DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC 102
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues that the cited portions of Shellhammer teaches PPDUs of different generations are of different formats according to the respective generations. The claimed invention recites FD-A-PPDU comprises PPDUs having a same PPDU format of different WiFi generations.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner asserts that the claim as amended in view of Applicant’s argument lacks significant clarity. The previous claim recited “FD-A-PPDU comprises PPDUs having a same PPDU format or different PPDU formats of different WiFi generations[.]” This can be interpreted as meaning only the PPDUs with different formats are of different WiFi generations. It is unclear how PPDUs of different WiFi generations have the same format as different generations correspond to different formats in some way, for example by having different preamble fields such as in 11ax and 11be. The specification does not clearly indicate that the same PPDU format corresponds to different WiFi generations. It is always disclosed as either the same PPDU format, or different PPDU formats of different WiFi generations. There is no mention of only the same PPDU format of different WiFi generations, and no examples are given of this scenario. Examiner believes this is because the PPDU of different WiFi generations would have different fields. Further, it is not clear what the “format” pertains to regarding the packet, thus it may be interpreted broadly.
Examiner is interpreting the “PPDU format” under broadest reasonable interpretation to mean PPDUs each include similar structure of preamble and data. The “PPDU format” also pertains to the bandwidth and alignment in time between the different PPDUs of different WiFi generations, and not necessarily that they must have the same exact fields. This is taught in Figures 7A-7B of Shellhammer where the PPDU formats are “the same” in that they are formatted with the same bandwidth and aligned in time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shellhammer et al. (“Shellhammer”) (US 20210359885 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shellhammer teaches:
A method, comprising: performing, by a processor of an apparatus, a wireless communication by: transmitting a frequency domain (FD) aggregated physical-layer protocol data unit (FD-A-PPDU) [¶0062, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain see figure 7A, ¶0074-75]; or receiving the FD-A-PPDU,
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises a 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz FD-A-PPDU [¶0062 “ For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel [comprising the PPDU 500, 700 of Figure 7A] may be 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, 320 MHz, 400 MHz, 480 MHz, or greater”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs having a same PPDU format of different WiFi generations [see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, including second and first in same bandwidth, and aligned in time as in ¶0074, each with preamble and data, considered same format as Applicant specification gives no example of the same PPDU format for different generations, ] and utilizing a minimum size of 80MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks as a base building block [¶0062 “ In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth” wherein Figure 5-6-7A, frequencies are non-overlapping].
Regarding claim 2, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple PPDUs of different WiFi generations [see ¶0073-74 Figure 7A, generation-specific for each subchannel i.e. each PPDU corresponds to first-third WiFi generations] combined with a same tone spacing and a same guard interval (GI) [¶0072 tone plans corresponding to tone spacing may be the same, ¶0074 common guard interval duration].
Regarding claim 3, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [¶0049, APs and STAs transmit the PPDUs, thus may include downlink, ¶0058].
Regarding claim 4, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple PPDUs [¶0062, Figure 5, multi-generation PPDU, wherein ¶0073 “The multi-generation PPDU also may be referred to as a compound PPDU, combination PPDU, a Multi-Gen PPDU, a multi-PPDU, an mPPDU, an Aggregate PPDU (A-PPDU), or other terms. Similar to FIGS. 5 and 6, the multi-generation PPDU 700 in FIG. 7A may have a phase rotation applied to one or more of the generation-specific preambles 551.”], and wherein, in an event that the apparatus is without a non-primary channel access capability, the apparatus is allocated at a primary channel [examiner notes this is a contingent limitation that does not require support in the event the condition is not met. ¶0063 teaches “Thus, the first preamble 511 may include RU allocations that are within the first subchannel 501 and the second subchannel 502.” Non-primary channel (secondary channel) able to be accessed, therefore there is no event in which the apparatus is without non-primary channel access capability, thus the claim limitation has no patentable weight].
Regarding claim 5, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 240MHz bandwidth [¶0062 “ For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel [comprising the PPDU 500, 700] may be 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, 320 MHz, 400 MHz, 480 MHz, or greater”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, three 80MHz PPDUs; or in a second option, one 160MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU [¶0062, Figure 5, 501-503 are subchannels, each may be 80 MHz “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz,”].
Regarding claim 6, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU has a bandwidth larger than or equal to 240MHz and comprises multiple PPDUs [¶0062, “Thus, the total channel bandwidth 505 in this example is 640 MHz”], and wherein, in an event that the apparatus uses a 160MHz maximal ratio combining (MRC) decoding processing, the apparatus is allocated at a primary 160MHz channel [examiner notes this is a contingent limitation that does not require support in the event the condition is not met. The reference does not teach the use of a MRC, thus since it does not use MRC, there is no event in which it uses MRC and this limitation has no patentable weight].
Regarding claim 7, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU has a bandwidth larger than or equal to 240MHz and comprises multiple PPDUs [¶0062, “Thus, the total channel bandwidth 505 in this example is 640 MHz” see also ¶0075 e.g. 320 Hz, larger than 240 MHz], and wherein: in an event that the apparatus is implemented in a smaller-bandwidth capable station (STA), the apparatus is allocated at a primary channel [¶0062, Figure 5, 501 considered primary channel and allocated as in Figure 7A].
Regarding claim 8, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 320MHz bandwidth [¶0062 “ In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, four 80MHz PPDUs; in a second option, one 240MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU; in a third option, two 160MHz PPDUs; or in a fourth option, one 160MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs [¶0062, any combination of 80 MHz and 160 MHz thus may correspond to two 80 MHz and one 160 MHz].
Regarding claim 9, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 480MHz bandwidth [For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, 320 MHz, 400 MHz, 480 MHz, or greater.], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, six 80MHz PPDUs; in a second option, one 320MHz PPDU and one 160MHz PPDU; in a third option, one 320MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs; in a fourth option, two 240MHz PPDUs; in a fifth option, one 240MHz PPDU, one 160MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU [¶0062, Figure 5, three subchannels, each may be one of 240, 160, 80, thus this combination is supported for three channels]; in a sixth option, one 240MHz PPDU and three 80MHz PPDUs; or in a seventh option, one 160MHz PPDU and four 80MHz PPDUs.
Regarding claim 10, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 640MHz bandwidth [¶0062 “Thus, the total channel bandwidth 505 in this example is 640 MHz.”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, eight 80MHz PPDUs; in a second option, one 480MHz PPDU and one 160MHz PPDU; in a third option, one 480MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs; in a fourth option, two 320MHz PPDUs; in a fifth option, one 320MHz PPDU, one 240MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU; in a sixth option, one 320MHz PPDU and two 160MHz PPDUs [¶0062 “In the example shown in FIG. 5, the first subchannel 501 may have a bandwidth of 160 MHz, the second subchannel 502 also may have a bandwidth of 160 MHz, and the third subchannel 503 may have a bandwidth of 320 MHz.”]; in a seventh option, one 320MHz PPDU, one 160MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs; in an eighth option, one 320MHz PPDU and four 80MHz PPDUs;in a ninth option, two 240MHz PPDUs and one 160MHz PPDU; in a tenth option, two 240MHz PPDUs and two 80MHz PPDUs; in an eleventh option, one 240MHz PPDU, one 160MHz PPDU and three 80MHz PPDUs; in a twelfth option, one 240MHz PPDU and five 80MHz PPDUs; in a thirteenth option, two 160MHz PPDUs and four 80MHz PPDUs; or in a fourteenth option, one 160MHz PPDU and six 80MHz PPDUs.
Regarding claim 11, Shellhammer teaches:
A method, comprising: assigning, by a processor of an apparatus, an associated station (STA) to participate in a wireless communication with a frequency domain (FD) aggregated physical-layer protocol data unit (FD-A-PPDU) [¶0059 AP schedules resources for STAs, ¶0045, send beacons to STAs to establish connection i.e. participate, including multi-generation PPDU ¶0062 and ¶0073-74, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain]; and performing, by the processor, the wireless communication with the STA in a 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth with 80MHz being a minimum size of each of multiple PPDUs of the FD-A-PPDU [¶0062-64, AP generates PPDUs, “In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”],
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs having a same PPDU format of different WiFi generations and aligned in a time domain [see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, including second and first in same bandwidth, and aligned in time as in ¶0074 considered same format as Applicant specification gives no example of the same PPDU format for different generations ].
Regarding claim 12, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 11, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs utilizing non-overlapping frequency subblocks [¶0062, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain, and see “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”].
Regarding claim 14, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 11, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs of different WiFi generations [see ¶0070 another variation of Figure 5 shown in Figure 6, generation-specific for each subchannel i.e. each PPDU corresponds to first-third WiFi generations] combined with a same tone spacing and a same guard interval (GI) [¶0072 tone plans corresponding to tone spacing may be the same, ¶0074 common guard interval duration].
Regarding claim 15, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 11, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [¶0049, APs and STAs transmit the PPDUs, thus may include downlink, ¶0058].
Regarding claim 16, Shellhammer teaches:
A method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a signal from an access point (AP) to participate in a wireless communication with a frequency domain (FD) aggregated physical-layer protocol data unit (FD-A-PPDU) [¶0059 AP schedules resources for STAs, ¶0045, send beacons to STAs to establish connection i.e. participate, including multi-generation PPDU ¶0062, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain]; and performing, by the processor, the wireless communication with the AP in a 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth with 80MHz being a minimum size of each of multiple PPDUs of the FD-A-PPDU [¶0062-64, AP generates PPDUs for STAs, “In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”].
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs having a same PPDU format of different WiFi generations and aligned in a time domain [see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, including second and first in same bandwidth, and aligned in time as in ¶0074 considered same format as Applicant specification gives no example of the same PPDU format for different generations].
Regarding claim 17, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 16, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs utilizing non-overlapping frequency subblocks [[¶0062, ¶0073-74, multi-generation multi PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain, and see “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”].
Regarding claim 19, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 16, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs of different WiFi generations [see ¶0070 another variation of Figure 5 shown in Figure 6, generation-specific for each subchannel i.e. each PPDU corresponds to first-third WiFi generations] combined with a same tone spacing and a same guard interval (GI) [¶0072 tone plans corresponding to tone spacing may be the same, ¶0074 common guard interval duration].
Regarding claim 20, Shellhammer teaches:
The method of Claim 16, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [¶0049, APs and STAs transmit the PPDUs, thus may include downlink, ¶0058].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210297209 A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478