Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1-26 and 29 are amended. Claim 31 is added. Claims 1-31 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 3/26/2026 with respect to claims 1-30, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4, 8-10, 12-17 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0022219 A1) in view of Yi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0203468 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0095225 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications (See Fig. 6 and 7; Apparatus 600 and Terminal 700), comprising: one or more memories (See Fig. 6; Memory 602); and one or more processors (See Fig. 6; Processor 601) configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a first indication of a first plurality of uplink transmission occasions, the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions to occur over a first plurality of time periods (See Par. [85], [96] and Fig. 4 & 5 of Liu for a reference to receiving, by the terminal, from the network node, configuration information indicating first and second resource allocations [Occasions] for transmitting scheduling requests (RS));
Liu does not explicitly disclose receive a second indication of one or more active time periods associated with a network entity and one or more inactive time periods associated with the network entity, wherein each of a first one or more up link transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods, wherein each of a second one or more uplink transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods, refrain from transmitting, to the network entity, in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Yi discloses receive a second indication of one or more active time periods associated with a network entity and one or more inactive time periods associated with the network entity (See Par. [404] and Fig. 24 & 27 of Yi for a reference to the terminal receives an RRC message, from the gNB, comprising a first parameter and a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle), wherein each of a first one or more up link transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods, wherein each of a second one or more uplink transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods (See Par. [432]-[433], [475]-[474] of Yi for a reference to determining, by the terminal, based on the received RRC, the BWP that is to be activated for transmitting the SR. The terminal may activate the first default BWP during the first time period (DRX On Duration), while the first default BWP may be inactivated during the second time period (DRX Off Duration)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi to Liu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device, improving network coverage of a wireless network, and increasing the system throughput, or data rate of transmission. (Yi; Par. [324])
The combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose refrain from transmitting, to the network entity, in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Kim discloses refrain from transmitting, to the network entity, in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [102]-[103], [108], [112] of Kim for a reference to the network configures a first power saving opportunity 415a and a second power saving opportunity 415b. The UE 115 refrains from transmitting the pose information 420, to the network, during occasions 415a or 415b or both).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from transmitting in the second one or more up link transmission occasions.
However, Kim discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from transmitting in the second one or more up link transmission occasions (See Par. [102]-[103], [108], [112] of Kim for a reference to the network configures a first power saving opportunity 415a and a second power saving opportunity 415b. The UE 115 refrains from transmitting the pose information 420 during occasions 415a or 415b or both).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: transmit in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [25], [86], [93]-[94] of Liu for a reference to the first resource allocation may be inactivated during the first time period and the second resource allocation is activated during the second time. The terminal transmits SR in the second resource allocation).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to:
send a third indication that the apparatus will refrain from transmitting in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to the terminal sends a report [Third indication] of activation/inactivation, of the first and second resource allocations, to the network node).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to:
receive a third indication of a second plurality of uplink transmission occasions, the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions to occur over a second plurality of time periods (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to automatic determination of which resource allocations/occasions to use based on received network indication, timer and conditions), wherein each of a third one or more up link transmission occasions of the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods (See Par. [79], [97], [99] of Liu for a reference to the configured resource allocations/occasions may occur during an active time periods), and wherein each of a fourth one or more uplink transmission occasions of the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods (See Par. [67], [91] of Liu for a reference to the configured resource allocations/occasions may occur during an inactive time periods); and transmit in the third one or more uplink transmission occasions and the fourth one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [86], [91]-[93], [99] of Liu for a reference to transmitting the UL SR during either an active time period or inactive time period or both).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and further cause the apparatus to:
receive a third indication of a configuration for handling uplink transmission occasions that are to occur at least partially during the one or more inactive time periods (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to automatic determination of which resource allocations/occasions to use based on received network indication, timer and conditions), wherein the configuration configures the apparatus to one of:
refrain from transmitting in all uplink transmission occasions of a plurality of uplink transmission occasions when at least one of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions at least partially occurs during an inactive time period; transmit in all uplink transmission occasions of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions when at least one of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions occurs at least partially during an inactive time period; or refrain from transmitting in all uplink transmission occasions of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions that occur at least partially during inactive time periods, and transmit in all uplink transmission occasions of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions that occur during active time periods (See Par. [23]-[25], [86], [93]-[94] of Liu for a reference to the first resource allocation may be inactivated during the first time period and the second resource allocation is activated during the second time. The terminal transmits SR in the second resource allocation).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: send a third indication indicating a number of the first plurality of time periods in which the apparatus will transmit a transport block.
However, Kim discloses send a third indication indicating a number of the first plurality of time periods in which the apparatus will transmit a transport block (See Par. [111]-[112] and Fig. 9 of Kim for a reference to determining an occasion/time window for UL transmission according to configurations indicated by the network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from transmitting in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is greater than a threshold number; and transmit in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when the number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is not greater than the threshold number.
However, Kim discloses refrain from transmitting in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is greater than a threshold number; and transmit in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when the number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is not greater than the threshold number (See Par. [119], [135], [138] of Kim for a reference to transmitting or refraining from transmitting pose information 420 depends on satisfying a slot window threshold used in determining UL transmit parameters within a time window).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to:
receive a third indication of a second plurality of uplink transmission occasions, the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions to occur over a second plurality of time periods (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to automatic determination of which resource allocations/occasions to use based on received network indication, timer and conditions), wherein each of a third one or more uplink transmission occasions of the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods (See Par. [79], [97], [99] of Liu for a reference to the configured resource allocations/occasions may occur during an active time periods), and wherein each of a fourth one or more uplink transmission occasions of the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods; transmit in the fourth one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [67], [91] of Liu for a reference to the configured resource allocations/occasions may occur during an inactive time periods)
the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose transmit in the third one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the third one or more uplink transmission occasions is less than a threshold number; and refrain from transmitting in the third one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the third one or more uplink transmission occasions is not less than the threshold number.
However, Kim discloses transmit in the third one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the third one or more uplink transmission occasions is less than a threshold number; and refrain from transmitting in the third one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the third one or more uplink transmission occasions is not less than the threshold number (See Par. [119], [135], [138] of Kim for a reference to transmitting or refraining from transmitting pose information 420 depends on satisfying a slot window threshold used in determining UL transmit parameters within a time window).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications (See Fig. 6 and 8; Apparatus 600 and network node 800), comprising: one or more memories (See Fig. 6; Memory 602); and one or more processors (See Fig. 6; Processor 601)configured to cause the apparatus to:
send, to a user equipment (UE), a first indication of a first plurality of uplink transmission occasions, the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions to occur over a first plurality of time periods (See Par. [85], [96] and Fig. 4 & 5 of Liu for a reference to sending, by the network node, to the terminal, configuration information indicating first and second resource allocations [Occasions] for transmitting scheduling requests (RS));
Liu does not explicitly disclose send, to the UE, a second indication of one or more active time periods associated with a network entity and one or more inactive time periods associated with the network entity, wherein each of a first one or more up link transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods, wherein each of a second one or more uplink transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods, refrain from receiving, from the UE, to the network entity, in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Yi discloses send, to the UE, a second indication of one or more active time periods associated with a network entity and one or more inactive time periods associated with the network entity (See Par. [404] and Fig. 24 & 27 of Yi for a reference to the terminal receives an RRC message, from the gNB, comprising a first parameter and a second parameter. The first parameter may indicate a first time value of the DRX Active state (DRX On duration) of the DRX cycle. The second parameter may indicate a second time of the DRX Sleep state (DRX Off duration) of the DRX cycle), wherein each of a first one or more up link transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods, wherein each of a second one or more uplink transmission occasions of the first plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods (See Par. [432]-[433], [475]-[474] of Yi for a reference to determining, by the terminal, based on the received RRC, the BWP that is to be activated for transmitting the SR. The terminal may activate the first default BWP during the first time period (DRX On Duration), while the first default BWP may be inactivated during the second time period (DRX Off Duration)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi to Liu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device, improving network coverage of a wireless network, and increasing the system throughput, or data rate of transmission. (Yi; Par. [324])
The combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose refrain from receiving, from the UE, to the network entity, in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Kim discloses refrain from receiving, from the UE, to the network entity, in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [102]-[103], [108], [112] of Kim for a reference to the network configures a first power saving opportunity 415a and a second power saving opportunity 415b. The UE 115 refrains from transmitting the pose information 420, to the network, during occasions 415a or 415b or both).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from receiving from the UE in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Kim discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from receiving from the UE in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [102]-[103], [108], [112] of Kim for a reference to the network configures a first power saving opportunity 415a and a second power saving opportunity 415b. The network device refrains from receiving the pose information 420 during occasions 415a or 415b or both).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: receive in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [25], [86], [93]-[94] of Liu for a reference to the first resource allocation may be inactivated during the first time period and the second resource allocation is activated during the second time. The network node receives SR in the second resource allocation).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to d further cause the apparatus to:
receive a third indication that the UE will refrain from transmitting in the first one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to the network node receives a report [Third indication] of activation/inactivation, of the first and second resource allocations, to the network node).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to:
transmit a third indication of a second plurality of uplink transmission occasions, the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions to occur over a second plurality of time periods (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to automatic determination of which resource allocations/occasions to use based on transmitted network indication, timer and conditions), wherein each of a third one or more up link transmission occasions of the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur at least partially during a corresponding one of the one or more inactive time periods (See Par. [79], [97], [99] of Liu for a reference to the configured resource allocations/occasions may occur during an active time periods), and wherein each of a fourth one or more uplink transmission occasions of the second plurality of uplink transmission occasions is to occur during a corresponding one of the one or more active time periods (See Par. [67], [91] of Liu for a reference to the configured resource allocations/occasions may occur during an inactive time periods); and receive in the third one or more uplink transmission occasions and the fourth one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [86], [91]-[93], [99] of Liu for a reference to receiving the UL SR during either an active time period or inactive time period or both).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim, specifically Liu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to:
transmit a third indication of a configuration for handling uplink transmission occasions that are to occur at least partially during the one or more inactive time periods (See Par. [99] of Liu for a reference to automatic determination of which resource allocations/occasions to use based on received network indication, timer and conditions), wherein the configuration configures the UE to one of: refrain from transmitting in all uplink transmission occasions of a plurality of uplink transmission occasions when at least one of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions at least partially occurs during an inactive time period; transmit in all uplink transmission occasions of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions when at least one of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions occurs at least partially during an inactive time period; or refrain from transmitting in all uplink transmission occasions of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions that occur at least partially during inactive time periods, and transmit in all uplink transmission occasions of the plurality of uplink transmission occasions that occur during active time periods (See Par. [23]-[25], [86], [93]-[94] of Liu for a reference to the first resource allocation may be inactivated during the first time period and the second resource allocation is activated during the second time. The terminal transmits SR in the second resource allocation).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: receive a third indication indicating a number of the first plurality of time periods in which the UE will transmit a transport block.
However, Kim discloses receive a third indication indicating a number of the first plurality of time periods in which the UE will transmit a transport block (See Par. [111]-[112] and Fig. 9 of Kim for a reference to determining an occasion/time window for UL transmission according to configurations indicated by the network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Liu and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from receiving in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is greater than a threshold number; and receive in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when the number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is not greater than the threshold number.
However, Kim discloses refrain from receiving in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when a number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is greater than a threshold number; and receive in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions when the number of the first one or more uplink transmission occasions is not greater than the threshold number (See Par. [119], [135], [138] of Kim for a reference to receiving or refraining from receiving pose information 420 depends on satisfying a slot window threshold used in determining UL transmit parameters within a time window).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim to the combination of Liu and Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving reliability and reducing power consumption when configuring the UE to reduce pose information transmission during a DL burst occasion. (Kim; Par. [47])
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 13.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 14.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more active time periods associated with the network entity and the one or more inactive time periods associated with the network entity are associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX) communication cycle of the network entity.
However, Yi discloses wherein the one or more active time periods associated with the network entity and the one or more inactive time periods associated with the network entity are associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX) communication cycle of the network entity (See Par. [404] and Fig. 24 & 27 of Yi for a reference to the first time value is associated with the network DRX cycle and is (DRX On duration [Active State]) of the DRX cycle, and the second time value is associated with the network DRX cycle and is (DRX Off duration [Inactive State]) of the DRX cycle).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi to Liu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device, improving network coverage of a wireless network, and increasing the system throughput, or data rate of transmission. (Yi; Par. [324])
6. Claims 5-7, 11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Yi et al. in view of Kim et al. and further in view of Ly et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0303983 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein, to transmit in the second one or more up link transmission occasions, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Ly discloses transmit a single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [62]-[63] of Ly for a reference to the UE may transmit a single transport block (TB) over multiple slots based on multi-slot resource allocations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein to transmit the single transport block, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are transmitted over different numbers of uplink transmission occasions.
However, Ly discloses transmit a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are transmitted over different numbers of uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [62]-[63], [83] of Ly for a reference to portions of coded bits sent across multiple occasions transport block supports repetitions/segmentations across different accounts).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein to transmit the single transport block, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are transmitted over a same number of uplink transmission occasions.
However, Ly discloses transmit a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are transmitted over a same number of uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [62]-[63], [86] of Ly for a reference to rules for multi-slots TB transmission and handling intervening transmission that provides consistent structure across occasions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication comprises a plurality of bits, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to further cause the apparatus to: assume a value of one or more of the plurality of bits while decoding the first indication based on a remaining duration of a first active time period to occur after receiving the first indication.
However, Ly discloses assume a value of one or more of the plurality of bits while decoding the first indication based on a remaining duration of a first active time period to occur after receiving the first indication (See Par. [85]-[86], [123]-[124], [157]-[158] of Ly for a reference to other portions of the coded bits corresponding to the TB is a remaining portions of the coded bits corresponding to the TB, following the different UL transmissions that is in a same slot as the different UL transmissions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein, to receive in the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive a single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions.
However, Ly discloses receive a single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [62]-[63] of Ly for a reference to the network device may receive a single transport block (TB) over multiple slots based on multi-slot resource allocations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein to receive the single transport block, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are received over different numbers of uplink transmission occasions.
However, Ly discloses receive a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are received over different numbers of uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [62]-[63], [83] of Ly for a reference to portions of coded bits is received across multiple occasions transport block supports repetitions/segmentations across different accounts).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein to transmit the single transport block, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are received over a same number of uplink transmission occasions.
However, Ly discloses receive a first repetition and a second repetition of the single transport block over the second one or more uplink transmission occasions, wherein the first repetition and the second repetition are received over a same number of uplink transmission occasions (See Par. [62]-[63], [86] of Ly for a reference to rules for multi-slots TB transmission and handling intervening transmission that provides consistent structure across occasions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly to the combination of Liu, Yi and Kim. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by resolving conflicts between the UL transmission of the TB and different UL transmissions, reducing Tx state switching and conserving processing and memory resources . (Ly; Par. [69])
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Molavian Jazi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0394734 A1) discloses a method for cross-carrier scheduling across different discontinuous reception (DRX) groups.
Rico Alvarino et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0105856 A1) discloses techniques and apparatuses for a narrowband reference signal (NRS) for a user equipment (UE) specific discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
Lin et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0314811 A1) discloses a user equipment (UE), a base station, and a method for receiving physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs).
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413