BATTERY PACK FRAME ASSEMBLIES
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/225,857 Art Unit: 1727 February 28, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 25, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekar et al. (US 2020/0148066 A1; as found in IDS dated 07/25/2023).
As to Claim 1, Sekar discloses a battery pack frame, comprising: a front wall 130; a rear wall 130; a pair of sidewalls 100 extending between the front and rear walls; a bottom plate 40 extending beneath the front, rear and sidewalls; and a plurality of crossmembers 110 extending between the sidewalls (Abstract, Fig. 1-2 and paragraph [0024]). Said crossmembers comprising an extruded frame including at least one channel that defines at least on cavity; and reinforcement members positioned within the at least one cavity (Abstract and as shown in reproduced Fig. 2 below).
As to Claim 3, Sekar discloses wherein the extruded frame comprises bolt/screw holes 130 for securing the components of the battery pack frame (reads on securing the reinforcement member within the cavity) (Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs [0024]).
As to Claim 4, Sekar discloses wherein the extruded frame comprises an upper channel/cavity and a lower channel/cavity defined by an intermediate wall (as shown in reproduced Fig. 2 above).
As to Claim 5, Sekar discloses wherein the crossmembers are extruded aluminum (reads on composite pultrusion) (Abstract).
As to Claim 7, Sekar discloses a pair of locating ribs (detailed in reproduced Fig. 2 below) positioned on an internal surface of the cavity to align the reinforcement member within the cavity.
As to Claim 8, Sekar discloses wherein the crossmembers are each interfaced/fixed (reads on secured) to the bottom plate to couple the crossmembers to the frame (Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0018 and 0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekar et al. (US 2020/0148066 A1; as found in IDS dated 07/25/2023) in view of Smith et al. (US 2022/0017031 A1).
As to Claims 2 and 6, Sekar does not specifically disclose the claimed foam.
However, Smith teaches of using an expandable polymer foam (reads on an adhesive foam) used within a battery frame to secure all of the components in the battery pack frame (reads on securing the reinforcement member) (paragraph [0098]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foam of modified Sekar to comprise an expandable polymer (adhesive) foam because Smith teaches that the expanding foam fills all the gaps to substantially cover the battery assembly with a rigid, durable, and tough foam enclosure (paragraph [0098]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekar et al. (US 2020/0148066 A1; as found in IDS dated 07/25/2023).
As to Claim 9, Sekar does not specifically disclose the claimed tapered central portion. However, the courts have held that the claimed shape of the crossmembers is a matter of design choice that would not have modified the operation of the device and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence the claimed shape is significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed tapered central portion because Sekar teaches that such frames are significantly stronger and lighter than other frames (paragraph [0014]).
As to Claim 10, Sekar discloses wherein the reinforcement members of the extruded frame are positioned within the cavity of the crossmembers by bolts/screws (Fig. 1-2 and paragraph [0024]). Therefore, the tapered central portion of modified Sekar would intrinsically aid in positioning of the reinforcement member within the cavity since it would be part of the overall structure of the crossmembers that positions the reinforcement members.
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727