DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8 and 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/079,383 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims of the applications are directed to substantially similar compositions, methods and apparatus comprising HFO-1132(E), HFC-32 (R32), and HFO-1234yf in amounts that appear to overlap and render obvious the claimed amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are rejected because in claim 2 it is not clear what constitutes “HFO-1132I. The examiner could not find such a compound in the specification. Clarification and/or correction are required. For examination purposes, the examiner is assuming that this compound is HFO-1132(E).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because "Use" claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 709, 129 USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961)("one cannot claim a new use per se, because it is not among the categories of patentable inventions specified in 35 U.S.C. § 101 "). In Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd. App. 1967).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process raises an issue of indefiniteness.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim does not further materially limit the composition of claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima (US 20170058173).
Fukushima teaches a working fluid for heat cycle, a composition for a heat cycle system comprising the working fluid, and a heat cycle system employing the composition which contains at least two members selected from a saturated hydrofluorocarbon and a hydrofluorocarbon having a carbon-carbon double (see abstract and para 0001). The working fluid comprises trans 1,2-difluoroethylene HFO-1132(E)) (see para 0012 [2]). It is an object of Fukushima to provide a working fluid for heat cycle containing HFO-1132, which has high stability, and which has cycle performance sufficient as an alternative to R410A while the influence over global warming is suppressed, a composition for a heat cycle system comprising it, and a heat cycle system employing the composition (see para 0011).
HFO-1132 undergoes self-decomposition reaction at high temperature or with an ignition source under high pressure. The self-decomposition reaction is suppressed by mixing HFO-1132 with another component to form a mixture having a lowered content of HFO-1132. Although it is possible to suppress the self-decomposition reaction by controlling temperature conditions or pressure conditions, it is advantageous to adjust the content of HFO-1132 in the working fluid in view of workability when the working fluid is employed for a heat cycle system (see para 0021). At most 80 mass % of HFO-1132 is present, based on the entire amount of the working fluid. The working fluid contains at least two members selected from a HFC and a HFO in combination with HFO-1132 (see para 0022). The HFC may, for example, be HFC-32 (R32), difluoroethane (see para 0076). The HFO other than HFO-1132 may be 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoropropene (HFO-1234yf) (see para 0083). The HFC may be used alone or in combination of two or more and include 1,1-difluoroethane (HFC-152a), 1,1,1-trifluoroethane (HFC-143a), 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethane (HFC-134), HFC-134a or HFC-125, more preferably HFC-32, HFC-152a, HFC-134a or HFC-125 (see para 0077). Fukushima teaches that the HFO-1132 is present between 20-80 wt% (see para 0071), and teaches examples wherein the range of HFC-32 (R-32) is from 10-70 wt%, and the range of HFO-1234yf is from 10-70 wt% (see Table 13). Fukushima teaches that the composition is used as a refrigerant for a refrigerating apparatus (see para 0175). Fukushima meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Fukushima does not specifically teach the mass% of HFO-1132(E), R32, and R1234yf based on their sum is respectively represented by x, y, and z, coordinates (x,y,z) in a ternary composition diagram in which the sum of HFO-1132(E), R32, and R1234yf is 100 mass% are within the range of a figure surrounded by the claimed straight lines and points. However, Fukushima teaches a refrigerant composition comprising HFO-1132(E) in 20 wt%, HFC-32 (R32) in 10 wt%, and HFO-1234yf in 70 wt% which are amounts that would fall within the figures on the claimed ternary composition diagram (see Table 13, Example 113).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Minor (US 8,961,811) is cited for teaching compositions for use in refrigeration, air-conditioning, and heat pump systems wherein the composition comprises 1,2-difluoroethylene (HFO-1132(E)) and 2,3,3,3-tetrafluoro-1-propene (R1234yr) (see abstract and claim 1).
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18226936/20260208