Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “the maximum radial extension”. The “the” should be an “a”. See also claim 9.
Claim 20 recites “a vibration”. This should read “a vibration unit”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the control unit". As depending from claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the first plane arranged between the second plane and the base plate”. In view of applicant’s disclosure, it is unclear what applicant intends. The base plate is a multi-dimensional element and the damping element defining the base plate circumscribes the base plate which extends all the way to the head portion. The claimed arrangement is unclear. It appears that applicant may be intending to refer to an unrecited surface of the base plate. Claim 9 is rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the apparatus". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-19 are rejected for their dependency from a rejected claim AND where applicable, additionally reciting “the apparatus”.
Claim 14-18 recite “the receptacle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claims 12 and 13 recite “a receptacle configured as an energy storage device” and “the fastening device comprises a receptacle for the base plate”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation " the second plane” and “the sealing element”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the apparatus". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation " the bottom edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eitzen (US 6200065 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Eitzen teaches an apparatus for surface processing of plastically deformable masses, fresh concrete, mortar or screed, comprising:
an L-shaped housing comprising a first housing axis (Fig 3, axis of handle 120) and a second housing axis (Fig 3, second axis from 100 to 85), wherein the first housing axis and the second housing axis intersect each other at an angle (a) (Fig 3, an angle is seen), wherein:
the L-shaped housing comprises a handle arranged along the first housing axis (Fig 3, handle 120), a receptacle configured as an energy storage device and arranged and formed at a free end of the handle (Fig 3, energy device 135 at free end of handle 120), and
the L-shaped housing comprises a head portion arranged along the second housing axis (Fig 3, head portion at 100), and a base plate arranged at a free end of the head portion (Fig 3, base plate is mounting, seemingly labelled as 99/98 in Fig 8), and
a vibration unit arranged at least partially within the head portion (Fig 3, vibrator 100), the vibration unit configured such that the base plate may be arranged thereon (Fig 3, 8, base plate as defined is arranged on the vibrator 100).
Regarding claim 3, Eitzen teaches wherein the control unit is arranged within the handle (Column 5, line 60-65, internal control shaft which is within shaft 120).
Regarding claim 4, Eitzen teaches wherein: a center of gravity of the apparatus is located in a center of gravity plane defined by the first housing axis and by the second housing axis (Fig 3, plane defined by the axes as defined), and the center of gravity is arranged between the second housing axis and the free end of the handle (Fig 3, center of gravity would be between the second housing axis, as the second housing axis is at the farthest bottom and the free end at the farthest top of the tool and the center of gravity must fall between these).
Regarding claim 5, Eitzen teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a damping element configured to damp vibration caused by the vibration unit between the L- shaped housing and the base plate (Fig 5, bar 85 at least acts as a dampener by virtue of contributing mass to the system).
Regarding claim 6, Eitzen teaches wherein the damping element is arranged in a first plane orthogonal to the second housing axis between the L-shaped housing and the base plate (Fig 3, 5, bar 85 is in a first plane as seen at the top of the bar).
Regarding claim 7, Eitzen teaches wherein the maximum radial extension of the damping element with respect to the second housing axis is greater than the maximum radial extension of the base plate (Fig 3, 5, bar 85 has a greater radial extent as seen).
Regarding claim 8, Eitzen teaches wherein the L-shaped housing comprises a sealing element arranged in a second plane parallel to and spaced from the first plane, the first plane arranged between the second plane and the base plate (Column 5, lines 40-45, housing 105 has seals/a cover, this is in a second plane. Note the plane may be selected and defined such that the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 11, Eitzen teaches wherein the base plate is configured to be supported in a decoupled manner from the head portion (Fig 5-6, bolted/selectively coupled as seen).
Regarding claim 12, Eitzen teaches a system for surface processing of plastically deformable masses, fresh concrete, mortar or screed, comprising:
an L-shaped housing comprising a first housing axis (Fig 3, axis of handle 120) and a second housing axis (Fig 3, second axis from 100 to 85), wherein the first housing axis and the second housing axis intersect each other at an angle (a) (Fig 3, an angle is seen), wherein:
the L-shaped housing comprises a handle arranged along the first housing axis (Fig 3, handle 120), a receptacle configured as an energy storage device and arranged and formed at a free end of the handle (Fig 3, energy device 135 at free end of handle 120), and
the L-shaped housing comprises a head portion arranged along the second axis (Fig 3, head portion at 100), and a base plate arranged at a free end of the head portion (Fig 3, base plate is mounting, seemingly labelled as 99/98 in Fig 8), and
a vibration unit arranged at least partially within the head portion (Fig 3, vibrator 100), the vibration unit configured such that the base plate may be arranged thereon (Fig 3, 8, base plate as defined is arranged on the vibrator 100); and
a processing plate comprising a bottom side arranged and configured to face the plastically deformable mass fresh concrete, mortar or screed (Fig 3-4, plate 75), and a top side arranged opposite to the bottom side (see fig 3-4) and comprising a fastening device configured to fasten the apparatus to the processing plate (Fig 6, 8-9, at least bolts seen and bracket/frame 132/134, 94/96).
Regarding claim 13, Eitzen teaches wherein the fastening device comprises a receptacle for the base plate (Fig 6, 8, 9, bracket 132/134, 94/96 is an A-frame in which the base plate is received in between).
Regarding claim 14, Eitzen teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to be inserted into the receptacle in a first position and in a second position , the first position differing from the second position by a rotation of the apparatus about the second housing axis relative to the processing plate (Fig 6, 8, 9, bracket 132/134, 94/96 is an A-frame in which the base plate is received in between. The apparatus be rotated 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 15, Eitzen teaches wherein
the receptacle comprises a rotationally symmetrical basic shape in a top view (Fig 5-6, the receptacle is symmetric along the rotated top views of Fig 5-6), and
the base plate comprises a corresponding basic shape configured so as to facilitate arrangement of the apparatus in the receptacle in different positions (Fig 2, the base plate as defined as a shape which permits arrangement in different positions along 85/86/70).
Regarding claim 16, Eitzen teaches wherein a depth of the receptacle is greater than the distance from a bottom edge of the base plate to the second plane supporting the sealing element (Column 5, lines 40-45, housing 105 has seals/a cover and the receptacle is larger than the seal, and therefore has a greater depth. Please see the 112b rejection).
Regarding claim 17, Eitzen teaches wherein the fastening device comprises a locking unit configured to fix the apparatus in the receptacle (Fig 2, bracket 132 locks/retains shaft 120).
Regarding claim 18, Eitzen teaches wherein the fastening device comprises a further receptacle configured as a base plate of another apparatus (Fig 2, bracket 132 is capable of use as a receptacle/base plate for “another hypothetical” apparatus).
Regarding claim 19, Eitzen teaches wherein the bottom side configured to be faced towards a plastically deformable mass, fresh concrete, mortar or screed to be processed of the processing plate comprises at least one shaping profile (Fig 3-4, bottom side has a flat shaping profile 80).
Regarding claim 20, Eitzen teaches a method of surface processing plastically deformable masses, fresh concrete, mortar or screed comprising the steps of:
providing an L-shaped housing comprising a first housing axis (Fig 3, axis of handle 120) and a second housing axis (Fig 3, second axis from 100 to 85), wherein the first housing axis and the second housing axis intersect each other at an angle (a) (Fig 3, an angle is seen), wherein:
the L-shaped housing comprises a handle arranged along the first housing axis (Fig 3, handle 120), a receptacle configured as an energy storage device and arranged and formed at a free end of the handle (Fig 3, energy device 135 at free end of handle 120), and
the L-shaped housing comprises a head portion arranged along the second housing axis (Fig 3, head portion at 100), and a base plate arranged at a free end of the head portion (Fig 3, base plate is mounting, seemingly labelled as 99/98 in Fig 8), and
arranging a vibration at least partially within the head portion (Fig 3, vibrator 100), the vibration unit configured such that the base plate may be arranged thereon (Fig 3, 8, base plate as defined is arranged on the vibrator 100);
arranging a processing plate comprising a bottom side arranged and configuring to face the plastically deformable mass fresh concrete, mortar or screed (Fig 3-4, plate 75), and a top side arranged opposite to the bottom side (see fig 3-4) and comprising a fastening device configured to fasten the apparatus to the processing plate (Fig 6, 8-9, at least bolts seen and bracket/frame 132/134, 94/96);
applying the bottom edge of the processing plate to a surface to be processed (Fig 3, bottom edge applied to surface of 60),
assuming a tilted position of the housing, wherein the top edge of the processing plate is spaced from the surface to be processed (Fig 4, tilted position seen),
activating the vibration unit (Column 6, line 34-35), and
moving the system over the surface to be processed, wherein an end of the housing lying rearward in a direction of movement represents the bottom edge (Column 4, line 36-40; see also direction of movement 55 in Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eitzen (US 6200065 B1), in view of Heimrich (US 20230392326 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Eitzen is silent on wherein the apparatus comprises a control unit configured to monitor a state of charge of the energy storage device.
Heimrich teaches a control unit configured to monitor a state of charge of the energy storage device (Para 0388).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Eitzen by having a battery operated power source as well as the corresponding controller with its functionality as disclosed by Heimrich because it would be a simple substitution of one known element (the manually controlled ICE) for another (the controller operated battery) to obtain predictable results (providing power to a powered tool).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eitzen (US 6200065 B1).
Regarding claim 9, while Eitzen teaches a sealing cover/sealing element (Column 5, lines 40-45, housing 105), Eitzen does not depict this sealing element and is therefore silent on wherein a maximum radial extension of the sealing element with respect to the second housing axis is greater than the maximum radial extension of the base plate.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Eitzen by having the relative dimensions/radial extent of the sealing element relative to the base plate since the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.05(IV)(A). In this case having the relative sizing of the sealing element relative to the base plate would not result in different performance of the prior art device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eitzen (US 6200065 B1), in view of Davis (US 5857803 A).
Regarding claim 10, Eitzen is silent on wherein the L-shaped housing comprises one piece from a cast aluminum.
Davis teaches wherein the L-shaped housing comprises one piece from a cast aluminum (Column 8, line 14, “parts are preferably cast aluminum.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Eitzen by having at least one piece of the L-shaped housing formed from cast aluminum as disclosed by Davis because Davis teaches that use of cast aluminum is the “preferable” material used for construction in a similar device. One would look to Davis’s teaching because it is a known material used in the same field of endeavor and Davis demonstrates that it would work with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/THEODORE N YAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676