DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6 – 10, and 12 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2019/0182481).
As per claim 1, Lee discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising:
deriving a reference sample line for a current block based on index information indicating one of a plurality of reference sample lines (¶ 210);
deriving an intra prediction mode for the current block (¶ 67);
checking whether an intra prediction mode-dependent reference sample filtering condition is satisfied based on the intra prediction mode (¶ 166 – 168; The examiner argues that Lee checks and derives an intra prediction mode that applies reference sample filtering. Applicant provides no specific indication as to what the condition is. The examiner argues that deriving an intra prediction mode that applies reference sample filtering satisfies this condition);
performing a reference sample filtering based on whether the intra prediction mode- dependent reference sample filtering condition is satisfied (¶ 166 - 168);
deriving a filter type for an interpolation to derive prediction samples based on the filtered reference samples, wherein the filtered reference samples are included in the reference sample line (¶ 102);
and deriving prediction samples for the current block by performing the interpolation based on the reference sample line, the intra prediction mode, and the interpolation filter (¶ 74 );
wherein the filter type is derived based on a size of the current block, a shape of the current block, whether an intra prediction mode-dependent reference sample filtering performing condition is satisfied, and the intra prediction mode (¶ 124, 168 and 190), wherein a first filter coefficients set or a second filter coefficients set used for the interpolation filter is selected based on whether the intra prediction mode-dependent reference sample filtering performing condition is satisfied (¶ 102, 168, and 193).
As per claim 3, Lee discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a filter coefficients set is determined based on the filter type (¶ 74 and 166 – 168).
As per claim 4, Lee discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein a filter length and filter coefficients are determined based on the filter type (¶ 192).
As per claim 6, Lee discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the number of taps of the interpolation filter is 4 (¶ 69).
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ikonin (US 10,992,963).
As per claim 5, Lee discloses the image decoding method of claim 1.
However, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the interpolation filter includes a Gaussian filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Ikonin teaches wherein the interpolation filter includes a Gaussian filter (column 12 lines 62 - 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Lee in view of Ikonin. The advantage is improved video coding.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 11.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487