DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 4 is canceled.
Claims 1-3 are amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-6 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in JP 2021009710 on 03/11/2021 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claims
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
[Claim 3] Typographical error, “performs a demodulation process on the digital data outputted from [[the]] a spectrum calculator, [[a]] the spectrum calculator to add together”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (US 20210215816).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses the following limitations:
A radar device comprising: a radar signal generator to intermittently and repeatedly output a chirp as a radar signal; (Xu - [0006] Such a method includes driving a transmit antenna with a modulated transmission signal to thereby transmit a plurality of pulses towards a target. The method furtherer includes receiving, at a receive antenna, at least some of the plurality of pulses that are transmitted towards and reflected from the target. [0052] Such a frequency increase interval or a frequency decrease interval can also be referred to as a chirp period. During each of the frequency increase interval or the frequency decrease interval (i.e., during each chirp period), the ADC 108 samples the beat signal recursively at a predetermined sampling period and thereby converts the analog beat signal to a digital signal.)
a transmitting and receiving antenna to transmit the radar signal and receive, as a reflected wave, the radar signal reflected from an observation target; (Xu - [0006])
a beat signal generator to generate a beat signal from the radar signal and the reflected wave, (Xu - [0048] The receiver 106 includes a mixer 122 and an amplifier 124. The mixer 122 mixes the local signal LO and the reception signal fr from the antenna 120 to generate a beat signal corresponding to a frequency difference therebetween. The amplifier 124 amplifies the beat signal generated by the mixer 122. It would also be possible to swap the order of the mixer 122 and the amplifier 124, which would result in the reception signal fr being amplified before being mixed with the local signal LO. The beat signal, which can also be referred to as a beat-frequency signal, includes a tone whose frequency is proportional to a distance between the target and the radar system 102. The local signal LO is used to frequency down-convert the reception signal fr.)
an analog-to-digital converter to convert the beat signal into digital data; and a signal processor to detect range to the observation target and relative velocity with respect to the observation target, using the digital data, wherein the signal processor includes: (Xu - [0049] The amplified beat signal is provided to the ADC 108. The ADC 108 is used to sample the beat signal to convert the analog beat signal into a digital signal. The digital signal converted from the analog beat signal is provided to the microcomputer 110, which uses the inputted signal for calculating the distance and/or the relative velocity.)
a frequency converter to perform frequency conversion on a part of the digital data that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is not outputted, (Xu – [0073] The number L of radar samples collected during a pulse repetition interval (PRI) are binned, which corresponds to the range. The sample index within a PRI is also referred to as the “fast” time. [0079] standard RD processing represented in FIG. 2A, Range processing and Doppler processing are decoupled, thereby enabling the use of a simple two-dimensional (2D) FFT. In FIG. 2A, the Fast-Time FFT was applied first, followed by the Slow-Fime FFT. [0089] The 2D matrix 402 at the upper left in FIG. 4, is partially converted to frequency domain data by performing a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) for each column, which results in the 2D matrix 406 in the upper right in FIG. 4. Where an FFT is performed to convert all the samples within a same fast-time index to the frequency domain, the FFT can be referred to as a Slow-Time FFT (since the FFT is combining slow time samples).)
the frequency conversion including multiplying the digital data that is obtained during the period during which the radar signal is not outputted by a complex number; (Xu – [Equation 5], [0073], [0079], [0089])
a spectrum calculator to add together a part of the digital data that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is outputted and the digital data having been subjected to the frequency conversion by the frequency converter, and perform a range-FFT on the added digital data; (Xu – [Equation 5], [0006])
a range-velocity spectrum calculator to perform a Doppler-FFT on a first half part of results obtained by the spectrum calculator performing the range-FFT; and (Xu - [0006])
an electromagnetic noise spectrum calculator to perform a Doppler-FFT on a second half part of the results obtained by the spectrum calculator performing the range-FFT. (Xu – [0006], [0060] See supporting equations, noise is a part of the received signal and is filtered prior to any FFT.)
Regarding Claim 2, Xu discloses the following limitations:
A radar device comprising: a radar signal generator to intermittently and repeatedly output a chirp as a radar signal; (Xu - [0006])
a transmitting and receiving antenna to transmit the radar signal and receive, as a reflected wave, the radar signal reflected from an observation target; (Xu - [0006])
a beat signal generator to generate a beat signal from the radar signal and the reflected wave; (Xu - [0048])
a frequency converter to perform frequency conversion only on a part of the beat signal that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is not outputted, (Xu – [0073], [0079], [0089])
the frequency conversion including multiplying the digital data that is obtained during the period during which the radar signal is not outputted by a complex number; (Xu – [Equation 5], [0073], [0079], [0089])
an analog-to-digital converter to convert analog signals into digital signals, the analog signals to be converted are the beat signal obtained during period where the radar signal is outputted, and the signal that has been frequency converted by the frequency converter; and (Xu - [0048-0049])
a signal processor to detect range to the observation target and relative velocity with respect to the observation target, using the digital data, wherein the signal processor includes: (Xu - [0006] A slow-time FFT is performed on the first 2D matrix to thereby convert the slow-time index of the first 2D matrix to a Doppler bin index and thereby produce a second 2D matrix having the Doppler bin index and the fast-time index. After the slow-time FFT is performed, a one-dimensional (1D) interpolation is performed along the Doppler bin index to thereby convert the Doppler bin index to a Velocity bin index and thereby produce a third 2D matrix having a Velocity bin index and a fast-time index. After the 1D interpolation is performed, a fast-time FFT is performed on the third 2D matrix to thereby convert the fast-time index to a Range bin index and thereby produce a fourth 2D matrix having the Velocity bin index and a Range bin index. The distance to and the velocity of the target relative to the radar system can then be determined based on the fourth 2D matrix having the Velocity bin index and the Range bin index.)
a spectrum calculator to add together a part of the digital data that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is outputted and the digital data having been subjected to the frequency conversion by the frequency converter, and perform a range-FFT on the added digital data; (Xu - [Equation 5], [0006])
a range-velocity spectrum calculator to perform a Doppler-FFT on a first half part of results obtained by the spectrum calculator performing the range-FFT; and (Xu - [0006])
an electromagnetic noise spectrum calculator to perform a Doppler-FFT on a second half part of the results obtained by the spectrum calculator performing the range-FFT. (Xu – [0006], [0060] See supporting equations, noise is a part of the received signal and is filtered prior to any FFT.)
Regarding Claim 3, Xu discloses the following limitations:
A radar device comprising: a radar signal generator to intermittently and repeatedly output a chirp as a radar signal; (Xu - [0006])
a transmitting and receiving antenna to transmit the radar signal and receive, as a reflected wave, the radar signal reflected from an observation target; (Xu - [0006])
a beat signal generator to generate a beat signal from the radar signal and the reflected wave; (Xu - [0048])
an analog-to-digital converter to convert the beat signal into digital data and a signal processor to detect range to the observation target and relative velocity with respect to the observation target, using the digital data, (Xu - [0049])
wherein the signal processor includes: a modulator and a demodulator to perform frequency conversion on a part of the digital data that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is not outputted; (Xu – [0073], [0079], [0089], [0006] including performing demodulation and sampling thereof, to produce a plurality of samples indicative of the received plurality of pulses.)
the modulator performing a modulation process on the part of the digital data that is obtained during the period during which the radar signal is not outputted, and (Xu – [0006])
the demodulator performs a demodulation process on the digital data outputted from the spectrum calculator, (Xu – [0006])
a spectrum calculator to add together a part of the digital data that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is outputted and the digital data having been subjected to the frequency conversion by the frequency converter, and perform a range-FFT on the added digital data; (Xu - [Equation 5], [0006])
a range-velocity spectrum calculator to perform a Doppler-FFT on a first half part of results obtained by the spectrum calculator performing the range-FFT; and (Xu - [0006])
an electromagnetic noise spectrum calculator to perform a Doppler-FFT on a second half part of the results obtained by the spectrum calculator performing the range-FFT. (Xu – [0006], [0060] See supporting equations, noise is a part of the received signal and is filtered prior to any FFT.)
Regarding Claim 5, Xu further discloses:
wherein when one or more beat frequencies are calculated as the results of the range-FFT, the electromagnetic noise spectrum calculator performs a Doppler-FFT only on a part of the digital data that corresponds to the beat frequencies. (Xu – [0006], [0073], [0079], [0089])
Regarding Claim 6, Xu further discloses:
An in-vehicle device comprising a radar device according to claim 1. (Xu – [0146] the calculated distance and velocity can be used for self-driving, parking assistance, lane departure warning, automatic distance control, cut-in collision warning, rear-end collision warning, front-end collision warning, and/or blind spot detection.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 5, filed 10/14/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (d) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (d) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 5, filed 10/14/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejection to Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) has been withdrawn, however Claim 3 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b).
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-7, filed 10/14/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Xu does not teach "a spectrum calculator to add together a part of the digital data that is obtained during a period during which the radar signal is outputted and the digital data having been subjected to the frequency conversion by the frequency converter, and perform a range-FFT on the added digital data" and "the frequency conversion including multiplying the digital data that is obtained during the period during which the radar signal is not outputted by a complex number". The examiner disagrees, the citations now include Xu [Equation 5] as well as the previously cited Xu [0073] to support this equation. It is clear in this equation that both addition and the multiplication of a complex number is performed during the fast time processing and slow time processing. This processing is conducted at distinct intervals described primarily in Xu [0073] and [0079] that map “fast time” processing to PRI where samples are actively collected and “slow time” to at least Doppler processing that is decoupled from range processing.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, filed 10/14/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on Claims 1-3. The examiner disagrees due to the above-mentioned rejections.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Laghezza (US 20210255303) describes a method for a radar device comprising a plurality of frequency modulated chirps interleaved with respective Doppler-spectrum data sets.
Pavao-Moreira (US 20160154092) describes radar processing during an inter-chirp period.
Rao (US 20190044485) describes a radar system that causes a transmit antenna array to transmit first mode chirp signals in first mode frames with a first mode sleep time intervals between the frames.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645