DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on July 25, 2023 Claims 1-20 havebeen examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 8/5/2024 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhar (US 2018/0350264 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Dhar discloses a method for information processing, comprising: receiving an output content for a screen display of a terminal device, the output content comprising at least a first character ([0006] receiving one or more characters on a first computing device);
converting the output content to one or more vibration codes, the first character in the output content being converted into a first vibration code of the one or more vibration codes ([0006] a first vibration output is provided);
generating, according to the one or more vibration codes and a set of preset vibration parameters, a device vibration instruction corresponding to the output content ([0006] the combination of the first vibration output and the second vibration output is sensed by a user, [0033] vibration is provided for a pre-defined duration (preset vibration parameter));
and controlling, according to the device vibration instruction, the terminal device to generate at least a first vibration with a first vibration frequency and a second vibration with a second vibration frequency that is different from the first vibration frequency ([0022] a first vibration output (long vibration) is provided corresponding to the first part of the braille code, a second vibration output (short vibration) is provided corresponding to the second part of the braille code on first computing device Element 104 (terminal device), [0037] user may set an interval duration (frequency) in milliseconds).
Regarding Claim 2, Dhar discloses wherein the converting the output content into the one or more vibration codes comprises: converting the first character in the output content into a Braille character dot matrix ([0006] Each character is encoded into a braille code);
and converting the Braille character dot matrix into the first vibration code ([0006] the combination of the first vibration output and the second vibration output is sensed by the user).
Regarding Claim 3, Dhar discloses wherein the Braille character dot matrix comprises a left dot matrix and a right dot matrix ([0006] a first vibration output is provided corresponding to the first part of braille code (left dot matrix); a second vibration output is provided corresponding to the second part of the braille code (right dot matrix));
and the converting the Braille character dot matrix into the first vibration code comprises: generating, according to a raise status of each dot in the left dot matrix, a first sub vibration code for the left dot matrix ([0006] a first vibration output is provided corresponding to the first part of braille code (left dot matrix));
generating, according to a raise status of each dot in the right dot matrix, a second sub vibration code for the right dot matrix ([0006] a second vibration output is provided corresponding to the second part of the braille code);
and generating the first vibration code of the first character according to the first sub vibration code for the left dot matrix, a preset interval vibration code, the second sub vibration code for the right dot matrix, and a preset end code ([0030] application may be deactivated (means for ending), [0033] a vibration output of “0” may be provided for 1 second (preset interval vibration code), [0034] vibrations are separated by few millisecond intervals (preset intervals)).
Regarding Claim 4, Dhar discloses wherein the generating the first sub vibration code comprises: in response to a first dot in the left dot matrix being a raised dot, generating in the first sub vibration code, a first frequency code corresponding to the first dot, the first frequency code indicating the first vibration frequency ([0030] each cell can either be flat (non-raised) (i.e., 0), or embossed (raised) dot (i.e. 1), [0037] user may set an interval duration (frequency) in milliseconds);
and in response to the first dot in the left dot matrix being a non-raised dot, generating in the first sub vibration code, a second frequency code corresponding to the first dot, the second frequency code indicating the second vibration frequency (Fig. 4A communication between elements 408, 410, and 412, Elements 406A and 406B show vibrations for each dot, raised and non-raised, [0030] each cell can either be flat (non-raised) (i.e., 0), or embossed (raised) dot (i.e. 1), [0031] The first vibration output and the second vibration output may be associated with one or more properties, [0037] user may set an interval duration (frequency) in milliseconds, [0055] Dhar teaches frequency communications including radio and acoustic vibrations).
Regarding Claim 5, Dhar discloses wherein the generating the first sub vibration code comprises: determining, from a plurality of dot matrix templates, a matching dot matrix template to the left dot matrix, the matching dot matrix template matching raised statuses of dots of the left dot matrix in a preset order (Figs. 4A and 4B, Elements 404A and 404B (dot matrix template for the letter, “Z”, in a preset order), [0038] input character for example, “Z” (goes on to describe dot matrix template formation where the letter, “Z” is shown in the mentioned figures as an example));
and setting the first sub vibration code to be a predetermined vibration code associated with the matching dot matrix template (Figs. 4A and 4B, Elements 414A, 414B, 414C, 416A, 416B, 416C (vibration code(s) associated with matching dot matrix template; 414A, 414B, and 414C belong to first sub vibration code), [0039] Fig. 4B shows various vibration patterns corresponding to a character).
Regarding Claim 6, Dhar discloses wherein the generating the second sub vibration code comprises: in response to a first dot in the right dot matrix being a raised dot, generating in the second sub vibration code, a first frequency code corresponding to the first dot, the first frequency code indicating the first vibration frequency ([0030] each cell can either be flat (non-raised) (i.e., 0), or embossed (raised) dot (i.e. 1), [0031] The first vibration output and the second vibration output may be associated with one or more properties (frequency, which is well-known in the art) such as, but not limited to, intensity, amplitude, an interval);
and in response to the first dot in the left dot matrix being a non-raised dot, generating in the second sub vibration code, a second frequency code corresponding to the first dot, the second frequency code indicating the second vibration frequency ([0030] each cell can either be flat (non-raised) (i.e., 0), or embossed (raised) dot (i.e. 1), [0031] The first vibration output and the second vibration output may be associated with one or more properties (frequency, which is well-known in the art) such as, but not limited to, intensity, amplitude, an interval).
Regarding Claim 7, Dhar discloses wherein the generating the second sub vibration code comprises: determining, from a plurality of dot matrix templates, a matching dot matrix template of the right dot matrix, the matching dot matrix template matching raised statuses of dots of the right dot matrix in a preset order (Figs. 4A and 4B, Elements 404A and 404B (dot matrix template for the letter, “Z”, in a preset order), [0038] input character for example, “Z” (goes on to describe dot matrix template formation where the letter, “Z” is shown in the mentioned figures as an example));
and setting the second sub vibration code to be a predetermined vibration code associated with the matching dot matrix template (Figs. 4A and 4B, Elements 414A, 414B, 414C, 416A, 416B, 416C (vibration code(s) associated with matching dot matrix template; 416A, 416B, and 416C belong to second sub vibration code), [0039] Fig. 4B shows various vibration patterns corresponding to a character).
Regarding Claim 8, Dhar discloses obtaining a code description file (See explanation below);
and parsing the code description file to obtain coding policy information for converting the output content to the one or more vibration codes, the coding policy information comprising a code format and the set of preset vibration parameters, the code format indicating a code structure of the one or more vibration codes, and the set of preset vibration parameters including at least one of the first vibration frequency, the second vibration frequency, or a single vibration duration (Fig. 5 Elements 500, 502, 504, 506, 508, 510 – Figure 5 depicts the process of receiving an input, encoding that input to braille, converting braille to two parts (two 3x1 dot matrices), and the outputting a vibration corresponding to each part of the braille code. This processes uses a coding policy (code format and preset code parameters – a.k.a code) to perform these functions, which is well known in the art. [0040]-[0044] providing feedback to users).
Regarding Claim 9, Dhar discloses obtaining a current coding policy version on the terminal device (See explanation below);
detecting whether the current coding policy version is a specified version (See explanation below);
updating to the specified version when the current coding policy version is not the specified version (See explanation below);
and obtaining coding policy information of the specified version for converting the output content into the one or more vibration codes (Fig. 5 Elements 500, 502, 504, 506, 508, 510 – Figure 5 depicts the process of receiving an input, encoding that input to braille, converting braille to two parts (two 3x1 dot matrices), and the outputting a vibration corresponding to each part of the braille code. This processes uses a coding policy (code format and preset code parameters – a.k.a code) to perform these functions, which is well known in the art. Similarly, using different versions of a coding policy is also well-known in the art, and is a commonly used method in this field. [0040]-[0044] providing feedback to users, [0049] web server, database (indicates storage potential for “coding policies”)).
Regarding Claim 10, Dhar discloses wherein the converting the output content to the one or more vibration codes comprises:
performing a word segmentation processing on the output content to obtain at least the first character ([0039] a character is represented by a braille code);
generating, in response to the first character belonging to a library of characters, a simple first vibration code for the first character according to a simple coding policy ([0029] The memory stores braille codes for various alphabets, numerals, or a combination thereof, [0034], if the sensitive information includes four characters, then the process is repeated four times (coding policy));
and generating, in response to the first character not belonging to the library of characters, a regular first vibration code for the first character according to a regular coding policy, wherein a first length of the simple first vibration code generated according to the simple coding policy is shorter than a second length of the regular first vibration code generated according to the regular coding policy ([0022] For embossed patterns, long vibration may be used, while short vibration may be used for flat surface pattern).
Regarding Claim 11, Dhar discloses wherein the set of preset vibration parameters comprises a vibration speed ([0037] user may set an interval duration, i.e., a length between vibrations in milliseconds, a vibration duration, i.e., a duration of vibrations corresponding to braille symbols (vibration speed));
and the generating the device vibration instruction comprises: determining, according to the vibration speed and a vibration duration, an adjusted vibration duration, the vibration duration indicating a duration of each vibration; and generating the device vibration instruction according to the adjusted vibration duration ([0033] vibration is provided for a pre-defined duration).
Regarding Claim 12, Dhar discloses determining whether to configure the terminal device in a vibration mode according to an environment noise level of the terminal device ([0025] the tactile feedback is hard to miss even in a noisy surrounding).
Regarding Claim 14, Dhar discloses an apparatus for information processing, comprising processing circuitry configured to: receive an output content for a screen display of a terminal device, the output content comprising at least a first character ([0006] receiving one or more characters on a first computing device);
convert the output content to one or more vibration codes, the first character in the output content being converted into a first vibration code of the one or more vibration codes ([0006] a first vibration output is provided);
generate, according to the one or more vibration codes and a set of preset vibration parameters, a device vibration instruction corresponding to the output content ([0006] the combination of the first vibration output and the second vibration output is sensed by a user (device vibration instruction corresponding to the output content));
and control, according to the device vibration instruction, the terminal device to generate at least a first vibration with a first vibration frequency and a second vibration with a second vibration frequency that is different from the first vibration frequency ([0022] a first vibration output (long vibration) is provided corresponding to the first part of the braille code, a second vibration output (short vibration) is provided corresponding to the second part of the braille code on first computing device Element 104 (terminal device)).
Regarding Claim 15, Dhar discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: convert the first character in the output content into a Braille character dot matrix ([0006] Each character is encoded into a braille code);
and convert the Braille character dot matrix into the first vibration code ([0006] the combination of the first vibration output and the second vibration output is sensed by the user).
Regarding Claim 16, Dhar discloses wherein the Braille character dot matrix comprises a left dot matrix and a right dot matrix and the processing circuitry is configured to:
generate, according to a raise status of each dot in the left dot matrix, a first sub vibration code for the left dot matrix ([0006] a first vibration output is provided corresponding to the first part of braille code (left dot matrix));
generate, according to a raise status of each dot in the right dot matrix, a second sub vibration code for the right dot matrix ([0006] a second vibration output is provided corresponding to the second part of the braille code (right dot matrix));
and generate the first vibration code of the first character according to the first sub vibration code for the left dot matrix, a preset interval vibration code, the second sub vibration code for the right dot matrix, and a preset end code ([0030] application may be deactivated (means for ending), [0033] a vibration output of “0” may be provided for 1 second (preset interval vibration code), [0034] vibrations are separated by few millisecond intervals (preset intervals)).
Regarding Claim 17, Dhar discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: in response to a first dot in the left dot matrix being a raised dot, generate in the first sub vibration code, a first frequency code corresponding to the first dot, the first frequency code indicating the first vibration frequency ([0030] each cell can either be flat (non-raised) (i.e., 0), or embossed (raised) dot (i.e. 1), [0031] The first vibration output and the second vibration output may be associated with one or more properties (frequency, which is well-known in the art) such as, but not limited to, intensity, amplitude, an interval);
and in response to the first dot in the left dot matrix being a non-raised dot, generate in the first sub vibration code, a second frequency code corresponding to the first dot, the second frequency code indicating the second vibration frequency ([0030] each cell can either be flat (non-raised) (i.e., 0), or embossed (raised) dot (i.e. 1), [0031] The first vibration output and the second vibration output may be associated with one or more properties (frequency, which is well-known in the art) such as, but not limited to, intensity, amplitude, an interval).
Regarding Claim 18, Dhar discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine, from a plurality of dot matrix templates, a matching dot matrix template of the left dot matrix, the matching dot matrix template matching raised statuses of dots of the left dot matrix in a preset order (Figs. 4A and 4B, Elements 404A and 404B (dot matrix template for the letter, “Z”, in a preset order), [0038] input character for example, “Z” (goes on to describe dot matrix template formation where the letter, “Z” is shown in the mentioned figures as an example));
and set the first sub vibration code to be a predetermined vibration code associated with the matching dot matrix template (Figs. 4A and 4B, Elements 414A, 414B, 414C, 416A, 416B, 416C (vibration code(s) associated with matching dot matrix template; 414A, 414B, and 414C belong to first sub vibration code), [0039] Fig. 4B shows various vibration patterns corresponding to a character).
Regarding Claim 19, Dhar discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: obtain a code description file (See explanation below);
and parse the code description file to obtain coding policy information for converting the output content to the one or more vibration codes, the coding policy information comprising a code format and the set of preset vibration parameters, the code format indicating a code structure of the one or more vibration codes, and the set of preset vibration parameters including at least one of the first vibration frequency, the second vibration frequency, and a single vibration duration (Fig. 5 Elements 500, 502, 504, 506, 508, 510 – Figure 5 depicts the process of receiving an input, encoding that input to braille, converting braille to two parts (two 3x1 dot matrices), and the outputting a vibration corresponding to each part of the braille code. This processes uses a coding policy (code format and preset code parameters – a.k.a code) to perform these functions, which is well known in the art. [0040]-[0044] providing feedback to users).
Regarding Claim 20, Dhar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by at least one processor in a terminal device cause the at least one processor to perform ([0049] non-transitory memory storing instructions executable by the processor):
receiving an output content for a screen display of the terminal device, the output content comprising at least a first character ([0007] The user interface is configured to receive one or more characters);
converting the output content to one or more vibration codes, the first character in the output content being converted into a first vibration code of the one or more vibration codes ([0007] application is configured to encode each character into a braille code);
generating, according to the one or more vibration codes and a set of preset vibration parameters, a device vibration instruction corresponding to the output content ([0007] combination of the first vibration output and the second vibration output is sensed by the user);
and controlling, according to the device vibration instruction, the terminal device to generate at least a first vibration with a first vibration frequency and a second vibration with a second vibration frequency that is different from the first vibration frequency ([0031] The first vibration output and the second vibration output may be associated with one or more properties (frequency, which is well-known in the art) such as, but not limited to, intensity, amplitude, an interval).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhar (US 2018/0350364 A1) in view of Tedesco (US 8,494,507 B1).
Regarding Claim 13, Dhar discloses determining whether to configure the terminal device in a vibration mode according to an environmental noise level of the terminal device ([0025] the tactile feedback is hard to miss even in a noisy surrounding).
Dhar fails to explicitly teach determining whether to configure the terminal device in a vibration mode according to an environmental light intensity of the terminal device.
However, Tedesco teaches determining whether to configure the terminal device in a vibration mode according to an environmental light intensity of the terminal device (Col. 6, Lines 64-67 – Col. 7, Lines 1-10).
Dhar and Tedesco are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of providing non-auditory, multi-sensory feedback to a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of information processing by converting content (text, numbers, symbols) into one or more vibration codes, as disclosed by Dhar, further including configuring the terminal device according to an environmental light intensity as taught by Tedesco for the purpose of informing the user to put on protective eyewear (sunglasses) (Tedesco, Col. 23 Lines 34-54).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Feng-min et al. (CN 113160666 A) teaches a braille reading method using an electronic device.
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715