DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 11/25/2025. Claims 2-4, 6-7, 12-14, and 16-17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 5, 8-11, 15, and 18-20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection made in view of newly cited Medina Acosta et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0385835 A1; hereafter referred to as Medina).
Independent claims 1 and 11 have been amended to include the limitations of previous claims 4 and 7, and 14 and 17, respectively. The independent claims have also been amended to add a new limitation requiring “duplicating RUs or MRUs associated with multiple users with different numbers of repetitions”. It is believed that the amended limitations of claims 1 and 11 are rendered obvious in view of the teachings of previously cited Chen et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0068104 A1) and newly cited Medina.
Specifically, previously cited Chen et al. has been shown in the Non-Final rejection mailed 9/22/2025 to anticipate the limitations of previous claims 4 and 14. The limitations of previous claims 7 and 17, as well as the new limitation requiring “duplicating RUs or MRUs associated with multiple users with different numbers of repetitions” are rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Medina. For example, Medina discloses transmissions of several wireless devices being made with defined resource unit (RU) length and number of repetitions (See paragraphs 48-51 of Medina). Medina also discloses that the RU length and number of repetitions may be different for different wireless devices in cases of MU-MIMO (See paragraphs 61-69 of Medina). Thus, different wireless devices may be configured to use different RU lengths and different number of repetitions such that the configuration of each wireless device is optimized to its current needs. Therefore, it is believed that the amended claim limitations are rendered obvious in view of the teachings of previously cited Chen et al. and the teachings of newly cited Medina. Please see the rejections below for further detail.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim amendment appears to include a typo in line 13 using the acronym “MURs” instead of “MRUs”.
Regarding claim 11, the claim amendment appears to include the same typo in line 15.
It is recommended that the typos in these claims be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0068104 A1) in view of Medina Acosta et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0385835 A1; hereafter referred to as Medina).
With respect to claims 1 and 11, Chen et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations of a method (See the abstract, paragraphs 55-56, and Figure 4 of Chen et al. for reference to a station, STA, which is an apparatus, comprising a transceiver coupled to processing circuitry configured to perform operations of a wireless communication method). Chen et al. also discloses generating, by the processor of the apparatus, a resource unit (RU) or multi-RU (MRU) (See paragraphs 9-10 of Chen et al. for reference to generating a RU). Chen et al. further discloses performing, by the processor, an Enhanced Long Range (ELR) communication wirelessly with either or both of: duplication of the RU or MRU; and repetition of tones of the RU or MRU (See paragraph 49 and Figure 3 of Chen et al. for reference to performing long range communication with RU tone repetition and duplication of the transmission of the RU). Chen et al. also discloses wherein the performing of the ELR communication comprises performing an orthogonal frequency-division multiple-access (OFDMA) multi-user (MU) ELR communication with duplication of the RU or MRU (See paragraph 32 and paragraph 49 of Chen et al. for reference to embodiments including performing OFDMA transmission in accordance with an 802.11ax tone plan, which is known in the art include multi-user communication, with duplication of the RU). Although Chen et al. does disclose that the number of repetitions is configurable (See paragraph 53 of Chen et al.), Chen et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the performing of the OFDMA MU ELR communication with duplication of the RU or MRU comprises duplicating RUs or MRUs associated with multiple users with different numbers of repetitions and with the RUs or MURs having different sizes such that different effective coding rates are achieved for the multiple users. However, Medina, in the field of communications, discloses transmissions of several wireless devices being made with defined resource unit (RU) length and number of repetitions (See paragraphs 48-51 of Medina). Medina also discloses that the RU length and number of repetitions may be different for different wireless devices in cases of MU-MIMO (See paragraphs 61-69 of Medina). Thus, different wireless devices may be configured to use different RU lengths and different number of repetitions such that the configuration of each wireless device is optimized to its current needs. Therefore, it would have been ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Medina, to combine using performing MU communications for multiple users having different numbers of repetitions and different RU lengths, as suggested by Medina, within the system and method of Chen et al., with the motivation being to optimize the transmission configuration each wireless device separately according to its current needs.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Medina, and in further view of Lim et al. (U.S. Publication US 2022/0116921 A1).
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Chen et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the performing of the ELR communication comprises performing the ELR communication with duplication of the RU or MRU by duplicating the RU or MRU with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) using binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) or BPSK plus dual-carrier modulation (DCM).
With further respect to claims 8 and 18, Lim et al., in the field of communications, discloses RUs for DUP mode may be modulated using BPSK and that a DCM scheme may be applied (See paragraph 261 of Lim et al.). Using BPSK or BPSK with a DCM scheme has the advantage of providing a more robust modulation scheme for extended range communication. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Lim et al., to combine using BPSK or BPSK with a DCM scheme, as suggested by Lim et al., as the modulation for the duplicated RUs of Chen et al., with the motivation being to provide a more robust modulation scheme for extended range communication.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Medina, and in further view Zhu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2018/0316467 A1) and Lim et al.
With respect to claims 5 and 15, although Chen et al. does disclose performing duplication of the RU (See paragraph 49 and Figure 3 of Chen et al.), Chen et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the performing of the OFDMA MU ELR communication with duplication of the RU or MRU comprises duplicating the RU or MRU by: two times (2x) of a 26-tone RU (RU26) on a 52-tone RU (RU52) with an effective coding rate (eR) = 1/8 for binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) + dual-carrier modulation (DCM) modulation or eR = 1/4 for BPSK modulation, or three times (3x) of the RU26 on a 78-tone MRU (MRU78) with the eR = 1/12 for BPSK + DCM modulation or eR = 1/6 for BPSK modulation, or two times (2x) of a 52-tone RU (RU52) on a 106-tone RU (RU106) with the eR = 1/8 for BPSK + DCM modulation or eR = 1/4 for BPSK modulation, or four times (4x) of the RU26 on the RU106 with the eR = 1/16 for BPSK + DCM modulation or eR = 1/8 for BPSK modulation. Note, this claim includes several alternatives claimed for duplicating the RU or MRU; however, only a single of the claimed alternatives needs to be rejected in order to render obvious these alternative claim limitations. However, Zhu et al., in the field of communications, discloses performing OFDMA MU mode extended range communication using a PPDU including multiple subbands that carry the same data, i.e. repeated RUs, with an embodiment of repeatedly transmitting the data information twice in a 106-tone RU, which equates to 2x 52-tone RU (See paragraph 4 and paragraphs 95-101 of Zhu et al.). The specific repetition of RUs chosen within the specific band sizes are a design choice based on the bands used and allocated by the system and the capabilities of the devices transmitting the RUs. Thus, it would have been an obvious design choice to use a two times (2x) of a 52-tone RU (RU52) on a 106-tone RU (RU106), as suggested by Zhu et al., within the system and method of Chen et al., based on the allocated bands and capabilities of the devices transmitting the RUs. The combination of Chen et al. and Zhu et al. does not specifically teach the use of BPSK + DCM modulation or BPSK modulation achieving the claimed effective coding rates. However, as shown above in the rejection of claims 8 and 18, the use of BPSK or BPSK with a DCM scheme is rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Lim et al. (See paragraph 261 of Lim et al.). Thus, claims 5 and 15 are also rendered obvious for the same reasons as applied above to claims 3, 8, 13, and 18.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Medina, and in further view of Hu et al. (U.S. Publication US 2021/0400670 A1).
With respect to claims 9 and 19, although Chen et al. does disclose performing tone repetition or RUs in the frequency domain (See paragraph 49 and Figure 3 of Chen et al.), Chen et al. does not specifically disclose the tones uniformly distributed over the RU or MRU in a round-robin fashion.
With respect to claims 10 and 20, although Chen et al. does disclose performing tone repetition or RUs in the frequency domain (See paragraph 49 and Figure 3 of Chen et al.), Chen et al. does not specifically disclose performing the ELR communication with repetition of the tones of the RU or MRU with one or more leftover tones; and handling the one or more leftover tones by: continuing the repetition in the one or more leftover tones; or performing no transmission on the one or more leftover tones.
With further respect to claims 9-10 and 19-20, Hu et al., in the field of communications, discloses the tones being uniformly distributed over the RU in a round-robin fashion, as illustrated by Figure 10 of Hu et al., with extra tones, i.e. leftover tones, being used as padding tones such no transmission is performed on the extra tones (See paragraph 94, paragraph 98, and Figure 10 of Hu et al.). Using tones uniformly distributed over the RU in a round-robin fashion with extra tones being used as padding tones has the advantage of preventing issues caused by tones overlapping (See paragraph 98 of Hu et al. for reference to this advantage). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Hu et al., to combine using tones uniformly distributed over the RU in a round-robin fashion with extra tones being used as padding tones, as suggested by Hu et al., within the system and method of Chen et al., with the motivation being to prevent issues caused by tones overlapping.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461