Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WIPO No. 2018/019344 to Bjerregaard.
Referring to claim 1, Bjerregaard discloses an apparatus for weakening an attachment of a pin bone to muscle or adipose tissue in a fillet of fish comprising, an energy source – see temperature manipulation units – at 11 detailed in pages 13-14 where energy has to be supplied for these devices and from these devices to operate as disclosed, to supply sufficient heat to the/substantially only the pin bone and connective tissue, that attaches the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue, in the fillet of fish – see pages 13-14 and figures 8a-14, where the temperature units – at 11 apply heat to where the pin bones and connective tissue is located, to degrade or denature the connective tissue without degrading or denaturing the muscle or adipose tissue and thereby weaken the attachment of the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue in the fillet of fish – see pages 13-14.
Referring to claim 3, Bjerregaard further discloses the energy source is selected from a group consisting of, microwaves, audio waves, X-rays, laser, tailored photon bombardment, and neutron bombardment – see at least microwaves and laser – at 11 as detailed in pages 13-14.
Referring to claim 6, Bjerregaard discloses a method for weakening an attachment of a pin bone to muscle or adipose tissue in a fillet of fish comprising, applying heat to the pin bone – see via item 11 in figures 8a-14 and see pages 13-14, and conducting the applied heat along the pin bone sufficient to heat the pin bone and substantially only connective tissue that attaches the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue in the fillet of fish – see applied at pin bones and directly attached tissue in figures 8a-14 and pages 13-14, to degrade or denature the connective tissue without degrading or denaturing the muscle or adipose tissue and thereby weaken the attachment of the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue in the fillet of fish – see pages 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjerregaard as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0017771 to Birgisson et al.
Referring to claim 2, Bjerregaard further discloses the fillet of fish is selected whether pre-rigor mortis or post-rigor mortis – see pages 13-14. Bjerregaard does not disclose the fish is selected from salmon, cod or halibut. Birgisson et al. does disclose the fish is selected from salmon, cod or halibut – see salmon and in paragraphs [0095]-[0096], whether pre-rigor mortis or post-rigor mortis – see paragraph [0093]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bjerregaard and use the device on any type of fish including the salmon and cod disclosed by Birgisson et al., so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the user to use the device on any desired type of fish to be processed.
Referring to claim 4, Bjerregaard does disclose an electrode coupled to the electrical power supply – see at 14,20 in figure 12 and page 13, and in electrical contact with the fish at the pin bone to conduct electrical current from the electrical power supply to the pin bone – see figure 12 and page 13, and the energy source to supply sufficient heat to the/substantially only the pin bone and connective tissue that attaches the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue, in the fillet of fish to degrade or denature the connective tissue, without degrading or denaturing the muscle or adipose tissue, and thereby weaken the attachment of the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue in the fillet of fish – see pages 13-14 and figures 8a-14. Bjerregaard does not disclose the electrode in physical contact with a first end of the pin bone, a controller coupled to the power supply to select an amount of the electrical current conducted from the power supply to the pin bone, wherein the pin bone conducting the electrical current from the first end of the pin bone to the second end of the pin bone comprises the pin bone conducting the selected amount of electrical current from the first end of the pin bone to the second end of the pin bone such that the Ohmic heating produces sufficient heat in to the/substantially only the connective tissue that attaches the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue, in the fillet of fish to degrade or denature the connective tissue, without degrading or denaturing the muscle or adipose tissue, and thereby weaken the attachment of the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue in the fillet of fish. Birgisson et al. does disclose an electrode – at 12, in physical contact with the fish – see figure 4, a controller – at 16, coupled to the power supply to select an amount of the electrical current conducted from the power supply to the fish and near the pin bone – see figure 4 and paragraphs [0056]-[0059] and [0101], wherein the conducting of the electrical current in the fish and adjacent the pin bone conducts the selected amount of electrical current in the fish and adjacent the pin bone such that the Ohmic heating produces sufficient heat in/in substantially only the connective tissue, that attaches the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue in the fillet of fish to degrade or denature the connective tissue, without degrading or denaturing the muscle or adipose tissue, and thereby weaken the attachment of the pin bone to the muscle or adipose tissue, in the fillet of fish – see figure 4 and paragraphs [0101]-[0103]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bjerregaard and add the electrical current application in the fish as disclosed by Birgisson et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring automatic and better application of the current at the pin bones as desired. Bjerregaard as modified by Birgisson et al. does not disclose the electrode and electric current applied directly to the pin bone so that the current is conducted from a first end to a second end of the pin bone. However, Birgisson et al. does disclose in paragraph [0101], that the current is applied inside the fish and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bjerregaard as modified by Birgisson et al. and add the current applied to the pin bone so that the current is conducted between the ends of the pin bone, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the current and energy is accurately and automatically supplied in the region of the pin bones as desired.
Referring to claim 5, Bjerregaard as modified by Birgisson et al. further discloses the controller selects the amount of electrical current conducted from the power supply to the pin bone based on factors selected from a group consisting of, a pre-rigor condition of the fillet of fish, a post-rigor condition of the fillet of fish, a skinned versus unskinned fillet of fish, a size of the fillet of fish, a thickness of the fillet of fish, an estimated age of the fish, a size of the pin bone, a location of pin bone in the fillet of fish, a type of fish, an estimated time elapsed since harvest of the fillet of fish, an estimated time elapsed since filleting the fish, an electrical resistivity of the pin bone, an amount of joule heating in the pin bone, and combinations thereof – see at least the type of fish detailed in paragraph [0084] of Birgisson et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Bjerregaard and add the electrical current application in the fish as disclosed by Birgisson et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring automatic and better application of the current at the pin bones as desired.
Response to Arguments
4. Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1, 3 and 6, applicant argues that the Bjerregaard reference WO 2018/019344 does not disclose the heat is applied to substantially only the pinbone and the connective tissue that attaches the pinbone to the muscle or adipose tissue. The phrase “substantially only” is no longer in the claim so it is not relevant to whether the Bjerregaard reference discloses this claim feature given the current claim language. However, Bjerregaard does disclose this feature in the embodiment of figures 12-14 with the heat applied at and proximate the pinbone and surrounding tissue. This narrower reading of the Bjerregaard reference also reads on the current claim language lacking the “substantially only” phrase. The three embodiments of figures 8a-14 are used in the prior art rejections and embodiments of figures 8a-11 also meet the claim limitations of the heat being applied to the pinbone and connected tissue. The embodiment of figures 9-11 that appears to be the only embodiment applicant discusses in the response dated 3-2-26 reads on the claim as detailed earlier in paragraph 3 of this office action since the “substantially only” phrase has been removed from the claims. Further, applicant argues that Bjerregaard does not disclose the fish fillet is not degraded or denatured by the applied heat and this argument is not persuasive in that applicant has not claimed that the fish fillet remains unchanged in anyway after the application of heat but only claims that the fish fillet is not negatively changed so as to be considered a degrading or denaturing of the fish fillet. The tissue of the fish is not degraded in that the tissue is not made less acceptable for its intended purpose of human consumption in that the tenderizing of the tissue detailed in Bjerregaard makes the fish fillet more palatable by making the fish tissue less tough and easier to consume and therefore the fish fillet of Bjerregaard is not negatively impacted by the application of heat as disclosed so as to consider the fish fillet as being degraded.
Regarding claims 2 and 4-5, applicant relies upon the same remarks/arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, and 6 discussed earlier.
Conclusion
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643