DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 and 14-20 in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
At this time the restriction is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the video transform” on line 1. This lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1 refers to a “calibration transform” and a “video georegistration transform.” It is unclear to which transform the “video transform” refers.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “the video transform” on line 1. This lacks antecedent basis. Claim 14 refers to a “calibration transform” and a “video georegistration transform.” It is unclear to which transform the “video transform” refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 14-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matei (“Robust Video Georegistration in the Presence of Significant Appearance Changes”).
Regarding claim 1, Matei teaches:
A method for video georegistration, the method comprising:
receiving an input video including a plurality of video frames; (Matei, Figure 8.1, Video)
calibrating a first set of video frames selected from the plurality of video frames to generate a first set of calibrated video frames using a calibration transform; (Matei page 183, The reference imagery is projected to the coordinate system of the video frame using the available telemetry. The projection accounts for most of the perspective effects and if the scene is flat or the error in the location is relatively small, yields a relationship between the video and the rendered reference given by a homography transformation)
performing one or more reference georegistrations to a second set of video frames selected from the plurality of video frames to generate a video georegistration transform using the second set of video frames, the second set of video frames having fewer video frames than the first set of video frames; (Matei page 184, Putative matches between the video and the rendered reference are established by using correlation of key frames filtered with oriented energy filters such as points and lines….) and
generating an output video using the calibration transform and the video georegistration transform, (Matei, page 184, parametric alignment providing consistent registration are obtained by using a bundle adjustment optimization using frame-to-frame constraints and video-to-reference correspondences. See also Figure 8.1)
wherein the method is performed using one or more processors. (Matei, page 195 processor)
Regarding claim 2, Matei teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the video transform includes one or more video frame transforms corresponding to the second set of video frames. (Matei page 184, Putative matches between the video and the rendered reference are established by using correlation of key frames filtered with oriented energy filters such as points and lines….)
Regarding claim 4, Matei teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the calibrating is processed at a first frame rate. (Matei page 183, The reference imagery is projected to the coordinate system of the video frame using the available telemetry. The projection accounts for most of the perspective effects and if the scene is flat or the error in the location is relatively small, yields a relationship between the video and the rendered reference given by a homography transformation)
Regarding claim 6, Matei teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the calibrating is performed based on historical telemetry data. (Matei page 183, The reference imagery is projected to the coordinate system of the video frame using the available telemetry. The projection accounts for most of the perspective effects and if the scene is flat or the error in the location is relatively small, yields a relationship between the video and the rendered reference given by a homography transformation)
Regarding claim 8, Matei teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the input video comprises satellite imagery. (Matei, see Fig 8.9)
Regarding claim 14, Matei teaches:
A system for video georegistration, the system comprising:
one or more processors; (Matei, page 195 processor) and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising: (Matei, page 195 processor and programmed chip)
receiving an input video including a plurality of video frames; (Matei, Figure 8.1, Video)
calibrating a first set of video frames selected from the plurality of video frames to generate a first set of calibrated video frames using a calibration transform; (Matei page 183, The reference imagery is projected to the coordinate system of the video frame using the available telemetry. The projection accounts for most of the perspective effects and if the scene is flat or the error in the location is relatively small, yields a relationship between the video and the rendered reference given by a homography transformation)
performing one or more reference georegistrations to a second set of video frames selected from the plurality of video frames to generate a video georegistration transform using the second set of video frames, the second set of video frames having fewer video frames than the first set of video frames; (Matei page 184, Putative matches between the video and the rendered reference are established by using correlation of key frames filtered with oriented energy filters such as points and lines….) and
generating an output video using the calibration transform and the video georegistration transform. (Matei, page 184, parametric alignment providing consistent registration are obtained by using a bundle adjustment optimization using frame-to-frame constraints and video-to-reference correspondences. See also Figure 8.1)
Regarding claim 15, Matei teaches:
The system of claim 14, wherein the video transform includes one or more video frame transforms corresponding to the second set of video frames. (Matei page 184, Putative matches between the video and the rendered reference are established by using correlation of key frames filtered with oriented energy filters such as points and lines….)
Regarding claim 17, Matei teaches:
The system of claim 14, wherein the calibrating is processed at a first frame rate. (Matei page 183, The reference imagery is projected to the coordinate system of the video frame using the available telemetry. The projection accounts for most of the perspective effects and if the scene is flat or the error in the location is relatively small, yields a relationship between the video and the rendered reference given by a homography transformation)
Regarding claim 19, Matei teaches:
The system of claim 14, wherein the calibrating is performed based on historical telemetry data. (Matei page 183, The reference imagery is projected to the coordinate system of the video frame using the available telemetry. The projection accounts for most of the perspective effects and if the scene is flat or the error in the location is relatively small, yields a relationship between the video and the rendered reference given by a homography transformation)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7, 16, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666