Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Groupie, claims 14-31 in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15 and 30-3are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by US6528123(US’123).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 30, US’123 discloses a ceramic substrate such as partially stabilized zirconia (Partially stabilized zirconia is created by adding small amounts of stabilizing oxides such as yttria (Y₂O₃), magnesia (MgO), calcia (CaO), or ceria (CeO₂) to zirconia (ZrO₂)) treated with a first coating comprising mullite (3Al2O3-2SiO2), a second coating comprising Ti and a third coating comprising at least one non-active meta such as Au or Cu. See col. 5, lines 25-33, lines 64-67, col.6, lines 38-42 and col. 13, line 7.
Regarding claim 31, it is known in the art that partially stabilized zirconia is created by adding small amounts of stabilizing oxides such as yttria (Y₂O₃), magnesia (MgO), calcia (CaO), or ceria (CeO₂) to zirconia (ZrO₂).
Claim(s) 14-17,24-26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20150157862(US’862)
Regarding claims 14-17 and 28, US’862 discloses an implantable medical device comprising: a feed-through assembly with a metallized ceramic substrate that includes: a ceramic substrate comprising zirconium([0163]); a first layer directly contacting the base ceramic substrate( [0175]); a second layer ([0176]) directly contacting the first layer; and a metal layer ([0177]) comprising gold contact the second layer and one or more wire bonded to the metallized ceramic substrate([0174]).
Regarding claim 24, the second layer is ruthenium, rhodium, molybdenum, or iridium. See [0176].
Regarding claim 25, a metal layer ([0177]) comprising gold contact the second layer.
Regarding claim 26, the first layer is 500 to 1000 angstrom ([0178]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18, 20,22-26, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210360794.
Regarding claim 14-18. 20, 22-25 and 28, US’794 discloses an electrical medical implant, comprising an electrical feedthrough, which comprises a substrate and the substrate is completely or partially coated with layers. The substrate comprises a ceramic material such as zirconia. See [0023]. The layers can be inorganic material and/or polymer with inorganic material. The inorganic material can be Al2O3 and Al2TiO5. See [0031], [0032] and [0045]. A further metal coating can be applied to the layer. See [0043].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat the substrate with a first layer of polymer comprising Al2O3(barrier layer), a second layer of polymer with Al2TiO5 (tie layer) coated on the first layer and a third layer of Pt (metallic layer, brazing material) coated on the second layer, motivated by the fact that US’794 discloses that the layers can be polymer with inorganic material and selecting Al2O3 and Al2TiO5 from a list of inorganic material is within the skill of one of the ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 23, inorganic material alumina is used.
Regarding claim 26, the layer has a thickness of approximately 1 μm to 50 μm. See [0006].
Claim(s) 19, 21, 27 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210360794 as applied to claim 14 or 16 above, and further in view of US20070067007.
US20210360794 discloses the substrate and the medical device set forth above. But it is silent about the specific ceramic set forth in the claims 19,21, 27 and 29-31.
US20070067007 discloses that ceramics, such as zirconia, more specifically stabilized-zirconia, partially-stabilized zirconia, tetragonal zirconia polycrystal, magnesia-stabilized zirconia, ceria-stabilized zirconia, yttria-stabilized zirconia, and calcia-stabilized zirconia, as well as silicon, sapphire, alumina are suitable fs substrate or implant device. See [0040].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the claimed stabilized-zirconia, partially-stabilized zirconia, tetragonal zirconia polycrystal, magnesia-stabilized zirconia, ceria-stabilized zirconia, yttria-stabilized zirconia, and calcia-stabilized zirconia, motivated by the fact that US20210360794 discloses using zirconia as substrate and US20070067007 discloses that ceramics, such as zirconia, more specifically stabilized-zirconia, partially-stabilized zirconia, tetragonal zirconia polycrystal, magnesia-stabilized zirconia, ceria-stabilized zirconia, yttria-stabilized zirconia, and calcia-stabilized zirconia, as well as silicon, sapphire, alumina are suitable fs substrate or implant device. See [0040].
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731