DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Action of the instant application 18/226,675 (hereinafter the ‘675 application), filed 7/26/2023 and assigned to Tencent Technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vukas et al., U.S. Publication No. 2015/0205882, hereinafter Vukas in further view of Celik, U.S. Publication No. 2005/0114761, in further view of Iwami et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,068,148, hereinafter Iwami.
With regard to claims 1, 8, and 15, which teach “A method for executing a target program performed by a computer device, the method comprising: displaying a user interface of a simulator, the user interface including a program page of the target program; enabling a barrier-free access mode of the target program in the simulator, in response to an enabling operation of the barrier-free access mode; and displaying information of barrier-free access on a page element in the program page of the target program in the barrier-free access mode”;
Vukas teaches a system, device, and computer program tangibly stored and executed for simulating operation of at target program / website via a simulator, where within the simulator the user may enable a accessibility mode wherein a user that is vision impaired can still perceive the material presented in the program / website (see paragraphs 9, 34, 38, 43, 48, 55). In this accessibility mode the designer / user is able to see the program / website as someone with a disability would see it.
Vukas is not specific about how the transition between modes occurs. Celik provides for a system for rendering alternate content for someone with a visual impairment by providing larger text, audio descriptions of image content, audio descriptions, etc. (see paragraph 2), similar to that of Vukas, but further teaches a toggle button and identification on screen of which mode the user is currently viewing the program in “accessibility mode” or “normal mode” (see paragraphs 20, 33, and 34 and figures 3 and 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the accessibility simulation and testing system of Vukas with the ability to switch modes as is done in Celik, as Celik provides an alternate art recognize means of transition between content.
Though Celik provides a button from transitioning between “accessibility mode” or “normal mode” it does so primarily through selection of a button on a remote controller rather than an on screen option selection. Iwami teaches a system for transitioning between “accessibility mode” or “normal mode”, similar to that of Vukas and Celik but further specifically teaches on screen controls for selective transitioning between viewing states (see 2:5-12 and 29:53-63 and figure 17). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the accessibility simulation and testing system of Vukas and Celik with the ability to switch modes via an on screen control button as is done in Iwami, as Iwami provides an alternate art recognize means of transition between content.
With regard to claims 2, 9, and 16, which teach “wherein the displaying information of barrier-free access on a page element in the program page of the target program in the barrier-free access mode comprises: displaying a first trigger control of the barrier-free access mode on the user interface of the simulator; and displaying audio information of the barrier-free access on the page element in the program page of the target program, in response to a trigger operation for the first trigger control”; each of Vukas, Celik, and Iwami describe above system for enabling transitioning between “normal” operating modes and “accessibility” operating modes, including the displaying of an on screen button to enable an “accessibility” feature. Celik further explicitly teaches toggling on an accessibility feature that transitions from displaying a picture to presenting the words that would be read to a visually impaired user describing the image (see paragraph 35-37 and figures 5-7). It would further be obvious to use the image to (spoken) text translation, of Celik in the system of Vukas and Iwami as it provides an alternate added means for accessibility to provide to a user that is completely blind.
With regard to claims 3, 10, and 17, which teach “wherein the program page comprises at least one page element with the audio information; and the displaying the audio information of the barrier-free access on the page element in the program page of the target program comprises: displaying first annotation boxes on all or part of the page elements in the program page of the target program, the audio information of the page elements being displayed on the first annotation boxes”; each of Vukas, Celik, and Iwami describe above system for enabling transitioning between “normal” operating modes and “accessibility” operating modes, including the displaying of an on screen button to enable an “accessibility” feature. Celik further explicitly teaches toggling on an accessibility feature that transitions from displaying a picture, in a rendered box/frame, to presenting the words that would be read to a visually impaired user describing the image, in a rendered box/frame or partially overlapping box/frame (see paragraph 35-37 and figures 5-7).
With regard to claims 4, 11, and 18, which teach “ wherein the displaying information of barrier-free access on a page element in the program page of the target program in the barrier-free access mode comprises: displaying a second trigger control of the barrier-free access mode on the user interface of the simulator, the function bar comprising a second trigger control; displaying operable area information of the barrier-free access on the page element in the program page of the target program, in response to a trigger operation for the second trigger control”; each of Vukas, Celik, and Iwami describe above system for enabling transitioning between “normal” operating modes and “accessibility” operating modes, including the displaying of an on screen button to enable an “accessibility” feature. Vukas further describes presenting a user interface to the designer / user, who has full ability to see, as it would be presented to a person with a visual impairment (see paragraph 43), this is shown in the art to include larger text / larger selection zones to enable user with visual deficiencies to more easily see and select content. This enlargement / adaptation is further said to include the border regions of display elements or the frame (see paragraph 34).
With regard to claims 5, 12, and 19, which teach “wherein the program page comprises at least one page element that supports a human-machine interaction operation; and the displaying the operable area information of the barrier-free access on the page element in the program page of the target program comprises: displaying second annotation boxes on all or part of the page elements in the program page of the target program, the operable area information of the page elements being displayed on the second annotation boxes”; each of Vukas, Celik, and Iwami describe above system for enabling transitioning between “normal” operating modes and “accessibility” operating modes, including the displaying of an on screen button to enable an “accessibility” feature. Vukas further describes presenting a user interface to the designer / user, who has full ability to see, as it would be presented to a person with a visual impairment (see paragraph 43), this is shown in the art to include larger text / larger selection zones to enable user with visual deficiencies to more easily see and select content. This enlargement / adaptation is further said to include the border regions of display elements or the frame (see paragraph 34).
With regard to claims 6 and 13, which teach “wherein the displaying information of barrier-free access on a page element in the program page of the target program in the barrier-free access mode comprises: displaying a first trigger control and a second trigger control of the barrier-free access mode on the user interface of the simulator; and displaying a mixed annotation box on the page element in the program page of the target program in response to a trigger operation for the first trigger control and the second trigger control, the mixed annotation box including operable area information and audio information of the barrier-free access”;
<<< see combined features of above noted 2, 4, 9, 11,16, and 18 >>>
Here one of ordinary skill in the art would provide both adaptation together as each better enables a user of impaired vision to better and more completely perceive the content.
With regard to claims 7, 14, and 20, which teach “wherein the enabling a barrier-free access mode of the target program in the simulator comprises: injecting a script in a simulator plug-in into a rendering layer code of the target program to run, the simulator plug-in being configured to provide a function of the barrier-free access mode; and rendering the program page of the target program after the script is injected”; Vukas further teaches use of a script to simulate a plurality of user interactions with a website / program to see how the program would reaction a checking the response against an expected response (see paragraphs 38-41). Vukas further captures screen shots of operation of the accessibility program in operation (see paragraph 9).
Summary
Claims 1-20 are REJECTED.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Geffin et al., U.S. Publication No. 2012/0053925; Devi et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0155234.
/DENNIS G BONSHOCK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992