the atomization surface defining, in combination with an internal wall of a central tube, a gas passage channel (path between air inlet 202 and air outlet 203 comprising first aerosol passage 105; Fig. 7; [0020-0021]), the atomization surface being arranged on the ceramic liquid-absorption core (surface with heating element 104; Fig. 2); and the structure supporting portion is formed with a liquid passage channel (blind holes 106; Fig. 1; [0020]), one end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with external liquid, another end of the liquid passage channel being in communication with the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Fig. 2; [0020]), the ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core ([0019]), teaches a plurality of holes 106 (Fig. 2; [0020]) arrayed at intervals to enhance the efficiency of the ceramic body ([0020]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by (a) making multiple holes arrayed at intervals as taught by Li and (b) making at least one blind hole and at least one through hole because both Liao and Li are directed to atomization devices with ceramic bodies comprising hole structures, (a) Li teaches that it is known in the art to use multiple hole structures arrayed at intervals and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable result and (b) Liao teaches that hole structures may be blind or through and it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the use of both.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches a plurality of holes arrayed at intervals (Fig. 2; [0020]). Liao teaches that the holes may be through holes or blind holes (page 3, ¶ 5; Fig. 7).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (CN 113768198 A) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Atkins et al. (US 20200114094 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Liao does not teach that the ceramic body has two opposite outside walls each of which comprises said atomization surface formed thereon.
Atkins, directed to an atomization device (vaporizer 10; [0108]) comprising a ceramic liquid absorption body (wicking element 70; [0131], [0138]) and a heating member (heating element 100; [0131]) wherein an atomization surface is arranged on an outside wall of the liquid absorption body and the heating member is arranged on the atomization surface ([0150]), teaches two opposite outside walls each of which comprises an atomization surface formed thereon ([0138]; Figs. 71A-C); and the heat generation plate comprises a first heating plate (side tine portion 126; Fig. 45; [0150]), a transition portion (platform tine portion 124; Fig. 45; [0150]), and a second heating plate (side tine portion 126), wherein the first heating plate is connected through the transition portion to the second heating plate (Fig. 45), and the transition portion is connected to the liquid-absorption core (Figs. 71A-C), and the first heating plate and the second heating plate are respectively arranged on the two said atomization surfaces of the ceramic body (Figs. 71A-C).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by making two opposite heating surfaces with first and second heating plates arranged on the two said atomization surfaces of the ceramic body and connected with a transition portion as taught by Atkins because both Liao and Atkins are directed to atomization devices comprising ceramic liquid absorption bodies and heating plates disposed on heating surface of the ceramic bodies, Atkins teaches that it is known in the art to contact multiple surfaces of the ceramic core with the heating plate, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Atkins teaches that the transition portion 124 comprises a first positioning part (fold line 120; Fig. 55A; [0150]), a connecting part (platform tine portion 124), and a second positioning part (fold line 120; Fig. 55A; [0150]), the first positioning part being connected through the connecting part to the second positioning part, the connecting part being connected to an end portion of the ceramic liquid-absorption core, the first positioning part being connected to the first heating plate, the first positioning part being arranged on one of the atomization surfaces, the second positioning part being connected to the second heating plate, the second positioning part being arranged on another one of the atomization surfaces (Figs. 54B, 71A-c).
Regarding claim 14, Atkins teaches that the connecting part is formed with a liquid penetration hole so as to establish communication with an interior of the ceramic liquid-absorption core (Fig. 55A demonstrates that connecting part 124 has liquid penetration holes between the tines).
Liao teaches that the heating plate may be on the surface or embedded within the ceramic body (page 3, ¶ 1).
Liao does not explicitly teach that the connecting part is embedded in the ceramic liquid-absorption core.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by making a portion of the heating plate, such as the connecting part, embedded in the ceramic core, as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this comprises substituting one alternative configuration for another to yield predictable results.
Furthermore, the rearrangement of parts, such as by embedding the connection portion, is prima facie obvious when the modification would not modify the operation of the device. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (CN 113768198 A) and Atkins et al. (US 20200114094 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chen ‘615 (US 20240023615 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Liao does not teach that the heating member further comprises at least one reinforcing member.
Chen ‘615, directed to directed to an atomization device comprising a ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core (transfer body 1; [0091]) and a heating member (heating mechanism 2; [0091]) arranged on an atomizing surface ([0091]; Figs. 9-18) wherein the heating member comprises a heat generation plate (heating circuit 100; Fig. 1; [0044]), teaches that the heating member comprises at least one reinforcing member (inverted T-shaped fixing parts 111; Fig. 1 [0083]), the reinforcing member being connected to the first heating plate 110, the reinforcing member being arranged to have a connecting part (stem of the “T” shape) between the first heating plate and the reinforcing member bent and inserted into the ceramic liquid-absorption core (the top of the “T” shape) (Fig. 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by adding to the heating plate the at least one reinforcing member as taught by Chen ‘615 because both Liao and Chen ‘615 are directed to atomization devices comprising ceramic cores and heating members, Chen ‘615 teaches that reinforcing members are known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that these would help position and secure the heating plate, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Liao teaches that the heating plate comprises a soldering part and wave-shaped heating filament part (page 2, ¶ 12; see Annotated Fig. 2), the soldering part being connected to the wave-shaped heating filament part, the soldering part being connected to the lead pins 20 (Annotated Fig. 2).
Chen ‘615 teaches that the reinforcing member is arranged to connect to a ridge and/or a trough of the wave-shaped heating filament part (Chen ‘615 Fig. 1; [0083]), the reinforcing member being arranged to have a connecting part (stem of the “T” shape) between the wave-shaped filament part and the reinforcing member bent and inserted into the ceramic liquid-absorption core (the top of the “T” shape) (Fig. 1).
Annotated Figure 2 (annotated from Chen ‘615 Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 17, Liao teaches that one end of the soldering part that is adjacent to the lead pins is in alignment with one end of the ceramic liquid-absorption core that is adjacent to the lead pins (Fig. 6 depicts that the soldering part is in alignment with the lead pins and the ceramic core).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (CN 113768198 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen ‘615 (US 20240023615 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Liao does not teach a retaining engagement protrusion connected to one end of the ceramic liquid-absorption core.
Chen ‘615, directed to an atomization device comprising a ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid-absorption core (transfer body 1; [0091]) and a heating member (heating mechanism 2; [0091]) arranged on an atomizing surface ([0091]; Figs. 9-18) wherein the heating member comprises a heat generation plate (heating circuit 100; Fig. 1; [0044]) and lead pins (electrodes 200; Fig. 1; [0044]) arranged at the site of the atomization surface, teaches a retaining engagement protrusion (fixing parts 211; Fig. 1; [0083]) to reliably secure the heating member to the ceramic body.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liao by adding the retaining engagement protrusion as taught by Chen ‘615 because both Liao and Chen are directed to atomization devices comprising ceramic cores and heating members, Chen ‘615 teaches that it is known in the art to better secure a heating member and a ceramic core using a retaining engagement protrusion, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20170215481 A1) as applied to claim 21 above.
Regarding claim 22, Li teaches that the sealing cotton body 206 comprises an enclosing cotton (Figs. 3-4) connected to the external wall of the structure supporting portion and the internal wall of the central tube and covering the liquid passage hole 204. Li further teaches that the enclosing cotton is formed with the atomization hollow zone on the atomization surface (Li Fig. 4 depicts that the enclosing cotton does not cover the atomization surface).
Li further teaches that the end-part of the ceramic body is covered (see Annotated Fig. 3).
Li does not explicitly teach that the cover is part of the sealing cotton body.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li by making the cover part of the sealing cotton body, such that it forms an end-part attaching cotton attached to an end of the ceramic core, as Li is silent to the composition of the cover and one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this modification would help protect the ceramic core and maintain liquid delivery and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar element to obtain predictable results.
Annotated Figure 3 (Annotated from Li Fig. 4)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20170215481 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20240206539 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Li does not explicitly teach that the sealing cotton body 206 is further formed with a through aperture.
Chen ‘539, directed to an atomization assembly (electronic atomizing device; Fig. 23; [0055]) comprising a ceramic body comprising a ceramic liquid absorption core (porous ceramic member 60; [0049]) and a heating member (heating member 40; [0037]) and a sealing cotton body (liquid conducting cotton 30; [0037]), the sealing cotton body being connected to the ceramic core and covering a liquid passage hole (liquid inlet; Fig. 2; [0038]), teaches that the cotton sealing body may comprise a through aperture (liquid storage hole 32; Fig. 20; [0054]) aligned with a liquid passage hole, so as to ensure that the supply of the atomized liquid is rapidly absorbed/sufficient during continuous operation ([0054]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Li by making a through aperture in the sealing cotton in alignment with the liquid passage hole 204 as taught by Chen ‘539 because both Li and Chen ‘539 are directed to atomization assemblies comprising ceramic cores and sealing cotton bodies, Chen ‘539 teaches that through apertures may be added to cotton sealing bodies to improve liquid delivery to a ceramic core and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
The Examiner notes that Li paragraph [0025] describes that liquid is able to seep through the sealing cotton. Under another interpretation, this may be considered equivalent to a through aperture
Conclusion
/C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755