DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending
Claims 1-18 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 10/19/2023 and 06/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detection device configured to transmit,” on line 7 of claim 1, “the detection device is configured to transmit” on line 5 of claim 2, “the detection device is configured to transmit” on line 4 of claim 3, “the detection device is configured to transmit” on lines 1-2 of claim 5, “the detection device is configured to transmit” on lines 1-2 of claim 6, “the detection device is configured to transmit” on line 7 of claim 9, “the detection device is configured to transmit” on line 7 of claim 10, and “the main body is configured to transmit” on line 5 of claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a filtrate" on line 5. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a filtrate’ as recited on line 1 of claim 1, or a different filtrate? Claims 2-18 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a collection pipe" on lines 2-3. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a collection pipe’ as recited on line 3 of claim 1, or a different collection pipe? Claims 5, 7 and 9 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 2.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a collection pipe" on line 2. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a collection pipe’ as recited on line 3 of claim 1, or a different collection pipe? Claims 6, 8 and 10 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 3.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a collection pipe" on lines 2-3. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a collection pipe’ as recited on line 3 of claim 1, or a different collection pipe? Claims 15 and 17 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 12.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a collection pipe" on line 2. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a collection pipe’ as recited on line 3 of claim 1, or a different collection pipe? Claims 16 and 18 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTANI KAZUHISA et al. (JP 2013000657 A) (hereinafter “Otani”) (see attached English description) in view of WANG WEIDONG et al. (CN 113209679 A) (hereinafter “Wang”) (see attached English description).
Regarding Claim 1:
Otani teaches a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device for a filter press in which a filtrate produced by solid-liquid separation operation of a filter cloth nipped between filter plates is discharged into a collection pipe via a filtrate passage of each of the filter plates (see FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device comprising:
a detection path that extends in a straight line and to which a filtrate discharged from each of filtration chambers formed between adjacent filter plates is collected (see FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22); and
a detection device configured to transmit, from an end portion of the detection path, an interface between a clear filtrate and a filtrate with clogging (see FIGS. 1 and 5, a detection device 1) (see paragraphs 6, 8, 9-10, 12 and 18).
Otani does not explicitly teach a detection device configured to transmit, from an end portion of the detection path, an irradiation wave or a pulse that reflects on an interface between a clear filtrate and a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity, convert a propagation time from the transmission until reception of a reflected wave into a distance, and output the distance, as recited in independent claim 1.
Wang further teaches a filter cloth defect monitoring subsystem and detection subsystem including an industrial camera, a lighting device, an alarm, sensors, a PLC controller and a real-time optimization control module, and an interface capable of detecting a filter cloth damage and transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse with a prescribed turbidity, and to further convert the data into a distance (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 1, wherein Otani further teaches each of the filter plates has a discharge port, and the detection path is a collection pipe defined by the discharge ports connected to one another in an arrangement direction of the filter plates with the filter plates being closed (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Wang further teaches a filter cloth defect monitoring subsystem and detection subsystem including an industrial camera, a lighting device, an alarm, sensors, a PLC controller and a real-time optimization control module, and an interface capable of detecting a filter cloth damage and transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse with a prescribed turbidity, and to further convert the data into a distance (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 1, wherein Otani further teaches
the detection path is a collection pipe provided beside the filter plates separately from the filter plates (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Wang further teaches a filter cloth defect monitoring subsystem and detection subsystem including an industrial camera, a lighting device, an alarm, sensors, a PLC controller and a real-time optimization control module, and an interface capable of detecting a filter cloth damage and transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse with a prescribed turbidity, and to further convert the data into a distance (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 1, wherein Otani further teaches the detection path communicates with a portion of the filtrate passage of each of the filter plates with the filter plates being closed (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 2, wherein Wang further teaches the detection device is configured to transmit the irradiation wave such that the irradiation wave passes at a position closer to a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage than a center of the detection path (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 3, wherein Wang further teaches the detection device is configured to transmit the irradiation wave such that the irradiation wave passes at a position closer to a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage than a center of the detection path (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 2, wherein Otani further teaches a flow-down prevention plate located on an upstream side of a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage in the detection path, the flow-down prevention plate allowing the irradiation wave to pass therethrough (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 3, wherein Otani further teaches a flow-down prevention plate located on an upstream side of a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage in the detection path, the flow-down prevention plate allowing the irradiation wave to pass therethrough (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 2, wherein Otani further teaches a flow-down guide pipe at a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage in the detection path (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), wherein
the flow-down guide pipe is a T-shaped pipe having first and second openings facing an upstream direction and a downstream direction of the collection pipe, respectively (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Wang further teaches the detection device is configured to transmit the irradiation wave such that the irradiation wave passes through the first and second openings (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 3, wherein Otani further teaches a flow-down guide pipe at a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage in the detection path (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), wherein
the flow-down guide pipe is a T-shaped pipe having first and second openings facing an upstream direction and a downstream direction of the collection pipe, respectively (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Wang further teaches the detection device is configured to transmit the irradiation wave such that the irradiation wave passes through the first and second openings (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 1, wherein Wang further teaches the detection device includes:
a main body located at the end portion of the detection path (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31); and
a probe extending in the detection path from the main body (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31), and
the main body is configured to transmit the pulse into the probe (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 11, wherein Otani further teaches
each of the filter plates has a discharge port, and the detection path is a collection pipe defined by the discharge ports connected to one another in an arrangement direction of the filter plates with the filter plates being closed (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), and
the main body is provided at an upstream end of the detection path which is on an upstream side of the filtrate flowing down the detection path (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 11, wherein Otani further teaches
the detection path is a collection pipe provided beside the filter plates separately from the filter plates (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), and
the main body is provided at an upstream end of the detection path which is on an upstream side of the filtrate flowing down the detection path (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 11, wherein Otani further teaches the detection path communicates with a portion of the filtrate passage of each of the filter plates with the filter plates being closed (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 12, wherein Wang further teaches the probe extends to pass at a position closer to a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage than a center of the detection path (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 13, wherein Wang further teaches the probe extends to pass at a position closer to a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage than a center of the detection path (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 12, wherein Otani further teaches a flow-down guide pipe at a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage in the detection path (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), wherein
the flow-down guide pipe is a T-shaped pipe having first and second openings facing an upstream direction and a downstream direction of the collection pipe, respectively (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Wang further teaches the probe is arranged to pass through the first and second openings (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Otani in view of Wang teaches the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device according to claim 13, wherein Otani further teaches a flow-down guide pipe at a connection portion between the detection path and each filtrate passage in the detection path (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22), wherein
the flow-down guide pipe is a T-shaped pipe having first and second openings facing an upstream direction and a downstream direction of the collection pipe, respectively (see Otani FIG. 2, a filter press 15 including a pair of parallel guide rails 18, a front frame 16, a rear frame 17, multiple filter plates 9 each having a filtration bed surface 9a, multiple filter cloths 10, an opening/closing device 19, a head 20, and a filtration chamber 21) (see Otani FIGS. 2-4, filtrate passages 25, discharge passages 26 and a discharge pipe 27) (see Otani paragraphs 1, 6-8, 12, 15-18 and 21-22).
Wang further teaches the probe is arranged to pass through the first and second openings (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Otani and Wang are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter-press filter-cloth damage detection device of Otani to include a detection device capable of transmitting an irradiation wave or a pulse reflecting a filtrate with a prescribed turbidity and to further convert the data into a distance, as taught by Wang, for optimization purposes and to further ensure the filter cloths are not clogged or damaged (see Wang paragraphs 1, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 22, 26 and 28-31).
Other Reference Considered
(no Inventor/Applicant named) (JPS 58116005 U) (see attached English description) teaches a filter press.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773