DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 26, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 13 are now pending. The amendments entered to the presented claims have overcome the prior 112(b) rejections in the Non-Final Office Action dated March 25, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation whereby “a quantum dot optical film disposed on the backlight unit and a cured product of a quantum dot composition…” is unclear in the distinction between a quantum dot optical film and a cured product of a quantum dot composition. A cured product of a quantum dot composition under broadest reasonable interpretation reads upon a quantum dot optical film, so it is indefinite in delineating the bounds between having an optical film and a cured product. The limitation could be read as having both a quantum dot optical film and a further cured product or whereby the quantum dot optical film provided is the cured product. Another interpretation could be that the “quantum dot optical film” is disposed on both the “backlight unit” and “a cured product of a quantum dot composition”. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, and 13 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “a quantum dot optical film disposed on the backlight unit and comprises a cured product of a quantum dot composition including a first quantum dot and a second quantum dot…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida Yuma et al (JP2022060064A) in view of Hong et al (US PGPub 20220228058).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida teaches a display device which contains a backlight unit and wavelength conversion resin composition (quantum dot optical film/cured product of a quantum dot composition). Yoshida teaches that the provided wavelength conversion resin composition is a cured film of a quantum dot composition whereby Yoshida’s quantum dot composition comprises quantum dot phosphors, a light absorber, an oligomer or polymerizable compound, and optional light diffusing materials. The backlight unit (Fig. 3 members 21 and 22) is disposed beneath the wavelength conversion resin composition (quantum dot optical film) in one disclosed configuration. Although Yoshida depicts the backlight unit containing only a light source (as opposed to a plurality as claimed) and the backlight unit as an edge light type (as opposed to direct light type), Yoshida discloses that each component may contain a plurality of applicable substances and the backlight unit can be either edge light type or direct light type. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include multiple light sources within the backlight unit and to configure it as a direct light type as known applicable configurations that work in producing a display device and arrive at the limitations as claimed. Furthermore, although Yoshida depicts the edge light type configuration in Fig. 3, Yoshida discloses that the backlight unit is not limited to such a configuration and thus could be configured to face any surface of the display panel to fit the users needs such as a lower surface of the display panel. Additionally, when modifying Yoshida’s configuration as such, the backlight unit containing the plurality of light sources would be arranged such that they face the optical film or wavelength conversion resin with respect to the viewing surface of the display device. Yoshida depicts an example of the display device of Fig. 4 which also is not limited to the depicted configuration. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to arrange the light sources to accommodate the user’s desired configuration and layout as known potential arrangements that are applicable to display devices and arrive at the limitations as claimed. Yoshida discloses a wavelength conversion member which comprises a phosphor (quantum dots), an absorbent that absorbs at least a part of light having a wavelength in the range of 580 nm to 620 nm (thus a light absorber having a main absorption wavelength of 580 nm to 590 nm via overlapping ranges), and a polymerizable compound (an oligomer). Yoshida discloses the absorber may be tetraazaporphyrin compound which is a light absorbing dye. Yoshida states the content of the light absorber is “preferably 0.1% by mass or less with respect to the entire wavelength conversion layer” which encompasses the range of the limitation “wherein the light absorber is included in a concentration of 30 ppm to 80 ppm”. Yoshida also teaches that the included mass percent may be 0.01% or less, or 0.0001% by mass or more to obtain a sufficient effect of improving color reproducibility. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light absorber within a suitable range to absorb “unwanted” emitted light without disrupting emission of “desired” light, thereby ensuring sufficient luminance, color reproducibility and arrive at the limitation as claimed. In paragraph [0058], Yoshida discloses examples of a polymerizable compound contained in their resin for wavelength conversion. Furthermore, paragraphs [0066] to [0071] describe a thiol compound that “may be in the form of a thioether oligomer” in the resin composition for wavelength conversion. From paragraph [0067], a thioether oligomer is obtained by reacting a polyfunctional thiol compound and a polyfunctional (meth) acrylic compound or by addition polymerization of pentaerythritol tetrakis(3-mercaptopropionate) and tris(2-acryloyloxyethyl)isocyanurate (consistent with the claimed “an oligomer”). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to select from any of the disclosed polymerizable compounds which are oligomers and implement in such a wavelength conversion member as known components suitable in providing a wavelength conversion member for a display device and arriving at the limitation as claimed. For the included phosphors, Yoshida teaches several potential quantum dot compositions (core/shells) that overlap with the claimed limitation. Yoshida also teaches that the phosphor includes a green emitting quantum dot (500 nm – 580 nm emission) and includes a red emitting quantum dot (620 nm – 680 nm), thus quantum dots having different maximum emission wavelengths. Overlapping ranges have been held to present a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to select from the overlapping portion of the disclosed wavelength ranges for the quantum dots and light absorber as known wavelengths that enable red and green emission from the quantum dots and absorb overlapping emitted unwanted light by the quantum dots to arrive at the limitation as claimed. Yoshida teaches the following regarding the combination of quantum dots and a light absorber: “From the viewpoint of maintaining sufficient brightness, it is preferable that the wavelength range of the light absorbed by the absorbance is narrow. When the wavelength range of the light absorbed by the absorbance is narrow, the excessive absorption of green light and red light is suppressed, and the brightness is maintained well”. Through the combination of Figs. 3-4, Yoshida teaches that the display panel (or liquid crystal display device 30) is disposed on the backlight unit containing the wavelength conversion member (optical film) and faces a liquid crystal cell unit. Although Yoshida does not teach specific implementation of core/shell compositions that are identical to InZnP/ZnSeS and InP/ZnSeS as claimed (Yoshida does broadly give examples that overlap with such compositions), Yoshida does not teach that such combinations are not possible nor does Yoshida teach away from such compositions.
In an analogous invention, Hong teaches in paragraph [0059] that quantum dot particles may include a core of InP or InZnP and a shell of ZnSSe. Additionally, in their quantitative examples following paragraph [0080], Hong provides examples of preparing either type of quantum dot (cores of InP or InZnP with a ZnSSe shell which matches the limitation “wherein the first quantum dot includes a core composed of In-Zn-P and a shell composed of Zn-Se S, and the second quantum dot includes a core composed of In-P and a shell of Zn-Se-S”) having different emission wavelengths in the green and red spectrum. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to implement the disclosed core/shell green and red light emitting quantum dots of Hong into the device of Yoshida as known green and red quantum dots capable of being used in wavelength conversion members of a display device and arriving at the limitation as claimed. Yoshida teaches in support of this combination. When the wavelength conversion layer or optical film contains a quantum dot phosphor, two or more types of quantum dot phosphors having different components, layer structures, and the like may be combined. By combining two or more types of quantum dot phosphors, the emission center wavelength of the entire wavelength conversion layer can be adjusted to a desired value.
Yoshida does not cover the process of making quantum dots while Hong does teach how to create the first and second quantum dots. In paragraph [0031], Hong states their method effectively forms shell alloy on InP and InZnP cores. Paragraph [0048] further discloses the core of the quantum dot may be “InP, InZnP, or the like”. Paragraph [0042] discloses potential cation precursors. Paragraph [0049] further clarifies the cation precursors can include indium and the anion precursor does have phosphorous. Hong further covers in paragraphs [0035]-[0042], [0045] and [0047] that the cation precursor includes a zinc oxocluster and oleic acid. This cationic precursor reaction would form zinc oleate. Paragraphs [0043], [0046], and [0049] describe the anion precursor which includes “trioctylphosphine bonded to selenium and trioctylphosphine bonded to sulfur”. Regardless, claim 1 contains product by process limitations. Product by process based claims or limitations does not necessitate arrival to the specific process as claimed if the process does not materially affect the product to a different manner. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes." Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n. 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n. 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Additionally, Hong teaches in paragraphs [0028-32] benefits of their process in providing core/shell quantum dots. Hong teaches that their method suppresses the rapid deletion of Se and S (shell precursors) thereby making it possible to prepare quantum dot particles of uniform size. Hong teaches that their method increases quantum efficiency, lowers full width at half maximum, and prevents the decrease in quantum efficiency of the quantum dot particles due to oxidation. Therefore, Yoshida and Hong teach the claimed “A display device, comprising: a backlight unit; a quantum dot optical film disposed on the backlight unit and a cured product of a quantum dot composition including a first quantum dot and a second quantum dot, the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot having different maximum emission wavelengths, a light absorber and an oligomer; a display panel disposed on the quantum dot optical film, wherein the backlight unit implemented as a direct light type by arranging a plurality of light sources to face the lower surface of the display panel, wherein the plurality of light sources are arranged facing the quantum dot optical film so as to overlap with the first quantum dot, the second quantum dot, and the light absorber with respect to the viewing surface of the display device, wherein the maximum emission wavelength of the first quantum dot is 500 nm to 520 nm, and the maximum emission wavelength of the second quantum dot is 630 nm to 650 nm, wherein the light absorber is a dye having a main absorption wavelength of 580 nm to 590nm wherein the light absorber is included in a concentration of 30 ppm to 80 ppm in the quantum dot composition, wherein the first quantum dot includes a core composed of In-Zn-P and a shell composed of Zn-Se-S, and the second quantum dot includes a core composed of In-P and a shell of Zn-Se-S, wherein the core of the first quantum dot is formed by heating a first cation precursor including an indium oxo cluster (In-Oxocluster) and a zinc oxo cluster (Zn-Oxocluster) and a first anion precursor including phosphorus (P) to a high temperature of 300°C to 350°C, and the shell of the first quantum dot is formed by heating the core of the first quantum dot, a second cation precursor including zinc oleate, and a second anion precursor including trioctylphosphine selenide and trioctylphosphine sulfide to a temperature of 350°C to 400°C at a rate of 3°C to 100C per second, and wherein the core of the second quantum dot is formed by heating a first cation precursor including indium oxo clusters (In-Oxocluster) and a first anion precursor including phosphorus (P) to a high temperature of 300°C to 350°C, and the shell of the second quantum dot is formed by heating the core of the second quantum dot, a second cation precursor including zinc oleate, and a second anion precursor including trioctylphosphine selenide and trioctylphosphine sulfide to a temperature of 350°C to 400°C at a rate of 3°C to 10°C per second”.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida and Hong teach the display device of claim 1. Yoshida gives examples of polyfunctional (meth) acrylic compounds which are acrylate-based oligomers of the resin described in paragraphs [0058]-[0060], [0077]-[0078] and [0124] (consistent with the claimed “wherein the oligomer is an acrylate-based oligomer”). Furthermore, from paragraph [0067], Yoshida discloses examples of thioether oligomers which can be obtained by “reacting a polyfunctional thiol compound and a polyfunctional (meth) acrylic compound”, therefore making it an acrylate-based oligomer. Yoshida teaches that such compounds improve the adhesion between the wavelength conversion layer and the covering material which helps improve the optical characteristics. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to select for an acrylate-based oligomer in order to improve adhesion of the wavelength conversion layer and improve the optical characteristics and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Yoshida and Hong teach the claimed “The display device of claim 1, wherein the oligomer is an acrylate-based oligomer”.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida and Hong teach the display device of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses that the wavelength conversion member may contain light diffusing material including titanium oxide (TiO2), barium sulfate (BaSO4) and zinc oxide (ZnO), paragraph [0049]. Yoshida teaches inclusion of such diffusing materials in order to improve light conversion efficiency. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include an overlapping disclosed diffusing material of Yoshida such as TiO2 as a known diffusing material capable of improving light conversion efficiency in display devices and arriving at the invention as claimed. Thus, Yoshida and Hong teach the claimed “The display device of claim 1, wherein the quantum dot composition further comprises: one or more scattering agents selected from among TiO2, ZnO, ZrO2, SiO2, and BaSO4”.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida and Hong teach the display device of claim 1. Yoshida further teaches a polymerizable compound in the resin including a “thiol compound” and at least one of a “(meth) allyl compound and a (meth) acrylic compound”. This example suggests the combination of a thiol oligomer and acrylate-based monomer. Additionally, paragraph [0078] discloses the acrylate-based compound could be “isobornyl (meth) acrylate” which is the claimed “further comprises: an acrylate-based monomer”. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose an acrylate-based monomer to polymerize with their thiol compound to improve adhesiveness for when a covering material, such as a display panel in a display device, is provided on the surface of a quantum dot composition. Thus, Yoshida and Hong teach the claimed “The display device of claim 1, wherein the quantum dot composition further comprises: an acrylate-based monomer”.
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida and Hong teach the display device of claim 7. As described in the rejection of claim 7, Yoshida teaches inclusion of isobornyl (meth) acrylate as the acrylate-based compound. Thus, Yoshida and Hong teach the claimed “The display device of claim 7, wherein the acrylate-based monomer is isobornyl (meth)acrylate”.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida and Hong teach the display device of claim 1. Claim 13 is a product by process claim whereby the product is zinc oleate (which is provided by Hong as described in the rejection of claim 1) formed by a specific precursor process in order to form the first and second quantum dots (which are also product by process limitations covered by Hong). The applicants do not discuss if their process fundamentally changes their product different than the art at the time of filing. Hong et al was able to achieve quantum dots of same green and red wavelength ranges regardless of process (Table 1). Hong also teaches (as described in the rejection of claim 1 above) how their process can modify and control parameters and optical characteristics of the quantum dot to fit a desired standard. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes." Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n. 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n. 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Hong further teaches in paragraphs [0074] to [0076] reacting zinc acetate and oleic acid but does so in a 1:2.1 ratio. Additionally, in paragraphs [0082] to [0088] Hong describes use of trioctylphosphine selenide to trioctylphosphine sulfide in 1:1 ratios to prepare green and red quantum dot particles. Yoshida and Hong teach the claimed “The display device of claim 1, wherein the zinc oleate is formed by reacting zinc and oleic acid in a molar ratio of 1:1.3 to 1:1.7, and a molar ratio of the trioctylphosphine selenide to trioctylphosphine sulfide is 0.8:1 to 1:2.5”.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida Yuma et al in view of Hong et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liao et al (US PGPub 20220186109).
Yoshida and Hong teach the display device of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses that the wavelength conversion member may contain light diffusing material including titanium oxide (TiO2), barium sulfate (BaSO4) and zinc oxide (ZnO), paragraph [0049]. Yoshida teaches inclusion of such diffusing materials in order to improve light conversion efficiency. Liao teaches in paragraph [0036] that a scattering particle in a quantum-dot based optical film could be “silicon dioxide, germanium dioxide, titanium dioxide, zirconium dioxide”. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could substitute any of the light scattering agents of Yoshida for the ones in Liao with an expected result. One would use a light scattering particle in an optical medium to provide better quantum-dot emitted light dispersion, so that the light passing through the composition is more uniform. Thus, Yoshida, Hong, and Liao teach the claimed “The display device of claim 1, wherein the quantum dot composition further comprises: one or more scattering agents selected from among TiO2, ZnO, ZrO2, SiO2, and BaSO4”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the first argument (pgs 6-7) pertaining to the display device arrangement such that a backlight unit is implemented in a direct light type, the new rejection of amended claim 1 covers such aspects as described. Although in Fig. 3 Yoshida depicts an edge light type as noted by applicants, Yoshida further discloses that such arrangements and configurations are not limiting in their disclosure and specifically mentions that the backlight unit can be arranged as either an edge light type or direct type as now claimed. Therefore, Yoshida discloses information enabling one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the newly presented limitations in claim 1. Thus, the argument is not found to be persuasive.
The next set of presented arguments (halfway down pg 7 through line 2 pg 9) pertain to experimental data by the applicants in order to overcome the overlapping ranges (emission wavelengths of first and second quantum dots, light absorber absorption wavelength, and concentration of light absorber) covered by Yoshida et al. First, the applicants argue that Table 1 examples 1-3 include 1st quantum dot of 518 nm emission, 2nd quantum dot of 634 nm emission, and light absorber of 590nm at 30, 50, or 80 ppm concentration which exhibit high luminance and color reproducibility of at least 90%. The data is not commensurate in scope with the claimed ranges of 500-520 with 630-650 to show significant and unexpected results of the claimed max wavelength combination over those outside the range. Additionally, Table 2 Ref ex 4 with the same quantum dots but a light absorber at 580nm absorption does not exhibit the luminance argued as high according to referenced examples in Table 1. The applicants further argue that Example 3 with 30-80 ppm light absorber is better than Examples A4, A5, A6 with same 30-80 ppm but with 2nd dot of 629nm wavelength now outside claimed 630-650nm. However original claim 2 and instant specification disclose 2nd dot wavelength of 610-650nm as inventive wavelength range, thus although lower luminance and color reproducibility, there is no clear evidence that this difference is significant and unexpected.The applicant also argues in the second full paragraph of pg 8 that in Experimental Examples 4-5 (Tables 4-5), that when wavelength ranges of either the first or second quantum dots fall outside the range as claimed, then relative luminance and color reproduction are deteriorated. It is unclear which datapoints in particular are referenced for deteriorated luminance and reproduction. Furthermore, although B1-B3 and C1-C3 have wavelengths outside the claimed ranges, the luminance remains high with comparable color reproducibility.
The applicant also argues that Yoshida discloses a green quantum dot phosphor having 532 nm emission and a red quantum dot phosphor emission of 628 nm which is true in the provided example of Yoshida. However, as cited in the rejection of newly amended claim 1, Yoshida broadly teaches ranges of 500-580 nm and 620-680nm, thus overlapping with the claimed ranges. Yoshida teaches that from viewpoints of luminous efficiency and color reproducibility that the quantum dot phosphor preferably contains In. Furthermore, Yoshida teaches and suggests towards modification of their invention which improve color reproducibility “Light having a wavelength in the range of 580 nm to 620 nm corresponds to a wavelength region intermediate between the green wavelength region and the red wavelength region. By absorbing the light in this wavelength range by the absorbance, the amount of light emitted in the wavelength range intermediate between the green wavelength range and the red wavelength range in the emission wavelength spectrum is reduced. As a result, it is considered that the color reproducibility of the emission color of the wavelength conversion member is improved.
As a method for improving the color reproducibility of the emission color of the wavelength conversion member, the overlap of the emission wavelength ranges of the phosphor that emits green light and the phosphor that emits red light contained in the wavelength conversion layer becomes small.” Yoshida teaches inclusion of light absorber having maximum absorption in range of 580-620nm further improves color reproducibility and that mass% included within overlapping ranges ensures sufficient luminance and color reproducibility, thus enabling one of ordinary skill in the art to modify such aforementioned wavelengths and compositions as result effective variables to subsequently achieve desired luminance and color reproducibility. Additionally, the applicants only provide quantum dot combinations as follows: 1st of 518, 2nd of 634; 1st of 518, 2nd of 629; 1st of 525, 2nd of 634; and 1st of 525, 2nd of 629. The data is not commensurate in scope with the claimed ranges of 500-520nm and 630-650nm to show significant and unexpected results of the claimed max wavelength combination over those outside each end of the ranges.The applicants subsequently present the argument that rapid heating rate of 3-10°C/s to form the core results in uniform size distribution. Although the amended claim 1 does include such rates, claim 1 only specifies such heating rates for forming the shells instead of the cores. Thus, the cores for the dots as made by the claimed process are not limited to being made by such a rate. Additionally, Hong et al teach a process with similar heating temperatures and precursor reagents and amounts without specifying heating rates. Hong teaches that their process enables control over uniform size distribution even though the process is not entirely the same (see rejection of amended claim 1). Hong teaches that uniformity of nanoparticle sizes is desired in the art even if the process is not the same. Hong also discloses improved quantum efficiency and half width at full maximum.The applicants next argue that the synergistic combination of their precursors and rapid temperature ramping process enables formation of dots of 500-520nm and 630-650nm emissions which is not easy with conventional process. However, this argument is presented without evidence when the instant specification paragraph [0055] points out that dots of 500-540nm can be prepared by the method and dots of 610-650nm ([0059]) emission can be made. Furthermore, paragraph [0047] of the instant disclosure states that “a wavelength range of the quantum dots may be controlled by adjusting a ratio of the indium oxo cluster to the zinc oxo cluster included in the first mixture” which does not substantiate a synergistic combination between identity of precursors and heating rate as presented by the applicant’s argument (pg 9 paragraphs 2-3).The final argument between pgs 9-10 relies on the Hong process vs the claimed limitation. However, the presented amended claim is an apparatus with product-by-process limitations as to how the dots are made and is addressed in the rejection of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NWFG/Examiner, Art Unit 1759
/MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759