CTNF 18/226,857 CTNF 100419 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Katsuhiko et al. JP 2012090378 . With regards to claim 1 Katsuhiko discloses, a charging device that is able to charge a plurality of battery electric vehicles [fig 1 charging apparatus 1 and plurality of vehicles] , wherein: each of the battery electric vehicles that is connected is charged to a first electric energy [abstract “charging method for an electric vehicle, and more particularly to a device that is suitable for charging a plurality of vehicles parked in a collective parking lot”] ; and subsequently, each of the battery electric vehicles is charged to a second charge level that is larger than a first charge level [¶18 “The charging amount (in minutes) can be input and set in two stages: charging amount min / charging amount max” where min is the first level and max would be the second level] . With regards to claim 2 Katsuhiko discloses, the charging device according to claim 1, wherein: priority is set to each of the battery electric vehicles [¶9 “setting at least one of the following for a vehicle to which the power supply plugs are connected: …. a priority level”] ; and the charging device starts charging from the battery electric vehicle with the highest priority [¶9 “the control means determines whether there are any vehicles to be charged that have not yet been charged to the first charge amount in an order corresponding to the priority level and registration order, and charges the vehicles to be charged that have not yet been charged to the first charge amount according to the first charge amount set for that vehicle, and if there are no vehicles to be charged that have not yet been charged to the first charge amount, it determines whether there are any vehicles to be charged that have not yet been charged to the second charge amount in an order corresponding to the priority level and registration order, and charges the vehicles to be charged that have not yet been charged to the second charge amount set for that vehicle”] . With regards to claim 3 Katsuhiko discloses, the charging device according to claim 1, wherein an input device that receives an input of a priority by a user is provided [fig 2 and ¶14 “the user inputs and sets the necessary information via the input device 5 (step S104)”] . With regards to claim 4 Katsuhiko discloses, the charging device according to claim 1, wherein the first charge level is set to half of a full charge level of the battery electric vehicle [¶18 “Just like with gasoline-powered vehicles, users check the vehicle's meter and, for example, set an appropriate charging amount (in minutes) in the charging amount min field when the battery charge level is low” which reasonably reads on the half charge, as a user selects a charge level anywhere below full capacity as the initial charge level in order to reach a point or threshold for their vehicle to be operable which reasonably reads on the half charge level selection] . With regards to claim 5 Katsuhiko discloses, the charging device according to claim 4, wherein the second charge level is set to the full charge level of the battery electric vehicle [¶18 “set the maximum charge amount (in minutes) to an appropriate amount” where the maximum charge being set to an appropriate amount reasonably reads on the full charge level as claimed, as a user of the vehicle would prefer to have their vehicle fully charged] . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nathan Instone whose telephone number is (571)272-1563. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/226,857 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/226,857 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/226,857 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/226,857 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859