DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on August 7, 2026:
Claims 1-10 are pending the current application. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended, and Claim 6 is withdrawn.
The previous rejections under 35 USC §112 are overcome in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuboki, et al., (US 2019/0165436A1), hereinafter Kuboki.
Regarding claim 1 (amended), Kuboki teaches:
A battery pack comprising ([0074], FIG.1 and 3 - power storage module 10 that includes power storage elements 12):
a secondary battery; and ([0081] - the power storage element 12 may be a secondary battery, such as a lithium-ion rechargeable battery and a nickel-metal hydride rechargeable battery)
a heat-absorbing member that includes a heat-absorbing agent and an exterior member accommodating the heat-absorbing agent and is in contact with the secondary battery at least in part ([0082], FIG. 3 - the cooling member 13 includes a liquid-tightly closed sealing member 26 enclosing a refrigerant 27. [0086] FIGS. 3 and 4 show the outer surface of the sealing member 26 has a contact portion 30 in contact with the power storage element 12.)
the exterior member including a first portion and a second portion each including a metal layer and a resin layer overlapping the metal layer, and a sealing portion sealing the heat-absorbing agent (second embodiment described in [0112-0115] and FIG. 10 shows a cooling member 50 that includes a first sheet member 52 and a second sheet member (not illustrated) each having a synthetic resin layer on only one surface thereof. The first sheet member 52 and the second sheet member 53 are thermally welded to each other in the sealing member 51 with the synthetic resin layers being overlapped and in contact with each other.)
the metal layer of each of the first portion and the second portion being located inside the exterior member with respect to the resin layer, and (Using the second embodiment [0112-0115] and FIG. 8, the metal layers are joined inside the resin layer at the expansion portion 39)
the metal layer of each of the first portion and the second portion being joined to each other at the sealing portion. (Using the second embodiment [0112-0115] and FIG. 8, the metal layers are joined directly to each other in the expansion portion 39)
Regarding claim 3, Kuboki teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the resin layer includes a thin-walled portion overlapping a joint portion of the exterior member where the metal layers are joined to each other (Using the second embodiment and FIG. 8, the thin-walled portion is comprised of the folded single resin layer)
and a thick-walled portion thicker than the thin-walled portion. (Using the second embodiment and FIG. 8, the thick-walled portion encompasses folded portion that includes both sheets)
Regarding claim 8, Kuboki teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein a material of the metal layer contains at least one metal element selected from the group consisting of aluminum, zinc, chromium, and nickel. ([0084] - any metal may be used to form the metal sheet, including aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, and a copper alloy. )
Regarding claim 9, Kuboki teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein a material of the metal layer is any one of an aluminum alloy and a nickel alloy. ([0084] - any metal may be suitably employed to form the metal sheet, including aluminum, an aluminum alloy, copper, and a copper alloy.)
Regarding claim 10, Kuboki teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the exterior member includes an exterior sheet including the metal layer and the resin layer. ([0112] – cooling member is comprised of first and second sheet members 52 and 53, that include a metal sheet and resin layer laminated on one surface of the metal sheet.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboki et al., (US 2019/0165436A1), hereinafter Kuboki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ninomiya et al., (US 2022/0006158A1), hereinafter Ninomiya.
Regarding claim 4, all the teachings of Kuboki in claim 1 above are incorporated herein.
Kuboki does not teach:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the metal layer is thinner than the resin layer.
Ninomiya teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the metal layer is thinner than the resin layer. ([0050-0052] – metal layer is preferably < 20 µm and resin layer is < 30 µm for flexibility.)
Although Kuboki is silent on the relative thicknesses between the metal and resin layers, Kuboki and Ninomiya are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries. The motivation for using the metal and resin thicknesses of Ninomiya is to impart desired permeability suppression, mechanical strength, and flexibility [0050, 0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate a metal layer that is thinner than the resin layer from Ninomiya into the exterior structure of the cooling member in Kuboki in order to impart desired permeability suppression, mechanical strength, and flexibility.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboki et al., (US 2019/0165436A1), hereinafter Kuboki, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasui et al., (US 2011/0274951A1), hereinafter Yasui.
Regarding claim 5, all the teachings of Kuboki in claim 1 above are incorporated herein.
Kuboki does not teach:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the secondary battery has a cylindrical shape, and
the heat-absorbing member has elasticity and is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery.
Yasui teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the secondary battery has a cylindrical shape, and ([0042] discloses a secondary battery and [0043] FIG. 1 discloses a cylindrical battery cell 45)
the heat-absorbing member has elasticity and is in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery.( [0050 - 0052] discloses a heat-absorbing member 50 with an outer film 58 that includes resin and metal layers. The resin layers are made of polyethylene and/or polyethylene terephthalate, both of which exhibit elastic properties. FIG. 2B shows the heat-absorbing member 50 in contact with the battery cell 45.)
Substituting one battery shape in relation to a heat-absorbing structure, as well as materials for the heat-absorbing material (cylindrical shape batteries with a heat-absorbing member that contacts the outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery and also has elasticity, as taught by Yasui) for another (i.e. that of Kuboki) would yield the predictable result of providing a battery/heat-absorbing member combination, as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute a cylindrical shape batteries with a heat-absorbing member that contacts the outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery and also has elasticity for another structure without the specified cell shape and relationship to the head-absorbing material, as well as the elastic property of the heat-absorbing material, as the substitution would yield the predictable result of providing a functional battery/heat-absorbing combined structure, wherein the substituted components and their functions were known in the art.
Regarding claim 7, all the teachings of Kuboki as modified by Yasui in claim 5 above are incorporated herein.
Kuboki teaches:
The battery pack according to claim 5, further comprising a plurality of the secondary batteries, wherein ([0080], FIGS. 3 and 4 – six power storage elements are depicted.)
Kuboki does not teach:
the exterior member includes a first exterior member having a recess and a second exterior member covering the recess, and
the first exterior member has a bottom surface on which a plurality of second curved surfaces in contact with the outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery are arranged in parallel.
Yasui discloses:
the exterior member includes a first exterior member having a recess and a second exterior member covering the recess, and (Figure 6A, [0069] - heat-absorbing member 150 can be formed, by thermally fusing a portion constituting cylindrical surfaces 151 and upper and lower surfaces to a portion constituting a back part )
the first exterior member has a bottom surface on which a plurality of second curved surfaces in contact with the outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery are arranged in parallel. (FIGS. 6A and 6B, [0068] - Heat-absorbing member 150 has a plurality of cylindrical surfaces 151 corresponding to the side surfaces of battery cells 45 constituting a battery unit )
Substituting the exterior member shape in relation to a heat-absorbing structure, (a heat-absorbing member with a plurality of cylindrical surfaces that contacts the outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery, as taught by Yasui) for another (i.e. that of Kuboki) would yield the predictable result of providing a battery/heat-absorbing member combination, as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the shape of the heat-absorbing member to have a plurality of cylindrical surfaces that contacts the outer peripheral surface of the secondary battery for another structure without the specified cell shape and relationship to the heat-absorbing material, as the substitution would yield the predictable result of providing a functional battery/heat-absorbing combined structure, wherein the substituted components and their functions were known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: none of the prior art of record, alone or in combination, appears to teach, suggest, or render obvious the invention of claim 2. The reasons for indicating allowable subject matter regarding claim 2 has been set forth in the Non-Final Rejection dated May 21, 2026. Those reasons are incorporated herein but are not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Kuboki does not teach the battery pack configuration where the metal layers are joined directly (Page 7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the second embodiment, Kuboki teaches a sheet member having a synthetic layer on only one surface [0112]. Further, Kuboki discloses the components of the second embodiment are substantially the same as those in the first embodiment [0115]. As a result, Kuboki yields a structure that would yield the joined metal layers as in Claim 1 (only at the bent portion). Thus, the resin is on the outside of the metal only in the bent portion. See annotated Figure 8 above from Kabuki. Nothing in the claim language precludes the interpretation taken on the prior art.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., metal layer provides a barrier to suppress the permeation of the heat-absorbing material through the resin layer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 is maintained.
With respect to the arguments regarding the 103 rejections, Applicant argues that the prior art used to render obvious the rejected claims (Ninomiya and Yasui) do not cure the deficiencies of the rejection applied to the independent claim (Kuboki). Applicant does not argue how the combination is not proper. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the obviousness rejections and upholds the rejection to the independent claim, as above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIO R GAMBOA/Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729