DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 2/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/5/2026.
Accordingly, claims 1-7, 10 and 12-20 have been examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/26/2023 was filed prior to the mailing date of this action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao.
Regarding claim 13, Gao teaches a method of servicing an autonomous floor cleaner (fig. 4, cleaning robot 1) using a docking station (fig. 4, station 2), the method comprising:
docking the autonomous floor cleaner at the docking station (fig. 4), the docking station having a suction source (power mechanism 205 which provides suction power; third paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation) and a collection tank (fig. 4, the collection tank is interpreted as including elements 202 and 204);
coupling a collection bin (fig. 4, 101) on the autonomous floor cleaner to a dry debris conduit of the docking station (see annotated fig. 4 below) that is in fluid communication with the suction source (fig. 4);
activating the suction source (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation) to generate a debris-laden working air stream through the dry debris conduit (fig. 4) and a liquid-laden working air stream through a wet debris conduit of the docking station (see annotated fig. 4 above and second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation);
moving debris from the collection bin through the dry debris conduit in the debris-laden working air stream (see annotated fig. 4 above and second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation);
depositing debris separated from the debris-laden working air stream in the collection tank (fig. 4, second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation);
moving liquid and wet debris through the wet debris conduit in the liquid-laden working air stream (see annotated fig. 4 above and second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation); and
depositing liquid and wet debris separated from the liquid-laden working air stream in the collection tank (fig. 4, second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 14, Gao teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 13. Additionally, Gao teaches comprising: initiating a pad cleaning cycle after docking the autonomous floor cleaner at the docking station (fig. 4, fifth paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation); and collecting liquid and wet debris from the pad cleaning cycle in a reservoir on the docking station (fig. 4, cleaning area 203).
Regarding claim 17, Gao teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 14. Additionally, Gao teaches wherein the wet debris conduit is in fluid communication with the reservoir (fig. 4), and moving liquid and wet debris through the wet debris conduit in the liquid-laden working air stream comprises removing liquid and wet debris from the reservoir (see fig. 4 and second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao, in view of Brown et al. (WO 2022133174), hereinafter Brown.
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a docking station for a floor cleaner (fig. 4), the docking station comprising:
a reservoir (fig. 4, cleaning area 203) configured to collect liquid and debris from the mopping pad on the floor cleaner (fig. 4, fifth paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation);
a dry debris conduit (see annotated fig. 4 below) including a dry debris inlet and a dry debris outlet (fig. 4), the dry debris conduit configured to be fluidly connected to a collection bin on the floor cleaner (fig. 4, 101);
a wet debris conduit (see annotated fig. 4 above and second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation) including a wet debris inlet and a wet debris outlet (fig. 4), the wet debris conduit fluidly connected to the reservoir (fig. 4);
a suction source (power mechanism 205 which provides suction power; third paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation) fluidly connected to the dry debris outlet and the wet debris outlet (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation), the suction source having an on mode and an off mode (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation); and
at least one collection tank (fig. 4, the collection tank is interpreted as including elements 202 and 204) fluidly connected to the suction source (fig. 4);
wherein, in the on mode, the suction source is configured to put the dry debris conduit and the wet debris conduit under negative pressure (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation), and to generate a debris-laden working air stream through the dry debris conduit and a liquid-laden working air stream through the wet debris conduit contemporaneously (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation).
Gao does not explicitly teach at least one scrubber configured to engage a mopping pad on the floor cleaner to clean the mopping pad.
However, Brown teaches a docking station for an autonomous floor cleaner, and at least one scrubber (fig. 6, scrubbers 136) configured to engage a mopping pad on the floor cleaner to clean the mopping pad, [00149], wherein the mopping pad motor can be powered to rotate the mopping pads through the reservoir to scrub the pads against the scrubbers [00149].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to incorporate the teachings of Brown to provide at least one scrubber configured to engage a mopping pad on the floor cleaner to clean the mopping pad.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the scrubbers of Brown, wherein the pad of Gao is scrubbed via the incorporated scrubbers by rotating the mopping pad against the scrubbers. Doing so would promote cleanliness of the pads of Gao, which promotes cleanliness of the work surface. Additionally, doing so would agitate the pads during cleaning, thereby promoting the cleaning.
Regarding claim 2, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Gao, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one collection tank comprises a single collection tank fluidly connected to the dry debris outlet and the wet debris outlet (fig. 4 of Gao, wherein areas 202 and 204 are interpreted as a “single collection tank”. The claim does not include any additional limitations as to what is required to meet “single collection tank”. Therefore, the interpretation of the areas 202 and 204 as the “single collection tank” qualify under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI)), wherein the suction source is configured to put the collection tank under negative pressure (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 15, Gao teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 14. Gao does not explicitly teach wherein the pad cleaning cycle comprises scrubbing a mopping pad of the autonomous floor cleaner with a scrubber on the docking station.
However, Brown teaches a docking station for an autonomous floor cleaner, wherein the pad cleaning cycle comprises scrubbing a mopping pad of the autonomous floor cleaner with a scrubber (fig. 6, scrubbers 136) on the docking station [00149], wherein the mopping pad motor can be powered to rotate the mopping pads through the reservoir to scrub the pads against the scrubbers [00149].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to incorporate the teachings of Brown to provide wherein the pad cleaning cycle comprises scrubbing a mopping pad of the autonomous floor cleaner with a scrubber on the docking station.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the scrubbers of Brown, wherein the pad of Gao is scrubbed via the incorporated scrubbers by rotating the mopping pad against the scrubbers. Doing so would promote cleanliness of the pads of Gao, which promotes cleanliness of the work surface. Additionally, doing so would agitate the pads during cleaning, thereby promoting the cleaning.
Regarding claim 16, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 15. Additionally, Gao, as modified, teaches wherein the pad cleaning cycle comprises at least one of:
dispensing cleaning fluid toward the mopping pad of the autonomous floor cleaner (third to last paragraph on page 7 of the attached translation of Gao, wherein liquid being supplied to the area 203 is interpreted as dispensing cleaning fluid toward the mopping pad of the autonomous floor cleaner); and
rotating the mopping pad of the autonomous floor cleaner (see rejection of claim 15 for more details, wherein the pads are rotated against the scrubbers).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao, in view of Brown et al. (WO 2022133174), hereinafter Brown, as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Jung et al. (US PGPUB 20120013907), hereinafter Jung.
Regarding claims 3-4, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Gao, as modified, does not explicitly teach
comprising a filter in the collection tank, wherein the filter is disposed fluidly downstream of the dry debris outlet and the wet debris outlet, and upstream of the suction source,
wherein the filter is one of:
a filter bag configured to receive the debris-laden working air stream from the dry debris outlet; and
a pre-motor filter.
However, Jung teaches a robot cleaner and maintenance station wherein a premotor filter 94a is used to separate debris from the airflow (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Gao, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Jung to provide a premotor filter located directly before the suction motor 205 of Gao. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a premotor filter into the device of Gao, as modified. Doing so would promote longevity of the motor and further filter remaining particles from the airflow, thereby promoting cleanliness.
In summary, Gao, as modified, teaches
comprising a filter in the collection tank (incorporated premotor filter of Jung), wherein the filter is disposed fluidly downstream of the dry debris outlet and the wet debris outlet (the filter was incorporated directly before the suction motor of Gao. Therefore, the incorporated filter is disposed fluidly downstream of the dry debris outlet and the wet debris outlet), and upstream of the suction source (the filter was incorporated directly before the suction motor of Gao),
wherein the filter is one of:
a filter bag configured to receive the debris-laden working air stream from the dry debris outlet (the prior art is not required to teach this limitation because the language recites the phrase “is one of”); and
a pre-motor filter (incorporated premotor filter of Jung).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao, in view of Brown et al. (WO 2022133174), hereinafter Brown, as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US PGPUB 20220287537), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 5, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 2. Gao, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the collection tank comprises a cyclonic separator in fluid communication with the dry debris outlet.
However, Wang teaches a base station and cleaning equipment, wherein the base station includes a cyclone separator 70 (fig. 3) for separating the debris from the debris laden working air stream [0044].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Gao, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide wherein the collection tank comprises a cyclonic separator in fluid communication with the dry debris outlet.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a cyclone separator (as taught by Wang) into the dust collecting box of Gao. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known dust separator for another known dust separator to obtain the predictable results of separating debris from the airflow. Additionally, doing so would continue to allow the device to function as intended and separate debris from the air flow.
In summary, Gao, as modified, teaches wherein the collection tank comprises a cyclonic separator (wherein the cyclonic separator of Wang was incorporated into the dust collecting box of Gao) in fluid communication with the dry debris outlet (fig. 4 of Gao, wherein the dust collecting box of Gao is in fluid communication with the dry debris outlet).
Regarding claim 6, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 5. Additionally, Gao, as modified, teaches wherein the wet debris outlet comprises an opening in a side wall of the collection tank (Gao teaches the cleaning area 203 is connected to the sewage collection box 202 and the debris in the cleaning area 203 is sucked into the sewage collection box (second to last paragraph on page 6 of the attached translation). Therefore, Gao, as modified, teaches the wet debris outlet from the wet debris conduit includes an opening in a sidewall of the sewage collection box), the side wall surrounding the cyclonic separator (the side wall is interpreted as including the wall portion which surrounds the incorporated cyclonic separator of Wang).
Regarding claim 7, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 5. Gao, as modified, does not explicitly teach
wherein the cyclone separator comprises:
a debris outlet opening to a collection region within the collection tank; and
a cyclone air outlet in fluid communication with the suction source;
wherein the wet debris outlet is in fluid communication with the cyclone air outlet via the debris outlet.
However, Wang further teaches the cyclone separator comprises:
a debris outlet (fig. 9, area indicated by element 753 is interpreted as a debris outlet) opening to a collection region within the collection tank (Wang teaches separated debris is collected in bottom of space 753 [0072]); and
a cyclone air outlet (outlet 715, fig. 9) in fluid communication with the suction source [0065];
wherein the wet debris outlet (fig. 3, sewage outlet 51 is interpreted as the wet debris outlet) is in fluid communication with the cyclone air outlet via the debris outlet (fig. 3, the air travels from the sewage outlet 51 to the debris outlet (as previously interpreted) and then to the cyclone air outlet).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Gao, as modified, to incorporate the further teachings of Wang to provide
wherein the cyclone separator comprises:
a debris outlet opening to a collection region within the collection tank; and
a cyclone air outlet in fluid communication with the suction source;
wherein the wet debris outlet is in fluid communication with the cyclone air outlet via the debris outlet.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the separation chamber configuration of Wang for the separation chamber configuration of Gao, as modified. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known separation chamber configuration for another known separation chamber configuration to obtain the predictable results of separating debris from the airflow. Additionally, doing so would continue to allow the device to function as intended and separate debris from the airflow.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao, in view of Brown et al. (WO 2022133174), hereinafter Brown, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoobler et al. (US PGPUB 20220400925), hereinafter Hoobler.
Regarding claim 10, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Gao, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one collection tank comprises an openable tank cover selectively covering an opening of the at least one collection tank.
However, Hoobler teaches a docking station including
wherein the at least one collection tank (fig. 2, canister 202, [0037]) comprises an openable tank cover (lid 208, fig. 2, [0037]) selectively covering an opening of the at least one collection tank [0037].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Gao, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hoobler to provide wherein the at least one collection tank comprises an openable tank cover selectively covering an opening of the at least one collection tank. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a releasably securable lid (as taught by Hoobler [0037]) onto the collection tank of Gao. Doing so would allow the operator to selectively access the internal components for maintenance and repair.
Regarding claim 12, Gao, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Gao, as modified, does not explicitly teach comprising charging contacts configured to contact corresponding charging contacts of the floor cleaner to charge a battery of the floor cleaner.
However, Hoobler teaches a docking station comprising charging contacts [0081] configured to contact corresponding charging contacts of the floor cleaner to charge a battery of the floor cleaner [0081].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Gao, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hoobler to provide charging contacts configured to contact corresponding charging contacts of the floor cleaner to charge a battery of the floor cleaner. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the charging contacts (as taught by Hoobler) into the device of Gao, as modified. Doing so would providing a charging function of the cleaner, which would allow the floor cleaner to continue cleaning without operator maintenance, thereby avoiding downtime.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao, in view of Wang et al. (US PGPUB 20220287537), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 18, Gao teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 13. Gao does not explicitly teach comprising cyclonically separating the debris from the debris-laden working air stream.
However, Wang teaches a base station and cleaning equipment, wherein the base station includes a cyclone separator 70 (fig. 3) for separating the debris from the debris laden working air stream [0044].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide comprising cyclonically separating the debris from the debris-laden working air stream. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a cyclone separator (as taught by Wang) into the dust collecting box of Gao. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known dust separator for another known dust separator to obtain the predictable results of separating debris from the airflow. Additionally, doing so would continue to allow the device to function as intended and separate debris from the air flow.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (CN 112386181), hereinafter Gao, in view of Jung et al. (US PGPUB 20120013907), hereinafter Jung.
Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 13. Gao does not explicitly teach comprising separating the debris from the debris-laden working air stream using a filter.
However, Jung teaches a robot cleaner and maintenance station wherein a premotor filter 94a is used to separate debris from the airflow (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to incorporate the teachings of Jung to provide comprising separating the debris from the debris-laden working air stream using a filter. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate a pre motor filter (as taught by Jung) into the device of Gao. Doing so would promote longevity of the motor and further filter remaining particles from the airflow, thereby promoting cleanliness.
Regarding claim 20, Gao teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 13. Gao does not explicitly teach comprising recharging a battery of the autonomous floor cleaner after docking the autonomous floor cleaner at the docking station.
However, Jung teaches a robot cleaner and maintenance station wherein the maintenance station may charge a battery of the robot cleaner [0114].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gao to incorporate the teachings of Jung to provide comprising recharging a battery of the autonomous floor cleaner after docking the autonomous floor cleaner at the docking station. Specifically, it would have been obvious to recharge the battery of the floor cleaner when docked at the docking station. Doing so would allow the floor cleaner to continue cleaning without operator maintenance of the battery, thereby avoiding downtime.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morin et al. (US PGPUB 20200029765) teaches an evacuation station similar to the disclosed invention (fig. 1 and 3).
Wolff et al. (US PGPUB 20220061612) teaches an evacuation dock with fluid management similar to the claimed invention.
/MICHAEL A GUMP/Examiner, Art Unit 3723