DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species E (with circumferential offset between secondary and tertiary slots) in the reply filed on 11/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10, 14 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant identified claims 14 as reading on Species E, but that requires the slots being circumferentially aligned, e.g. per Species D. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/06/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters listed in the specification are not present in the drawings, 132b, 143, 143a, 166 - note 166 appears to be a typographical error for 116.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: 166 appears on page 16, line 4 and appears to be a typographical error for 116
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: line 1, “the each flat spray slot” should state –each flat spray slot--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al (6547163) in view of Jorgensen et al (2017/0003032) and/or Hersch et al (5685706). Mansour et al teach(es) A fuel injector assembly for a gas turbine engine, comprising: a fuel nozzle including a radial feed arm 42 with an elongated axially extending nozzle portion 82 having a central axis extending therethrough, the elongated nozzle portion 82 having a distal spray tip 82 with a frusto-conical outer surface 104 and a planar front surface, wherein a primary pressure atomizer port 99 is centrally provided in the planar front surface of the distal spray tip and a set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 108 are provided in the frusto-conical outer surface of the distal spray tip. (2) wherein the primary pressure atomizer port 99 is operatively associated with a primary pressure atomizer within the distal spray tip of the nozzle portion of the fuel nozzle, wherein the primary pressure atomizer includes an atomizing tip portion 93 which the primary pressure atomizer port 99 extends through, and a fuel swirler 96 surrounded by the atomizing tip portion 93. (3) wherein the fuel swirler 96 has a front surface which abuts an inner wall of the atomizing tip portion, wherein the fuel swirler has a plurality of offset slots 97 [what the slots are offset from is not defined, and slots 97 are offset from the axial passage 95 as well as 96] and a main swirler 96, wherein fuel exits the plurality of offset slots and is directed into the main swirler by the inner wall of the primary pressure atomizer 93 and through the primary pressure atomizer port 99. (5) wherein a primary fuel supply circuit 92, 93 extends through the fuel nozzle for supplying fuel to the primary pressure atomizer port 99. (6) wherein a secondary fuel supply circuit 105 extends through the fuel nozzle for supplying fuel to the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 108. (12) wherein the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 108 includes at least three circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 108. (17) wherein the secondary flat spray slots 108 have flow rates. (20) wherein the primary pressure atomizer port 99 is adapted and configured to issue a conic fuel spray [col. 5, lines 50-67].
Mansour et al teach using circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 108 but do not teach the spray slots are flat. Jorgenson et al teach a fuel nozzle with circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 196 [Figs. 3, 4] and teaches spaced about a primary fuel 190 injector. Jorgenson et al teach that the circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 196 may be conical spray patterns 195 [e.g. Fig. 10B] or may be a flat fan spray slots / pattern 197 [Fig. 11B, ¶ 0060] and teach these are equivalents in the art or that the flat spray fan spray slots allow for varying the dispersion of the fuel so as to achieve optimal dispersion [¶ 0060]. Jorgenson et al further teach that the secondary fuel spray slots may be non-uniform in pattern / profile and allow varied fuel distribution / flow rates [see ¶ 0062, 0075]. Alternately, Hersch teaches a set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots 28 are provided in the frusto-conical outer surface 14 of the distal spray tip. Hersch teaches that using the flat spray slots has beneficial impact on mixing, particulates and emissions [col. 6, line 64-col. 7, line 38]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the secondary spray slots of Mansour, flat fan spray slots or flat spray slots, as taught by Jorgenson et al and/or Hersch, in order to utilize an equivalent spray slot used in the art or because flat spray fan spray slots allow for varying the dispersion of the fuel so as to achieve optimal dispersion or because flat spray slots have beneficial impact on mixing, particulates and emissions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the wherein the secondary flat spray slots have non-uniform flow rates, as taught by Jorgenson et al, as varying the fuel spray in the circumferential direction allows for a non-uniform fuel pattern / profile and varied fuel distribution / flow rates.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al (6547163) in view of Jorgensen et al (2017/0003032) and/or Hersch et al (5685706), as applied above, and further in view of Francis et al (12326259).
Mansour et al already teach (3) wherein the fuel swirler 96 has a front surface which abuts an inner wall of the atomizing tip portion, wherein the fuel swirler has a plurality of offset slots 97 [what the slots are offset from is not defined, and slots 97 are offset from the axial passage 95 as well as 96] and a main swirler 96, wherein fuel exits the plurality of offset slots and is directed into the main swirler by the inner wall of the primary pressure atomizer 93 and through the primary pressure atomizer port 99. For an alternate treatment of this limitation, Francis et al teach wherein the fuel swirler has a front surface 31 which abuts an inner wall 16 of the atomizing tip portion 26, wherein the fuel swirler has a plurality of offset slots 28 and a main swirler 29, wherein fuel exits the plurality of offset slots 28 and is directed into the main swirler 29 by the inner wall of the primary pressure atomizer 16 and through the primary pressure atomizer port. Francis et al teach the geometry of the offset slots 28 allows controlling the swirling strength to the primary atomization port [see col. 3, lines 60 - col. 4, line 8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the fuel swirler has a front surface which abuts an inner wall of the atomizing tip portion, wherein the fuel swirler has a plurality of offset slots and a main swirler, wherein fuel exits the plurality of offset slots and is directed into the main swirler by the inner wall of the primary pressure atomizer and through the primary pressure atomizer port, as taught by Francis et al, in order to control the fuel swirl strength to the primary atomization port.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, 13, 16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al (6547163) in view of Jorgensen et al (2017/0003032) and/or Hersch et al (5685706), as applied above, and further in view of Fossi (11873993) and for claim 11, further in view of Hurley et al (6024301). Mansour et al combination do not teach (4) wherein a set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots are provided in the frusto-conical outer surface rearward of the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots. (7) wherein a tertiary fuel supply circuit extends through the fuel nozzle for supplying fuel to the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots. (11) wherein the each flat spray slot in the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots is a pressure washer style spray slot. (13) wherein the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots includes at least three circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots. Fossi teaches (4) wherein a set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots 134 are provided in the frusto-conical outer surface 110 rearward of the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary spray slots 142 [see Fig. 3]. (7) wherein a tertiary fuel supply circuit 136 extends through the fuel nozzle for supplying fuel to the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots 134. (13) wherein the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots 134 includes at least three circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots 134 [note at least two are illustrated and more are required for relative circumferential uniformity. This may be treated as obvious in view of itself or any of the previous applied prior art which uses at least three slots for such a purpose. It would have been obvious to utilize at least three tertiary spray slots to enhance circumferential uniformity.] Fossi teaches that using both secondary fuel injection and tertiary fuel injection in the frusto-conical outer surface of the fuel nozzle allows for more effective injection of the fuel under differing operating conditions [col. 3, lines 16-29]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (4) wherein a set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots are provided in the frusto-conical outer surface rearward of the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary spray slots; (7) wherein a tertiary fuel supply circuit extends through the fuel nozzle for supplying fuel to the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots; (13) wherein the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots includes at least three circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots, in the manner taught by Fossi, as using both secondary fuel injection and tertiary fuel injection in the frusto-conical outer surface of the fuel nozzle allows for more effective injection of the fuel under differing operating conditions [col. 3, lines 16-29]. As for making these [tertiary] spray slots flat, this is already taught by Jorgenson et al and/or Hersch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the tertiary spray slots, flat fan spray slots or flat spray slots, as taught by Jorgenson et al and/or Hersch, in order to utilize an equivalent spray slot used in the art or because flat spray fan spray slots allow for varying the dispersion of the fuel so as to achieve optimal dispersion or because flat spray slots have beneficial impact on mixing, particulates and emissions. Furthermore, as for (11) wherein the each flat spray appears to be a pressure washer style spray slot, the slots of Jorgenson et al and/or Hersch, appear to be a pressure washer style spray slot. Alternately, Hurley ‘301 also teaches a fuel spray slot 150, 152 that appears to be pressure washer style spray slot [see Fig. 2d] and has an effective atomization spray pattern for fuel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a pressure washer style spray slot for each flat spray slot in the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots, as taught by any of Jorgenson et al, Hersch and Hurley ‘301, as a slot geometry that has an effective atomization spray pattern for fuel. As for claims 16, 18, 19, Mansour already teach these limitations including (16) an air swirler 120 operatively associated with the distal spray tip; (18) wherein the air swirler 120 is a dome air swirler 156 [col. 7, lines 60-66]; (19) wherein the air swirler 120 is an air swirler cup [annular shroud].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al (6547163) in view of Jorgensen et al (2017/0003032) and/or Hersch et al (5685706) and Fossi (11873993), as applied above, and further in view of either Hurley et al (6622944) or Mancini et al (6523350). The prior art do not teach (15) wherein the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary spray slots and the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots are axially offset from one another relative to the central axis of the elongated nozzle portion. Hurley et al ‘944 teach it is well known to have the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary spray slots 74, 72 and the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots 76 are axially offset from one another relative to the central axis of the elongated nozzle portion, the offset allowing easier / stronger accommodation of rows of spray slots, by allowing more material to be between slots in the adjacent rows. Mancini et al teach wherein the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary spray slots 276 and the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary spray slots 276 are axially offset from one another relative to the central axis of the elongated nozzle portion [see Fig. 6] which allows greater circumferential uniformity of the fuel injection when both rows of fuel spray slots are utilized. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the set of circumferentially spaced apart secondary flat spray slots and the set of circumferentially spaced apart tertiary flat spray slots axially offset from one another relative to the central axis of the elongated nozzle portion, as taught by either Hurley et al ‘944 or Mancini et al, for easier / stronger accommodation of rows of spray slots, by allowing more material to be between slots in the adjacent rows or for facilitating greater circumferential uniformity of the fuel injection when both rows of fuel spray slots are utilized.
Prior Art
The Locke reference is relevant to the disclosure. Also note the prior art applied in the EPO search report is applicable to the claims and any response should taken into account the treatment by the EPO for compact prosecution.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
December 11, 2025