Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Newly amended claims 21 and 29 contain new matter as there is no support from the original disclosure for the limitation directed towards “based on a state of charge (SOC) of the battery that is identified as higher than a threshold SOC, … second relative position”. Paragraph 69 of applicants specification supports the battery being identified as lower than a threshold SOC but not higher than a threshold SOC. It is also unclear as to why one would need to convey the guide trajectory information to a user when the battery’s SOC is higher than a threshold SOC. The examiner understands why one would want to provide the desired information when the battery is below a threshold SOC as the electronic device needs to be charged to operate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without adding significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) limitations directed towards mental processes, such as, identifying steps including identifying an external object and identifying the second relative position as claimed. The guide trajectory as claimed can be performed visually where the user uses different reference points including a first and second location as claimed. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no alleged improvement as the claims are directed towards using known sensor and processor means to collect data and to create an output (trajectory guide) by analyzing the input. The examiner notes that limiting the abstract idea to collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to the data has been found to be directed towards patent ineligible subject matter. See Electric Power Group, LLC V. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed Cir. 2016). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of a display, battery, camera, sensor, processor, glass-type wearable device are all known and routine. The claims, as a whole including the dependent claims, are directed towards using certain data and creating guide trajectories using particular data. The examiner maintains that these claims as a whole are patent ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-29, 31-37 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da US-20240185532 in view of Peterson et al 20240325847 and further in view of Rodriguez Bravo (20200042070).
Da shows an electronic device comprising: a display unit, processing unit, sensing means, the use of AR glasses (fig 1 and 5a). Da also discloses a golf ball recognition device 500 to track the golf ball. Da shows in fig 7B a guide trajectory corresponding to a first location 7B to a second location (target location). This guide trajectory is formed by selecting a first and second location as claimed and the guide trajectory helps guide movement of the external object toward the target position (hole). Da does not specifically disclose using a camera to identify an external object but rather uses GPS means to determine an external object. The external object in Da is the player that is detected and based on the player's position on the golf course, the system determines the location of the player on the golf course and creates its guide trajectory. Peterson et al show an electronic device comprising a camera 146, display, processing unit which reads on a communication circuitry, and a sensor fig 5. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the known means (GPS detecting means) of Da with known camera means of Peterson et al to identify an external object. Da discloses factoring in environmental information as well as topography information (paragraph 60). Da discloses that the distance to the target can be measured and that a club selection recommendation can be made (paragraph 60). The examiner interprets that the club selection choice is being made based on the distance to the target as well as other factors that are considered, such as, the environmental conditions, such as, wind (paragraph 61) and the golf course topography. These factors would be entirely obvious to consider when making a golf club selection as these variables are considered when playing the game of golf.
The modifed Da does not show obtaining a guide trajectory by performing at least one of the operations of claimed including providing the information based on the state of charge (SOC) of a battery being identified as lower than or equal to a predetermined threshold. Rodrqiguez Bravo teaches the concept of providing user information to a user device and information regarding the battery charge level when the battery charge level of the user’s device is below a predetermined threshold value. (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further provided Da in view of Peterson with information conveying means based on sensed battery levels as taught by Rodriguez Bravo to provide information to a user when a battery level is deemed low so that the user can obtain the desired information prior to the user’s device running out power. The actual information that is being conveyed to the user is taught by the modified Da and Rodriguez Bravo is merely being used to teach the concept of providing information at particular detected battery levels. Regarding the limitation directed towards based on the SOC being identified as higher than a threshold SOC, this condition would be met with the modified Da as information is conveyed to a user when the battery SOC is above a threshold SOC as the device is fully operational and not in danger of losing its charge with a low battery charge.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to the 101 rejection, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s alleged improvement/technical solution. The additional element of a “battery” is not significantly more than the abstract idea. The alleged technical solution of providing information when a battery is at a low charge is not a technical solution as applicant contends. See 20200042070 which teaches that it is known to provide information to a user based on a low battery charge (see abstract)
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711