DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues Shellhammer in view of Yu fail to teach the claimed invention. Shellhammer describes multiple generation-specific PPDUs in different subchannels. The portions of Shellhammer fail to teach occupying one or more of the 80 MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks. The subblocks as claimed do not pertain to subchannels but rather buildings blocks of the architecture and define how each PPDU occupies the subblocks.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. A frequency subblock is a broad term and may pertain to any contiguous portion of a total bandwidth such as the 80 MHz subchannels defined to carry the PPDU in Shellhammer ¶0062. The distinction argued by Applicant is not clear and Examiner finds no difference between the 80 MHz subchannels used to build the channel to carry the PPDU in Shellhammer and a “subblock” as both pertain to the architecture of the PPDU and indicate how the PPDUs occupy the channel. See Shellhammer, ¶0062, Figure 5, 501-503 are subchannels, each may be 80 MHz “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz.” The functional fields of each PPDU are within this larger PPDU and are carried on 80 MHz subchannels, which are no different than the subblocks even given Applicant’s narrower interpretation of a subblock. The claim provides no further limitations that clarify the differences pointed out by Applicant.
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues that the cited portions of Shellhammer fail to teach PPDUs aligned in a time domain including symbol boundaries of corresponding functional fields. Shellhammer teaches transmitted packets terminate consistently in time. The present invention defines alignment of functional fields.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claim recites “multiple different PPDUs are aligned in a time domain including symbol boundaries of corresponding functional fields.” Shellhammer clearly teaches pertaining to different functional fields of the M-PPDU i.e. preambles, “an AP may modify one or more generation-specific preambles to ensure preamble and OFDM symbol alignment of the generation-specific preambles within the multi-generation PPDU” see ¶0041. Each preamble of the M-PPDU corresponds to the functional fields, and these are symbol aligned. The distinction pointed out by Applicant is not clear, the reference appears to teach time aligned fields, and the claim does not recite any further language that emphasizes the distinction pointed out by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shellhammer et al. (“Shellhammer”) (US 20210359885 A1) in view of Yu et al. (“Yu”) (US 20220053371 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shellhammer teaches:
A method, comprising: performing, by a processor of an apparatus, a wireless communication by: transmitting a frequency domain (FD) aggregated physical-layer protocol data unit (FD-A-PPDU) [¶0062, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain see figure 7A, ¶0074-75]; or receiving the FD-A-PPDU,
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple different PPDUs having PPDU formats with a tone spacing [¶0039 teaches 802.11ax and 802.11be known to have tone spacing, see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, wherein ¶0069 the generations may have same tone plan, and ¶0039 different generations may include 802.11ax and 802.11be known to have the same subcarrier spacing ] and a same guard interval (GI) [see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, wherein ¶0069 the generations may have same tone plan and ¶0074, common guard interval thus same GI] and utilizing a minimum size of 80MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks as a base building block, wherein each of the multiple different PPDUs occupies one or more of the 80 MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks [¶0062 “ In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz.”” wherein Figure 5-6-7A, frequencies are non-overlapping, thus functional fields are in subblocks of 80 MHz ],
wherein the multiple different PPDUs are aligned in a time domain including symbol boundaries of corresponding functional fields [¶0041, ¶0089, an AP may modify one or more generation-specific preambles to ensure preamble and OFDM symbol alignment of the generation-specific preambles within the multi-generation PPDU.]
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises a frequency-domain aggregated bandwidth corresponding to at least one of 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz FD-A-PPDU [¶0062 “ The multi-generation PPDU 500 may span the channel bandwidth 505 of a wireless channel. In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz”],
wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [¶0040, ¶0058, ¶0064. PPDU generated by AP, thus downlink communication, TB uplink may be ignored as it is an option].
Shellhammer teaches generations including 802.11ax and 802.11be but does not expressly teach same tone spacing however Yu teaches wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple different PPDUs having PPDU formats with a same tone spacing [¶0107 “sub-PPDU-1 in the illustrated example can be an IEEE 802.11ax packet, sub-PPDU-2 can be an IEEE 802.11be packet, and sub-PPDU-3 can be a post-IEEE 802.11be packet […] To this end, consistent tone spacing in different WI-FI (IEEE 802.11) amendments in multiple sub-PPDU is required.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the same tone spacing as Shellhammer specifically indicates 802.11ax and 802.11be which have the same tone spacing as indicated in Yu so receiver can properly decode the sub0PPDUs ¶0107.
Regarding claim 4, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple PPDUs [Shellhammer ¶0062, Figure 5, multi-generation PPDU, wherein ¶0073 “The multi-generation PPDU also may be referred to as a compound PPDU, combination PPDU, a Multi-Gen PPDU, a multi-PPDU, an mPPDU, an Aggregate PPDU (A-PPDU), or other terms. Similar to FIGS. 5 and 6, the multi-generation PPDU 700 in FIG. 7A may have a phase rotation applied to one or more of the generation-specific preambles 551.”], and wherein, in an event that the apparatus is without a non-primary channel access capability, the apparatus is allocated at a primary channel [examiner notes this is a contingent limitation that does not require support in the event the condition is not met. ¶0063 teaches “Thus, the first preamble 511 may include RU allocations that are within the first subchannel 501 and the second subchannel 502.” Non-primary channel (secondary channel) able to be accessed, therefore there is no event in which the apparatus is without non-primary channel access capability, thus the claim limitation has no patentable weight].
Regarding claim 5, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 240MHz bandwidth [Shellhammer ¶0062 “ For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel [comprising the PPDU 500, 700] may be 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, 320 MHz, 400 MHz, 480 MHz, or greater”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, three 80MHz PPDUs; or in a second option, one 160MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU [Shellhammer ¶0062, Figure 5, 501-503 are subchannels, each may be 80 MHz “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz,”].
Regarding claim 6, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU has a bandwidth larger than or equal to 240MHz and comprises multiple PPDUs [Shellhammer ¶0062, “Thus, the total channel bandwidth 505 in this example is 640 MHz”], and wherein, in an event that the apparatus uses a 160MHz maximal ratio combining (MRC) decoding processing, the apparatus is allocated at a primary 160MHz channel [examiner notes this is a contingent limitation that does not require support in the event the condition is not met. The reference does not teach the use of a MRC, thus since it does not use MRC, there is no event in which it uses MRC and this limitation has no patentable weight].
Regarding claim 7, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the FD-A-PPDU has a bandwidth larger than or equal to 240MHz and comprises multiple PPDUs [Shellhamer ¶0062, “Thus, the total channel bandwidth 505 in this example is 640 MHz” see also ¶0075 e.g. 320 Hz, larger than 240 MHz], and wherein: in an event that the apparatus is implemented in a smaller-bandwidth capable station (STA), the apparatus is allocated at a primary channel [Shellhammer ¶0062, Figure 5, 501 considered primary channel and allocated as in Figure 7A].
Regarding claim 8, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 320MHz bandwidth [Shellhammer ¶0062 “ In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, four 80MHz PPDUs; in a second option, one 240MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU; in a third option, two 160MHz PPDUs; or in a fourth option, one 160MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs [Shellhammer ¶0062, any combination of 80 MHz and 160 MHz thus may correspond to two 80 MHz and one 160 MHz].
Regarding claim 9, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 480MHz bandwidth [Shellhammer For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, 320 MHz, 400 MHz, 480 MHz, or greater.], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, six 80MHz PPDUs; in a second option, one 320MHz PPDU and one 160MHz PPDU; in a third option, one 320MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs; in a fourth option, two 240MHz PPDUs; in a fifth option, one 240MHz PPDU, one 160MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU [Shellhammer ¶0062, Figure 5, three subchannels, each may be one of 240, 160, 80, thus this combination is supported for three channels]; in a sixth option, one 240MHz PPDU and three 80MHz PPDUs; or in a seventh option, one 160MHz PPDU and four 80MHz PPDUs.
Regarding claim 10, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing the wireless communication in the 640MHz bandwidth [Shellhammer ¶0062 “Thus, the total channel bandwidth 505 in this example is 640 MHz.”], and wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises: in a first option, eight 80MHz PPDUs; in a second option, one 480MHz PPDU and one 160MHz PPDU; in a third option, one 480MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs; in a fourth option, two 320MHz PPDUs; in a fifth option, one 320MHz PPDU, one 240MHz PPDU and one 80MHz PPDU; in a sixth option, one 320MHz PPDU and two 160MHz PPDUs [Shellhammer ¶0062 “In the example shown in FIG. 5, the first subchannel 501 may have a bandwidth of 160 MHz, the second subchannel 502 also may have a bandwidth of 160 MHz, and the third subchannel 503 may have a bandwidth of 320 MHz.”]; in a seventh option, one 320MHz PPDU, one 160MHz PPDU and two 80MHz PPDUs; in an eighth option, one 320MHz PPDU and four 80MHz PPDUs;in a ninth option, two 240MHz PPDUs and one 160MHz PPDU; in a tenth option, two 240MHz PPDUs and two 80MHz PPDUs; in an eleventh option, one 240MHz PPDU, one 160MHz PPDU and three 80MHz PPDUs; in a twelfth option, one 240MHz PPDU and five 80MHz PPDUs; in a thirteenth option, two 160MHz PPDUs and four 80MHz PPDUs; or in a fourteenth option, one 160MHz PPDU and six 80MHz PPDUs.
Regarding claim 11, Shellhammer teaches:
A method, comprising: assigning, by a processor of an apparatus, an associated station (STA) to participate in a wireless communication with a frequency domain (FD) aggregated physical-layer protocol data unit (FD-A-PPDU) [¶0059 AP schedules resources for STAs, ¶0045, send beacons to STAs to establish connection i.e. participate, including multi-generation PPDU ¶0062 and ¶0073-74, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain]; and performing, by the processor, the wireless communication with the STA in a 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth with 80MHz being a minimum size of each of multiple PPDUs of the FD-A-PPDU [¶0062-64, AP generates PPDUs, “In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”],
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple different PPDUs having PPDU formats with a tone spacing and a same guard interval (GI) [see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, wherein ¶0069 the generations may have same tone plan, and ¶0074, common guard interval thus same GI] and utilizing a minimum size of 80MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks as a base building block, wherein each of the multiple different PPDUs occupies one or more of the 80 MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks [¶0062 “ In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz.”” wherein Figure 5-6-7A, frequencies are non-overlapping, thus functional fields are in subblocks of 80 MHz],
wherein the multiple different PPDUs are aligned in a time domain including symbol boundaries of corresponding functional fields [¶0041, ¶0089, an AP may modify one or more generation-specific preambles to ensure preamble and OFDM symbol alignment of the generation-specific preambles within the multi-generation PPDU.]
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises a frequency-domain aggregated bandwidth corresponding to at least one of 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz FD-A-PPDU [¶0062 “ The multi-generation PPDU 500 may span the channel bandwidth 505 of a wireless channel. In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz”],
wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [¶0040, ¶0058, ¶0064. PPDU generated by AP, thus downlink communication, TB uplink may be ignored as it is an option].
Shellhammer teaches generations including 802.11ax and 802.11be but does not expressly teach same tone spacing however Yu teaches wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple different PPDUs having PPDU formats with a same tone spacing [¶0107 “sub-PPDU-1 in the illustrated example can be an IEEE 802.11ax packet, sub-PPDU-2 can be an IEEE 802.11be packet, and sub-PPDU-3 can be a post-IEEE 802.11be packet […] To this end, consistent tone spacing in different WI-FI (IEEE 802.11) amendments in multiple sub-PPDU is required.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the same tone spacing as Shellhammer specifically indicates 802.11ax and 802.11be which have the same tone spacing as indicated in Yu so receiver can properly decode the sub0PPDUs ¶0107.
Regarding claim 12, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 11, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs utilizing non-overlapping frequency subblocks [Shellhammer ¶0062, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain, and see “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”].
Regarding claim 15, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 11, wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [Shellhammer ¶0049, APs and STAs transmit the PPDUs, thus may include downlink, ¶0058].
Regarding claim 16, Shellhammer teaches:
A method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a signal from an access point (AP) to participate in a wireless communication with a frequency domain (FD) aggregated physical-layer protocol data unit (FD-A-PPDU) [¶0059 AP schedules resources for STAs, ¶0045, send beacons to STAs to establish connection i.e. participate, including multi-generation PPDU ¶0062, multi-generation PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain]; and performing, by the processor, the wireless communication with the AP in a 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz bandwidth with 80MHz being a minimum size of each of multiple PPDUs of the FD-A-PPDU [¶0062-64, AP generates PPDUs for STAs, “In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”].
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple different PPDUs having PPDU formats with a tone spacing and a same guard interval (GI) [¶0039 teaches 802.11ax and 802.11be known to have tone spacing, see ¶0073-74, compound PPDU of multiple WiFi generations, wherein ¶0069 the generations may have same tone plan, and ¶0074, common guard interval thus same GI] and utilizing a minimum size of 80MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks as a base building block, wherein each of the multiple different PPDUs occupies one or more of the 80 MHz non-overlapping frequency subblocks [¶0062 “ In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz. In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. For example, the bandwidth of each subchannel may be 80 MHz.”” wherein Figure 5-6-7A, frequencies are non-overlapping, thus functional fields are in subblocks of 80 MHz],
wherein the multiple different PPDUs are aligned in a time domain including symbol boundaries of corresponding functional fields [¶0041, ¶0089, an AP may modify one or more generation-specific preambles to ensure preamble and OFDM symbol alignment of the generation-specific preambles within the multi-generation PPDU.]
wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises a frequency-domain aggregated bandwidth corresponding to at least one of 160MHz, 240MHz, 320MHz, 480MHz or 640MHz FD-A-PPDU [¶0062 “ The multi-generation PPDU 500 may span the channel bandwidth 505 of a wireless channel. In the example of FIG. 5, the wireless channel may include a first subchannel 501, a second subchannel 502, and a third subchannel 503. In various implementations, the wireless channel may have a bandwidth that is greater than or equal to 320 MHz”],
wherein the performing of the wireless communication comprises performing a downlink (DL) or trigger-based (TB) uplink (UL) communication [¶0040, ¶0058, ¶0064. PPDU generated by AP, thus downlink communication, TB uplink may be ignored as it is an option].
Shellhammer teaches generations including 802.11ax and 802.11be see but does not expressly teach same tone spacing however Yu teaches wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises multiple different PPDUs having PPDU formats with a same tone spacing [¶0107 “sub-PPDU-1 in the illustrated example can be an IEEE 802.11ax packet, sub-PPDU-2 can be an IEEE 802.11be packet, and sub-PPDU-3 can be a post-IEEE 802.11be packet […] To this end, consistent tone spacing in different WI-FI (IEEE 802.11) amendments in multiple sub-PPDU is required.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the same tone spacing as Shellhammer specifically indicates 802.11ax and 802.11be which have the same tone spacing as indicated in Yu so receiver can properly decode the sub0PPDUs ¶0107.
Regarding claim 17, Shellhammer-Yu teaches:
The method of Claim 16, wherein the FD-A-PPDU comprises different PPDUs utilizing non-overlapping frequency subblocks [Shellhammer ¶0062, ¶0073-74, multi-generation multi PPDU signaled, ¶0016 formatted as a compound PPDU includes concurrently signaled sub-PPDUs in different subchannels i.e. frequency domain, and see “In some such implementations, the generation-specific preambles may be signaled in subchannels that have a bandwidth size that is a multiple of 80 MHz bandwidth. ”].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478