DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claims are rejected as follows:
Claims 1–3, 8, 12–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, CN 111006329 A (“Xu”)1 in view of Conrad et al., US 2019/0145655 A1 (“Conrad”).
Regarding claim 1:
Xu discloses that a fan filter assembly (as shown in Xu Fig. 1, p. 4), comprising:
a main housing (Xu’s heating ventilating and air condition body 1, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4) comprising a first opening (left opening of Xu’s HVAC body 1, Xu Fig. 1) and a second opening (right opening of Xu’s HVAC body 1, Xu Fig. 1);
a fan (Xu’s blower 3, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4) configured be disposed within and removably coupled to the main housing (as shown in Fig. 1, Xu’s blower 3 is disposed within the main housing 1, and would be removable the same way as it is assembled, Xu Fig. 1);
a first filter housing (Xu’s connecting frame 205, Xu Fig. 6, p. 5) configured to couple to the main housing adjacent to the first opening (Xu discloses its connecting frame 205 is coupled to HVAC body 1 via mounting slot 209 at first opening, Xu Figs. 1, 6 and 8, p. 5), wherein the first filter housing (205 of Xu) is configured to support a first filter (as best shown in Figs. 1 and 8, Xu p. 5).
Xu discloses a second filter 4 adjacent to the second opening, Xu Fig. 1, p. 5.
Xu does not explicitly disclose a second filter housing configured to removably couple to the main housing adjacent to the second opening, wherein the second filter housing is configured to support a second filter, wherein the second filter housing is removable from the main housing to enable access to the fan via the second opening.
In the analogous art of air filters for HVAC systems, Conrad discloses a filter assembly 100, Conrad Fig. 1, [0096]. Conrad’s filter assembly 100 comprising a main housing (Conrad’s conduit 10, Conrad Fig. 2, [0098]),
and a filter housing (Conrad’s frame 55, Conrad Fig. 2, [0102]) configured to removably couple to Conrad’s main housing (10 of Conrad), Conrad’s filter housing (55 on Conrad) is configured to support Conrad’s filter (Conrad’s filter media 59, Conrad Fig. 2, [0101]),
and Conrad’s second filter housing is removable (as shown in Fig. 2 of Conrad) from the main housing (10 of Conrad) to enable access to the fan via a second opening (as shown in Conrad Fig. 10, where filter has to be removed to access to fan 20b, Conrad Fig. 10, [0156]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adopt Conrad’s removable housing design in Xu for the benefit of easy access to fan and convenience of replacing filters.
Regarding claim 2:
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the fan (3 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1) is configured to draw an air flow through the first filter (2 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1) in the first filter housing (205 of Xu, Xu Fig. 6) and into the main housing (1 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1) via the first opening (left opening of Xu’s main housing 1 as shown in Fig. 1, Xu Fig. 1),
and the fan (3 of Xu) is configured to discharge the air flow from the main housing (1 of Xu) via the second opening (right opening of Xu’s main housing 1 as shown in Xu Fig. 1) and direct the air flow through the second filter (4 of Xu) in the second filter housing (Conrad’s frame 55 accomodating Xu’s second filter 4, Xu Fig. 1 and Conrad Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3:
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the first filter housing (205 of Xu) is configured to couple to a first external side of the main housing (define the space between downstream side of Xu’s filter 2 and upstream of Xu’s filter 4 as the claimed “interior volume” and Xu’s first filter housing 205 would be on a first external side of the main housing 1 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1),
the second filter housing (55 of Conrad) is configured to removably couple to a second external side of the main housing (based on the interior volume definition provided above, Xu Fig. 1), and the first external side and the second external side are opposite one another relative to an interior volume of the main housing (as shown in Xu’s Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8:
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the fan is removable from the main housing via the second opening (as shown in Conrad Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12:
Xu discloses a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (Xu discloses its design is for HVAC system, Xu p. 1)),
comprising: a fan filter unit (as shown in Xu Fig. 1) configured to filter an air flow directed through the fan filter unit (as indicated by arrow in Xu Fig. 1),
wherein the fan filter unit comprises: a housing (Xu’s air conditioning body 1, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4) comprising a first opening (left opening of Xu’s housing 1, Xu Fig. 1),
an internal volume (interior of Xu’s housing 1, specifically where fan 3 locates, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4),
and a second opening (right side of Xu’s housing 1, Xu Fig. 4, p. 4);
a fan (Xu’s blower 3, Xu Fig. 1, p. 3) disposed within the internal volume and configured to direct the air flow through the housing (1 of Xu),
wherein the fan (3 of Xu) is removable from the housing via the second opening (while Xu does not explicitly disclose its fan is removable via the second opening, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to understand that Xu’s device is assembled because it does not exist naturally, and therefore, the fan has to be removable the opposite way as it is assembled);
and the fan (3 of Xu) is configured to discharge the air flow from the housing (1 of Xu) via the second opening and to direct the air flow through filter (as indicated by arrow in Fig. 1, Xu Fig. 1).
Xu does not disclose a filter rack assembly (Xu’s filter 2) configured to removably mount to an exterior of the housing and, wherein the filter rack assembly is configured to contain a filter.
In the analogous art of air filters for HVAC systems, Conrad discloses a filter assembly 100, Conrad Fig. 1, [0096]. Conrad’s filter assembly 100 comprising a main housing (Conrad’s conduit 10, Conrad Fig. 2, [0098]),
and a filter rack (Conrad’s frame 55 together with cover 125, Conrad Figs. 2 and 31, [0102], [0099]) configured to removably mount to an exterior of Conrad’s main housing (10 of Conrad), Conrad’s filter housing (55 on Conrad) is configured to support Conrad’s filter (Conrad’s filter media 59, Conrad Fig. 2, [0101]),
and Conrad’s second filter housing is removable (as shown in Fig. 2 of Conrad) from the main housing (10 of Conrad) to enable access to the fan via a second opening (as shown in Conrad Fig. 10, where filter has to be removed to access to fan 20b, Conrad Fig. 10, [0156]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adopt Conrad’s removable housing design in Xu for the benefit of easy access to fan and convenience of replacing filters.
Regarding claim 13:
Modified Xu discloses that the HVAC system of claim 12, wherein the filter rack assembly is configured to removably mount to the housing adjacent to the second opening (as discussed in claim 12, modified Xu’s filter rack assembly—Conrad’s filter frame 55 and cover 125 would be located near the second opening, which is proximate the outlet side of Xu’s main housing as shown in Xu Fig. 1 and Conrad Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14:
Modified Xu discloses that the HVAC system of claim 12, wherein the fan filter unit comprises a filter housing (Xu’s connecting frame 205, Xu Fig. 6, p. 5) adjacent to the first opening (as shown in Xu Fig. 1),
wherein the filter housing (1 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1) comprises an additional filter (Xu’s filter 2, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4),
and the fan (3 of Xu) is configured to draw the air flow through the additional filter (2 of Xu) and into the housing (1 of Xu) via the first opening (as shown in Xu Fig. 1, indicated by flow arrow, Xu Fig. 1).
Xu does not disclose that the filter housing (205 of Xu) is configured to mount to the exterior of the housing.
However, as discussed in claim 12, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adopt Conrad’s removable housing design in Xu for the benefit of easy access to fan and convenience of replacing filters. With such modification, Xu’s filter 205 of Xu would be configured to mount to the exterior of the housing (1 of Xu) the same way as disclosed in Conrad.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Haslebacher et al., US 2016/0236130 A1 (“Haslebacher”).
Regarding claim 4:
It is noted that the current invention is directed to a “fan filter assembly”, the installation location of the filter does not recite a physical structure of the claimed “fan filter assembly”, such limitation are considered as intended use and are given patentable weight only insofar as it affects the actual structure of the fan filter assembly.
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, the fan (3 of Xu) is configured to draw an air flow across the first filter (2 of Xu) via the first opening (left opening of Xu’s housing 1) and into the main housing (1 of Xu), and the fan (3 of Xu) is configured to discharge the air flow from the main housing (1 of Xu) via the second opening (right opening of Xu’s housing 1), direct the air flow through the second filter (4 of Xu), Xu Fig. 1.
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter assembly is configured to be installed at least partially within a ceiling of a conditioned space, the fan is configured to draw an air flow from a plenum space within the ceiling and direct the air flow into the conditioned space.
In the analogous art of HVAC filtration systems, Haslebacher discloses a HVAC filter assembly that is disposed in the ceiling, Haslebacher Fig. 1, [0029]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for modified Xu’s device to be used in a ceiling to save floor space. With such modification, modified Xu would have a fan draw an air fllow from a plenum space within the ceiling and direct the air flow into the conditioned space (below ceiling).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Shama et al., US 2021/0372637 A1 (“Shama”).
Regarding claim 5:
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, comprising the first filter and the second filter, wherein the first filter is a pre-filter configured to capture first particles having a first particle size, the second filter is a high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter configured capture second particles having a second particle size, wherein the second particle size is smaller than the first particle size.
In the analogous art of HVAC filters, Shama discloses a first filter (Shama’s dust filter 1224, Shama Fig. 12B, [0210]) and a second filter (Shama’s HEPA filter 1238, Shama Fig. 12B, [0210]), where Shama’s first filter is a pre-filter configured to capture first particles having a particle size (Shama discloses its dust filter is a MERV 7, Shama [0047], MERV 7 is a medium-efficiency, pleated filter configured to capture particles between 3 and 10 microns per the MERV rating), Shama’s second filter is a HEPA filter (Shama Fig. 12B, [0210]) configured to capture at least 99.97% of particles as small as 0.3 microns (per HEPA definition provided by Shama [0008]). Shama discloses its design provides various filtration methods for reducing the level of infectious or noxious pathogens in ambient air and thus, reducing the risk of contracting viral or infectious disease or otherwise compromising immunity from inhalation of infected ambient air, Shama [0006]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Shama’s design in modified Xu for the benefits disclosed. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art understands the need to put a coarse filter upstream of HEPA filter to increase the life span of HEPA filter.
Regarding claim 7:
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the fan filter assembly comprises a plurality of fan support members secured to the main housing, and wherein the fan is configured to removably couple to the plurality of fan support members.
In the analogous art of fan filters, Shama discloses a fan 910 comprising a plurality of fan supports (Shama’s top and bottom portion 910t and 910b) removably coupled to the fan 910, and the plurality of fan support members 910b, 910t is secured to Shama’s main housing (casing of 900 as shown in Shama Fig. 9B). It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include Shama’s fan supports in modified Xu because for a fan to rotate freely, fan support structures are necessarily to maintain a rotation space while keep secure connection to the rest of HVAC structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Brill et al., US 2019/0301764 A1 (“Brill”).
Regarding claim 6:
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, wherein the fan comprises a backwards inclined fan.
In the analogous art of HAVC filters, Brill discloses any type of air movers (axial fan, backward inclined impeller, etc.) could be used as HVAC filter fan, Brill [0017]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for modified Xu’s fan to be backward inclined fan because such fans are known in the HVAC art as being suitable as an air mover. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to choose such fan based on availability or price.
Claims 9–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Cole et al., US 2021/0213382 A1 (“Cole”).
Regarding claim 9:
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter assembly of claim 1, comprising a latch assembly configured to removably couple the second filter housing to the main housing.
In the analogous art of HVAC systems, Cole discloses a filter housing 40 that uses a latch assembly (Cole’s latch 70) configured to removably couple the filter housing 40 to the main housing 24 (Cole Fig. 4, [0049]). Cole discloses its latch is centrally controlled and thus may be actuated by the same control tool which a user utilizes to lower the filter housing, Cole [0086]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include Cole’s latch in modified Xu for the benefits disclosed.
Regarding claim 10:
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter assembly of claim 9, wherein the latch assembly comprises:
a latch pin (Cole’s arm 78, Cole, Fig. 4, [0048]) configured to extend through the second filter housing (as shown in Fig. 7, Cole Fig. 7, [0044]); and
a latch fastener (Cole’s aperture 82, Cole Fig. 4, [0048]) configured to engage with the latch pin (78 of Cole), wherein the latch fastener is configured to slide relative to the latch pin to engage and disengage the latch fastener from the latch pin (Cole discloses latches may slide between locked and unlocked position, Cole Fig. 4, [0086]).
Regarding claim 11:
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter assembly of claim 10, wherein the latch pin (78 of Cole) is secured to the main housing (24 of Cole) and extends outwardly from the main housing (as shown in Fig. 7), and the latch fastener (82 of Cole) is coupled to the second filter housing (40 of Cole when latch is in locked position, Cole Figs. 4 and 7).
Claims 15–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Conrad as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Park et al., US 2020/0398207 A1 (“Park”).
Regarding claim 15:
Modified Xu does not disclose that the HVAC system of claim 12, wherein the fan filter unit comprises a plurality of latch assemblies, wherein the plurality of latch assemblies is configured to removably mount the filter rack assembly to the exterior of the housing without a tool.
In the analogous art of air filter systems, Park discloses a filter (Park’s pre-filter 43, Park Fig. 9, [0100]), Park discloses a plurality of latch assemblies (Park’s rewind release device 60, Park Fig. 13, [0099]), wherein the plurality of latch assemblies is configured to removably mount the filter rack assembly (as shown in Fig. 9 and Fig. 14 of Park, [0099–0101])) to an exterior of Park’s housing (Park’s main housing 31, Park Fig. 9, [0099]) without a tool.
Park discloses its filter 43 is a roller structure and Park’s rewind release device 60 controls rewind of pre-filter 60, Park Fig. 9, [0095]. Park discloses roller filer can be used without replacing and cleaning the filter module for a long period of time by allowing the used section containing sufficient number of foreign substances in the filter to be recovered on the recovery roller and unused section in the filter to be supplied from the supply roller, Park [0025]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for modified Xu’s filter to have a design as disclosed by Park for the benefits disclosed. Note that Park’s rewind release device is essentially a latch because it fixes Park’s roller in the housing.
Regarding claim 16:
Modified Xu discloses that the HVAC system of claim 15, wherein each latch assembly (60 of Park) comprises: a post (Park’s release pin 61, Park Fig. 13, [0099]) secured to the housing (31 of Park, Fig. 13, [0099) and configured to extend through a respective opening (Park’s locking hole 41A-1, Park Fig. 13, [0098]) formed in the filter rack assembly (43, 41A of Park, Park Fig. 9);
and a latch (Park’s locking member 51, Park Fig. 13–14, [0096]) coupled to the filter rack assembly (43 of Park, Park Figs. 13–14),
wherein the latch (51 of Park) is slidable relative to the filter rack assembly between an engaged position and a disengaged position (as shown in Figs. 13–14),
and the latch (51 of Park) is configured to capture the post in the engaged position to removably mount the filter rack assembly to the housing (Fig. 14 of Park shows in an engaged position, where the Park’s locking member 51 and post 61 is engaged, Park Fig. 14, [0101]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Conrad as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Haslebacher.
Regarding claim 17:
Modified Xu discloses that the HVAC system of claim 12, wherein the fan filter unit is configured to draw an air flow into the housing (1 of Xu), and that the fan is configured to direct the air flow through the filter (across the first filter 2 of Xu).
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter unit is configured to be moutned to a ceiling f a conditioned space, and that the air flow is from a plenum within the ceiling and that the air flow is directed into the conditioned space.
In the analogous art of HVAC filtration systems, Haslebacher discloses a HVAC filter assembly that is disposed in the ceiling, Haslebacher Fig. 1, [0029]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for modified Xu’s device to be used in a ceiling to save floor space. With such modification, modified Xu would have a fan draw an air flow from a plenum space within the ceiling and direct the air flow into the conditioned space (below ceiling).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Shama and Conrad.
96. Regarding claim 18:
Modified Xu discloses that a fan filter unit of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (Xu discloses its invention is for HVAC system, Xu Fig. 1, p. 1), comprising:
a fan housing (1 of Xu, Fig. 1, p. 4) configured to receive an air flow (as indicated by arrow in Xu Fig. 1, p. 4),
wherein the fan housing defines a first opening and a second opening (left and right opening of Xu’s housing 1, Xu Fig.1, p. 4),
a fan (3 of Xu) disposed within the fan housing (1 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4),
wherein the fan (3 of Xu) is configured to draw an air flow into the fan housing (1 of Xu) via the first opening (left opening of Xu’s housing 1, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4) and to discharge the air flow (as shown by flow arrow in Fig. 1 of Xu) from the fan housing via the second opening (right opening of Xu’s housing 1, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4),
and a filter (4 of Xu, Xu Fig. 1, p. 4) disposed within the filter housing (1 of Xu) and configured to filter the air flow discharged from the fan housing via the second opening (as shown by air flow arrow in Xu Fig. 1).
Xu does not disclose that the fan housing comprises a plurality of support members and that the fan is removably mounted to the fan housing via the plurality of support members.
In the analogous art of fan filters, Shama discloses a fan 910 comprising a plurality of fan supports (Shama’s top and bottom portion 910t and 910b) removably coupled to the fan 910, and the plurality of fan support members 910b, 910t is secured to Shama’s main housing (casing of 900 as shown in Shama Fig. 9B). It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include Shama’s fan supports in modified Xu because for a fan to rotate freely, fan support structures are necessarily to maintain a rotation space while keep secure connection to the rest of HVAC structure.
Xu does not disclose a filter housing removably coupled to the fan housing adjacent to the second opening, wherein the filter housing is removable from the fan housing to expose the fan via the second opening of the housing in an installed configuration of the fan filter unit.
In the analogous art of air filters for HVAC systems, Conrad discloses a filter assembly 100, Conrad Fig. 1, [0096]. Conrad’s filter assembly 100 comprising a main housing (Conrad’s conduit 10, Conrad Fig. 2, [0098]),
and a filter housing (Conrad’s frame 55, Conrad Fig. 2, [0102]) configured to removably couple to Conrad’s main housing (10 of Conrad), Conrad’s filter housing (55 on Conrad) is configured to support Conrad’s filter (Conrad’s filter media 59, Conrad Fig. 2, [0101]),
and Conrad’s second filter housing is removable (as shown in Fig. 2 of Conrad) from the main housing (10 of Conrad) to enable access to the fan via a second opening (as shown in Conrad Fig. 10, where filter has to be removed to access to fan 20b, Conrad Fig. 10, [0156]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to adopt Conrad’s removable housing design in Xu for the benefit of easy access to fan and convenience of replacing filters.
Claims 19–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Shama and Conrad as applied in claim 18 above, and in further view of Park.
Regarding claim 19:
Modified Xu does not disclose that the fan filter unit of claim 18, comprising a latch assembly configured to removably secure the filter housing to the fan housing, wherein the latch assembly comprises:
a latch post secured to the fan housing and configured to extend through an aperture formed in the filter housing, and
a latch fastener coupled to the filter housing and configured to engage with the latch post, wherein the latch fastener is configured to translate relative to filter housing and relative to the latch post to engage and disengage the latch fastener from the latch post.
However, as discussed in claim 15, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for modified Xu’s filter to have a design as disclosed by Park for the benefits disclosed. Note that Park’s rewind release device is essentially a latch because it fixes Park’s roller in the housing.
With such modification, modified Xu discloses the fan filter unit of claim 18, comprising a latch assembly (Park’s rewind release device 60) configured to removably secure the filter housing (41A, 41B of Park) to the fan housing (Xu’s housing 1, the same way as Park’s device 60 function in Park’s housing 31, Xu Fig. 1 and Park Figs. 9 and 13–14), wherein the latch assembly comprises:
a latch post (Park’s release pin 61, Park, Fig. 13, [0101]) secured to the fan housing (1 of Xu) and configured to extend through an aperture (Park’s locking hole 41A-1, Park Figs. 13–14, [0101]) formed in the filter housing (41A of Park, Park Fig. 13, [0098]), and
a latch fastener (Park’s locking member 51, Park Fig. 13, [0101]) coupled to the filter housing (41A of Park) and configured to engage with the latch post (as shown in Fig. 14, Park [0101]),
wherein the latch fastener (51 of Park) is configured to translate relative to filter housing and relative to the latch post to engage and disengage the latch fastener from the latch post (as shown in Fig. 13 and 14 of Park, Park [0101]).
Regarding claim 20:
Modified Xu discloses that the fan filter unit of claim 19, wherein the latch fastener is actuatable to engage and disengage the latch fastener from the latch post without a tool in the installed configuration of the fan filter unit (Park’s release pin 61 is capable of being moved without a tool, Park Fig. 14, [0099]).
Conclusion
/Qianping He/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
1 A copy of Xu’s original document and machine translation are provided with the office action. The examiner relies on the original document for the text and machine translation for the figure.