DETAILED ACTION The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 07 / 25 /202 3 . Claims 1 - 2 0 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s ) 1 -2, 4-5, 8-10, 12-13, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong US 2018/0373557 A 1 (hereafter Dong) in view of Iwamatsu US 2016/0154664 A 1 (hereafter Iwamatsu ) in view of DeFoy et al. US 2022/0117015 A 1 (hereafter DeFoy ) . With regard to claim 1, Dong teaches: A computer-implemented method for enabling operations for virtual computing instances with physical passthru devices, the method comprising: “According to a first aspect, a system for VM live migration is provided, and includes a management node, a source server, a destination server, a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) switch, and a single root input/output (I/O) virtualization (SR-IOV) network adapter , where the source server, the destination server, the management node, and the SR-IOV network adapter separately connect to a physical port of the PCIe switch to perform communication” [Dong ¶ 7]. “In addition, in the embodiments 50 and 60, because a virtual machine uses a VF module to perform network communication directly using an SR-IOV network adapter , VMM participation is reduced …” [Dong ¶ 94]. a destination virtual computing instance “… the source server is a server on which the virtual machine before live migration is located, and the virtual machine before live migration is a source end of the virtual machine live migration; the destination server is a server on which a virtual machine after live migration is located, and the virtual machine after live migration is a destination end of the virtual machine live migration …” [Dong ¶ 14]. for a source virtual computing instance having a physical passthru device, “In this case, a VMM 211 of the source server 210 configures one of multiple VF modules 242 of the SR-IOV network adapter 240, for example, a first VF module 242 shown in the figure, for a virtual machine 212 before live migration. That is, the first VF module 242 connects to a physical port 251 of the PCIe switch using a physical port 241 of the SR-IOV network adapter and further implements a connection with the source server using the PCIe switch. The virtual machine 212 implements internetwork communication, such as receiving and sending a data packet, with one or more other devices using the first VF module 242 ” [Dong ¶ 56, fig. 3]. wherein guest operations are performed in the source virtual computing instance; “ A virtual machine is capable of simulating complete hardware system functions, is capable of operating an operating system, an application program , and is capable of accessing network resources using a virtual network device allocated by a VMM and using a network adapter of a physical device of a server” [Dong ¶ 38]. “The virtual machine 212 implements internetwork communication, such as receiving and sending a data packet, with one or more other devices using the first VF module 242” [Dong ¶ 56]. including moving an input-output memory management unit (IOMMU) domain from the source virtual computing instance to the destination virtual computing instance; “Optionally, that the VMM of the destination server configures the VF module for the virtual machine of the destination server includes changing address mapping information of hardware of an IOMMU of the destination server, so that the VF module accesses the virtual machine after live migration according to the address mapping information ” [Dong ¶ 53]. “… send data of the source virtual machine and configuration information of the source VF module to the destination VMM, the management node being further configured to: update a connection relationship between the source VF module before live migration and the source server as a connection relationship between the source VF module and the destination server ; and notify the destination VMM …” [Dong Claim 1]. after powering on the destinating virtual computing instance, ( retaining ) buffering any interrupt notifications from the physical passthru device; “Optionally, the VF module is further configured to, after the management node configures the connection relationship between the VF module and the source server as the connection relationship between the VF module and the destination server, if a to-be-received data packet still exists on the virtual machine before live migration, perform DMA, send the to-be-received data packet to the VMM of the destination server, and initiate an interruption request to the virtual machine after live migration, so that the VMM of the destination server receives and records the interruption request ; after the virtual machine after live migration resumes operating on the destination server, the VMM of the destination server is further configured to send the recorded interruption request to the virtual machine after live migration; and the virtual machine after live migration is further configured to process the to-be-received data packet” [Dong ¶ 55]. “S68. Because interruption is mapped to the VMM of the destination server, the interruption is not directly transferred to the VM (in this case, the virtual machine is not resumed yet), and the VMM receives and records the interruption request ” [Dong ¶ 90]. when the interrupt notifications are being ( retained ) buffered , transferring memory data from the source virtual computing instance to the destination virtual computing instance; “S53. The VMM of the source server sends configuration information of the first VF module and data to a VMM of the destination server . This process is the same as that in the prior art. The data includes virtual memory data, disk data, context of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) of the virtual machine, and so on . If at this time an uncompleted data packet that needs to be sent still exists on the virtual machine before migration, the data further includes the to-be-sent data packet” [Dong ¶ 65-66]. “ S66. During the migration process, if the first VF module still continues to receive a data packet, the first VF module performs DMA and sends an obtained data packet to a memory of the virtual machine after live migration . The first VF module obtains data of the received data packet using a descriptor table register of the SR-IOV network adapter” [Dong ¶ 87]. after transferring the memory data, resuming posting of interrupt notifications from the physical passthru device, including posting any buffered interrupt notifications from the physical passthru device; “Optionally, the VF module is further configured to, after the management node configures the connection relationship between the VF module and the source server as the connection relationship between the VF module and the destination server , if a to-be-received data packet still exists on the virtual machine before live migration, perform DMA, send the to-be-received data packet to the VMM of the destination server, and initiate an interruption request to the virtual machine after live migration , so that the VMM of the destination server receives and records the interruption request; after the virtual machine after live migration resumes operating on the destination server, the VMM of the destination server is further configured to send the recorded interruption request to the virtual machine after live migration ; and the virtual machine after live migration is further configured to process the to-be-received data packet” [Dong ¶ 55]. after resuming the posting of the interrupt notifications from the physical passthru device, shutting down the source virtual computing instance; “FIG. 4 is a schematic architecture of a system after virtual machine live migration according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, after virtual machine live migration, a first VF module 242 originally configured for a virtual machine 212 before live migration is configured by a VMM 221 of a destination server 220 for a virtual machine 222 after live migration … In this case, a configuration relationship between the virtual machine 212 before live migration and the first VF module does not exist. For example, the virtual machine 212 is suspended or the virtual machine 212 is deleted ” [Dong ¶ 57]. and performing the guest operations in the destination virtual computing instance. “S57. The resumed virtual machine restarts communication of the first VF module , and further performs a sending procedure of the uncompleted data packet if an uncompleted data packet that needs to be sent exists before migration. Then, the virtual machine after live migration can perform network communication with one or more other devices using the first VF module of the SR-IOV network adapter. The virtual machine completes migration from the source server to the destination server” [Dong ¶ 74-75]. Dong fails to explicitly teach creating a destination virtual computing instance … guest operations … powering on the destination virtual computing instance . However, Iwamatsu teaches: creating a destination virtual computing instance “FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a live migration process. It is assumed that a virtual machine VM has been booted on a migration source host and has been in operation. Thus, first, the VM management software 4_1 of the management server 4 secures hardware resources such as resources, a CPU, a memory capacity, and a network bandwidth needed for allowing a migration destination host to create a virtual machine VM (S1) … Subsequently, the VM management software 4_1 boots a migration target virtual machine VM on the migration destination host and puts the virtual machine into a pause state (S2). This process is performed in such a way that the VM management software 4_1 of the management server4 causes a hypervisor HV of the migration destination host to execute a create command and then execute a pause command” [Iwamatsu ¶ 48-50]. guest operations “In another expression, the hypervisor HV boots and executes the virtual machine VM. The shared storage 20 stores image files such as a guest operating system (OS) and an application program of the virtual machine VM. The virtual machine VM executes the guest OS and the application program in the image files stored in the shared storage 20 to construct a desired service system” [Iwamatsu ¶ 36]. powering on the destination virtual computing instance, “Subsequently, the VM management software 4_1 boots a migration target virtual machine VM on the migration destination host and puts the virtual machine into a pause state (S2). This process is performed in such a way that the VM management software 4_1 of the management server4 causes a hypervisor HV of the migration destination host to execute a create command and then execute a pause command. After that, the hypervisor HV of the migration source host acquires a snapshot (current data) of a memory area being used by the migration target virtual machine VM (S3) and transmits the acquired snapshot to the memory of the migration destination host (S4)” [Iwamatsu ¶ 49-50]. Iwamatsu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of migration of virtual machine instances. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dong to incorporate the teachings of Iwamatsu and include creating a destination virtual computing instance … guest operations … powering on the destination virtual computing instance . Doing so would allow for the destination virtual computing instance to have a configuration matching the source virtual instance . “ The process related to a create command (or an boot command) is a process of booting a virtual machine VM according to configuration information of the virtual machine VM … The configuration file of the virtual machine includes the number of CPUs or CPU cores used by the virtual machine, a CPU usage rate, a memory usage rate, a network bandwidth, and the like, for example ” [ Iwamatsu ¶ 44-45 ]. Dong in view of Iwamatsu fails to explicitly teach buffering . However, DeFoy teaches buffering any interrupt notifications “This difference is important for the network: in a cold migration, there is a time gap between the moment where the VM disconnects and reconnects from the network, while in a hot migration, the VM may reconnect from its new location before its earlier connection is dropped. Buffering and forwarding of in-flight packets may be necessary in this case , to minimize the impact of the migration on ongoing applications” [ DeFoy ¶ 162]. DeFoy is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of migration of virtual machine instances. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dong in view of Iwamatsu to incorporate the teachings of DeFoy and include buffering any interrupt notifications . Doing so would allow for a less disruptive virtual computing instance migration . “Buffering and forwarding of in-flight packets may be necessary in this case, to minimize the impact of the migration on ongoing applications” [ DeFoy ¶ 162]. With regard to claim 2, Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 , as referenced above. Dong further teaches wherein the physical passthru device is a Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) passthru device. “According to a first aspect, a system for VM live migration is provided, and includes a management node, a source server, a destination server, a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) switch, and a single root input/output (I/O) virtualization (SR-IOV) network adapter, where the source server, the destination server, the management node, and the SR-IOV network adapter separately connect to a physical port of the PCIe switch to perform communication ” [Dong ¶ 7]. With regard to claim 4 , Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 , as referenced above. Dong further teaches further comprising, before transferring the memory data, transferring ownership of the physical passthru device from the source virtual computing instance to the destination virtual computing instance. “The SR-IOV network adapter may be configured as a form of multiple VF modules and presented in a Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) configuration space, and each VF module has its own PCI configuration space. Each VF module is capable of supporting a unique and separate data lane for a related I/O function at a PCIe layer ” [Dong ¶ 48]. “ S64. The management node configures a connection relationship between the first VF module originally used by the virtual machine before live migration and the source server as a connection relationship between the first VF module and the destination server , that is, the first VF module is configured for the destination server, and the VMM of the destination server is notified. As shown in FIG. 4, the management node establishes a connection relationship between the SR-IOV network adapter and the destination server by configuring a mapping between one physical port of the PCIe switch and an address of hardware of the source server as a mapping between the physical port of the PCIe switch and an address of hardware of the destination server, where the physical port is used by the first VF module ” [Dong ¶ 82-83, fig. 3 and 4]. “ S66. During the migration process, if the first VF module still continues to receive a data packet, the first VF module performs DMA and sends an obtained data packet to a memory of the virtual machine after live migration . The first VF module obtains data of the received data packet using a descriptor table register of the SR-IOV network adapter” [Dong ¶ 87 Examiner notes step 66 is subsequent to step 64 ]. With regard to claim 5, Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4 , as referenced above. Dong further teaches wherein transferring the ownership of the physical passthru device includes registering the physical passthru device with the destination virtual computing instance without executing hardware operations before the physical passthru device is unregistered with the source virtual computing instance. “… send data of the source virtual machine and configuration information of the source VF module to the destination VMM, the management node being further configured to: update a connection relationship between the source VF module before live migration and the source server as a connection relationship between the source VF module and the destination server ; and notify the destination VMM …” [Dong Claim 1 Examiner notes this interpretation of registering is in line with the description given in paragraph 31 of the instant specification ]. “Because during the foregoing process, data of a sent data packet, drive status information of the VF module, and configuration information of the VF module are unchanged, and only address mapping information of a configuration space of the first VF module in the PCIe switch and the address mapping information of the hardware of the IOMMU are changed , the address mapping information of the hardware of the IOMMU is the address mapping information of the memory of the virtual machine and the physical memory” [Dong ¶ 75]. “FIG. 4 is a schematic architecture of a system after virtual machine live migration according to an embodiment of the present disclosure … In this case, a configuration relationship between the virtual machine 212 before live migration and the first VF module does not exist . For example, the virtual machine 212 is suspended or the virtual machine 212 is deleted” [Dong ¶ 57]. With regard to claim 8, Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 , as referenced above. Dong further teaches wherein shutting down the source virtual computing instance is performed without a cleanup of the IOMMU domain since the IOMMU domain has been moved to the destination virtual computing instance. “Because during the foregoing process, data of a sent data packet, drive status information of the VF module, and configuration information of the VF module are unchanged, and only address mapping information of a configuration space of the first VF module in the PCIe switch and the address mapping information of the hardware of the IOMMU are changed , the address mapping information of the hardware of the IOMMU is the address mapping information of the memory of the virtual machine and the physical memory” [Dong ¶ 75]. “With the foregoing technical solutions and during a virtual machine live migration process, a PCIe switch may be used to switch a connection relationship of a VF module on an SR-IOV network adapter, to keep the VF module of the SR-IOV network adapter connected to a virtual machine before live migration and a virtual machine after live migration unchanged , thereby ensuring that a data packet receiving and sending service is uninterrupted and ensuring continuity of a network service” [Dong ¶ 21]. With regard to claim 9, it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. Dong teaches the further limitation A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing program instructions for enabling operations for virtual computing instances with physical passthru devices, wherein execution of the program instructions by one or more processors of a computer system causes the one or more processors to perform steps comprising: “ When the functions are implemented in a form of a software functional unit and sold or used as an independent product, the functions may be stored in a computer-readable storage medium … The software product is stored in a storage medium, and includes several instructions for instructing a computer device (which may be a personal computer, a server, or a network device) to perform all or a part of the steps of the methods described in the embodiments of the present disclosure ” [Dong ¶ 100]. “According to a first aspect, a system for VM live migration is provided, and includes a management node, a source server, a destination server, a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) switch, and a single root input/output (I/O) virtualization (SR-IOV) network adapter , where the source server, the destination server, the management node, and the SR-IOV network adapter separately connect to a physical port of the PCIe switch to perform communication” [Dong ¶ 7]. “In addition, in the embodiments 50 and 60, because a virtual machine uses a VF module to perform network communication directly using an SR-IOV network adapter , VMM participation is reduced …” [Dong ¶ 94]. With regard to claim 10 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 12 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 13 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 16 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 17, it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. Dong teaches the further limitation A computer system comprising: memory; and at least one processor configured to: “ The software product is stored in a storage medium, and includes several instructions for instructing a computer device (which may be a personal computer, a server, or a network device) to perform all or a part of the steps of the methods described in the embodiments of the present disclosure ” [Dong ¶ 100]. “Like a conventional server, Information Technology (IT) infrastructures of the source server 110 and the destination server 150 include various physical devices, such as a processor, a memory, a network adapter, a disk, and one or more other devices” [Dong ¶ 36]. With regard to claim 18 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 20 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. Claim (s ) 3, 7, 11, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong US 2018/0373557 A 1 (hereafter Dong) in view of Iwamatsu US 2016/0154664 A 1 (hereafter Iwamatsu) in view of DeFoy et al. US 2022/0117015 A 1 (hereafter DeFoy ) in view of Minezaki et al. US 2022/0391254 A 1 (hereafter Minezaki ) . With regard to claim 3 , Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 , as referenced above. Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy fails to explicitly teach further comprising saving a synthetic state of the physical passthru device in the source virtual computing instance and restoring the saved synthetic state of the physical passthru device in the destination virtual computing instance before transferring the memory data. However, Minezaki teaches: further comprising saving a synthetic state of the physical passthru device in the source virtual computing instance “ Subsequently, the virtualization processing unit 30 receives setting change content via the setting menu (S108) and executes S108 until setting completion is received (5109: No). Here, when the setting completion is received (Yes: 5109), the virtualization processing unit 30 ends the operation of the setting-dedicated virtual machine 50 (5110). Subsequently, the virtualization processing unit 30 reflects the setting change in the setting information ( synthetic state ) 22b of the expansion card 22 (5111) , and performs the PCI passthrough from the expansion card 22 to the original virtual machine 40 (S112) ” [ Minezaki ¶ 118-119]. and restoring the saved synthetic state of the physical passthru device in the destination virtual computing instance before transferring the memory data. “ Thereafter, the virtualization processing unit 30 notifies the original virtual machine 40 of insertion of the changed expansion card 22 (S113), and the virtual machine 40 that is the original virtual machine performs use setting so that the inserted expansion card 22 can be used (5114) ” [ Minezaki ¶ 120, fig. 13]. Minezaki is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of I/O management . Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy to incorporate the teachings of Minezaki and include saving a synthetic state of the physical passthru device in the source virtual computing instance and restoring the saved synthetic state of the physical passthru device in the destination virtual computing instance before transferring the memory data . Doing so would allow for changes to the settings of the physical passthru device to be maintained . “ In one aspect, an object is to provide an information processing device, an operation control method, and an operation control program that can change settings of an expansion card without stopping a system ” [ Minezaki ¶ 40 ]. With regard to claim 7 , Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 , as referenced above. Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy fails to explicitly teach further comprising making a user-requested change to the destination virtual computing instance, wherein the user-requested change includes hot-add of another physical passthru device to the source virtual computing instance, hot-add of a virtual device to the source virtual computing instance or hot-add of memory to the source virtual computing instance. However, Minezaki teaches: further comprising making a user-requested change to the destination virtual computing instance, “As illustrated in FIG. 8, a user transmits an operation mode change request using the user interface of the management controller 5, and the request reception unit 31 of the virtualization processing unit 30 receives this operation mode change request (refer to (1) in FIG. 8)” [ Minezaki ¶ 90]. “FIG. 12 is a diagram for explaining a procedure 5 for changing the operation mode of the expansion card according to the first embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 12, the allocation change unit 34 of the virtualization processing unit 30 connects the expansion card 22 that is the setting change target to an original virtual machine 40 with the PCI pass-through (refer to (10) in FIG. 12) ” [ Minezaki ¶ 111]. wherein the user-requested change includes hot-add of another physical passthru device to the source virtual computing instance, hot-add of a virtual device to the source virtual computing instance or hot-add of memory to the source virtual computing instance. “Subsequently, the virtualization processing unit 30 receives setting change content via the setting menu (S108) and executes S108 until setting completion is received (5109: No). Here, when the setting completion is received (Yes: 5109), the virtualization processing unit 30 ends the operation of the setting-dedicated virtual machine 50 (5110). Subsequently, the virtualization processing unit 30 reflects the setting change in the setting information 22b of the expansion card 22 (5111), and performs the PCI passthrough from the expansion card 22 to the original virtual machine 40 (S112). Thereafter, the virtualization processing unit 30 notifies the original virtual machine 40 of insertion of the changed expansion card 22 (S113) , and the virtual machine 40 that is the original virtual machine performs use setting so that the inserted expansion card 22 can be used (5114)” [ Minezaki ¶ 118-120]. “Subsequently, the insertion and removal notification unit 32 notifies the OS 42 of that the target expansion card 22 is inserted via the virtual expansion slot 41 of the virtual machine 40 (refer to (11) in FIG. 12). Note that the insertion and removal notification unit 32 notifies the insertion of the expansion card 22 by emulating the Slot Status register and the Hot-Plug Event interrupt according to the PCIe standard” [ Minezaki ¶ 112]. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy to incorporate the teachings of Minezaki and include making a user-requested change to the destination virtual computing instance, wherein the user-requested change includes hot-add of another physical passthru device to the source virtual computing instance, hot-add of a virtual device to the source virtual computing instance or hot-add of memory to the source virtual computing instance . Doing so would allow for changes to the settings of the physical passthru device to be maintained. “In one aspect, an object is to provide an information processing device, an operation control method, and an operation control program that can change settings of an expansion card without stopping a system” [ Minezaki ¶ 40]. With regard to claim 11 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 15 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. With regard to claim 19 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. Claim (s ) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong US 2018/0373557 A 1 (hereafter Dong) in view of Iwamatsu US 2016/0154664 A 1 (hereafter Iwamatsu) in view of DeFoy et al. US 2022/0117015 A 1 (hereafter DeFoy ) in view of Ryu et al. US 2017/0090972 A 1 (hereafter Ryu) . With regard to claim 6 , Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 , as referenced above. Dong further teaches sending disk data to the destination server. “S53. The VMM of the source server sends configuration information of the first VF module and data to a VMM of the destination server . This process is the same as that in the prior art. The data includes virtual memory data, disk data, context of a Central Processing Unit (CPU) of the virtual machine, and so o n ” [Dong ¶ 65 -66 ]. However, Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy fails to explicitly teach copying a virtual disk of the source virtual computing instance from a source storage location to a destination storage location before creating the destination virtual computing instance for the source virtual computing instance having the physical passthru device to perform storage migration . However, Ryu teaches further comprising copying a virtual disk of the source virtual computing instance from a source storage location to a destination storage location before creating the destination virtual computing instance for the source virtual computing instance having the physical passthru device to perform storage migration. “At step 606, the system may back up the source VM's data including the discovered configuration information. At step 608, the system may clone the source VM's data to new data blocks , e.g. using the above-described snapshotting feature. At step 610, the system may create a new destination VM using the configuration parameters stored at step 604. For example, the system may create new CPU, memory, and graphics card allocations for the destination VM. The system may refrain from creating a disks allocation for the destination VM, since the disks storing the data cloned in step 608 will be used in connection with the destination VM ” [Ryu ¶ 93-94]. Ryu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of migration of virtual machine instances . Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dong in view of Iwamatsu in view of DeFoy to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and include copying a virtual disk of the source virtual computing instance from a source storage location to a destination storage location before creating the destination virtual computing instance for the source virtual computing instance having the physical passthru device to perform storage migration . Doing so would allow for storage of the virtual computing instance to maintain its identity during migration . “Snapshotting also enables workload rebalancing and nondisruptive migration of storage services to different media types. No matter where a volume 22 goes, it keeps its identity. That means that its snapshot copies, its replication relationships, its deduplication, and other characteristics of the flexible volume remain the same” [Ryu ¶ 38]. With regard to claim 14 , it is a machine type claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ARI F RIGGINS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2772 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 7:00AM-4:30PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Bradley Teets can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3338 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.F.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2197 /BRADLEY A TEETS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197