DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed in the Amendment filed June 25, 2026 (herein “Amendment”) in response to the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Essentially Applicant has amended claim 1 to include new limitations of “wherein the processing circuit continues to receive signals from the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the gesture lock is enabled,” but these limitations were not amended into claim 10. Instead, claim 10 was only amended to change the previously recited “enabling a gesture lock for the specific region for indicating to keep highlighting the specific region,” to now recite “enabling a gesture lock for the specific region comprising continuing to process the image data to highlight the specific region.” Such amendments are not persuasive to overcome the current rejection of record in view of primary reference Gutta because Gutta in previously cited col. 6, ll. 54–65 teaches a motion heuristic operation for its conference speaker identifier system that “keeps the camera focused on the current speaker, regardless of other noises or movements of the speaker,” (emphasis added) – this teaching of Gutta is essentially a gesture lock (although not explicitly called such) because it maintains an operation (focus on current speaker, which falls under the broadest reasonable interpretation (herein “BRI”) of highlighting the specific region – a focus is a type of highlighting of a region of a conference room that the camera is imaging), and maintaining an operation regardless of other sensory input that would ordinarily change operations is a type of lock, given the BRI in view of the present specification.
Therefore, for at least the amended limitations in claim 10, is found in updated consideration, to still teach or suggest the limitations of claim 10, and the rejection therefore is maintained.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the Amendment that the additional limitations amended to claim 1 of “wherein the processing circuit continues to receive signals from the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the gesture lock is enabled,” are “inherently” taught by claim 10. However, these arguments are not persuasive. Claim 10 does not inherently require or recite that “the processing circuit continues to receive signals from the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the gesture lock is enabled.” It is noted that the “gesture lock” limitation is recited in the next to last limitation of the claim and merely requires “enabling a gesture lock for the specific region comprising continuing to process the image data to highlight the specific region” and does not recite or require additionally “the processing circuit continues to receive signals from the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the gesture lock is enabled.”
Therefore, the rejection against claim 10 is maintained.
Applicant further argues on page 10 of the Amendment that Gutta does not teach determination of a speaker changing using a recognition result used with a voice characteristic and gesture detection, and that Gutta is directed to highlighting a future speaker, not a current speaker. However the section of Gutta stated above regarding the motion heuristics operation is entirely about the current speaker and maintaining focus on that speaker regardless of other noises or movements of the speaker. Where “other noises of the speaker” would include voice characteristics of the current speaker. Therefore Gutta does teach considerations of voice characteristic and gesture detection of a current speaker.
Next Applicant argues on pages 10–11 of the Amendment in response to the previous Office Action’s response to arguments about the claimed gesture lock being distinguished from Gutta in that it avoids a highlighting being constantly switched, that the claimed gesture lock “will be implemented until another hand gesture is detected” however, regardless of timing considerations, the claims do not recite “not immediately” or “implemented until another hand gesture is detected,” and besides, as noted above, Gutta’s motion heuristics is a type of gesture lock. The term heuristics itself is significant in the field of systems controls as it incorporates the concept of providing some buffer/delay time precisely so that an unstable state of constant switching between two different states does not occur. Thus, the teachings of Gutta apply exactly to the “gesture lock” limitations claimed. Gutta simply doesn’t use the exact words “gesture lock,” and for this limited reliance, Kim is relied upon. Accordingly, Applicants next arguments on page 11 about Gutta being “silent” on gesture locking are not persuasive. Again, although Gutta essentially teaches and strongly suggests a gesture locking by way of its motion heuristics, it just simply does not use the exact language of “gesture lock.” In combining Gutta’s motion heuristic teachings with the explicitly stated “gesture lock” words of Kim, such a combination is obvious since Gutta basically already teaches this. Thus, Applicant’s arguments regarding impermissible hindsight analysis or cherry picking approach are not persuasive.
Nor is Applicant’s purported combination of Gutta and Kim on pages 12–13 of the Amendment found persuasive in that it purports a combination incorporating more of Kim into Gutta that has been established or rationalized on the record, and hypothesizes the demise of such a combination, which is not the one of record. Simply, Kim is relied upon for merely explicitly using the words “gesture lock” when Gutta has already suggested the operations of the gesture lock as claimed.
Regarding claim 1, while Gutta does teach a type of gesture lock in its motion heuristics operation (albeit not explicitly called a gesture lock), and that during such a motion heuristic operation, the camera is focused on the current speaker regardless of other noises or movements of the speaker, and that false events generated by the motion detector are suppressed, suggesting that during the motion heuristic locking operation, at least motion detector events continue to be received by the processing circuit performing the motion heuristic operation where the motion detector events are disclosed in col. 6, ll. 44–53 as generating movement detection signals from video. Nonetheless, upon further search and consideration, the newly cited Mousavi et al., "Seven Staged Identity Recognition System Using Kinect V.2 Sensor," 2022 9th Iranian Joint Congress on Fuzzy and Intelligent Systems (CFIS), Bam, Iran, Islamic Republic of, 2022, pp. 1-7, doi: 10.1109/CFIS54774.2022.9756435, is cited to and relied upon as teaching in an obvious combination with Gutta and the other cited references the newly recited “the processing circuit continues to receive signals from the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the gesture lock is enabled” limitations.
Therefore in view of the above, while all of Applicants arguments and amendments have been fully considered, they are not found persuasive, and the rejection under the combinations of the currently cited art is maintained for claim 10, with updates to the rejection rationale below where appropriate, and the rejection for claim 1 and claims depending therefrom has been updated to include the newly relied upon teachings of above cited Mousavi et al.
Lastly, Applicant's arguments and amendments filed in the Amendment in response to the rejection of claims 5 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive, and the rejection of claims 5 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 7–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutta et al., US Patent No. US 6,894,714 B2 (herein “Gutta”) in view of Bytyqi, US Patent No. 10,440,327 B1 (herein “Bytyqi”) and further in view of Kim et al., US Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0182160 A1 (herein “Kim”) further in view of Mousavi et al., "Seven Staged Identity Recognition System Using Kinect V.2 Sensor," 2022 9th Iranian Joint Congress on Fuzzy and Intelligent Systems (CFIS), Bam, Iran, Islamic Republic of, 2022, pp. 1-7, doi: 10.1109/CFIS54774.2022.9756435 (herein “Mousavi”).
Regarding claim 1, with deficiencies of Gutta noted in square brackets [], Gutta teaches a system [on chip (SoC)], arranged to perform partial highlighting of a current speaker with aid of hand gesture detection, comprising (Gutta col. 3, ll. 17–32, and col. 2, ll. 43–54, video processing system 10 processing audio and video information to detect cues including visual cues such as a hand gesture to detect an event exhibited by a person in a conference and focus a camera and obtain images of the predicted speaker, where col. 4, l. 59 – col. 5, l. 30 teach detection and tracking operations upon an object of interest as a current speaker):
a person recognition circuit, arranged to obtain an image data from an image capturing device (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–43 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected to a system bus that is also connected to pan-tilt-zoom PTZ camera 18), and perform person recognition upon the image data to generate a recognition result (Gutta col. 4, ll. 51–58, PTZ camera generates an image including an object of interest such as videoconference participant 22-k and other objects such as videoconference participant 22-k+1, the image supplied as video input to the detection and tracking operation which detects and tracks the object of interest (participant – person) using well-known conventional detection and tracking techniques, including as disclosed in col. 5, l. 56–col. 6, l. 21, face recognition and assigning a unique identifier to each face detected), wherein the recognition result comprises multiple regions, and each of the multiple regions comprises a person (Gutta col. 3, ll. 45–56, and col. 5, ll. 1–16, PTZ camera and video conferencing system accommodates conference participants 22-1 through 22-N (for example three people as shown in fig. 2 arranged in three different regions of the room), and will track one of the participants of interest by zooming in on their area);
a hand gesture detection circuit, arranged to obtain the image data from the image capturing device (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–43 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected to a system bus that is also connected to pan-tilt-zoom PTZ camera 18), and perform hand gesture detection upon a hand gesture image data in the image data, to generate a hand gesture detection result (Gutta col. 7, ll. 12–16 and 45–51, video image from PTZ camera provided to predictive speaker identifier which processes the video to identify predefined visual cues including hand gestures, where col. 10, ll. 45–52 teaches that the hand gestures can be obtained using techniques described in a cited academic paper), wherein the hand gesture detection result indicates that a predetermined hand gesture is detected (Gutta col. 10, ll. 46–53, col. 9, l. 49–col. 10, l. 10, visual cue identifier identifying one or more predefined visual cues including hand gestures such as a predefined “raised hand or finger” gesture);
a sound detection circuit, arranged to receive multiple sound signals from multiple microphones (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–56 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected to a system bus that is also connected to an array of microphones 16 for capturing audio information), and determine a voice characteristic value of a main sound (Gutta col. 6. ll. 25–43, and col. 10, l. 62–col. 11, l. 20, time-stamped signals generated by the microphone array are passed to a speaker identification module and an audio locator which obtains directional information identifying the pan and tilt angles associated with the sound source, where such characteristic sounds identifying a predicted speaker include a grunt or clearing of the throat, or particular phrases indicating the interruption of a current speaker, and also acoustic and prosodic features); and
a processing circuit, coupled to the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit, and the sound detection circuit (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–56 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected via a bus to the other system components), and arranged to determine a specific region in the image data corresponding to a current speaker according to the recognition result, the gesture detection result, and the voice characteristic value of the main sound (Gutta col. 5, ll. 25–32, optical zooming operation zooms in (highlight) and centers on the detected object of interest (specific region), where col. 7, ll. 25–41, in discussing fig. 3 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker using the audio and video information as described above, and where col. 5, ll. 35–35 also discussing fig. 3, teach that the adaptive position locator processing the audio and video determines the location of a speaker (current speaker)), and process the image data to highlight the specific region (Gutta col. 7, ll. 3–11, a bounding box is computed and used to focus the PTZ camera, where col. 5, ll. 5–30, teaches the zooming is on the detected object of interest such as a current speaker), wherein the processing circuit selects a region from the multiple regions as the specific region according to the voice characteristic value of the main sound and the hand gesture detection result (Gutta col. 4, l. 50–col. 5, l. 4, detection and tracking of an object of interest which in turn controls the zooming of the PTZ camera (thus selecting one of the conference participant regions to focus on) using audio location (voice characteristic value of the main sound) and motion detection such as gesturing, where col. 10, ll. 46–53 teaches the gesturing as hand gestures), and the processing circuit is further arranged to enable [a gesture lock] for the specific region comprising continuing to process the image data to highlight the specific region (Gutta col. 6, l. 44 – col. 7, l. 10, audio and video signals are accumulated for a defined interval so as to be able to collect data for meaningful events, where motion heuristics are used to identify only frame portions having a significant amount of motion so that false events that don’t indicate a speaker change are suppressed, and the camera is kept focused (highlighting) on the current speaker (the specific region), while the motion detector still identifies but is suppressed when identifying and generating false events), and arranged to determine whether a speaker changes for determining whether to select another region from the multiple regions as the specific region (Gutta col. 7, ll. 10–40, the focus of the PTZ camera on one of the conference participants, which selects another region (the region of the next speaker) as the specific region, is determined by the audio cues and video cues determined from processing audio signals generated by the array and video image from the PTZ camera) according to the voice characteristic value of the main sound and a subsequent hand gesture detection result from the other region (Gutta col. 9, ll. 49–67, col. 10, ll. 62–67, and col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 65, discloses that visual cue identifier and audio cue identifier provide cues to the predictive speaker identifier, each speaker corresponding to one of multiple speaker locations in a room (multiple regions, including another different region from the specific region), the predictive speaker identifier using the cues via a decision tree to predict the next speaker according to rules considering face detection, hand gesture and a grunt or clearing of the throat, where col. 7, ll. 25–41 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker via main sound from sound detection),
wherein the processing circuit continues to receive signals from [the person recognition circuit,] the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the [gesture] lock is enabled (Gutta col. 6, l. 44 – col. 7, l. 10, motion heuristics keeps the camera focused on the current speaker (thus a lock on the current speaker being enabled) regardless of other noises (received signals from the sound detection circuit) or movements (including gestures received by the gesture detection circuit) so that false events (i.e. not an actual change in speaker triggering a change in camera focus) are suppressed).
While Gutta teaches elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, Gutta does not explicitly teach the system to be a system on a chip (SoC). Bytyqi teaches a system on a chip (SoC) (Bytyqi col. 5, ll. 13–19, video communication device including a processor that is a high power System on a chip (SoC)).
Still further, Gutta does not explicitly use the exact words to describe its motion heuristics operations but Kim explicitly teaches a gesture lock (Kim ¶¶196–197, gesture locking state is set where any future gestures are not input into the electronic device for detecting), and disables the gesture lock (Kim ¶196, gesture unlocking can be requested so the device is in a gesture process standby state that will process gesture inputs).
Yet still further, while Gutta’s motion heuristic operations does teach that motion detection signals are still received and processed and “other noises” from the speaker and disregarded during a time period that the camera focus is on a current speaker, thus teaching the processing circuit continuing to receive signals from at least the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit when the lock is enabled, nonetheless, Gutta does not explicitly teach where Mousavi teaches wherein the processing circuit continues to receive signals from all of the person recognition circuit, the hand gesture detection circuit and the sound detection circuit (Mousavi pages 2–3, fig. 2, during a process of identity recognition of a human standing in front of a Kinect system (includes a camera), concurrent signals of gesture recognition, voice recognition and face recognition (person recognition circuit) are received and processed).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta and Bytyqi together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (herein “PHOSITA”) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to be integrated as a system on a chip as disclosed in Bytyqi at least because doing so would provide for video conferencing processing in a single standalone device, offering a seamless video-conferencing experience without requiring the user to manage large, cumbersome and difficult to assemble multiple devices to have a videoconferencing system. See Bytyqi col. 1, ll. 23–28, and 32–41, and Abstract.
Further, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Kim together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the gesture locking and unlocking teachings as disclosed and cited above in Kim at least because doing so would allow for greater control over electronic devices by providing a meaningful service based on a result inferred from context information instead of simply monitoring one sensor input. See Kim ¶¶2, 57.
Still further, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Kim together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the concurrent signal reception and processing from multiple recognition systems including gesture recognition, voice recognition and face recognition teachings as disclosed and cited above in Mousavi at least because doing so would allow for greater accuracy in identifying a person speaking and appearing in front of a camera system. See Mousavi page 1, Abstract and Introduction.
Regarding claim 7, Gutta teaches wherein the processing circuit processes the image data to magnify a person within the specific region (Gutta col. 5, ll. 1–31, PTZ camera tracks one of the participants of interest by zooming in on their face, where fig. 2 illustrates the zooming operation and magnification effects).
Regarding claim 8, Gutta teaches wherein the voice characteristic value of the main sound is a voiceprint or an azimuth of the main sound (Gutta col. 6, ll. 25–43, and col. 7, ll. 3–9, audio locator used to determine the position of a particular conference participant, and identify the pan and tilt angles (azimuth) and directional information to determine the bounding box for the PTZ camera to zoom in on).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutta in view of Bytyqi and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 10, with deficiencies of Gutta noted in square brackets [], Gutta teaches a video processing method, arranged to perform partial highlighting of a current speaker with aid of hand gesture detection, comprising (Gutta col. 3, ll. 17–32, and col. 2, ll. 43–54, video processing system 10 processing audio and video information to detect cues including visual cues such as a hand gesture to detect an event exhibited by a person in a conference and focus a camera and obtain images of the predicted speaker, where col. 4, l. 59 – col. 5, l. 30 teach detection and tracking operations upon an object of interest as a current speaker):
[disposing a plurality of devices on a System on Chip (SoC) to perform the following steps:]
obtaining an image data from an image capturing device (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–43 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected to a system bus that is also connected to pan-tilt-zoom PTZ camera 18), and performing person recognition upon the image data to generate a recognition result (Gutta col. 4, ll. 51–58, PTZ camera generates an image including an object of interest such as videoconference participant 22-k and other objects such as videoconference participant 22-k+1, the image supplied as video input to the detection and tracking operation which detects and tracks the object of interest (participant – person) using well-known conventional detection and tracking techniques, including as disclosed in col. 5, l. 56–col. 6, l. 21, face recognition and assigning a unique identifier to each face detected), wherein the recognition result comprises multiple regions, and each of the multiple regions comprises a person (Gutta col. 3, ll. 45–56, and col. 5, ll. 1–16, PTZ camera and video conferencing system accommodates conference participants 22-1 through 22-N (for example three people as shown in fig. 2 arranged in three different regions of the room), and will track one of the participants of interest by zooming in on their area);
obtaining the image data from the image capturing device (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–43 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected to a system bus that is also connected to pan-tilt-zoom PTZ camera 18), and performing hand gesture detection upon a hand gesture image data in the image data, to generate a hand gesture detection result (Gutta col. 7, ll. 12–16 and 45–51, video image from PTZ camera provided to predictive speaker identifier which processes the video to identify predefined visual cues including hand gestures, where col. 10, ll. 45–52 teaches that the hand gestures can be obtained using techniques described in a cited academic paper), wherein the hand gesture detection result indicates that a predetermined hand gesture is detected (Gutta col. 10, ll. 46–53, col. 9, l. 49–col. 10, l. 10, visual cue identifier identifying one or more predefined visual cues including hand gestures such as a predefined “raised hand or finger” gesture);
receiving multiple sound signals from multiple microphones (Gutta col. 3, ll. 33–56 and col. 4, ll. 23–25, elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, where system 10 includes a processor connected to a system bus that is also connected to an array of microphones 16 for capturing audio information), and determining a voice characteristic value of a main sound (Gutta col. 6. ll. 25–43, and col. 10, l. 62–col. 11, l. 20, time-stamped signals generated by the microphone array are passed to a speaker identification module and an audio locator which obtains directional information identifying the pan and tilt angles associated with the sound source, where such characteristic sounds identifying a predicted speaker include a grunt or clearing of the throat, or particular phrases indicating the interruption of a current speaker, and also acoustic and prosodic features); and
determining a specific region corresponding to a current speaker in the image data according to the recognition result, the gesture detection result, and the voice characteristic value of the main sound (Gutta col. 5, ll. 25–32, optical zooming operation zooms in (highlight) and centers on the detected object of interest (specific region), where col. 7, ll. 25–41, in discussing fig. 3 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker using the audio and video information as described above, and where col. 5, ll. 35–35 also discussing fig. 3, teach that the adaptive position locator processing the audio and video determines the location of a speaker (current speaker)), and processing the image data to highlight the specific region (Gutta col. 7, ll. 3–11, a bounding box is computed and used to focus the PTZ camera, where col. 5, ll. 5–30, teaches the zooming is on the detected object of interest such as a current speaker), comprising: selecting a region from the multiple regions as the specific region according to the voice characteristic value of the main sound and the hand gesture detection result (Gutta col. 4, l. 50–col. 5, l. 4, detection and tracking of an object of interest which in turn controls the zooming of the PTZ camera (thus selecting one of the conference participant regions to focus on) using audio location (voice characteristic value of the main sound) and motion detection such as gesturing, where col. 10, ll. 46–53 teaches the gesturing as hand gestures), enabling [a gesture lock] for the specific region comprising continuing to process the image data to highlight the specific region (Gutta col. 6, l. 44 – col. 7, l. 10, audio and video signals are accumulated for a defined interval so as to be able to collect data for meaningful events, where motion heuristics are used to identify only frame portions having a significant amount of motion so that false events that don’t indicate a speaker change are suppressed, and the camera is kept focused (highlighting) on the current speaker (the specific region) while the motion detector still identifies but is suppressed when identifying and generating false events); and determining whether a speaker changes for determining whether to select another region from the multiple regions as the specific region (Gutta col. 7, ll. 10–40, the focus of the PTZ camera on one of the conference participants, which selects another region (the region of the next speaker) as the specific region, is determined by the audio cues and video cues determined from processing audio signals generated by the array and video image from the PTZ camera) according to the voice characteristic value of the main sound and a subsequent hand gesture detection result from the other region (Gutta col. 9, ll. 49–67, col. 10, ll. 62–67, and col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 65, discloses that visual cue identifier and audio cue identifier provide cues to the predictive speaker identifier, each speaker corresponding to one of multiple speaker locations in a room (multiple regions, including another different region from the specific region), the predictive speaker identifier using the cues via a decision tree to predict the next speaker according to rules considering face detection, hand gesture and a grunt or clearing of the throat, where col. 7, ll. 25–41 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker via main sound from sound detection).
While Gutta teaches elements of system 10 may be implemented as an circuit card, Gutta does not explicitly teach, where Bytyqi teaches disposing a plurality of devices on a System on Chip (SoC) to perform the following steps (Bytyqi col. 5, ll. 13–19, video communication device including a processor that is a high power System on a chip (SoC)).
Still further, Gutta does not but Kim teaches a gesture lock (Kim ¶¶196–197, gesture locking state is set where any future gestures are not input into the electronic device for detecting), and disables the gesture lock (Kim ¶196, gesture unlocking can be requested so the device is in a gesture process standby state that will process gesture inputs).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta and Bytyqi together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to be integrated as a system on a chip as disclosed in Bytyqi at least because doing so would provide for video conferencing processing in a single standalone device, offering a seamless video-conferencing experience without requiring the user to manage large, cumbersome and difficult to assemble multiple devices to have a videoconferencing system. See Bytyqi col. 1, ll. 23–28, and 32–41, and Abstract.
Further, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Kim together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the gesture locking and unlocking teachings as disclosed and cited above in Kim at least because doing so would allow for greater control over electronic devices by providing a meaningful service based on a result inferred from context information instead of simply monitoring one sensor input. See Kim ¶¶2, 57.
Claims 2–3 and 5–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutta in view of Bytyqi in view of Kim in view of Mousavi, as set forth above regarding claim 1, and further in view of Veselinovic et al., US Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0120335 A1 (herein “Veselinovic”).
Regarding claim 2, with deficiencies of Gutta noted with square brackets [], Gutta teaches further comprising: [a voice activity detection circuit, arranged to determine whether at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises a voice component according to the multiple sound signals;] wherein according to whether the at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises the voice component, the processing circuit determines the specific region in the image data according to the recognition result, the hand gesture detection result, and the voice characteristic value of the main sound (Gutta col. 5, ll. 25–32, optical zooming operation zooms in (highlight) and centers on the detected object of interest as a conference participant (specific region), where col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 65, discloses that visual cue identifier and audio cue identifier provide cues to the predictive speaker identifier (thus the sound signal comprising a voice component of the conference participant) which uses the cues via a decision tree to predict the next speaker, and direct the PTZ camera, where col. 7, ll. 25–41 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker).
Gutta does not explicitly teach, but Veselinovic teaches a voice activity detection circuit, arranged to determine whether at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises a voice component according to the multiple sound signals (Veselinovic ¶¶70, 76, voice activity detector determines whether there is voice present in an audio signal, where the VAD is part of a conference room system recording multiple human speakers).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi and Kim, and Veselinovic together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the voice activity detection teachings as disclosed and cited above in Veselinovic at least because doing so would provide for a higher quality sound capture and more optimal coverage of sound in a conference environment. See Veselinovic ¶¶7, 8, and 3.
Regarding claim 3, with deficiencies of Gutta noted with square brackets [], Gutta teaches wherein [when the voice activity detection circuit indicates that the at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises the voice component], the processing circuit determines the specific region in the image data according to the recognition result, the gesture detection result, and the voice characteristic value of the main sound, and processes the image data to highlight the specific region (Gutta col. 5, ll. 25–32, optical zooming operation zooms in (highlight) and centers on the detected object of interest as a conference participant (specific region), where col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 65, discloses that visual cue identifier and audio cue identifier provide cues to the predictive speaker identifier (thus the sound signal comprising a voice component of the conference participant) which uses the cues via a decision tree to predict the next speaker, and direct the PTZ camera, where col. 7, ll. 25–41 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker).
Gutta does not explicitly teach, but Veselinovic teaches when the voice activity detection circuit indicates that the at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises the voice component (Veselinovic ¶¶61–63, in response to (when) a value of the voice activity detection information related to a new sound activity meets a cost function threshold, the new sound will be considered a relevant candidate location for which audio beamforming will be adjusted).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi and Kim, and Veselinovic together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the voice activity detection teachings as disclosed and cited above in Veselinovic at least because doing so would provide for a higher quality sound capture and more optimal coverage of sound in a conference environment. See Veselinovic ¶¶7, 8, and 3.
Regarding claim 5, with deficiencies of Gutta noted with square brackets [], Gutta teaches wherein the recognition result further comprises multiple characteristic values corresponding to the multiple regions, respectively (Gutta col. 5, ll. 46–65, acoustic and visual cues (characteristic values) are identified and associated with a region of interest from among the multiple regions of interest defined by the locations of the faces of the conference participants), and the processing circuit tracks a characteristic value of the specific region to determine a location of the specific region in a subsequent image data (Gutta col. 4, l. 59–col. 5, l. 13, detection and tracking operation tracks the object of interest using motion detection, gesturing, audio location (characteristic value of a region where a conference participant is seated) to determine which conference participant is the speaker and zoom in on a framed portion (specific region in a subsequent image data)), and processes the subsequent image data to highlight the specific region in the subsequent image data (Gutta col. 5, ll. 5–32, optical zooming operation performed on the identified object of interest frames the object of interest such that it is centered in the image and occupies a desired percentage of the image (highlight));
in response to another hand gesture detection result, from the specific region the processing circuit [disables the gesture lock] for the specific region (Gutta col. 7, ll. 12–40, adaptive speaker identifier interacts with predictive speaker identifier (including detecting hand gestures from each of the other meeting participants (from a region different) to predict the identity of the next speaker and the speaker predictions generated are used to focus the PTZ camera on the next speaker, thus removing the focus from the specific region of the current speaker); and [the SoC] further comprises:
[a voice activity detection circuit, arranged to determine whether at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises a voice component according to the multiple sound signals;]
wherein the processing circuit determines whether a speaker changes for determining whether to select another region from the multiple regions as the specific region according to the multiple characteristic values (Gutta col. 7, ll. 10–40, the focus of the PTZ camera on one of the conference participants, which selects another region (the region of the next speaker) as the specific region, is determined by the audio cues and video cues determined from processing audio signals generated by the array and video image from the PTZ camera) that correspond to the multiple regions, respectively, and are determined by the person recognition circuit, the subsequent hand gesture detection result, the voice characteristic value of the main sound determined by the sound detection circuit (Gutta col. 9, ll. 49–67, col. 10, ll. 62–67, and col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 65, discloses that visual cue identifier and audio cue identifier provide cues to the predictive speaker identifier, each speaker corresponding to one of multiple speaker locations in a room (multiple regions), the predictive speaker identifier using the cues via a decision tree to predict the next speaker according to rules considering face detection, hand gesture and a grunt or clearing of the throat, where col. 7, ll. 25–41 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker via main sound from sound detection), and whether the at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises the voice component determined by [the voice activity detection circuit] (Gutta col. 10, l. 62–col. 11, l. 20, audio cue identifier can identify speech from between different speakers, and who is currently speaking to determine who the next speaker may be).
As noted above in the rejection rationale for claims 4 and 1 from which claim 5 depends, Gutta does not, but Bytqit teaches the system on a chip, and a PHOSITA would be motivated to combine the teachings of Gutta with Bytqit also for the reasons provided in claims 4 and 1.
Further, Gutta does not explicitly teach, but Veselinovic teaches a voice activity detection circuit, arranged to determine whether at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises a voice component according to the multiple sound signals (Veselinovic ¶¶70, 76, voice activity detector determines whether there is voice present in an audio signal, where the VAD is part of a conference room system recording multiple human speakers).
Still further, Gutta does not but Kim teaches a gesture lock (Kim ¶¶196–197, gesture locking state is set where any future gestures are not input into the electronic device for detecting), and disables the gesture lock (Kim ¶196, gesture unlocking can be requested so the device is in a gesture process standby state that will process gesture inputs).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Veselinovic together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the voice activity detection teachings as disclosed and cited above in Veselinovic at least because doing so would provide for a higher quality sound capture and more optimal coverage of sound in a conference environment. See Veselinovic ¶¶7, 8, and 3.
Further, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Kim together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the gesture locking and unlocking teachings as disclosed and cited above in Kim at least because doing so would allow for greater control over electronic devices by providing a meaningful service based on a result inferred from context information instead of simply monitoring one sensor input. See Kim ¶¶2, 57.
Regarding claim 6, with deficiencies of Gutta noted with square brackets [], Gutta teaches wherein the recognition result further comprises multiple characteristic values corresponding to the multiple regions, respectively (Gutta col. 5, ll. 46–65, acoustic and visual cues (characteristic values) are identified and associated with a region of interest from among the multiple regions of interest defined by the locations of the faces of the conference participants), and the processing circuit tracks a characteristic value of the specific region to determine a location of the specific region in a subsequent image data (Gutta col. 4, l. 59–col. 5, l. 13, detection and tracking operation tracks the object of interest using motion detection, gesturing, audio location (characteristic value of a region where a conference participant is seated) to determine which conference participant is the speaker and zoom in on a framed portion (specific region in a subsequent image data)), and processes the subsequent image data to highlight the specific region in the subsequent image data (Gutta col. 5, ll. 5–32, optical zooming operation performed on the identified object of interest frames the object of interest such that it is centered in the image and occupies a desired percentage of the image (highlight)); and
[the SoC] further comprises:
[a voice activity detection circuit, arranged to determine whether at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises a voice component according to the multiple sound signals];
wherein the processing circuit determines whether a speaker changes for determining whether to select another region from the multiple regions as the specific region according to the multiple characteristic values (Gutta col. 7, ll. 10–40, the focus of the PTZ camera on one of the conference participants, which selects another region (the region of the next speaker) as the specific region, is determined by the audio cues and video cues determined from processing audio signals generated by the array and video image from the PTZ camera) that correspond to the multiple regions, respectively, and are determined by the person recognition circuit, the subsequent hand gesture detection result, the voice characteristic value of the main sound determined by the sound detection circuit (Gutta col. 9, ll. 49–67, col. 10, ll. 62–67, and col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 65, discloses that visual cue identifier and audio cue identifier provide cues to the predictive speaker identifier, each speaker corresponding to one of multiple speaker locations in a room (multiple regions, including from another region different from the specific region), the predictive speaker identifier using the cues via a decision tree to predict the next speaker according to rules considering face detection, hand gesture and a grunt or clearing of the throat, where col. 7, ll. 25–41 teaches directing the PTZ camera to focus on the predicted next speaker per the determined location of the speaker via main sound from sound detection), and
whether the at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises the voice component determined by [the voice activity detection circuit] (Gutta col. 10, l. 62–col. 11, l. 20, audio cue identifier can identify speech from between different speakers, and who is currently speaking to determine who the next speaker may be), wherein no matter whether [the gesture lock for the specific region has ever been disabled], in response to the subsequent hand gesture result, the processing circuit selects said another region from the multiple regions as the specific region (Gutta col. 7, l. 42–col. 8, l. 53, decision tree constructed to determine what combination of visual and audio cues are to signal a speaker change and hence a zoom focus on another conference participant (selects another region), thus, not requiring an unlock or disabling – just that a decision tree path is established for the speaker change detection, where the decision tree path can include a specific gesture such as a raised finger in the example).
As noted above in the rejection rationale for claims 3 and 1 from which claim 6 depends, Gutta does not, but Bytqit teaches the system on a chip, and a PHOSITA would be motivated to combine the teachings of Gutta with Bytqit also for the reasons provided in claims 3 and 1.
Further, Gutta does not explicitly teach, but Veselinovic teaches a voice activity detection circuit, arranged to determine whether at least one part of the multiple sound signals comprises a voice component according to the multiple sound signals (Veselinovic ¶¶70, 76, voice activity detector determines whether there is voice present in an audio signal, where the VAD is part of a conference room system recording multiple human speakers).
Still further, Gutta does not but Kim teaches a gesture lock and whether the gesture lock for the specific region has ever been disabled (Kim ¶¶196–197, gesture locking state is set where any future gestures are not input into the electronic device for detecting, where gesture unlocking can be requested so the device is in a gesture process standby state that will process gesture inputs).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Veselinovic together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the voice activity detection teachings as disclosed and cited above in Veselinovic at least because doing so would provide for a higher quality sound capture and more optimal coverage of sound in a conference environment. See Veselinovic ¶¶7, 8, and 3.
Further, taking the teachings of Gutta as modified above by Bytyqi, and Kim together as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the video conferencing apparatus of Gutta to include the gesture locking and unlocking teachings as disclosed and cited above in Kim at least because doing so would allow for greater control over electronic devices by providing a meaningful service based on a result inferred from context information instead of simply monitoring one sensor input. See Kim ¶¶2, 57.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutta in view of Bytyqi in view of Kim in view of Mousavi, as set forth above regarding claim 1 from which claim 9 depends, and further in view of Tan Wenjun et al., "Dynamic hand gesture recognition using motion trajectories and key frames," 2010 2nd International Conference on Advanced Computer Control, Shenyang, 2010, pp. 163-167, doi: 10.1109/ICACC.2010.5486760 (herein “Tan”).
Regarding claim 9, with deficiencies of Gutta noted in square brackets, Gutta teaches wherein the step of performing the hand gesture detection upon the hand gesture image data in the image data to generate the hand gesture detection result comprises: [performing a human hand recognition upon the image data to generate a human hand recognition result, and obtaining the hand gesture image data from the image data according to the human hand recognition result]; and performing the hand gesture detection upon the hand gesture image data to generate the hand gesture detection result (Gutta col. 7, ll. 12–16 and 45–51, video image from PTZ camera provided to predictive speaker identifier which processes the video to identify predefined visual cues including hand gestures, where col. 10, ll. 45–52 teaches that the hand gestures can be obtained using techniques described in a cited academic paper).
Gutta does not explicitly teach, but Tan teaches performing a human hand recognition upon the image data to generate a human hand recognition result, and obtaining the hand gesture image data from the image data according to the human hand recognition result (Tan page 163, right column, introduction, a system of hand gesture recognition comprised of one part that extracts areas of an image with hands (human hand recognition result), which is detailed in section II, Hand Segmentation on pages 163–164, and a further part that then performs gesture recognition from the hand segmentation results, further detailed in section III, hand gesture recognition).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Gutta and Tan as a whole, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hand gesture detection of Gutta to be include a pre-step of first detecting a human hand as disclosed in Tan, at least because doing so would provide for greater accuracy in gesture detection. See Tan page 166, section IV including results table showing improved recognition rate considering the additional data of key frame detection where a hand is detected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHELLE M. KOETH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/MICHELLE M KOETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671