DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The Amendment filed on December 10th 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 14 have been amended, claims 6, 13 and 19 cancelled from consideration with claims 1 – 5, 7 – 12, 14 – 18 and 20 - 23 pending in the application,.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
4. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 10 -12, filed December 10th 2025, with
respect to the rejections of claims 1, 8 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully
considered but they are persuasive.
Applicant argues that determining performance characteristics for nodes and timestamping contact lists are unrelated to a resource analysis score for investments that define the resource package. The amendments clarify that the one or more resources are an “investment portfolio” such that “each resource of the one or more resources is an investment.”
Examiner respectfully agrees
Upon further consideration new grounds of rejection have been necessitated due
to Applicant's amendments and are made in view of Wyner et al., (United States Patent Number 11,100,510 ) hereinafter Wyner, Champion et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20030236727) hereinafter Champion and Frederick Paul Phillips, IV (United States Patent Publication Number 2015/0242949) hereinafter Phillips
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
obviousness or nonobviousness
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 12 and 14 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyner et al., (United States Patent Number 11,100,510 ) hereinafter Wyner,, in view of Champion et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20030236727) hereinafter Champion and in further view of Frederick Paul Phillips, IV (United States Patent Publication Number 2015/0242949) hereinafter Phillips
Regarding claim 1 Wyner teaches a system (ABS., system) (Fig. 1C system Col 5 ln 35) for computing and tracking resource state changes using a multichain distributed register technology, the system (ABS., system) (Fig. 1C system Col 5 ln 35) comprising: a processing device; (various computing devices Col 26 ln 4) a non-transitory storage device (a storage area network (SAN Col 26 ln 8) containing instructions (program instructions Col 25 ln 54) when executed by the processing device, (various computing devices Col 26 ln 4) causes the processing device (various computing devices Col 26 ln 4) to perform the steps of: receiving, from a user computing device, a query (a request from a user through the UI 116 Col 15 ln 23 – 24) associated with a resource package comprising one or more resources, (digital assets Col 6 ln 48) such as “resource package” wherein each of the one or more data records (Fig. 2B select unprocessed records Col 16 ln 21) is an origin data record (Fig. 4B (420) first transaction ) for a resource-specific distributed ledger, (distributed ledger Col 13 ln 61 - 62) and wherein each resource specific distributed ledger (ABS., distributed ledger systems) (different blockchains Col 14 ln 3) is a subledger (subledger Col 15 ln 29 - 30) of the index distributed ledger; (a blockchain Col 13 ln 61 – 62) retrieving resource data (retrieves address details Col 15 ln 29) from each resource-specific distributed ledger; (distributed ledger Col 13 ln 61 - 62)
Wyner does not fully disclose wherein the query comprises a unique identifier associated with each of the one or more resources, wherein the resource package is an investment portfolio comprising the one or more resources, and wherein each resource of the one or more resources is an investment; based on the unique identifier associated with each of the one or more resources, locating one or more data records associated with each of the one or more resources within an index distributed register, based on the resource data, computing a resource analysis score for each of the investments forming the one or more resources; determining that the resource analysis score for at least one of the investments forming the one or more resources falls below a designated threshold associated with the resource; and based on computing the resource analysis score, triggering an alert, the alert comprising a notification presented on a display device of the user computing device, wherein the notification is a pop-up notification comprising the resource analysis score and a message indicating that the resource analysis score has fallen below the designated threshold and that the one or more investments forming the one or more resources are unsafe to transfer or receive.
Champion teaches wherein the query comprises a unique identifier (investment identifiers with asset identifiers [0052], [0059]) associated with each of the one or more resources, (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) wherein the resource package (investment contract [0061]) such as “resource package” is an investment portfolio (investment amount [0045], [0046]) comprising the one or more resources, (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) and wherein each resource of the one or more resources(one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) is an investment; (Figs. 4A and 4B Country-Asset Category-Exchange Table [0028], [0050], [0063]) based on the unique identifier (investment identifiers with asset identifiers [0052], [0059]) associated with each of the one or more resources, (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) locating one or more data records (The processing mechanism of the Investment Contract Web Site uses data from the input message and the lookup table of FIG. 2 to attempt to retrieve one or more investment identifiers to which the input message pertains (block 404). [0059]) SEE ALSO records comprising the fields “(301) INVESTMENT IDENTIFIER”, “(303) INVESTMENT AMOUNT”, “{305) ASSET CATEGORY IDENTIFIER”, “(307) ALLOCATION PARAMETER AMOUNT”, “(309) REPSONSE PARAMETER” and “(310) INITIAL PRICE PER UNIT” in Figs. 3A, 3B and 3C and the processing of records of ORDERS Table Fig. 7B associated with each of the one or more resources (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) within an index distributed register, (Figs. 3A, 3B and 3C an investment contract records database [0027], [0034], [0035], [0045]) such as “index distributed register” based on the resource data, (FIGS. 6A and 6B are information flow diagrams setting forth various types of data that may be received by, and/or transmitted to, the Investment Contract Web Site of FIG. 1. [0030]) computing a resource analysis score ((risk level [0063]) such as “resource analysis score” for each of the investments (Figs. 4A and 4B Country-Asset Category-Exchange Table [0028], [0050], [0063]) forming the one or more resources; (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) determining that the resource analysis score ((risk level [0063])) such as “resource analysis score” for at least one of the investments (Figs. 4A and 4B Country-Asset Category-Exchange Table [0028], [0050], [0063]) forming the one or more resources (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) falls below a designated threshold (Fig. 5, (503) if (S&P 500) decreases by 10% over any 30-Day time period [0053]) associated with the resource; (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045]) and based on computing the resource analysis score, (risk level [0063])) such as “resource analysis score”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wyner to incorporate the teachings of Champion wherein the query comprises a unique identifier associated with each of the one or more resources, wherein the resource package is an investment portfolio comprising the one or more resources, and wherein each resource of the one or more resources is an investment; based on the unique identifier associated with each of the one or more resources, locating one or more data records associated with each of the one or more resources within an index distributed register, based on the resource data, computing a resource analysis score for each of the investments forming the one or more resources; determining that the resource analysis score for at least one of the investments forming the one or more resources falls below a designated threshold associated with the resource; and based on computing the resource analysis score. By doing so provision is made for an electronically generated investment instrument that enables an investor to specify a desired level of asset exposure. Champion [0010].
Phillips teaches triggering an alert, the alert comprising a notification (the communication may alert the relevant party that a security has moved outside a defined range for a given metric ( e.g., beta), [0110]) presented on a display device of the user computing device, wherein the notification is a pop-up notification (Examples of alerts or notifications regarding transactions may include email, text messages, or smart phone applications [0108]) comprising the resource analysis score and a message (one or more alerts or notifications associated with the investment card 102, the investment card account 108, and/or the assets 108A-108C can be configured for communication through a variety of communication media and/or access devices. [0029]) indicating that the resource analysis score has fallen below the designated threshold (For example, the communication may alert the cardholder that the value of a given security has fallen below a defined threshold [0110]) and that the one or more investments forming the one or more resources are unsafe to transfer or receive (which in tum may trigger an automatic or optional portfolio reconfiguration [0110])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wyner in view of Champion to incorporate the teachings of Phillips wherein and based on computing the resource analysis score, triggering an alert, the alert comprising a notification presented on a display device of the user computing device, wherein the notification is a pop-up notification comprising the resource analysis score and a message indicating that the resource analysis score has fallen below the designated threshold and that the one or more investments forming the one or more resources are unsafe to transfer or receive. By doing so one or more alerts or notifications associated with the investment
card 102, the investment card account 108, and/or the assets 108A-108C can be configured for communication through a variety of communication media and/or access
devices. Phillips [0029]
Claims 8 and 14 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 2 Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips teaches the system of claim 1,
Wyner as modified further teaches wherein the query is received based on a user accessing a dashboard (a request from a user through the UI 116 Col 15 ln 23 – 24) using the user computing device, (personal computing devices may include desktop computers, laptop computers, tablet computers, smart phones, and other mobile
computing devices Col 26 ln 54 - 57) wherein the dashboard (UI 116 Col 15 ln 23 – 24) such as “dashboard” comprises one or more interface elements (Fig. 1a, (1128) Off-Chain Interface and (1130) On-Chain Interface Col 5 ln 28) for receiving user inputs ( inputs from a variety of systems may be received Col 13 ln 1 – 2) relating to the resource package (digital assets Col 6 ln 48) such as “resource package” and the one or more resources (associated keys Col 6 ln 66) such as “one or more resources”
Claims 9 and15 correspond to claim 2 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 3 Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips teaches the system of claim 1,
Wyner as modified further teaches wherein the query (a request from a user through the UI 116 Col 15 ln 23 – 24) is received in response to detecting that the user is initiating a resource transfer (Fig. 2D request asset transfer Col 16 ln 25) on the user computing device, (personal computing devices may include desktop computers, laptop computers, tablet computers, smart phones, and other mobile computing devices Col 26 ln 54 - 57) the resource transfer (asset transfer Col 16 ln 25)comprising a transfer of the resource package (transfer digital assets Col 8 ln 36)
Claims 10 and 16 correspond to claim 3 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 4 Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips teaches the system of claim 1,
Wyner as modified does not fully disclose wherein computing the resource analysis score further comprises computing a composite resource analysis score for the resource package
Champion teaches wherein computing the resource analysis score (risk level [0063]) further comprises computing a composite resource analysis score for the resource package (calculates an aggregate level of risk in a given asset category among a plurality of investment contracts [0069]) such as “aggregate level of risk”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wyner in view of Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Champion wherein computing the resource analysis score further comprises computing a composite resource analysis score for the resource package. By doing so the investment advisor then executes trades on behalf of the group, in view of the desired risk level. Champion [0063]
Claims 11 and 17 correspond to claim 4 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 5 Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips teaches the system of claim 4,
Wyner as modified does not fully disclose wherein the composite resource analysis score is computed as a weighted average based on the resource analysis score of each of the one or more resources.
Champion teaches wherein the composite resource analysis score (aggregate level of risk [0069]) such as “aggregate level of risk” is computed as a weighted average (investment-percentage-weight parameters [0011], [0016], [0018]) ) based on the resource analysis score (risk level [0063]) such as “resource analysis score” of each of the one or more resources. (one or more investor-selectable investment asset categories [0045])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wyner in view of Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Champion wherein the composite resource analysis score is computed as a weighted average based on the resource analysis score of each of the one or more resources. By doing so when an investment-percentage-weight parameter is used, asset exposure is determined by multiplying the aforementioned investment-percentage-weight parameter by the corresponding investment amount. Champion [0020]
Claims 12 and 18 correspond to claim 5 and are rejected accordingly
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyner et al., (United States Patent Number 11,100,510 ) hereinafter Wyner,, in view of Champion et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20030236727) hereinafter Champion in view of Frederick Paul Phillips, IV (United States Patent Publication Number 2015/0242949) hereinafter Phillips and in further view of Grigg et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20180040064) hereinafter Grigg
Regarding claim 7 Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips teaches the system of claim 1,
Wyner does not fully disclose wherein computing the resource analysis score is based on a prediction generated by a machine learning algorithm from historical data within the resource- specific distributed ledger.
Grigg teaches wherein computing the resource analysis score (Fig. 12 score analysis [0021]) see also action score Fig. 30 is based on a prediction (prediction mechanisms [0053]) generated by a machine learning algorithm (machine learning program [0406]) from historical data (historical values [04132) within the resource- specific distributed ledger (single ledger accounting system [0309])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Grigg whereby wherein computing the resource analysis score is based on a prediction generated by a machine learning algorithm from historical data within the resource- specific distributed ledger. By doing so Machine learning explores the study and construction of algorithms, also referred to herein as tools, which may learn from existing data and make predictions about new data. Grigg [0407]
Claim 20 corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected accordingly
Claims 21 - 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyner et al., (United States Patent Number 11,100,510 ) hereinafter Wyner,, in view of Champion et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20030236727) hereinafter Champion in view of Frederick Paul Phillips, IV (United States Patent Publication Number 2015/0242949) hereinafter Phillips and in further view of Luedtke et al., (United States Patent Number 11507562) hereinafter Luedtke
Regarding claim 21 Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips teaches the system of claim 1,
Wyner as modified further teaches wherein the non-transitory storage device (non-transitory computer-readable medium Col. 27 ln 48)comprises instructions that, when executed by the processing device, (containing program code instructions executed by the processor) Col. 27 ln 49 - 50)causes the processing device (processor Col. 27 ln 49 - 50)
Wyner as modified does not fully disclose to perform the steps of: receiving, from a data intake engine, new data associated with a resource of the one or more resources
appending a data record comprising the new data to an end of a resource-specific distributed ledger associated with the resource; and computing, based on the resource data of the resource-specific distributed ledger associated with the resource, an updated resource analysis score for the resource.
Luedtke teaches receiving, (receiving Col 17 ln 24; Col 10 ln 8, 21; Col 11 ln 38, Col 78 ln 65) from a data intake engine, (the query engine of the data intake and query system Col 34 ln 56 – 57; Col 37 ln 25, 31; Col 38 ln 18 – 20) such as “data intake engine” new data (data Col 78 ln 65) associated with (associated with Col 71 ln 2) a resource of the one or more resources; (one or more computing devices Col 6 ln 48 – 49; one or more client devices Col 6 ln 60– 67; one or more forwarders Col 10 ln 5 – 10; one or more computing resources Col 11 ln 46, Col 91 ln 6 – 7) appending a data record (when appending the generated blocks Col 71 ln 2) comprising the new data (data Col 78 ln 65) to an end of a resource-specific distributed ledger (the local blockchain, Col 71 ln 55 - 60) associated with (associated with Col 71 ln 2) the resource; (one or more computing devices Col 6 ln 48 – 49; one or more client devices Col 6 ln 60– 67; one or more forwarders Col 10 ln 5 – 10; one or more computing resources Col 11 ln 46, Col 91 ln 6 – 7) and computing, (computed Col 62 ln 58) based on the resource data (data Col 78 ln 65) of the resource-specific distributed ledger (local blockchain, Col 71 ln 55 - 60) associated with (associated with Col 71 ln 2) the resource, (one or more computing devices Col 6 ln 48 – 49; one or more client devices Col 6 ln 60– 67; one or more forwarders Col 10 ln 5 – 10; one or more computing resources Col 11 ln 46, Col 91 ln 6 – 7) an updated resource analysis score (an overall health score Col 56 ln 35 - 38) for the resource. (one or more computing devices Col 6 ln 48 – 49; one or more client devices Col 6 ln 60– 67; one or more forwarders Col 10 ln 5 – 10; one or more computing resources Col 11 ln 46, Col 91 ln 6 – 7)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wyner in view of Champion and Phillips to incorporate the teachings of Luedtke wherein receiving, from a data intake engine, new data associated with a resource of the one or more resources; appending a data record comprising the new data to an end of a resource-specific distributed ledger associated with the resource; and computing, based on the resource data of the resource-specific distributed ledger associated with the resource, an updated resource analysis score for the resource. By doing so a search reference to an index of the system relates to a locally stored and managed data collection. Luedtke Col 12 ln 61 – 62
Claims 22 and 23 correspond to claim 21 and rejected accordingly
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Vargas et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 20220092055) teaches “ FIG. 5B is an exemplary illustration of a subledger maintained on an IoT device 118; [0012]”
examiner should be directed to Kweku Halm whose telephone number is (469) 295-
9144. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30AM - 5:30PM Mon - Thur. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's
supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272-4098. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-
8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information
for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more
information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have
questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KWEKU WILLIAM HALM/Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166