DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13, 17-19, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rozier (FR 2614188) in view of Schulz (DE 102020005781).
Rozier teaches a dish brush for conventional sweeping machines that clean, brush or sweep paved surfaces, wherein the comprising a central base plate (13) and a plurality of demountable or removable segmental plates (16) each elements provided with multiple brush plugs (3), wherein said central base plate is provided with I-shape radial profiles (14) with respective axes radially directed toward a center of said central base plate, wherein said demountable segmental plates are trapezoidal (figure 1) and are each slidable with the respective brush plugs between respective two of the I-shaped radial profiles and are each locked to the central base plate by a respective single screw bolt (17) in a single borehole (18, 19).
Rozier teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a polygonal central base plate. Schulz teaches a street sweeper with a polygonal base plate (figure 3.1, triangle with rounded corners). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rozier so that the base plate is polygonal as taught by Schulz since modifying the shape is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the shape of the central plate because the applicant has not disclosed that polygonal shape provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either shape as taught by Rozier or the claimed polygonal shape as taught by Schulz because both shapes perform the same function of street sweeping equally well. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rozier to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
With regards to claim 13, said demountable segmental plate elements are each provided with a respective segmental rounded plate part (outer surface of 16) on a radially outer side to provide the dish brush with a circular periphery, wherein the segmental rounded plate parts have a thickness equal to a thickness of the segmental plate elements.
With regards to claim 17, said I-shaped radial profiles are disposed at apices of said polygonal central base plate.
With regards to claim 18, Rozier teaches a dish brush for conventional sweeping machines that clean, brush or sweep paved surfaces, comprising a central base plate (13) and a plurality of demountable or removable segmental plates (16) each provided with multiple brush plugs (3), wherein said central base plate is provided along an outer periphery with a plurality of angularly spaced connector elements configured for receiving said demountable or removable segmental plates (14), further comprising locking or attachment elements engageable with said demountable or removable segmental plates and said polygonal central base plate, said locking or attachment elements being configured for releasably attaching said demountable or removable segmental plates to said polygonal central base plate (17, 19).
Rozier teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a polygonal central base plate. Schulz teaches a street sweeper with a polygonal base plate (figure 3.1, triangle with rounded corners). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rozier so that the base plate is polygonal as taught by Schulz since modifying the shape is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the shape of the central plate because the applicant has not disclosed that polygonal shape provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either shape as taught by Rozier or the claimed polygonal shape as taught by Schulz because both shapes perform the same function of street sweeping equally well. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rozier to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
With regards to claim 19, said angularly spaced connector elements comprise I-shaped radial profiles with respective axes radially directed toward a center of said central base plate.
With regards to claim 24, said demountable segmental plate elements are each provided with a respective segmental rounded plate part (outer surface of 16) on a radially outer side to provide the dish brush with a circular periphery, wherein the segmental rounded plate parts have a thickness equal to a thickness of the segmental plate elements.
With regards to claim 26, said locking or attachment elements comprise respective single screw bolts (17) inserted through boreholes (18, 19) in said demountable or removable segmental plates and said polygonal central base plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9-12, 14-16, 20-23, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rozier (FR 2614188) and Schulz (DE 102020005781) in view of EP 4000452.
With regards to claim 3, 14, 20 and 25, Rozier and Schulz teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the central base plate has a raised contour (edge plates) fixed to said planar center portion and inclined at an angle of up to 30 degrees relative to said planar center portion, wherein the demountable segmental plate elements are each slidable to mount between the respective two I-shaped profiles and are each fixed to the raised contour (edge plates) of the central base plate with said respective single screw bolt.
EP ‘452 teaches a central base plate with a raised contour (3) fixed to the planar center portion (2) and inclined at an angle of up to 30 degrees (paragraph 0009). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rozier so that the central base plate has a raised contour as taught by EP ‘452 to allow for the brush plugs to contact a surface at an angle which thus provides a better cleaning experience. Further, the raised contour (edge plates) would then have the attached plate elements be inclined and parallel.
With regards to claim 9 and 24, said demountable segmental plate elements of Rozier are each provided with a respective segmental rounded plate part (outer side of 16) on a radially outer side to give the dish brush a circular periphery, wherein the segmental rounded plate parts have a thickness equal to a thickness of the segmental plate elements.
With regards to claim 10 and 21, the raised contour of Rozier and ‘452 comprises a plurality of contour edge plates each mounted along opposing edges to a pair of the I-shaped radial profiles (top surface of 14 in Rozier).
With regards to claim 11 and 22, Rozier in view of ‘452 teaches that the contour edge plates are fixed relative to said planar center portion and are inclined at said angle relative to said planar center portion (the plates of Rozier are connected to the center portion and when modified with ‘452 the plates would be inclined).
With regards to claim 12 and 23, Rozier teaches that said I-shaped radial profiles are disposed at apices of said planar center portion and are connected to said planar center portion, each of said contour edge plates (Rozier in view of ‘452) being attached along the respective opposing edges to the respective pair of the I-shaped radial profiles.
Rozier and ‘452 teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach welding as the means for connecting the radial profiles and the edge plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection means as taught by Rozier so that they are welded since welding would provide a stronger and more permanent connection.
With regards to claim 15, the planar contour edge plates are affixed to the planar center portion via two of the I-shaped radial profiles (Rozier teaches an edge plate 14 that extends between two I-shaped profiles).
With regards to claim 16, said I-shaped radial profiles are disposed at apices of said planar center portion and are welded to said planar center portion, said contour edge plates being welded to the I-shaped radial profiles.
Rozier and ‘452 teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach welding as the means for connecting the radial profiles and the edge plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection means as taught by Rozier so that they are welded since welding would provide a stronger and more permanent connection.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723