DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 24 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are rejected for the following reasons.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a crusher assembly configured to receive a mixture of the cellulose feedstock, a solid acid catalyst or a grinding agent, or a mixture of the solid acid catalyst and the grinding agent” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear from the claim language as to the particular components intended to constitute the mixture. It is unclear from the claim language if both the solid acid catalyst and grinding agent are optional components.
Claim 1 also recites the limitation “wherein the crusher assembly is configured to grind the mixture under pressure to induce a reaction between the cellulosic feedstock, the grinding agent, or the mixture of the solid acid catalyst and the grinding agent produce a grinded mixture and sugar” which is confusing and unclear. It is unclear as to how the grinding agent produce a grinded mixture and sugar. It is also unclear from the claim language as to the particular components between which a reaction is induced. It is further unclear from the claim langue whether or not a solid acid catalyst is required for converting the cellulosic feedstock to sugar.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the inlet hopper" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the mixing apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the feedline is configured to feed the feedstock and catalyst into the reaction chamber” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear from the claim language whether or not the term “catalyst” is referring to the solid acid catalyst recited in claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends, or another catalyst substance distinct from the solid acid catalyst recited in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the solid acids" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair et al. (US 2013/0233307) in view of Bristol (US 3,679,141).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Blair et al. teaches a system for converting cellulosic feedstock to sugar comprising: a reaction chamber (102, 104) (see paras. [0052]; [0071]; Fig. 1); a crusher/grinder assembly (104) configured to receive a mixture of the cellulose feedstock, a solid acid catalyst, and a grinding agent (see para. [0071]; Fig. 1); wherein the crusher/grinder assembly (104) is configured to grind the mixture under pressure to induce a mechanocatalytic reaction between the cellulosic feedstock and the solid acid catalyst to produce a grinded mixture and sugar (see paras. [0011]; [0071]-[0073]; Fig. 1). The reference Blair et al. is, however, silent with respect to the crusher/grinder assembly comprising a plurality of rollers.
The reference Bristol teaches a crusher/grinder assembly (10) configured to receive a mixture of solid particles and produce a grinded mixture of solid particles (see Abstract; col. 3, lines 31-75; Figs. 1-5). The reference Bristol further teaches that the crusher/grinder assembly comprises a plurality of rollers for grinding the mixture of solid particles (see col. 4, lines 1-7; Figs. 2-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blair et al. and Bristol, and substituted the crusher/grinder assembly (10) taught by Bristol for the crusher/grinder assembly of Blair et al., since the reference Blair et al. teaches that intimate contacting between the cellulose feedstock and the solid acid catalyst and agitation needed to perform the mechanocatalytic reaction between the cellulosic feedstock and the solid acid catalyst can be conducted using any suitable milling or grinder device (see paras. [0011]; [0052]; [0071]).
Regarding claim 5, the reference Blair et al. is silent with respect to the system further comprising a feedline coupled to an inlet hopper, wherein the feedline is configured to feed the feedstock and solid catalyst into the reaction chamber. However, the reference Bristol teaches that the crusher/grinder assembly can be provided with an inlet hopper for feeding a mixture of solid particles into the crusher/grinder assembly (10) (see col. 3, lines 67-68; Fig. 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Blair et al. and Bristol to include an inlet hopper as well as a feedline configured to feed the cellulose feedstock and solid acid catalyst into the reaction chamber of Blair et al. and Bristol, since the reference Blair et al. suggests mixing the cellulose feedstock with the solid acid catalyst to perform the mechanocatalytic reaction between the cellulosic feedstock and the solid acid catalyst (see paras. [0011]; [0052]; [0071]).
Regarding claim 6, the references Blair et al. and Bristol disclose the system, wherein the crusher/grinder assembly comprises at least one pair of roller assemblies (see Bristol: col. 4, lines 1-7; Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 8, the references Blair et al. and Bristol disclose the system, wherein the ratio of the cellulosic feedstock to solid acid catalyst is 2:1 by weight (see Blair et al.: paras. [0022]; [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, the references Blair et al. and Bristol disclose the system, wherein the solid acid catalyst comprises kaolin, bentonite, and montmorillonite (see Blair et al.: para. [0058]).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair et al. in view of Bristol as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Verhoff et al. (US 2002/0047058).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the references Blair et al. and Bristol do not specifically disclose wherein the grinding agent comprises silicon carbide and aluminum oxide as recited in claim 10, and wherein the grinding agent has a Mohs hardness of between 8 and 9.5, and a particle size between 10 and 600 microns, as recited in claim 11. The reference Verhoff et al. teaches a grinding agent comprising silicon carbide and aluminum oxide (see para. [0105]), and having a Mohs hardness of 9 (see Table 1) and a particle size between 0.05 to 20 mm (50 to 20000 microns) (see para. [0154]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Blair et al. and Bristol to include a grinding agent as taught by Verhoff et al., since the reference Verhoff et al. teaches that the grinding agent advantageously provides for more rapid attainment of smaller solid particles during milling of solid particles (see para. [0006]; [0044]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,994,255. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of the instant application are taught by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,994,255.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,484,858. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of the instant application are taught by claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,484,858.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,749. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of the instant application are taught by claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,749.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774