BATTERY PACK FRAME ASSEMBLIES
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/225,857 Art Unit: 1727 August 18, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on June 04, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-10 are currently pending. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekar on claims 1, 3-5 and 7-8 are withdrawn because Applicant has amended the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sekar and Smith on claims 9-10 are maintained.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekar et al. (US 2020/0148066 A1; as found in IDS dated 07/25/2023).
As to Claim 1, Sekar discloses a battery pack frame, comprising: a front wall 130; a rear wall 130; a pair of sidewalls 100 extending between the front and rear walls; a bottom plate 40 extending beneath the front, rear and sidewalls; and a plurality of crossmembers 110 extending between the sidewalls (Abstract, Fig. 1-2 and paragraph [0024]). Said crossmembers comprising an extruded frame including at least one channel that defines at least on cavity; and reinforcement members positioned within the at least one cavity (Abstract and as shown in reproduced Fig. 2 below).
Sekar does not specifically disclose wherein the reinforcement members are separate from the extruded frame. However, the courts have held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the cavity of the prior art holder to which the reinforcement members are applied, it would be obvious to make the reinforcement members removable for that purpose, see MPEP 2144.04, V, C. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reinforcement members of Sekar to be separate from the extruded frame in order to obtain access to the cavity and because Sekar teaches that such frames are significantly stronger and lighter than other frames (paragraph [0014]).
As to Claim 3, Sekar discloses wherein the extruded frame comprises bolt/screw holes 130 for securing the components of the battery pack frame (reads on securing the reinforcement member within the cavity) (Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs [0024]).
As to Claim 4, Sekar discloses wherein the extruded frame comprises an upper channel/cavity and a lower channel/cavity defined by an intermediate wall (as shown in reproduced Fig. 2 above).
As to Claim 5, Sekar discloses wherein the crossmembers are extruded aluminum (reads on composite pultrusion) (Abstract).
As to Claim 7, Sekar discloses a pair of locating ribs (detailed in reproduced Fig. 2 below) positioned on an internal surface of the cavity to align the reinforcement member within the cavity.
As to Claim 8, Sekar discloses wherein the crossmembers are each interfaced/fixed (reads on secured) to the bottom plate to couple the crossmembers to the frame (Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0018 and 0024]).
As to Claim 9, Sekar does not specifically disclose the claimed tapered central portion. However, the courts have held that the claimed shape of the crossmembers is a matter of design choice that would not have modified the operation of the device and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence the claimed shape is significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the claimed tapered central portion because Sekar teaches that such frames are significantly stronger and lighter than other frames (paragraph [0014]).
As to Claim 10, Sekar discloses wherein the reinforcement members of the extruded frame are positioned within the cavity of the crossmembers by bolts/screws (Fig. 1-2 and paragraph [0024]). Therefore, the tapered central portion of modified Sekar would intrinsically aid in positioning of the reinforcement member within the cavity since it would be part of the overall structure of the crossmembers that positions the reinforcement members.
The claim rejections under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sekar and Smith on claims 2 and 6 are maintained.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekar et al. (US 2020/0148066 A1; as found in IDS dated 07/25/2023) in view of Smith et al. (US 2022/0017031 A1).
As to Claims 2 and 6, Sekar does not specifically disclose the claimed foam.
However, Smith teaches of using an expandable polymer foam (reads on an adhesive foam) used within a battery frame to secure all of the components in the battery pack frame (reads on securing the reinforcement member) (paragraph [0098]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foam of modified Sekar to comprise an expandable polymer (adhesive) foam because Smith teaches that the expanding foam fills all the gaps to substantially cover the battery assembly with a rigid, durable, and tough foam enclosure (paragraph [0098]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 04, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principle arguments are:
a) Sekar does not disclose wherein the reinforcement members are separate from the extruded frame (claim 1).
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
a) the courts have held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the cavity of the prior art holder to which the reinforcement members are applied, it would be obvious to make the reinforcement members removable for that purpose, see MPEP 2144.04, V, C. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reinforcement members of Sekar to be separate from the extruded frame in order to obtain access to the cavity and because Sekar teaches that such frames are significantly stronger and lighter than other frames (paragraph [0014]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727