DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Amendments and Arguments filed May 26th, 2026. Claims 1, 10 and 15 are amended, claims 1, 3-7, 10 and 12-19 are pending and have been examined; hence, this action is made FINAL.
Any previous objections/rejections not mentioned in this Office Action have been withdrawn by the Examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0113508, filed on September 7th, 2022. Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-20 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 25th and December 22nd, 2023, and November 19th, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
With respect to rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant makes several arguments against the Vaidya reference, starting on page 12 of Remarks, to include, “nothing in Vaidya discloses the operation of the CTC function as ‘obtaining’ a speech sequence by changing ‘the EOS label to a preset first symbol’… Vaidya appears to disclose the CTC function providing probabilities that certain symbols may correspond to certain portions of an audio sequence - there is no disclosure whatsoever of the generation of a speech sequence by replacing an ‘EOS label’ with a preset symbol.”
Applicant further argues, “in view of the foregoing argument, it follows that Vaidya does not teach or suggest ‘obtaining a text sequence by inputting the obtained speech sequence into the trained speech recognition model,’ as Vaidya does not disclose ‘obtaining’ the speech sequence as recited in the preceding operation,” and “Vaidya does not disclose or suggest ‘identification of a token comprising a preset second symbol’ as recited in the claims.”
Regarding Vaidya’s failure to teach “obtaining a speech sequence by changing the EOS label to a preset first symbol,” Applicant’s argument is moot, as new grounds of rejection are raised in view of China Invention Publication 113515953 to Tang. Further details are provided below.
Applicant further argues against Vaidya starting on page 13 of Remarks, “The application of MPEP 2111.04 to claims 10-20 of the present application is not proper… the feature ‘ignoring the detected EOS label based on a token comprising a text symbol being output during the threshold time’ must be fully considered,” and “Vaidya does not disclose a configuration in which, after an EOS is detected, token output is further detected during a threshold time to verify the accuracy of the EOS. Rather, Vaidya merely discloses a configuration in which an EOS is flagged by determining whether a ratio of blank symbols within a sliding window of a CTC output string satisfies an EOS threshold. By contrast, in the amendment above, after an EOS is detected in a text sequence, the type of token output during a threshold time is additionally identified.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Granting, arguendo, that the mutually exclusive limitations must be given full consideration, Vaidya teaches a method that accounts for each outcome. The claim describes a method wherein an end-of-speech symbol detection triggers an output and an end-of-speech text detection is ignored, and Vaidya teaches a method that detects blank symbols to determine and end-of-speech. When Vaidya’s method does not detect sufficient, specific end-of-speech symbols, the method returns to a loop state as though none were detected, ignoring any text symbols encountered. In this, Vaidya reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Accordingly, the rejections relying on Vaidya are maintained. Further details are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11,972,754 to Cui et al. (hereinafter, "Cui") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0208176 to Faizakof et al. (hereinafter, "Faizakof"), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0246167 to Vaidya et al. (hereinafter, “Vaidya”) and China Invention Publication 113515953 to Tang (hereinafter, “Tang”).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 16, Cui teaches a method, system and computer readable medium comprising obtaining a first loss value by inputting, into a speech recognition model, a first learning speech sequence… (column 2, lines 15-21, “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of performing sequence to sequence (Seq2Seq) speech recognition training by at least one processor, the Seq2Seq speech recognition training method comprising: acquiring, by the at least one processor, a training set comprising a plurality of pairs of input data and target data corresponding to the input data…”);obtaining a second loss value by inputting, into the speech recognition model, a second learning speech sequence… (column 2, lines 15-21, “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of performing sequence to sequence (Seq2Seq) speech recognition training by at least one processor, the Seq2Seq speech recognition training method comprising: acquiring, by the at least one processor, a training set comprising a plurality of pairs of input data and target data corresponding to the input data…”);training the speech recognition model based on the first loss value and the second loss value… (column 2, lines 1-6, "“Provided are methods and apparatuses that improve the related art end to end recognition system by automatically and independently balancing the importance of two loss functions.”); andwherein the speech recognition model comprises an encoder, and the first loss value is obtained from an output of the encoder, and wherein the speech recognition model further comprises a decoder, and the second loss value is obtained from an output of the decoder (column 5, lines 39-46, "According to an embodiment, the encoder 111 may encode the input data into a sequence of hidden states hu. According to an embodiment, the encoder 111 may take all acoustic features and transform them into the sequence of hidden states hu. According to an embodiment, the attention based decoder 113 may decode the sequence of hidden states to generate target labels by independently performing a CTC model training and an attention model training.").
Cui does not explicitly teach “a first learning speech sequence comprising an end-of-sentence (EOS) label,” or “a second learning speech sequence that does not include the EOS label,” and thus, Faizakof is introduced.
Faizakof teaches a first learning speech sequence comprising an end-of-sentence (EOS) label (paragraph [0014], "In some embodiments the second text corpus is preprocessed, before said re-training, by including end-of-sentence (EOS) embeddings."); anda second learning speech sequence that does not include the EOS label (paragraph [0019], "In some embodiments the joint training comprises training said capitalization prediction network and said punctuation prediction network jointly, at an initial training stage, on a first training set comprising: (i) a first text corpus comprising punctuated and capitalized text; and (ii) labels indicating a punctuation and a capitalization associated with each of said words in said first text corpus." See also Fig. 2A, wherein only one of the training datasets includes EOS preprocessing.”).
Cui and Faizakof are considered analogous because they are each concerned with speech recognition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cui with the teachings of Faizakof for the purpose of improving speech recognition model performance. Given that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
The combination of Cui and Faizakof does not teach a method, system or computer readable medium further comprising “obtaining a text sequence by inputting the obtained speech sequence into the trained speech recognition model; detecting the EOS label in the obtained text sequence; identifying whether a token comprising a preset second symbol is output during a threshold time after the EOS label is detected, wherein the preset second symbol comprises at least one of a blank symbol, a silent symbol or a noise symbol; outputting the obtained text sequence by recognizing the detected EOS label based on identifying a token comprising a preset second symbol output during a threshold time; and ignoring the detected EOS label based on a token comprising a text symbol being output during the threshold time,” and thus, Vaidya is introduced.
Vaidya teaches obtaining a text sequence by inputting the obtained speech sequence into the trained speech recognition model (paragraph [0039], “FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrate a portion of a speech processing pipeline 300 in which various components of an EOS detector 306 process the output of a CTC function 304. In at least one embodiment, the EOS detector 306 includes a greedy decoder 308 and a component 310 to determine (e.g., flag) start of speech (SOS) and/or end of speech (EOS). As described above in connection with FIG. 2, an acoustic model output 302 is provided as input to the CTC function 304, which in turn outputs a probability distribution over possible characters for each time step... In at least one embodiment, probability distribution data generated by the CTC function 304 is provided as input to the greedy decoder 308… In at least one embodiment, an output 350 of the greedy decoder 308 (e.g., Argmax function) is illustrated in FIG. 3B, where this output includes a string which includes alphanumeric characters and blank symbols represented by underscores FIGS. 3A and 3B.");
detecting the EOS label in the obtained text sequence (paragraph [0040], "As illustrated in FIG. 3A, in an embodiment, the string is provided as input to the component 310 to determine EOS and/or SOS. For example, if EOS or SOS is determined for the output 350, the EOS detector 306, as described above, flags the time step for a decoder of a speech recognition pipeline indicating that a transcript can be generated.");
identifying whether a token comprising a preset […] symbol is output during a threshold time after the EOS label is detected, wherein the preset […] symbol comprises at least one of a blank symbol, a silent symbol or a noise symbol (paragraph [0041], "In at least one embodiment, detecting of EOS and/or SOS is performed using a sliding window 352 on the output 350 of the greedy decoder 308. For example, the sliding window 352 includes a number of time steps X (e.g., 25) where each time step represents an interval of time (e.g., 20 milliseconds). As described above, a determination of EOS can be made based at least in part on a percentage of blank symbols (illustrated as underscores in FIGS. 3A and 3B) that are included within the sliding window 352 for any time step and/or range of time steps," and paragraph [0035], "As described above, a blank symbol can represent silence, and a probability of blank characters can be used for EOS detection.");
outputting the obtained text sequence by recognizing the detected EOS label based on identifying a token comprising a preset second symbol output during a threshold time (paragraph [0056], "In block 608, the system performing the method 600, determines if the EOS threshold has been satisfied based at least in part on the percentage of blank symbols determined in block 606. For example, if the percentage of blank symbols for the first sliding window is 95% and the EOS threshold is 90%, the system performing the method 600, continues to block 610. In block 610, the system performing the method 600, flags the sliding window as EOS. As described above, flagging a particular sliding window as EOS may trigger a component of a speech processing pipeline to generate a transcript for use by another application and/or device."); and
ignoring the detected EOS label based on a token comprising a text symbol being output during the threshold time (paragraph [0056], "However, returning to block 608, if the system performing the method 600, determines that the EOS threshold is not satisfied, the method 600 returns to block 604 and proceeds to the next sliding window.").
Cui, Faizakof and Vaidya are considered analogous because they are each concerned with speech recognition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cui and Faizakof with the teachings of Vaidya for the purpose of reducing end-of-speech detection error rate. Given that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
The combination of Cui, Faizakof and Vaidya does not teach a method, system or computer readable medium comprising “obtaining a speech sequence by changing the EOS label to a preset first symbol,” however, Tang teaches obtaining a speech sequence by changing the EOS label to a preset first symbol (page 3, "In the embodiment, for the first sentence, detecting the position of the punctuation and the punctuation number at the position, constructing a punctuation dictionary, then using the preset character to mask the punctuation dictionary according to the punctuation dictionary, namely using the preset character to replace the punctuation, so as to generate the second statement.").
Cui, Faizakof, Vaidya and Tang are considered analogous because they are each concerned with speech recognition and natural language processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Cui, Faizakof and Vaidya with the teachings of Tang for the purpose of improving speech recognition model segmentation performance. Given that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 17, Cui teaches information on a speech sequence at a time point of T outputted from the encoder and information on a text sequence corresponding to a speech sequence of a time point of time T-1 outputted from the decoder are input to the decoder (column 5, lines 51-61, "According to an embodiment, the attention based decoder 113 may perform the attention model training by operating at the target sequence time step and generating, for each step, a query si based on the input to the attention based decoder 113. The attention based decoder 113 may generate the query si based on a previous target label ŷi−1, a previous prediction vi−1, and previous query si−1 (as explained in detail in FIG. 2). According to an embodiment, context information ci, which is a summary of speech signals encoded in hidden layers of the encoder, is also used by the attention based decoder 113 to generate the query si.").
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Cui teaches the first loss value is a connectionist temporal classification (CTC) loss value (column 6, lines 20-23, "According to an embodiment, the CTC model training module 112 may perform the CTC model training independent of the attention model training to minimize the CTC loss.").
Regarding claims 6, 15 and 19, Cui teaches the speech recognition model comprises an attention- based encoder-decoder (AED) model, wherein the second loss value is a cross-entropy (CE) loss value, wherein the training further comprises training the speech recognition model reduces a final loss value obtained by an equation L = LCTC + LCE being reduced, and wherein L is the final loss value, LCTC is a CTC loss value, and LCE is a CE loss value (column 7, lines 14-23, "As compared to the related art speech recognition system using interpolation weights to combine the CTC loss and the original cross entropy loss used by the attention model, which is not only cumbersome, but takes a long time to individually train and test the models with different weights, the Seq2Seq speech recognition system 100 independently optimizes the CTC loss function and the cross entropy loss function. Since the Seq2Seq speech recognition system 100 has no specific interpolation weights in its formulation, the speed and efficiency of training the input data is improved.").
Regarding claim 7, Cui teaches the first learning speech sequence and the second learning speech sequence are obtained by a same learning speech (column 10, lines 56-67, and column 11, line 1, "According to an embodiment, the CTC loss function may be defined as a mean of normalized edit distance between hypothesis H(x) and the corresponding targets, where S=(x, t) is the training set containing all pairs of input x and its corresponding target t. That is, given data set S with input/target utterance pairs (x, t), the CTC loss function is defined as the difference between sequences."). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “first learning speech sequence” and “second learning speech sequence” are taken to indicate a first and second portion, or subset, of “a same learning speech”. For that reason, the training set comprised of subsets taught by Cui reads on the claim limitation.
Claim 5, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Faizakof, Vaidya and Tang as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0139380 to Meng et al. (hereinafter, "Meng").
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 18, the combination of Cui, Faizakof, Vaidya and Tang does not teach a method, system or computer readable medium “wherein the speech recognition model comprises a recurrent neural network-transducer (RNN-T) model, wherein the second loss value is a transducer loss value, wherein the training further comprises training the speech recognition model reduces a final loss value obtained by an equation L = LCTC + LRNN-T being reduced, and wherein L is the final loss value, LCTC is a CTC loss value, and LRNN-T is a transducer loss value,” and thus, Meng is introduced.
Meng teaches wherein the speech recognition model comprises a recurrent neural network-transducer (RNN-T) model (paragraph [0018], "To address these issues, FIG. 1 illustrates a computer system 10 that implements an internal LM estimation (ILME) method to integrate external LMs with pre-existing E2E models. Several example pre-existing E2E models include connectionist temporal classification (CTC), recurrent neural network transducer (RNN-T), attention-based encoder-decoder (AED) models, and variants of these E2E models. However, it should be appreciated that the E2E models are not limited to these specific examples.");wherein the second loss value is a transducer loss value (paragraph [0031], "The RNN-T loss is computed by marginalizing over all possible blank-augmented token sequences aligned with each reference Y, i.e., A(X, Y), on the training corpus D."); andwherein the training further comprises training the speech recognition model in a manner that results in a final loss value obtained by an equation L = LCTC + LRNN-T being reduced, wherein L is the final loss value, LCTC is a CTC loss value, and LRNN-T is a transducer loss value (paragraph [0078], "From Eqs. (21) and (22), the RNN-T internal LM loss is conditioned only on the parameters of the prediction and joint networks, θpred and θjoint. For RNN-T, the internal LM training loss is constructed as a weighted sum of the RNN-T loss in Eq. (4) and the internal LM loss below…").Shown here is the equation reference by Meng:
Cui, Faizakof, Vaidya, Tang and Meng are considered analogous because they are each concerned with speech recognition and natural language processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have replaced the LILM of Meng with the LCTC of Cui for the purpose of improving speech recognition model performance given that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chinese Patent document CN 111400754 to Tao Xiong teaches model training using a combined first and second loss function.
Chinese Patent document CN 112002349 to Han et al. teaches voice endpoint detection with reduced delay for silence detection.
Korean Patent document KR-20200109843 to Oh et al. teaches automated speech recognition with reduced delay for EOS detection.
U.S. Patent 10,186,254 to Williams et al. teaches context-based speech endpoint detection based on endpoint tags.
U.S. Patent 11,107,463 to Prabhavalkar et al. teaches automatic speech recognition including SOS and EOS labeling and transcript generation.
U.S. Patent 12,211,517 to Maas et al. teaches audio stream endpoint prediction including training a model with end-of-sentence tokens.
U.S. Patent 12,243,517 to Mehrabani et al. teaches automatic speech recognition including endpoint detection branching processes based on endpoint detection.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0075343 to van der Oord et al. teaches processing audio data with neural networks, including branching processes based on the detection of EOS symbols.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0335091 to Chang et al. teaches automatic speech recognition including a decoder that serves to identify end-of-sentence tokens.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0358490 to Vaidya et al. teaches automatic speech recognition including endpoint prediction.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0020362 to Kang teaches speech processing including conditional operations based on EOS detection.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0068265 to Shao et al. teaches a method for continuous speech recognition, including speech segmentation based on end-of-sentence indicators.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0122586 to Yu et al. teaches continuous speech recognition including the use of EOS tokens.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0230627 to Chang et al. endpoint detection using RNN and DNN models.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0270597 to Qui et al. teaches automatic speech recognition using SOS and EOS tags.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN THOMAS SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659