DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed under 37 CFR §1.53(d) for the instant application on April 9, 2026. Applicants have properly set forth the RCE, which has been entered into the application, and an examination on the merits follows herewith.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended; claims 4 and 14 are canceled; and claims 1-3, 5-13 and 15-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (U.S. 2022/0299261) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,991,724).
With regards to claim 1, Salter teaches an apparatus for controlling a vehicle ([abstract] vehicle includes a controller that controls a supply of power from a battery of the vehicle), the apparatus comprising:
a relay ([0035] The BCM 66 is coupled to circuits to, for example, drive relays; [0041] and [0042] supplying power to the cooling system 40 may include controlling a drive relay or smart driver to supply current to power the cooling system 40) configured to be controlled to close to supply a power from a battery to an electric field load ([0059] moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening, a cooling system fluidly coupled with the chamber, and a controller that controls a supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on at least one output signal received from a vehicle component; [0061] wherein the vehicle component comprises a sensor that provides an output signal indicative of an open or closed status of the lift gate, and wherein the controller controls the supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on the output signal; [0074] the controlling the supply of power comprises continuing to supply power to the cooling system when a motor of the vehicle is stopped when at least one of the following conditions are satisfied: the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions) or be controlled to open to block the power ([0033] the controller 50 can stop/prevent power being supplied to the cooling system 40…Not supplying power to the cooling system 40 in this situation (until the second predetermined threshold is satisfied) can provide a power saving feature; [0038] when the lift gate 20 is moved between the closed and open positions. The controller 50 can use the output signal from the lift gate sensor 74 to control the supply of power to the cooling system 40; [0048] when the vehicle 10 is close to or at the final trip destination, it may be preferable to stop supplying power to the cooling system 40 when the vehicle motor 24 is turned off. The method 400 can be utilized in this exemplary scenario, and others, to control the supply of power to the cooling system 40 based at least in part on the geographical location of the vehicle 10),
a sensor ([0004] a door sensor; [0030] The vehicle components 60 can include a sensor assembly 62) configured to detect a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery ([0030] a vehicle battery state of charge sensor 72, a lift gate sensor 74, and a communication module 76; [0037] The vehicle battery state of charge sensor 72 can provide an output signal to the controller 50 regarding a state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26) and opening and closing of a door of the vehicle ([0003] a door coupled with the refrigerated compartment and moveable between open and closed positions; [0026] The vehicle 10 also includes a lift gate 20 that can be opened and closed to provide access to a rear area of the vehicle 10. While the lift gate 20 is illustrated as a rear door that pivots open and closed about a horizontal hinge axis, the lift gate 20 can be any type of rear door that provides access to a rear area of the vehicle 10; [0028] The refrigerated compartment 30 includes a door 38 that is moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening 36); and
a controller ([0029] the vehicle 10 includes a controller 50 having a processor 52 and a memory 54) configured to control the relay based on the power supplied from the battery or a power of an external electronic device ([0056] inside the refrigerated compartment 30, may be low enough that there is no need to waste energy powering up the electronics to operate the refrigerated compartment 30; [0059] moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening, a cooling system fluidly coupled with the chamber, and a controller that controls a supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on at least one output signal received from a vehicle component; [0061] wherein the vehicle component comprises a sensor that provides an output signal indicative of an open or closed status of the lift gate, and wherein the controller controls the supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on the output signal; [0074] the controlling the supply of power comprises continuing to supply power to the cooling system when a motor of the vehicle is stopped when at least one of the following conditions are satisfied: the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions; [0083] one or more data links that enable the transport of electronic data between computer systems and/or modules and/or other electronic devices),
wherein when the controller concludes that the SOC value of the battery is less than a first reference value ([0044] the battery state of charge threshold may be greater than 40% and the threshold for the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 has been stopped may be less than 10 minutes; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold; [0053] If the battery state of charge is determined to be below the predetermined voltage threshold at step 446, the method 400 can proceed to step 450 and notify the user that the state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the threshold) and that the door is opened ([0041] the method 200 determines if the door 38 of the refrigerated compartment 30 has been opened; [0043] at step 214 the method 200 utilizes the elapsed time period that the cooling system 40 was drawing power since the door 38 was opened to infer the relative temperature of the items placed in the chamber 34), the controller is configured to control the relay to close ([0026] the vehicle 10 also includes a lift gate 20 that can be opened and closed to provide access to a rear area of the vehicle 10; [0038] The lift gate sensor 74 can provide an output signal to the controller 50 regarding an open/closed status of the lift gate 20. In some examples, the lift gate sensor 74 provides an output signal to the controller 50 when the lift gate 20 is moved between the closed and open positions; [0049] At step 410, the method 400 determines if the door 38 has been closed… If the method 400 determines that the door 38 to the refrigerated compartment 30 is closed, the method 400 proceeds to step 410) for charging the battery with the power supplied from the external electronic device ([0037] The output signal from the vehicle battery state of charge sensor 72 can be used by the controller 50 to control the supply of power to the cooling system 40; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold), and
wherein the controller is configured to determine, within a predetermined time period ([0072] an output signal by the controller indicative of an elapsed time period) after controlling the relay to close ([0072] an output signal by the controller indicative of an elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since a door of the storage chamber was moved between open and closed positions… the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions is less than a first threshold value, a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value, and an elapsed time period since the vehicle motor was stopped is less than a third threshold value); and
wherein the controller is configured to control the relay to open ([0003] a refrigerated compartment comprising a chamber having an access opening, a door coupled with the refrigerated compartment and moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening; [0028] an access opening 36 providing access to the chamber 34. The refrigerated compartment 30 includes a door 38 that is moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening 36; [0038] the controller 50 may determine an elapsed period of time that the lift gate 20 has been in the open position and control the supply of power to the cooling system 40 based on the length of time the lift gate 20 has been in the open position). However, Salter does not specifically teach:
- whether the battery is being charged using the power supplied from the external electronic device;
- when the controller concludes that the battery is not being charged within the predetermined time period after controlling the relay to close for charging the battery based on the power supplied from the external electronic device
Kim teaches a battery management system for a vehicle to prevent current consumption of a battery by operating a relay connected between the battery and electronic loads to prevent an over-discharge of the battery [abstract]. Kim also teaches that the battery is being charged using the power supplied from the external electronic device ([abstract] a relay that is connected between the battery for the vehicle and electronic units of the vehicle; [col. 1, lines 45-50] a battery for a vehicle which is installed between the electronic devices for the vehicle and the battery for the vehicle and prevents a power supply to the electronic devices for the vehicle; [col. 3, lines 1-10] includes hybrid vehicles, electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles… a hybrid vehicle is a vehicle that has two or more sources of power, for example both gasoline-powered and electric-powered vehicles; [col. 4, lines 31-44] The relay 110, which may be configured to turn a current on or off between the battery and the electronic units, may be configured to prevent an over-charge or an over-discharge of the battery and prevent consumption of the current of the battery by dark currents flowing in the electronic units). Kim further teaches when the controller concludes that the battery is not being charged within the predetermined time period ([col. 2, lines 25-30] When the battery is not charged within a predefined standby time after the on-switch turns on the relay, the controller may be configured to turn off the relay. When the battery is not charged within a predefined standby time after the on-switch turns on the relay) after controlling the relay to close for charging the battery based on the power supplied from the external electronic device ([col. 2, lines 25-30] When the battery is not charged within a predefined standby time after the on-switch turns on the relay, the controller may be configured to turn off the relay; [col. 2, lines 41-50] When the battery for the vehicle does not start to be charged within a predefined standby time after the turning on of the relay, the turning off of the relay may be repeated). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the relay controlled to close to supply of power as taught by Salter, with the battery management system taught by Kim, to have achieved a battery management system for a vehicle and a controlling method thereof, and more particularly, to a technology of controlling a relay between a battery and electronic loads.
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the relay to open, when the controller concludes that the external electronic device is not connected to the apparatus ([0034] A user may interact with the navigation system 64 through the HMI 68 and/or through a remote user interface (e.g., user's mobile device, tablet, smart phone, smart watch, etc.). In some examples, navigation information (e.g., drive route) may be inferred based on historical data accumulated from prior drive routes) within a predetermined time period after controlling the relay to close when the lift gate 20 is moved between the closed and open positions ([0038] when the lift gate 20 is moved between the closed and open positions…the controller 50 may determine an elapsed period of time that the lift gate 20 has been in the open position and control the supply of power to the cooling system 40 based on the length of time the lift gate 20 has been in the open position) based on the power supplied from the battery ([0042] the state of charge (“SOC”) of the vehicle battery system 26 is greater than a predetermined threshold value and (b) the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 stopped at step 212 is less than a predetermined threshold. The vehicle battery state of charge can be determined at step 216 based on an output signal received by the controller 50 from the battery state of charge sensor 72).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein when the controller concludes that external charging device is connected to the apparatus within the predetermined time period after controlling the relay to close based on the power supplied from the battery ([0059] moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening, a cooling system fluidly coupled with the chamber, and a controller that controls a supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on at least one output signal received from a vehicle component; [0061] wherein the vehicle component comprises a sensor that provides an output signal indicative of an open or closed status of the lift gate, and wherein the controller controls the supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on the output signal; [0074] the controlling the supply of power comprises continuing to supply power to the cooling system when a motor of the vehicle is stopped when at least one of the following conditions are satisfied: the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions), the controller is configured to determine whether the battery is being charged depending on whether a charging current supplied from the external charging device is greater than or equal io a reference value ([0042] the state of charge (“SOC”) of the vehicle battery system 26 is greater than a predetermined threshold value and (b) the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 stopped at step 212 is less than a predetermined threshold. The vehicle battery state of charge can be determined at step 216 based on an output signal received by the controller 50 from the battery state of charge sensor 72).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the relay to open, when the controller concludes that the SOC value of the battery is greater than or equal to a second reference value greater than the first reference value due to charging of the battery using the power supplied from the external electronic device ([0042] the state of charge (“SOC”) of the vehicle battery system 26 is greater than a predetermined threshold value and (b) the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 stopped at step 212 is less than a predetermined threshold. The vehicle battery state of charge can be determined at step 216 based on an output signal received by the controller 50 from the battery state of charge sensor 72; [0071] a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the SOC value of the battery is greater than a third reference value less than the second reference value, when the controller concludes that a connection of the external electronic device to the apparatus is released after controlling the relay to open ([0042] the state of charge (“SOC”) of the vehicle battery system 26 is greater than a predetermined threshold value and (b) the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 stopped at step 212 is less than a predetermined threshold. The vehicle battery state of charge can be determined at step 216 based on an output signal received by the controller 50 from the battery state of charge sensor 72; [0071] a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the relay to close ([0038] when the lift gate 20 is moved between the closed and open positions…the controller 50 may determine an elapsed period of time that the lift gate 20 has been in the open position and control the supply of power to the cooling system 40 based on the length of time the lift gate 20 has been in the open position), when the controller concludes that the SOC value of the battery is greater than the third reference value less than the second reference value ([0071] a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value, and an elapsed time period since the vehicle motor was stopped is less than a third threshold value; [0072] the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions is less than a first threshold value, a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value, and an elapsed time period since the vehicle motor was stopped is less than a third threshold value).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the relay to open, when the controller concludes that the SOC value of the battery is less than or equal to the third reference value less than the second reference value ([0044] the battery state of charge threshold may be greater than 40% and the threshold for the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 has been stopped may be less than 10 minutes; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold; [0053] If the battery state of charge is determined to be below the predetermined voltage threshold at step 446, the method 400 can proceed to step 450 and notify the user that the state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the threshold).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a connection of the external electronic device to the apparatus is released ([0039] the communication module 76 is configured to communicate with a remote user interface (e.g., mobile device, smart phone, smart watch, tablet, etc.) via the external network to allow the user to provide information to the controller 50 and/or receive information from the controller 50), when the controller concludes that the SOC value of the battery is less than a second reference value greater than the first reference value due to charging of the battery using the power supplied from the external electronic device ([0044] the battery state of charge threshold may be greater than 40% and the threshold for the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 has been stopped may be less than 10 minutes; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold; [0053] If the battery state of charge is determined to be below the predetermined voltage threshold at step 446, the method 400 can proceed to step 450 and notify the user that the state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the threshold).
With regard to claim 10, the limitations are addressed above and Salter teaches wherein the controller is configured to charge the battery using the power supplied from the external electronic device, when the controller concludes that the connection of the external electronic device to the apparatus is not released ([0039] the communication module 76 is configured to communicate with a remote user interface (e.g., mobile device, smart phone, smart watch, tablet, etc.) via the external network to allow the user to provide information to the controller 50 and/or receive information from the controller 50), in a state where the SOC value of the battery is less than the second reference value greater than the first reference value ([0042] the state of charge (“SOC”) of the vehicle battery system 26 is greater than a predetermined threshold value and (b) the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 stopped at step 212 is less than a predetermined threshold. The vehicle battery state of charge can be determined at step 216 based on an output signal received by the controller 50 from the battery state of charge sensor 72; [0071] a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value).
With regard to claim 11, Salter teaches a method for controlling a vehicle ([abstract] vehicle includes a controller that controls a supply of power from a battery of the vehicle), the method including:
determining whether a state of charge (SOC) value of the battery is less than a first reference value ([0042] If the elapsed time counted at step 210 is less than the predetermined threshold value, then the method 200 proceeds to step 216. At step 216, the method 200 determines if: (b) the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 stopped at step 212 is less than a predetermined threshold; [0044] the battery state of charge threshold for the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 has been stopped may be less than 10 minutes. The controller 50 can be provided with a look-up table or algorithm that changes one or both of the threshold values at step 216 based on the state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26; [0053] If the battery state of charge is determined to be below the predetermined voltage threshold at step 446, the method 400 can proceed to step 450 and notify the user that the state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the threshold);
controlling, by a controller of an apparatus for controlling the vehicle ([0029] the vehicle 10 includes a controller 50 having a processor 52 and a memory 54), a relay of the apparatus ([0035] The BCM 66 is coupled to circuits to, for example, drive relays; [0041] and [0042] supplying power to the cooling system 40 may include controlling a drive relay or smart driver to supply current to power the cooling system 40) to close based on a power supplied from a battery of the apparatus or a power supplied from an external electronic device ([0059] moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening, a cooling system fluidly coupled with the chamber, and a controller that controls a supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on at least one output signal received from a vehicle component; [0061] wherein the vehicle component comprises a sensor that provides an output signal indicative of an open or closed status of the lift gate, and wherein the controller controls the supply of power from the vehicle battery system to the cooling system based on the output signal; [0074] the controlling the supply of power comprises continuing to supply power to the cooling system when a motor of the vehicle is stopped when at least one of the following conditions are satisfied: the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions); and
charging, by the controller, the battery with the power supplied from the external electronic device ([0037] The output signal from the vehicle battery state of charge sensor 72 can be used by the controller 50 to control the supply of power to the cooling system 40; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold),
wherein when the controller concludes that the SOC value of the battery is less than the first reference value ([0044] the battery state of charge threshold may be greater than 40% and the threshold for the elapsed time since the vehicle motor 24 has been stopped may be less than 10 minutes; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold; [0053] If the battery state of charge is determined to be below the predetermined voltage threshold at step 446, the method 400 can proceed to step 450 and notify the user that the state of charge of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the threshold) and a door is opened ([0041] the method 200 determines if the door 38 of the refrigerated compartment 30 has been opened; [0043] at step 214 the method 200 utilizes the elapsed time period that the cooling system 40 was drawing power since the door 38 was opened to infer the relative temperature of the items placed in the chamber 34), the controller is configured to control the relay to close ([0026] the vehicle 10 also includes a lift gate 20 that can be opened and closed to provide access to a rear area of the vehicle 10; [0038] The lift gate sensor 74 can provide an output signal to the controller 50 regarding an open/closed status of the lift gate 20. In some examples, the lift gate sensor 74 provides an output signal to the controller 50 when the lift gate 20 is moved between the closed and open positions; [0049] At step 410, the method 400 determines if the door 38 has been closed… If the method 400 determines that the door 38 to the refrigerated compartment 30 is closed, the method 400 proceeds to step 410) for charging the battery with the power supplied from the external electronic device ([0037] The output signal from the vehicle battery state of charge sensor 72 can be used by the controller 50 to control the supply of power to the cooling system 40; [0047] if the controller 50 determines that the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 is less than the predetermined voltage threshold, then the controller 50 can start the vehicle motor 24 to increase the voltage of the vehicle battery system 26 to voltage at or above the predetermined voltage threshold), and
wherein the controller is configured to determine, within a predetermined time period ([0072] an output signal by the controller indicative of an elapsed time period) after controlling the relay to close ([0072] an output signal by the controller indicative of an elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since a door of the storage chamber was moved between open and closed positions… the elapsed time period that the cooling system has been operating since the door was moved between open and closed positions is less than a first threshold value, a state of charge of the vehicle battery system is above a second threshold value, and an elapsed time period since the vehicle motor was stopped is less than a third threshold value); and
wherein the controller is configured to control the relay to open ([0003] a door coupled with the refrigerated compartment and moveable between open and closed positions; [0026] The vehicle 10 also includes a lift gate 20 that can be opened and closed to provide access to a rear area of the vehicle 10. While the lift gate 20 is illustrated as a rear door that pivots open and closed about a horizontal hinge axis, the lift gate 20 can be any type of rear door that provides access to a rear area of the vehicle 10; [0028] The refrigerated compartment 30 includes a door 38 that is moveable between open and closed positions relative to the access opening 36). However, Salter does not specifically teach:
- whether the battery is being charged using the power supplied from the external electronic device;
- when the controller concludes that the battery is not being charged within the predetermined time period after controlling the relay to close for charging the battery based on the power supplied from the external electronic device
Kim teaches a battery management system for a vehicle to prevent current consumption of a battery by operating a relay connected between the battery and electronic loads to prevent an over-discharge of the battery [abstract]. Kim also teaches that the battery is being charged using the power supplied from the external electronic device ([abstract] a relay that is connected between the battery for the vehicle and electronic units of the vehicle; [col. 1, lines 45-50] a battery for a vehicle which is installed between the electronic devices for the vehicle and the battery for the vehicle and prevents a power supply to the electronic devices for the vehicle; [col. 3, lines 1-10] includes hybrid vehicles, electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles… a hybrid vehicle is a vehicle that has two or more sources of power, for example both gasoline-powered and electric-powered vehicles; [col. 4, lines 31-44] The relay 110, which may be configured to turn a current on or off between the battery and the electronic units, may be configured to prevent an over-charge or an over-discharge of the battery and prevent consumption of the current of the battery by dark currents flowing in the electronic units). Kim further teaches when the controller concludes that the battery is not being charged within the predetermined time period ([col. 2, lines 25-30] When the battery is not charged within a predefined standby time after the on-switch turns on the relay, the controller may be configured to turn off the relay. When the battery is not charged within a predefined standby time after the on-switch turns on the relay) after controlling the relay to close for charging the battery based on the power supplied from the external electronic device ([col. 2, lines 25-30] When the battery is not charged within a predefined standby time after the on-switch turns on the relay, the controller may be configured to turn off the relay; [col. 2, lines 41-50] When the battery for the vehicle does not start to be charged within a predefined standby time after the turning on of the relay, the turning off of the relay may be repeated). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the relay controlled to close to supply of power as taught by Salter, with the battery management system taught by Kim, to have achieved a battery management system for a vehicle and a controlling method thereof, and more particularly, to a technology of controlling a relay between a battery and electronic loads.
With regard to claim 12, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 13, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 15, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 16, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 17, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 7, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 18, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 8, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 19, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 9, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 20, the method claim corresponds to the apparatus claim 10, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Kim reference was added as it teaches a battery management system for controlling vehicles and controlling a relay between the battery and electronic loads.
Conclusion
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171